: DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-20 are pending. Claims 4 and 10 have been cancelled. No claim has been added. Claims 1, 11, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-20 have been rejected.
Response to Arguments
Most of Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the Examiner’s new grounds of rejections based on an added reference. However, the Examiner would like to address Applicant’s following comment: “Further, claim 1 is amended to recite that ‘the one or more sample depictions exclude a neutral facial depiction of the target character.’ Prashanth does not teach or suggest such a concept as the neutral expression is foundational to the method of Prashanth. In particular, the input shape sets S and T in Prashanth must include neutral expressions So and To, which anchor the patch blendshape models.” Remarks pp. 8-9.
The Examiner provided updated and specific analyses in the art rejection for the limitation in question. Details are not repeated here.
However, the Examiner would like to respond to Applicant’s specific comments:
Amended claim recites, “wherein the one or more sample depictions exclude a neutral facial depiction of the target character.” However, it does not mean Applicant’s claimed invention must completely exclude the use of neutral facial depiction of the target character.
As long as the Examiner’s mappings and analyses reasonably address Applicant’s claim language, the Examiner’s burden is satisfied.
Further, “neutral facial depictions” are actually foundational to Applicant’s invention as well. See Figs. 3-5; Spec. ¶¶ 37-43.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears Applicant did not cancel the claim due to oversight. Claim 14 is generally the same as Claim 4 in the first claim set, and Claim 4 has been cancelled by Applicant due to incorporation of Claim 4’s features into Claim 1. The situation for Claim 14 is similar to Claim 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears Applicant did not cancel the claim due to oversight. Claim 20 is generally the same as Claim 4 in the first claim set, and Claim 4 has been cancelled by Applicant due to incorporation of Claim 4’s features into Claim 1. The situation for Claim 20 is similar to Claim 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prashanth et al. (“Local Anatomically-Constrained Facial Performance Retargeting”) in view of Wang et al. (“Facial Expression Synthesis using a Global-Local Multilinear Framework”) and Chen et al. (US 20230260184 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Prashanth teaches A computer-implemented method (“Character facial animation is a key aspect of many computer graphics applications” Prashanth 1 Introduction.) for performing local facial rig generation (“Local Anatomically-Constrained Facial Performance Retargeting” Prashanth Title. “Our offline algorithm leverages the expressive power of local blendshape rigs to obtain an initial estimate of the retargeted performance. Then in a second step, an anatomical model built using the target character’s facial geometry is used to constrain the retargeted performance to an anatomically plausible subspace. The result is a powerful method that can perform highly realistic retargeting given only a handful of shapes in correspondence (20 shapes) when compared to full blown production rigs with hundreds of shapes..” Prashanth Conclusion. ), the method comprising:
generating a blendshape model including a plurality of vertices, a plurality of meshes, and a plurality of patches (
Prashanth 3.1 Model Setup:
, where the equation (2) is mapped to a blendshape model, and where p represents an individual patch.
, where the figure visually illustrates the patches of a source face model and a target face model.
These face models comprises meshes and vertices:
“Note that the source and target meshes do not need to share the same topology, however we require a consistent mapping between the patches of the source and target models. This is easily achieved if the meshes do all share the same topology, or a UV layout.” Prashanth 3.1 Model Setup.
Prashanth 3.3:
);
modifying one or more blendweight values (
) associated with each of the plurality of patches (as shown equation (2)
) based on a facial depiction data collection and one or more sample depictions of a target character (
“Let S be the set of source shapes, and T be the set of target shapes, such that S𝑖 portrays the same expression as T𝑖 . Without loss of generality, let S0 and T0 be the neutral expressions. The sets S and T should be defined as triangle meshes at the origin of a common canonical coordinate frame.” Prashanth 3.1 Model Setup.
The facial depiction is mapped to S (S1, …Si…), which is a facial data collection.
The sample depictions are mapped to T (T1-T0, …,Ti-T0,…) of a target character.
, where expressions of S have been retargeted to those of T of target character.
The blendweight values (
) are based on S (facial depictions) and T (sample depictions), because of Prashanth 3.2 Patch-wise Retargeting, which states, “At a high level, we approach the problem by estimating the coefficients 𝛼 of all the patches of the source model (Eq. 1) that can accurately describe the local skin deformations required to match the shape X𝑆’. We then transfer these coefficients
to the target model (Eq. 2) to obtain an estimate of the retargeted expression. During this process, we will add several methods to artistically control the result.”),
wherein the one or more sample depictions (T (T1-T0, …,Ti-T0,…), sample depictions of the target character) exclude a neutral facial depiction (T0) of the target character (
Note according to equation (2), the neutral facial depiction of the target character is excluded for a sample depiction because of two reasons:
Sample depiction = Ti-T0.
