DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 20230216648 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising ([Fig. 6] UE):
one or more memories ([0038] UE comprises memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to ([0038] UE comprises memory coupled to processor):
identify a cross-link interference (CLI) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) resource in a subband full-duplex (SBFD) symbol of one or more subbands of an active downlink bandwidth part ([0071]-[0073] and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] UE receives CLI configuration information that specifies sub-band CLI measurement resource configurations for measuring a CLI-RSSI measurement resource that spans multiple sub-bands (one or more subbands of an active downlink BWP), where the base station directs the UE to generate a CLI-RSSI metric for one or more of the sub-bands based on the transmission of a sounding reference signal which causes CLI in the DL sub-bands (in a symbol of one or more subbands of an active bandwidth part); [0059] and [Fig. 3A]-[Fig. 3C] full duplex communication environment); and
perform a measurement of the CLI RSSI resource in the SBFD symbol of the one or more subbands of the active downlink bandwidth part ([0075] and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 1, wherein the CLI RSSI resource is identified in one or more downlink subbands of the active downlink bandwidth part based at least in part on a configuration indicating that the UE is to perform measurements of CLI RSSI resources within one or more downlink subbands only ([0071]-[0073] and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] UE receives CLI configuration information that specifies sub-band CLI measurement resource configurations for measuring a CLI-RSSI measurement resource that spans multiple sub-bands (one or more subbands of an active downlink BWP), where the base station directs the UE to generate a CLI-RSSI metric for one or more of the sub-bands based on the transmission of a sounding reference signal which causes CLI in the DL sub-bands (in a symbol of one or more subbands of an active bandwidth part)).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive an explicit indication that the UE is to perform the measurement within an uplink subband of the active downlink bandwidth part or within one or more downlink subbands of the active downlink bandwidth part, wherein the CLI RSSI resource is identified based at least in part on the explicit indication ([0075], [0081], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration in the CLI configuration information that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB (indication that the UE is to perform the measurement within one or more downlink subbands), where the CLI configuration information may indicate sub-bands implicitly or explicitly (explicit indication)).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 3, wherein the explicit indication comprises a bit value carried in a field of a report configuration associated with reporting CLI derived based at least in part on a result of performing the measurement of the CLI RSSI resource ([0075], [0081], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration in the CLI configuration information (indication that is a report configuration associated with reporting CLI) that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB, where the CLI configuration information may indicate sub-bands implicitly or explicitly (explicit indication)).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive an implicit indication that the UE is to perform the measurement within an uplink subband of the active downlink bandwidth part or within one or more downlink subbands of the active downlink bandwidth part, wherein the CLI RSSI resource is identified based at least in part on the implicit indication ([0075], [0081], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration in the CLI configuration information that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB (indication that the UE is to perform the measurement within one or more downlink subbands), where the CLI configuration information may indicate sub-bands implicitly or explicitly (implicit indication)).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 5, wherein the implicit indication comprises an indication of a start resource block (RB) of the CLI RSSI resource as indicated to the UE ([0073] sub-band CLI measurement resource configuration that configures the CLI-RSSI measurement resource indicates a starting physical resource block PRB of the sub-band).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive a report configuration indicating either a downlink CLI RSSI report quantity or an uplink CLI RSSI report quantity, wherein the CLI RSSI resource is identified based at least in part on whether the report configuration indicates the downlink CLI RSSI report quantity or indicates the uplink CLI RSSI report quantity ([0071], [0075], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the base station directs the UE to generate sub-band CLI metrics (which may be CLI-RSSI metric), which indicates a measurement value that is specific to a sub-band, and may be a sub-band CLI metric for DL SB that indicates a CLI measurement value (indicates report quantity) that is measured only within a specific DL SB, and the sub-band CLI-RSSI metric is generated based on the CLI measurement report configuration that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB (downlink CLI RSSI report)).