DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB2009370 (“Geosource”).
Regarding claim 1, Geosource discloses (see figs. 2-4) a gate valve comprising:
a bonnet (72) mated to a body (48A and 48B);
a stem (42) extending through the bonnet and into the body; a seat (64A and/or 64B) positioned within the body; and
a gate, the gate positioned within the body and adapted to form a fluid seal (see sealed position of fig. 2) with the seat, the gate comprising:
two tapered seat wedges (44A and 44B), the tapered seat wedges have a tapered side (side adjacent to dovetail gate 152) and a flat side (side abutting seats 44A and 44B); and
a dovetail gate (152), the dovetail gate positioned between the two tapered seat wedges, the tapered sides of the tapered seat wedges adjacent the dovetail gate (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Geosource discloses the stem (42) and the dovetail gate (152) are formed integrally (members 152 and 42 are immovable relative to one another).
Regarding claim 3, Geosource discloses the flat side (side adjacent seats 44A and 44B) of the two tapered wedges (44A and 44B) includes a rounded corner (seating face and circular peripheral wall forms rounded, or circular, corner).
Regarding claim 4, Geosource discloses the dovetail gate (152) has a plurality of dovetail tapered edges (see dovetail feature in detail of fig. 4), wherein the tapered sides each have a tapered edge (see detail in cross-section of fig. 4), and wherein the tapered edges are opposite each other.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2906491 (“Young”).
Regarding claim 9, Young discloses a method comprising:
supplying a gate valve, the gate valve including: a bonnet (13) mated to a body (10);
a stem (14) extending through the bonnet and into the body; a seat (17) positioned within the body; and
a gate, the gate positioned within the body and adapted to form a fluid seal (see sealed, closed, position of figs. 1 and 2) with the seat, the gate comprising:
two tapered seat wedges (30), the tapered seat wedges have a tapered side (side abutting dovetail gate 24) and a flat side (side abutting valve seat 17); and
a dovetail gate (24), the dovetail gate positioned between the two tapered seat wedges, the tapered sides of the tapered seat wedges adjacent the dovetail gate;
positioning the gate in the raised position (position where spring 35 is fully extended and tapered seat wedges 30 are lifted away from seats 17), wherein in the raised position, the gate valve allows for fluid flow through the gate valve and the gate is not within the seat.
Regarding claim 10, Young discloses after positioning the gate in the raised position (open position where tapered seat wedges 30 are lifted away from seats 17), lowering the gate, by lowering the stem (14), into the seat (17) such that the tapered seat wedges (30) are within the seat, to reach the within seat position (position where lugs 37 engage shoulder 22, and block 33 engages surface 36 of dovetail gate 24).
Regarding claim 11, Young discloses after lowering the gate, causing the stem (14) to force tapered seat wedges (30) apart by extending the dovetail gate (24) to a seated position (position where block 33 is lifted from surface 36 of dovetail gate 24; see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Young discloses lowering the stem (14) to compress a spring (35) against a block (33) to a spring compression position (position where block 33 is lifted from surface 36 of dovetail gate 24).
Regarding claim 13, Young discloses causing the stem (14) to force tapered seat wedges (30) apart by extending the dovetail gate (24) to a seated position (position of fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geosource, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US4165063 (“Qasim”).
Regarding claim 5, Geosource discloses a female dovetail portion (see detail of cross-section in fig. 4) on each of the tapered seat wedges (44A and 44B); and a male dovetail portion on each side of the dovetail gate (152), the male dovetail portions and the female dovetail portions slidingly engaged and the male dovetail is adapted to fit within the female dovetail portion.
Geosource does not disclose the male dovetail portions and the female dovetail portions being of reversed orientation.
However, Qasim teaches (see figs. 2-4) a male dovetail portion (68 and 69; see fig. 2) on each of two tapered seat wedges (36 and 38); and a female dovetail portion (68 and 69) on each side of a dovetail gate (32), the male dovetail portions and the female dovetail potions slidingly engaged and the male dovetail is adapted to fit within the female dovetail portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Geosource by reversing the orientations or configurations of the male and female dovetail portions, because it is “obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (1. male dovetail portion on each of the two tapered seat wedges and female dovetail portion on each side of the dovetail gate; or 2. female dovetail portion on each of the two tapered seat wedges and male dovetail portion on each side of the dovetail gate), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the gate, wherein the spring connected between the spring receiver portion and the plurality of blocks, in combination with the remainder limitations of the claim and base claim.
Claims 7 and 8 are allowable because they depend on an allowable claim.
Regarding claim 14, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the gate valve, having the combination of the tapered seat wedges have a tapered side and a flat side, the plurality of blocks partially positioned within the tapered seat wedges, and the spring compressing against the plurality of blocks, in further combination with the remainder limitations of the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 2, 2025, have been fully considered.
Regarding the claim objection(s) and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, Applicant’s amendments filed December 2, 2025, have overcome these objection(s) and/or rejection(s) and are now withdrawn.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a) rejection of claims 1-4 over Geosource, and claim 5 over Geosource in view of Qasim, Applicant argues that Geosource does not disclose the claimed invention because it fails to use a dovetail, or more specifically, an interlocking joint using dovetail(s).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is arguing that Geosource fails to show certain features of the invention (e.g., dovetail interlock); however, it is noted that the feature(s) upon which applicant relies is/are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims merely require a “dovetail gate”, which merely requires, by definition (see Merriam-Webster), a gate, which resembles a dove’s tail. Geosource discloses a wedge-shaped gate (152), resembling a dove’s tail (see cross-section of fig. 2).
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a) rejection of claims 9-13 over Young, in a similar manner to those arguments pertaining to Geosource, above, Applicant argues that Jones does not disclose the claimed invention because it fails to use a dovetail, or more specifically, an interlocking joint using dovetail(s).
Young discloses a wedge-shaped gate (24), which is tapered (see cross-section of fig. 1) and resembles a dove’s tail, therefore, reading on the “dovetail gate” of claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US737414 discloses a wedge gate valve having a pair of springs which bias a respective gate seat portion of a wedge gate. CN113639060 discloses a gate valve having two tapered seat wedges connected by at least one spring. NL7702081 discloses a gate valve having a pair of gate seat portions which are opposingly biased by a respective spring.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753