Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Since applicant either failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of Official Notice or the traversal was inadequate, the common knowledge statement of the previous Office Action is taken to be admitted prior art (hereinafter AAPA). See MPEP2144.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (US 2016/0026192, hereinafter Phillips) in view of Solarshoptv (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiInBPHL1a8, Solar Mobile Surveillance Trailer with IP Cameras, hereinafter Solarshoptv).
Re claim 1, Phillips discloses, a self-contained, portable connected camera apparatus comprising: a maneuverable cart (200) comprising a plurality of wheels (214), a handle (212), and, wherein the handle is configured to control a direction of travel of the cart (inherent), and wherein the maneuverable cart includes at least one storage compartment (area containing 202, 204, 206, etc.); a reorientable solar panel (202, 216, 218) mechanically coupled to the cart (figs 4 and 5, par [0064]), wherein the reorientable solar panel further comprises a plurality of solar cells configured to convert solar energy incident upon a top surface of the reorientable solar panel into electrical energy (pars [0064]-[0065]), and wherein the reorientable solar panel is reorientable by adjusting an angle of inclination of the reorientable solar panel with a horizontal plane (pars [0064]-[0065]); a rechargeable battery (204) electrically coupled to at least one energy source (par [0065]), wherein the rechargeable battery is configured to be recharged by the at least one energy source, and wherein the at least one energy source includes the reorientable solar panel (pars [0064]-[0065]); an adjustable camera module (208) disposed on a mount coupled to the maneuverable cart, wherein the adjustable camera module is configured to capture a still image or a live video (Abstract, par [0069]), and wherein the adjustable camera module is adjustable with at least one degree of freedom of movement (par [0069]); and a communication module configured to receive the still image or the live video from the adjustable camera module (204, pars [0049], [0062], [0071]-[0072]), wherein the communication module is further configured to communicate the still image or the live video received from the adjustable camera module to a remote server (pars [0049], [0062], [0071]-[0072]).
Phillips fails to explicitly disclose a braking system, wherein the braking system is coupled to at least one wheel of the plurality of wheels, wherein the braking system is configured to control a speed of travel of the maneuverable cart.
Official Notice is taken to note that utilizing brakes to control a speed of travel is notoriously well known and used in the related art.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine brakes with the apparatus of Phillips in order to provide more control over cart 200.
Phillips fails to explicitly disclose limitations which are disclosed by Solarshoptv as follows: wherein the adjustable camera module is adjustable with at least one degree four degrees of freedom of movement, wherein the at least four degrees of freedom of movement of the adjustable camera module include an ability to linearly reposition the adjustable camera module upward and downward (time 00:19 – 00:25, telescopic mast), wherein the at least four degrees of freedom of movement of the adjustable camera module further include an ability to rotationally reposition the adjustable camera module to adjust a yaw, pitch, and roll of the adjustable camera module (time 00:28, 2MP HD 16xopticalzoom IR100m, 360 view).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine wherein the adjustable camera module is adjustable with at least one degree four degrees of freedom of movement, wherein the at least four degrees of freedom of movement of the adjustable camera module include an ability to linearly reposition the adjustable camera module upward and downward, wherein the at least four degrees of freedom of movement of the adjustable camera module further include an ability to rotationally reposition the adjustable camera module to adjust a yaw, pitch, and roll of the adjustable camera module of Solarshoptv with the apparatus of Phillips in order to provide a more robust surveillance system capable of adjusting a point of view.
Re claim 2, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the at least four degrees of freedom of movement of the adjustable camera module includes an ability to linearly reposition the adjustable camera module along at least one of two mutually perpendicular axes of the apparatus, and wherein linearly repositioning the adjustable camera module along at least one of two mutually perpendicular axes of the apparatus includes repositioning the camera forward, backward, leftward, or rightward from a current position of the adjustable camera module (Phillips par [0069], moving the entire apparatus of Phillips and/or Solarshoptv in a direction forward, backward, leftward, or rightward would read on the claimed invention).
Re claim 4, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the at least one energy source includes an alternating current (AC) charger (Phillips par [0065]).
Re claim 5, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv discloses the limitations of claim 1 including a cell modem. However, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv fails to explicitly disclose wherein the communication module includes a 5G modem.
Official Notice is taken to note that utilizing a 5G modem is notoriously well known and used in the related art.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine a 5G modem with the apparatus of Phillips and Solarshoptv in order to more rapidly send and receive information from an alternate site.
Re claim 6, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the communication module includes a network switch (Phillips [0063], [0071]-[0072]).
Re claim 7, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the communication module includes a Wi-Fi router (Phillips [0063], [0071]-[0072]).
Re claim 8, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the adjustable camera module is configured to capture information in a frequency range of an electromagnetic spectrum that is visible to a human eye (Phillips par [0068]).
Re claim 9, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the adjustable camera module is configured to capture information in an infrared range of frequencies of the electromagnetic spectrum (Phillips par [0068]).
Re claim 10, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv fails to explicitly disclose wherein the adjustable camera module is configured to capture a thermal still image or video.
Official Notice is taken to note that utilizing a thermal imager is notoriously well known and used in the related art.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine a thermal imager with the apparatus of Phillips and Soloarshoptv in order to see thermal varying objects more easily.
Re claim 11, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv fails to explicitly disclose wherein the adjustable camera module and the communication module are disposed as a single device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the camera and communication module, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Re claim 12, the combination of Phillips and Solarshoptv discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein the adjustable camera module and the communication module are disposed as separate devices (Phillips figs 4 and 5).
Claims 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected for the reasons stated in claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 9, and 10, respectively. The system as claimed would have been obvious and expected by the apparatus of Phillips and Solarshoptv.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kirkland (US 2013/0242137, hereinafter Kirkland) discloses an imaging robot including three mutually orthogonal translation stages for positioning an imaging device (Abstract, figs 3A and 3B).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/JOEL W FOSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639