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive a report configuration indicating both a downlink CLI RSSI report quantity and an uplink CLI RSSI report quantity, wherein the CLI RSSI resource is identified based at least in part on the report configuration indicating both the downlink CLI RSSI report quantity and the uplink CLI RSSI report quantity ([0071]-[0072], [0075], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the base station directs the UE to generate sub-band CLI metrics (which may be CLI-RSSI metric), which indicates a measurement value (indicates report quantity) that is specific to a sub-band, and may be a sub-band CLI metric for DL SB that indicates a CLI measurement value that is measured only within a specific DL SB, and the sub-band CLI-RSSI metric is generated based on the CLI measurement report configuration that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB (downlink CLI RSSI report), where the base station may alternatively assign a whole bandwidth of a sub-band to UL communications in which case the measurement value is specific to an UL sub-band (indicates uplink CLI RSSI report quantity) since CLI occurs and is measured on the UL).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 8, wherein the report configuration indicates that the UE is to report CLI derived based at least in part on a result of performing the measurement of the CLI RSSI resource on a per subband basis or on a per CLI RSSI resource basis ([0071]-[0072], [0075], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the base station directs the UE to generate sub-band CLI metrics (which may be CLI-RSSI metric), which indicates a measurement value (indicates report quantity) that is specific to a sub-band (per subband basis)).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 1, wherein the CLI RSSI resource is in one or more downlink subbands of the active downlink bandwidth part, and performing the measurement comprises measuring a non-contiguous resource in the one or more downlink subbands only by excluding one or more uplink subbands of the active downlink bandwidth part and one or more guard bands of the active downlink bandwidth part ([0072], [0074]-[0075], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] CLI measurement resource may span dis-contiguous or non-adjacent sub-bands, where an UL BW may be surrounded by frequency guard bands and the base station may indicate to the UE to generate sub-band metrics across the dis-contiguous sub-bands where the CLI measurement is performed on only the specific DL SB).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit a report including CLI derived based at least in part on a result of performing the measurement of the CLI RSSI resource in the SBFD symbol of the one or more subbands of the active downlink bandwidth part ([0075] and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB, and then the UE transmits the CLI report with at least one CLI-RSSI metric).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising ([Fig. 6] UE):
identifying a cross-link interference (CLI) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) resource in a subband full-duplex (SBFD) symbol of one or more subbands of an active downlink bandwidth part ([0071]-[0073] and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] UE receives CLI configuration information that specifies sub-band CLI measurement resource configurations for measuring a CLI-RSSI measurement resource that spans multiple sub-bands (one or more subbands of an active downlink BWP), where the base station directs the UE to generate a CLI-RSSI metric for one or more of the sub-bands based on the transmission of a sounding reference signal which causes CLI in the DL sub-bands (in a symbol of one or more subbands of an active bandwidth part); [0059] and [Fig. 3A]-[Fig. 3C] full duplex communication environment); and
performing a measurement of the CLI RSSI resource in the SBFD symbol of the one or more subbands of the active downlink bandwidth part ([0075] and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20230216648 A1), and further in view of Chatterjee et al (US 20230421222 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising ([Fig. 6] UE):
one or more memories ([0038] UE comprises memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to ([0038] UE comprises memory coupled to processor):
receive a plurality of report configurations associated with cross-link interference (CLI) reporting, wherein the plurality of report configurations include ([0071]-[0075], [0084], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] UE receives CLI configuration information that specifies sub-band CLI measurement resource configurations for measuring a CLI-RSSI measurement resource, where the CLI configuration information indicates one or more sub-band CLI measurement resource configurations, where the CLI measurement is to be reported and CLI configuration information includes CLI measurement report configuration (plurality of configurations associated with CLI reporting)):
a first report configuration for reporting CLI associated with CLI received signal strength indicator (RSSI) resources or CLI sounding reference signal (SRS) reference signal received power (RSRP) resources in full-duplex (FD) symbols ([0075] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration (first report configuration for reporting CLI associated with CLI-RSSI resources) that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB; [0071] base station directs the UE to generate metrics for both SRS-RSRP and for CLI-RSSI, where both are examples of CLI metrics to be measured by the UE; [0059] and [Fig. 3A]-[Fig. 3C] full duplex communication environment), and
transmit a report including CLI derived based at least in part on a result of performing a measurement of a CLI RSSI resource or a CLI SRS-RSRP resource in a symbol of an active downlink bandwidth part ([0071], [0075], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB, where base station directs the UE to generate metrics for both SRS-RSRP and for CLI-RSSI, and both are examples of CLI metrics to be measured by the UE, and the UE will send a CLI report with at least one of the CLI metrics it has generated from performing the CLI measurement),
Zhang does not explicitly teach a second report configuration for reporting CLI associated with CLI RSSI resources or CLI SRS-RSRP resources in non-FD symbols; and
wherein the report is transmitted according to the first report configuration or according to the second report configuration based at least in part on whether the CLI RSSI resource or the CLI SRS-RSRP resource is in an FD symbol or is in a non-FD symbol, respectively.
