DETAILED ACTION
Restriction and Election History
The original application, U.S. Application No. 16/420,002, was subject to a restriction requirement identifying Group I (then claims 1-16) as directed to a locking-cap member, Group II (then claims 17-26) as directed to a dispensing method and Group III (then claims 27-30) as directed to a dispensing system. Applicant elected Group I with traverse and canceled the Group II claims. U.S. Patent No. 10,729,860 subsequently issued from the original application with subject matter corresponding to the elected locking-cap invention and related system subject matter.
U.S. Application No. 16/932,629 was filed as a divisional to pursue the nonelected Group II method subject matter and issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,048,804. The present application is a continuation of that divisional and likewise presents method claims. The present claims therefore remain in the Group II line for purposes of maintaining consonance with the original restriction. No new restriction requirement is made because claims 1-20 are examined together as one method invention.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 C.F.R. § l.84(p)(4). In FIGS. 11A and 11B, reference numeral 130 points to the bottle or container housing. Paragraph [0133], consistent with the remainder of the disclosure, identifies that housing as element 132, while element 130 identifies the locking cap. The duplicate use of 130 makes the drawings inconsistent with the specification and obscures which component is intended.
Corrected drawing sheets for FIGS. 11A and 11B are required. Each replacement sheet must be labeled "Replacement Sheet" in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § l.121(d) and the correction must not introduce new matter. The specification appears to use reference numerals 130 and 132 consistently and therefore does not require amendment on this point.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites that, when the housing and locking cap are coupled together, "a valve of the locking cap fixedly is in an open state." The placement and grammatical use of "fixedly" make the scope uncertain. It is unclear whether "fixedly" is intended to modify the manner in which the locking cap is coupled to the housing, the position in which the valve is held, or the duration of the valve's open state. If the intended limitation is that coupling holds the valve in its open state, the claim should recite, for example, that "the valve of the locking cap is fixedly held in an open state" when the housing and locking cap are coupled together.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,048,804 to Boyer, et al. (hereinafter “Boyer ‘804”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons below.
Boyer '804 claims a method of securely dispensing a substance from a housing having a locking cap fixedly secured to the housing. Its claims recite the same core locking-cap architecture: a first member threadedly engaged with the housing, plural latching members encasing a lip, coupling of a second member, radial restraint of the latching members by a distal portion of the second member, a third-member cavity, a valve opened by coupling, biometric detection, dispensing in response to detection, spring bias toward a closed state and axial and radial retention.
Instant claims
Boyer '804 claims
Patentably indistinct subject matter
1 and 5
1
Housing. fixed locking cap, threaded first member, plural latches encasing a lip and coupling needed to use the claimed dispenser.
6 and 11
2
Coupling a second member to the first member.
7
3
A distal portion of the second member encasing the latching members.
8
1 and 6
The valve being opened and maintained open by the coupled structure.
9 and 10
1
Detecting a user identifier and dispensing in response.
12
4
Biasing the valve closed when the second member is absent from the third-member cavity.
13
5
Axial retention by the latches and radial retention by the second member.
The additional filling, receiving-an-identifier and final coupling recitations of present claim 1 are preparatory and complementary steps that would have been obvious for the same prescription container before carrying out the patented dispensing method. They do not produce a patentably distinct locking-cap method. The added limitations of claims 5-13 either repeat or are no more than an obvious variation of the corresponding limitations expressly claimed in Boyer '804.
No double-patenting rejection over U.S. Patent No. 10,729,860 (“Boyer '860”) is made in this action. The original restriction separated the present Group II method lineage from the elected Group I locking-cap invention and the divisional/continuation chain has preserved that consonance. On the present record, 35 U.S.C. § 121 therefore shields the present claims from an obviousness-type double-patenting rejection based on Boyer '860. Section 121 does not shield the present continuation from Boyer '804, its immediate divisional parent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunstone et al. ("Dunstone") (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0174554) in view of Fraser et al. ("Fraser") (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0068767).
Regarding claim 1, Dunstone teaches a method for filling and securing a patient-specific prescription container. A physician electronically transmits the prescribed drug, patient information and patient fingerprint information to a manufacturer, wholesaler, or medicine distribution center. The manufacturer loads the requisite number and type of tablets into container (1), stores the patient fingerprint information in memory (9) associated with locking lid (3), locks lid (3) and sends the initialized container to the patient (¶¶ [0048]-[0050]).
