DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 05/05/2025 and 07/26/2024 has/have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent Application No. US 20230308874 A1) (Hereinafter Yang) in view of Huang et al. (US Patent Application No. 20250088364) (Hereinafter Huang).
As per claim 1, Yang discloses a method comprising: performing an association process with a Station (STA) (para 16, performing an association process between AP and a first device/STA. the AP may further perform an association with the first device)
receiving an initial Key Confirmation Key (KCK) (para 19, receiving/generating key confirmation keys during an initial security suite negotiation. the first PTk1 includes a first key confirmation key KVK1);
performing a four-way handshake to derive one or more keys using the PMKID (para17, When the first PMK1 is the same as the second PMK2, the AP may perform the 4-way handshake with the first device based on the PMK. ", par. [20] : "
both the AP and the first device can perform, based on the PMK, identity authentication through a 4-way handshake process, and generate a session key and a group transient key).
Yang further discloses the access point AP negotiates, based on a password, a pairwise master key PMK with a first device based on a twin base password encrypted key exchange TBPEKE protocol, where the password is a shared key between the AP and the first device; and then the AP performs a 4 way handshake with the first device based on the PMK ,…. the AP and the first device can perform, based on the PMK, identity authentication through a 4-way handshake process ", i.e. the PMK is identified based on the PMKID which is based on the exchanged PTKs that included the KCK, i.e. the PMKID is determined based on the KCK (para 8, 20).
Yang does not explicitly disclose determining a Pairwise Master Key (PMK) Identifier (PMKID) based on the initial KCK. However, Huang explicitly discloses determining a Pairwise Master Key (PMK) Identifier (PMKID) based on the initial KCK (para 74, When the negotiated AKM uses PMKID derivation with (#3744)PTK-KCK as a parameter as defined in 12.7.1.3 (Pairwise key hierarchy), the PMKID derived from the PTK-KCK during the initial 4-way handshake is not changed during the lifetime of this PMKSA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Huang. The motivation would have been to streamline key identification and maintain consistent security association.
The Examiner notes that this motivation applies to all dependent and/or otherwise subsequently addressed claims.
As per claim 2, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 1, above. In addition, Yang discloses wherein the initial KCK is derived during an initial association and authentication process of the STA with an Access Point (AP) (para 19, deriving key confirmation keys during initial authentication/association, see Huang para 74).
As per claim 3, the claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Huang discloses wherein receiving the initial KCK comprises receiving the initial KCK from a cache wherein the AP sends the initial KCK to the cache after the initial association and authentication process (para 73, 82, opportunistic key caching and sending/retrieving cache identifiers) .
As per claim 4, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 1, above. In addition, Huang discloses wherein determining the PMKID based on the initial KCK comprises applying a hash function to a concatenation of the initial KCK,
an address of authenticator, and an address of the STA (para 77, authenticator/Peer MAC addresses in PMKSA, also yang: para 25 KDF concatenation functions).
As per claim 5, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Huang discloses wherein the STA stores the initial KCK, and wherein receiving the initial KCK comprises receiving the initial KCK from the STA (para 72, client storage and sending PMKIDs/credentials to the AP).
As per claim 6, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 1, above. In addition, Yang discloses wherein receiving the initial KCK comprises receiving the initial KCK from a security association element stored by a cache, wherein the security association element comprises an STA ID field and a KCK field (para 76-77, lists fields in a PMKSA element, also see Yang: para 26).
As per claim 7, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 1, above. In addition, Yang discloses further comprising: deriving a PMK based on the PMKID; and deriving a new Pairwise Transient Key (PTK) for the STA based on the PMK, wherein performing the four-way handshake to derive the one or more keys comprises using the new PTK (para 17-20, deriving PMKs, generating PTks, and executing 4- way handshake).
As per claims 8-14, claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claims 1-7, above.
As per claims 15-14, claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claims 1-4 and 6-7, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hwakes et al ( US 20130243194 A1) discloses client device is performing a 4-way handshake with an access point (AP), a pair-wise master key (PMK) is generated and additional keys, such as a pair-wise transient key (PTK), are derived from the PMK. The PTK remains valid for as long as the PMK remains valid; thus, without added security (such as PFS), an attacker may derive the PTK from a compromised PMK to decode transmissions between the client device and the AP during an effective lifetime of the compromised PMK. Instead of relying on derived keys that may remain valid for as long as the PMK may remain valid, the described techniques provide enhanced security by implementing PFS in the 4-way handshake.
/MOHAMMAD A SIDDIQI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493