However, Chatterjee does teach a second report configuration for reporting CLI associated with CLI RSSI resources or CLI SRS-RSRP resources in non-FD symbols ([0200], [0202]-[0208], and [0214] CLI reporting is configured by higher layer signaling by the gNB (second report configuration for reporting CLI), where the CLI reporting can be configured for non-SBFD symbols and operations (in non-FD symbols) and the measurement resources can be both CLI-RSSI resources and CLI-RSRP resources); and
wherein the report is transmitted according to the first report configuration or according to the second report configuration based at least in part on whether the CLI RSSI resource or the CLI SRS-RSRP resource is in an FD symbol or is in a non-FD symbol, respectively ([0206]-[0208], [0214], and [0222]-[0226] the CLI reporting is configured for either SBFD symbol/operation type or non-SBFD symbol/type respectively, and are transmitted according to the respective configuration being either SBFD symbol/operation type or non-SBFD symbol/operation type, where the measurement resources can be both CLI-RSSI resources and CLI-RSRP resources).
Zhang and Chatterjee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring CLI reporting. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the teachings of Chatterjee where the CLI reporting can be configured for non-SBFD symbols. The rationale behind this would be to allow the UE to identify both legacy non-SBFD symbols and simultaneous transmit/receive SBFD symbols from the gNB ([0113] Chatterjee).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang modified by Chatterjee teaches The UE of claim 12, as is described above.
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the first report configuration is associated with subband FD (SBFD) symbols and the second report configuration is associated with non-SBFD symbols.
However, Chatterjee does teach wherein the first report configuration is associated with subband FD (SBFD) symbols and the second report configuration is associated with non-SBFD symbols ([0206]-[0208], [0214], and [0222]-[0226] the CLI reporting is configured for either SBFD symbol/operation type (first report configuration) or non-SBFD symbol/type (second report configuration) respectively).
Zhang and Chatterjee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring CLI reporting. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the teachings of Chatterjee where the CLI reporting can be configured for either SBFD symbols or non-SBFD symbols. The rationale behind this would be to allow the UE to identify both legacy non-SBFD symbols and simultaneous transmit/receive SBFD symbols from the gNB ([0113] Chatterjee).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang modified by Chatterjee teaches The UE of claim 12, as is described above.
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the first report configuration and the second report configuration are separate report configurations.
However, Chatterjee does teach wherein the first report configuration and the second report configuration are separate report configurations ([0206]-[0208], [0214], and [0222]-[0226] the CLI reporting is configured for either SBFD symbol/operation type (first report configuration) or non-SBFD symbol/type (second report configuration) respectively (configured separately)).
Zhang and Chatterjee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring CLI reporting. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the teachings of Chatterjee where the CLI reporting can be configured for either SBFD symbols or non-SBFD symbols. The rationale behind this would be to allow the UE to identify both legacy non-SBFD symbols and simultaneous transmit/receive SBFD symbols from the gNB ([0113] Chatterjee).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang modified by Chatterjee teaches The UE of claim 12, as is described above.
Zhang further teaches wherein only CLI resource transmission occasions in FD symbols are used in association with deriving CLI reported according to the first report configuration ([0075] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration (first report configuration for reporting CLI associated with CLI-RSSI resources) that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB; [0059] and [Fig. 3A]-[Fig. 3C] full duplex communication environment).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang modified by Chatterjee teaches The UE of claim 12, as is described above.