Dunstone also teaches an alternative container (20) having a housing or body (22), a locking lid (23) having annular flange (26) and a frangible collar (24) that is internally threaded to external thread (27) of body (22). After body (22) is filled, collar (24) is snapped over flange (26) and screw-engaged with thread (27) to couple lid (23) to body (22) (,J [0035]). Thus, body (22) corresponds to the claimed housing; lid (23) and collar (24) form Dunstone's locking closure; and collar (24), which threadedly engages body (22), provides the base structure corresponding to the claimed first member.
Dunstone does not expressly teach providing collar (24) with a plurality of latching members that encase a lip of body (22), or providing a second member having a distal portion that surrounds the latching members to resist radial release.
Fraser teaches a two-component closure having inner component (81) positioned about bottle neck (82), ring (83B), plural circumferentially spaced radially movable parts (83) extending from ring (83B) and engaging beneath container lip (82A) and outer component (84) having skirt (84A) and cam surfaces (84B). Outer component (84) is moved over inner component (81) and cam surfaces (84B) press movable parts (83) inward beneath lip (82A) (¶¶ [0082]-[0084], [0088]-[0090]).
Dunstone's threaded collar (24) is modified to include the ring-and latching structure of Fraser's inner component (81), including ring (83B) and movable parts (83) and Dunstone's body (22) is provided with the container-lip configuration taught by Fraser's lip (82A). Fraser's outer component (84) is added as the second member of the locking cap, with skirt (84A) surrounding movable parts (83).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dunstone's threaded collar (24) and body (22) to include Fraser's inner component (81), ring (83B), movable latching parts (83) and container lip (82A) and to couple outer component (84) over the modified collar (24), so that the first member both threadedly engages the housing and mechanically captures the housing lip.
Fraser states that the circumferentially spaced thread-like engagement requires only a relatively small rotation and provides a "very compact and robust construction" (¶ [0100)), which would have motivated the modification.
Regarding claim 5, modified collar (24), incorporating Fraser's inner component (81), ring (83B) and plural movable parts (83) corresponds to the first member of the locking cap. Collar (24) threadedly engages external thread (27) of body (22), while movable parts (83) encase and engage beneath container lip (82A) to couple the locking cap to the housing (Dunstone ¶ [0035]; Fraser ¶¶ [0082]-[0084], [0088]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 6, Fraser's outer component (84) corresponds to the second member of the locking cap and modified collar (24), incorporating inner component (81), corresponds to the first member. Fraser teaches moving outer component (84) axially over inner component (81) and rotating outer component (84) so that upwardly facing surfaces (85A) of inward projections (85) engage downwardly facing surfaces (83A) of movable parts (83), thereby providing a bayonet-type or thread-like coupling between outer component (84) and inner component (81) (¶¶ [0083]-[0084], [0100]).
Regarding claim 7, Fraser’s skirt (84A) is the claimed distal portion of the second member. Fraser teaches that skirt (84A) of outer component (84) fits around and encases the plural movable parts (83) of inner component (81) and cam surfaces (84B) press movable parts (83) inward beneath container lip (82A) (¶¶ [0082]-[0083], [0088]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 9, Dunstone teaches fingerprint sensor (32), which receives the patient's fingerprint and produces a unique fingerprint code. Although sensor (32) is shown on key device (30) in the principal embodiment, Dunstone expressly teaches alternatively locating sensor (32) directly on locking lid (3) or locking lid (23), thereby combining key device (30) and lid (3, 23) (¶¶ [0041], [0051]). In that expressly disclosed arrangement, sensor (32) corresponds to a detector of the locking cap that receives the claimed unique identifier associated with the intended user.
Regarding claim 10, Dunstone teaches that microprocessor ( 40) compares the fingerprint information received by sensor (32) with fingerprint information stored in memory (39), wireless communication chips (38, 11) transmit the verified information to microprocessor (8) of lid (3, 23) and microprocessor (8) activates locking actuator (7) to unlock dispensing tube (5) when the received and stored information match. A tablet is thereby permitted to be dispensed in response to receipt and verification of the intended user's unique fingerprint identifier (¶¶ [0041], [0051]).
Regarding claim 11,the combination’s modified collar (24), incorporating Fraser's inner component (81), ring (83B) and movable parts (83), corresponds to the first member having the plurality of latching members. Movable parts encase container lip (82A) and Fraser's outer component (84), corresponding to the second member, is coupled over inner component (81) through cooperating surfaces (83A, 85A) (¶¶ [0082]-[0084], [0088]-[0090], [0100]).
