Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 58-69, to SEQ ID NO: 805, in the reply filed on September 7, 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-57 are canceled. Claims 70-77 have been withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner because they are drawn to non-elected inventions. Claim 60 is also currently not being considered because it does not read on the recited SEQ ID NO. Claims 58-59, 61-69, to SEQ ID NO: 805, are under consideration.
Priority: This application claims benefit of provisional applications 63/516115, filed July 27, 2023, and 63/517532, filed August 3, 2023.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 58 be found allowable, claim 68 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). In this instance, claim 68 recites a “food composition” comprising the same nucleotide sequence recited in claim 58. Claim 68 does not recite any additional component in the food composition beyond the nucleotide sequence SEQ ID NO: 805. The “food composition” recited in claim 68 appears to be an intended use of the product; therefore, claims 58 and 68 are drawn to the same product, i.e. nucleic acid molecule/nucleotide sequence comprising SEQ ID NO: 805.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 59, 62-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In analyzing the claims for compliance with the written description requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, a determination is made as to whether the specification contains a written description sufficient to show they had possession of the full scope of their claimed invention at the time the application was filed. The factors to be considered include disclosure of a complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, and any combination thereof.
In the present situation, the claims are drawn to a nucleic acid molecule comprising a nucleotide sequence at least 85% identical to a selected SEQ ID NO. (i.e. SEQ ID NO: 805) (instant claim 59), the nucleotide sequence is at least 70% but no more than 80% identical to SEQ ID NO: 805 (instant claim 62), the nucleotide sequence is at least 72% but no more than 78% identical to SEQ ID NO: 805 (instant claim 63), and the nucleotide sequence is at least 74% but no more than 76% identical to SEQ ID NO: 805.
The specification discloses that the claimed nucleic acid molecules comprising specific nucleotide sequences are codon-optimized for expressing milk proteins, such as caseins, in plants (at least paragraphs 0018-0019 of the application publication US 20250034220).
Accordingly, the claims encompass a significantly large genus of modified nucleic acid molecules encoding for a milk protein (kappa casein) and sharing 70%, 72%, 74%, 76%, 80%, 85%, etc. identity with SEQ ID NO: 805.
However, the specification appears to disclose only specific nucleic acid sequences that are codon-optimized for expressing milk proteins in plants. The specification does not appear to disclose any variants of a specific nucleotide sequence, i.e. SEQ ID NO: 805, encoding for a milk protein. The specification does not disclose any particular variants that have 70%, 72%, 74%, 76%, 80%, 85%, etc. identity with SEQ ID NO: 805, where said variants encode for milk proteins.
Thereby, the specification has described in terms of its complete structure only specific codon-optimized nucleotide sequences encoding milk proteins.
The specification does not describe by other relevant identifying characteristics a representative number of additional species within the broadly claimed genus.
It is noted that the specification also discloses the general methodology and concepts related to codon optimization. However, possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features. See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895.
This finding is also emphasized in Ex Parte Kubin (No. 2007-0819, Bd. Pat. App. & Int. May 31, 2007), wherein it is stated that:
“Although there is often significant overlap” between the enablement and written description requirements, “they are nonetheless independent of each other.” University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 921, 69 USPQ2d at 1891. An “invention may be enabled even though it has not been described.” Id. Such is the situation here. While we conclude one skilled in the art would have been able to make and use the full scope of claim 73 through routine experimentation, we find Appellants did not describe the invention of claim 73 sufficiently to show they had possession of the claimed genus of nucleic acids. See, e.g., Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1348, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed”).
Thereby, a showing of how to potentially identify and make other nucleic acids is not sufficient to establish that Applicants were in possession of the invention as broadly claimed.
The skilled artisan cannot necessarily envision the detailed structures of ALL the nucleic acid variants of a selected nucleotide sequence, i.e. SEQ ID NO: 805, encoding for a kappa casein protein because the specification does not disclose a clear structure-function between the claimed genus of nucleic acids and the milk protein. There is no guidance provided in the specification regarding which 30%, 28%, 26%, 20%, 15%, etc. may vary from the recited SEQ ID NO. There is no guidance provided as to which modifications (substitutions and/or deletions and/or additions) may be present without affecting expression of a milk protein and the extent of such tolerance, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the methods of making the claimed invention. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating or making it. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
Claims 58-59, 61-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 59 recites wherein the nucleotide sequence is at least 85%, at least 90%, etc. identical to one of the SEQ NOS. (i.e. SEQ ID NO: 805). It is not clear what is meant by “identical”, i.e. sequence identity, functional identity, etc. Additionally, it is not clear how a sequence can be partially identical since being identical means that it is exactly the same in every detail. Further correct and/or clarification is requested.
Claim 58 is drawn to a nucleic acid molecule comprising a nucleotide sequence selected from, for instance SEQ ID NO: 805. It is not clear whether the nucleic acid molecule comprises the entire nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 805 or a nucleotide sequence within SEQ ID NO: 805. Further correct and/or clarification is requested. Additionally, claim 59 is dependent on claim 58, where claim 59 recites wherein the nucleotide sequence is at least 85%, at least 90%, etc. identical to SEQ ID NO: 805. Since the nucleic acid molecule in claim 58 can comprise the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 805, which is interpreted to already having 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 805, it is not clear how claim 59 further limits the claim by reciting that the nucleotide sequence is only partially identical, i.e. is at least 85%, or including 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 805. Further correct and/or clarification is requested.
Claims 62-64 are rejected for the same reasons as noted above for claim 59.
Claims 61, 65-69 are included in this rejection because they are dependent on the above claim(s) and fail to cure their defects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 58-59, 61-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aharoni et al. (WO 2020202157). Regarding instant claim 58, in view of the grammatically indefinite article “a”, the recitation of “a nucleotide sequence” encompasses all nucleic acid molecules that comprise any two or more contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 805.
Aharoni et al. teach the amino acid sequence of bos taurus kappa-casein comprising SEQ ID NO: 40 and the polynucleotide sequence encoding the kappa-casein comprising the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 33 (at least paragraph 0331). Therefore, Aharoni et al. teach a nucleic acid molecule comprising a nucleotide sequence, i.e. at least two contiguous nucleotides, selected from the claimed SEQ ID NO: 805 (instant claims 58, 61, 65-67).
Regarding instant claims 59, 62-64, since it is not clear what is meant by “identical”, Aharoni et al. can be deemed to teach nucleotides sequences being identical or that are at least 85%, 70%, etc., identical to the claimed SEQ ID NO. since the polynucleotide comprising the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 33 in Aharoni et al. has the same function or identical function of encoding for kappa casein.
Regarding instant claims 68-69, Aharoni et al. teach a composition comprising a genetically modified plant comprising at least one cell expressing the milk protein (at least paragraph 0356); therefore, Aharoni et al. teach a composition comprising the polynucleotide sequence encoding the kappa-casein.
No claim is allowed.
/Marsha Tsay/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656