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein only CLI resource transmission occasions in non-FD symbols are used in association with deriving CLI reported according to the second report configuration.
However, Chatterjee does teach wherein only CLI resource transmission occasions in non-FD symbols are used in association with deriving CLI reported according to the second report configuration ([0206]-[0208], [0214], and [0222]-[0226] the CLI reporting is configured for either SBFD symbol/operation type or non-SBFD symbol/type respectively, and are transmitted according to the respective configuration being either SBFD symbol/operation type or non-SBFD symbol/operation type (in this case only non-FD symbols are used for the second report configuration)).
Zhang and Chatterjee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring CLI reporting. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the teachings of Chatterjee where the CLI reporting can be configured for non-SBFD symbols. The rationale behind this would be to allow the UE to identify both legacy non-SBFD symbols and simultaneous transmit/receive SBFD symbols from the gNB ([0113] Chatterjee).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang modified by Chatterjee teaches The UE of claim 12, as is described above.
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the first report configuration and the second report configuration are sub-configurations of a single report configuration.
However, Chatterjee does teach wherein the first report configuration and the second report configuration are sub-configurations of a single report configuration ([0206]-[0208], [0214], and [0222]-[0226] the CLI reporting is configured for either SBFD symbol/operation type (first report configuration) or non-SBFD symbol/type (second report configuration) respectively, and are transmitted according to the respective configuration being either SBFD symbol/operation type or non-SBFD symbol/operation type (both configurations are for configuring the CLI report; i.e. sub-configurations of a single report configuration)).
Zhang and Chatterjee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring CLI reporting. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the teachings of Chatterjee where the CLI reporting can be configured for either SBFD symbols or non-SBFD symbols. The rationale behind this would be to allow the UE to identify both legacy non-SBFD symbols and simultaneous transmit/receive SBFD symbols from the gNB ([0113] Chatterjee).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang modified by Chatterjee teaches The UE of claim 12, as is described above.
Zhang further teaches wherein CLI reporting performed by the UE is restricted to CLI derived based at least in part on measurements of CLI RSSI resources or CLI SRS-RSRP resources in FD symbols only ([0071], [0075], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB, where base station directs the UE to generate metrics for both SRS-RSRP and for CLI-RSSI, and both are examples of CLI metrics to be measured by the UE, and the UE will send a CLI report with at least one of the CLI metrics it has generated from performing the CLI measurement; [0071] base station directs the UE to generate metrics for both SRS-RSRP and for CLI-RSSI, where both are examples of CLI metrics to be measured by the UE; [0059] and [Fig. 3A]-[Fig. 3C] full duplex communication environment).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang modified by Chatterjee teaches The UE of claim 12, as is described above.
Zhang further teaches wherein CLI reporting performed by the UE is applicable to CLI derived based at least in part on measurements of CLI RSSI resources or CLI SRS-RSRP resources in FD symbols or in non-FD symbols ([0071], [0075], and [Fig. 4]-[Fig. 6] the UE generates sub-band CLI-RSSI metrics based on the CLI measurement report configuration that specifies the portion of the CLI-RSSI resource that occupies the DL SB, where base station directs the UE to generate metrics for both SRS-RSRP and for CLI-RSSI, and both are examples of CLI metrics to be measured by the UE, and the UE will send a CLI report with at least one of the CLI metrics it has generated from performing the CLI measurement; [0071] base station directs the UE to generate metrics for both SRS-RSRP and for CLI-RSSI, where both are examples of CLI metrics to be measured by the UE; [0059] and [Fig. 3A]-[Fig. 3C] full duplex communication environment).
Conclusion
The following is prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered to be pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20240146425 A1 to Fakoorian et al teaches a UE which receive a configuration message from the base station indicating a plurality of CLI resources, and perform a CLI measurement during at least one CLI resource of the activated CLI resources ([0005] Fakoorian).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478