Regarding claim 13, movable parts (83) engage beneath container lip (82A) and thereby prevent modified collar (24), corresponding to the first member, from being removed axially from body (22). Skirt (84A) of outer component (84), corresponding to the distal portion of the second member, surrounds movable parts (83) and prevents them from moving radially outward from beneath lip (82A). Engaging surfaces (83A) of movable parts (83) and surfaces (85A) of projections (85) additionally retain inner component (81) and outer component (84) together (¶¶ [0082]-[0084], [0090], [0092]).
Regarding claim 14, Dunstone teaches that a prescribing physician electronically transmits the prescription, including the nature of the prescribed drug and the patient information, to the manufacturer, wholesaler, or medicine-distribution center (¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Dunstone teaches that the manufacturer fills container (1) with the tablets required by the physician's transmitted prescription (¶ [0048]). Filling the container with the prescribed number and type of tablets constitutes filling based on the received dosage instructions.
Regarding claim 16, Dunstone teaches loading the "requisite number and type" of tablets prescribed for the patient (¶ [0048]). The requisite number of tablets provides the claimed dosage amount.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Fraser, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of McLean et al. ("McLean") (WO 2014/145444).
Regarding claim 2, McLean teaches pill-dispensing device (700) having top portion (704) and bottom portion (706), which collectively form a tamperproof portable device housing about medication bottle (702). Bottom portion (706) includes container (708) sized and shaped to receive bottle (702) and top portion (704) is locked to bottom portion (706) to secure bottle (702) within the device housing (¶¶ [0077]-[0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to secure the filled Dunstone-Fraser container and locking cap within McLean’s portable device housing, as taught by McLean, to prevent the enclosed container from being compromised and prevent unauthorized access to its contents (¶ [0077])
Regarding claim 3, McLean teaches that the portable housing is sized and shaped to be carried by the patient, including being held in the patient's hand or carried in a pocket and that access to the prescribed substance is provided only after verification of the intended user (¶¶ [0032], [0034]-[0035], [0039]).
McLean further teaches that pill-dispensing device (700) includes biometric identifier (742) and permits dispensing only after the user has been verified (¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 4, McLean teaches generally that a loading or docking device (¶ [0046]: “docking station”) receives the dispensing apparatus, including its portable housing, for medication loading, programming and identity encryption. The pharmacist or patient inserts the dispensing apparatus into the loading device, which temporarily engages the apparatus while the pharmacist loads medication and associates the medication and prescription information with the identified patient (¶¶ [0046]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to secure the filled Dunstone-Fraser container within McLean's tamperproof portable device housing, provide the device housing to the intended patient and temporarily couple the device housing with McLean's pharmacist-operated loading or docking device for medication loading, programming and patient association. McLean states that locating the loading device at the pharmacy counter with pharmacist-side loading and intended-user-side access "may ensure that the patient does not have unauthorized access to the medication" (¶ [0048]).
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunstone in view of Fraser, as applied to claim l above and further in view of Braun et al. ("Braun") (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0011785).
For purposes of this rejection, claim 8 is construed as requiring the locking-cap valve to be held in its open state while the housing and locking cap remain coupled.
Regarding claim 8, Braun teaches coupling assembly (10) having container insert (12),
which is secured to container (300) and dispense unit (14). Dispense unit (14) includes coupling sleeve (82), spring (84), valve assembly (88), poppet (132), sealing member (134) and poppet seat surface (114). Container insert (12) includes valve engagement member (32) having wall structure (40). When dispense unit (14) is coupled to container insert (12), wall structure (40) contacts poppet (132), displaces poppet (132) axially against spring (84), unseats sealing member (134) from seat surface (114) and holds valve assembly (88) open while dispense unit (14) and container insert (12) remain coupled (¶¶ [0052], [0056]-[0058], [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Braun teaches a projecting coupling component provided by dispense unit (14) and coupling sleeve (82) and a receiving component provided by container insert (12), which has wall (33) defining receiving cavity (31). Coupling sleeve (82) is received within cavity (31), where wall structure (40) of valve engagement member (32) moves poppet (132) against spring (84) to open valve assembly (88). When dispense unit (14) and coupling sleeve (82) are removed from cavity (31), spring (84) returns poppet (132) and sealing member (134) to the closed state (¶¶ [0054], [0057], [0062]-[0063]).
In applying Braun to the Dunstone-Fraser combination to claims 8 and 12, , Fraser's outer component (84), already identified as the claimed second member, is provided with the projecting coupling and valve structure taught by Braun's dispense unit (14) and coupling sleeve (82) and a third locking-cap member is provided with receiving cavity (31) and valve engagement member (32) taught by Braun's container insert (12). Thus, spring (84) biases the valve closed when the modified outer component (84) is not received within cavity (31) of the added third member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the Dunstone-Fraser locking cap with Braun's spring-biased poppet valve and mating cavity-actuated coupling, with Fraser's outer component (84) carrying the projecting coupling structure and an added third member providing the receiving cavity, so that fluid communication is established only while the intended components are coupled. Braun teaches configuring coupling assembly (10) to reduce fluid spillage upon disconnection, preferably to less than 0.1 cc per disconnect (¶ [0045]).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunstone in view of Fraser, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Rouse et al. ("Rouse") (U.S. Patent No. 9,731,103).
Regarding claim 17, the Dunstone-Fraser combination does not expressly teach updating a substance management system in response to receiving the prescription. Rouse teaches COPA management system (950), which includes a master database that stores information associated with the patient and all COPA activities and permits doctors, assembly or fulfillment technicians. pharmacists. and other participating healthcare personnel to access appropriate portions of the database through respective login profiles (col. 13, lines 47-65). Rouse further teaches that prescription histories are stored and managed by management system (950) (col. 14, lines 1-12), and that management system (950) maintains a full record of prescription revisions received from doctor (910) (col. 16, lines 39-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to update Dunstone's substance-management system upon receiving an initial or revised prescription by recording the prescription information in a patient-specific management record, as taught by Rouse. Rouse expressly teaches that its system provides "an identification system for tracking the path of prescription administration and management to prevent misuse and mismanagement" (col. 13, lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 18, Rouse teaches that the patient record stored by management system (950) includes a unique patient identifier, prescription history, prescribed-medication information, dosage instructions, doctor and pharmacy identifiers, and the identifier of processor (310) associated with micro-pump unit (300). The record therefore associates the intended user's unique identifier with the dosage instructions of the prescription (col. 13, lines 50-65; col. 14, lines 1-35).
Regarding claim 19, the Dunstone-Fraser combination does not expressly teach refilling, by the authorized user, the housing with the substance based on updated prescription information. Rouse teaches that doctor (910) may prescribe new medication or adjust dosage instructions based on monitored dispensing information and evaluation of the patient's progress, and that pharmacy (920) refills micro-pump unit (300) accordingly (col. 13, lines 28-47). Rouse further teaches that doctor (910) electronically transfers a revised prescription to pharmacy (920), COPA device (100) is returned to the pharmacy for refilling as directed by doctor (910), and pharmacy staff refills the device through access ports (122) based on the doctor's revised order (col. 16, lines 39-60).
Applying this teaching to the Dunstone-Fraser method, the pharmacy staff corresponds to the authorized user, and the authorized user refills Dunstone's secured housing according to the updated prescription information received from the prescribing physician.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Dunstone's authorized user refill the housing with the prescribed substance according to the updated prescription information, as taught by Rouse. Rouse expressly teaches that its device is intended for prolonged treatment plans and that the prescribing doctor adjusts or revises the prescription "based on the treatment results observed from the patient," after which the pharmacy refills the device based on the doctor's order (col. 16, lines 39-60), which would have motivated using the updated prescription information during refilling so that the contents of the housing implement the physician's current treatment instructions.
Regarding claim 20, the Dunstone-Fraser combination does not expressly teach that the prescription includes a prescription history having an identifier corresponding to the authorized user.
Rouse teaches that the prescription history includes identifications of the doctors who prescribed the medications, the pharmacies at which the medications were filled or refilled, the prescribed medications, and processor (310) associated with the filled micro-pump unit (300) (col. 14, lines 1-12). Rouse further teaches that the pharmacy identification information includes an impression-technician identifier, an assembly-technician identifier, and a registered-pharmacy identifier. The assembly-technician identifier specifically identifies the technician who assembled or filled the prescribed medication into micropump unit (300), and the pharmacy identifier identifies the pharmacy at which the medication was filled (col. 14, lines 12-25). Rouse's assembly or fulfillment technician therefore corresponds to the claimed authorized user who fills the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in Dunstone's prescription history an identifier corresponding to the authorized user who filled the housing, as taught by Rouse. Rouse expressly teaches that recording information associated with the filled prescription makes COPA device (100) "fully traceable through the creation and preparation path" and permits misuse or fraud to be traced through management system (950) (col. 15, lines 49-62), which would have motivated recording the authorized filler's identifier in the prescription history to provide traceability and prevent misuse or mismanagement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892, attached.
/MICHAEL J. MELARAGNO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3754