excludes i=0.), and
wherein the one or more blendweight values (
) associated with each of the plurality of patches (p) defines a per-patch weighted linear combination of corresponding patches drawn from the facial depiction S (S1, …Si…)) and the one or more sample depictions (T (T1-T0, …,Ti-T0,…) (
and
, wherein
has been mapped to blendweight values; wherein p is a patch; wherein equation (1) is a linear combination; and wherein S (S1, …Si…));
generating an output facial rig model (equation (2) with transferred
) based on the blendshape model (as shown equation (2)
) and the one or more modified blendweight values (transferred
coefficients according to Prashanth 3.2 Patch-wise Retargeting) (
Prashanth 3.2 Patch-wise Retargeting, which states, “At a high level, we approach the problem by estimating the coefficients 𝛼 of all the patches of the source model (Eq. 1) that can accurately describe the local skin deformations required to match the shape X𝑆’. We then transfer these coefficients to the target model (Eq. 2) to obtain an estimate of the retargeted expression. During this process, we will add several methods to artistically control the result.”); and
generating one or more expressive depictions of the target character based at least on the output facial rig (
, where expressions of S have been retargeted to those of T of target character in the second row.).
Prashanth does not explicitly disclose that
each of the plurality of patches is based on a plurality of facial depictions, instead of the facial depiction, wherein each facial depiction is associated with a different distinct identity different from the target character; a per-patch weighted linear combination of corresponding patches drawn from the plurality of facial depictions; and
the facial data collection is stored in a database.
Wang teaches
each of the plurality of patches is based on a plurality of facial depictions, instead of the facial depiction, wherein each facial depiction is associated with a different distinct identity different from the target character; a per-patch weighted linear combination of corresponding patches drawn from the plurality of facial depictions (
Here, each target patch is based on a linear models of identities and their corresponding facial depictions, e.g., nasolabial fold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s multilinear model that includes identities with Prashanth. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use less data for the modeling and to allow flexible modeling. “Unlike previous methods based on multilinear models, the proposed approach is capable to extrapolate well outside the sample pool, which allows it to plausibly predict the identity of the target subject and create artifact free expression shapes while requiring only a small input dataset.” Wang Abstract.
Wang Fig. 2.
Prashanth in view of Wang does not explicitly disclose that
the facial data collection is stored in a database.
Chen teaches the facial data collection could be stored in a database (“Storage 1303 may be organized as a file system, database, or in other ways. Data, instructions, and information may be loaded from storage 1303 into volatile memory 1302 for processing by the processor 1301.” Chen ¶ 108.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s database with Prashanth in view of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to organize data, to efficiently access data, and/or to reuse data. “Storage 1303 may be organized as a file system, database, or in other ways. Data, instructions, and information may be loaded from storage 1303 into volatile memory 1302 for processing by the processor 1301.” Chen ¶ 108.
Regarding Claim 2, Prashanth further teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 1,
wherein each facial depiction included in the facial database is associated with one of multiple identities (Prashanth, Figs. 5-7. For example:
, where source 1 and source 2 represents two identities.
“Let S be the set of source shapes, and T be the set of target shapes, such that S𝑖 portrays the same expression as T𝑖 . Without loss of generality, let S0 and T0 be the neutral expressions. The sets S and T should be defined as triangle meshes at the origin of a common canonical coordinate frame.” Prashanth 3.1 Model Setup.
The facial depictions are mapped to S ( …Si…). S is for one identity as shown in fig. 3:
.
Where there are multiple identities, there are separate sets of S ( …Si…).
Further, Wang Fig. 4, where there is a linear model of identities.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s multilinear model that includes identities with Prashanth. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use less data for the modeling and to allow flexible modeling.
Regarding Claim 3, Prashanth further teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 2,
wherein the facial database includes a neutral facial expression associated with one of the multiple identities and one or more expressive facial expressions associated with the one of the multiple identities (
“Let S be the set of source shapes, and T be the set of target shapes, such that S𝑖 portrays the same expression as T𝑖 . Without loss of generality, let S0 and T0 be the neutral expressions. The sets S and T should be defined as triangle meshes at the origin of a common canonical coordinate frame.” Prashanth 3.1 Model Setup.
The neutral facial expression corresponds to S0. The Examiner has explained that S0 is associated with a selected identity as shown in fig. 3 from different identities shown in Figs. 5-7.
The expressive facial expressions are mapped to Si, associated with a selected identity as shown in fig. 3 from different identities shown in Figs. 5-7.).
Regarding Claim 5, Prashanth further teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 1,
further comprising modifying one or more vertex positions associated with the plurality of vertices included in the blendshape model (Prashanth 3.3:
, wherein vertex positions are modified as the expressions of the model changes as shown in fig. 3:
).
Regarding Claim 6, Prashanth further teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of patches is associated with a region included in the blendshape model (
Prashanth 3.1 Model Setup:
, where the equation (2) is mapped to a blendshape model, and where p represents an individual patch.
, where the figure visually illustrates the patches of a source face model and a target face model.).
Regarding Claim 7, Prashanth further teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more expressive depictions of the target character is further based on an expression delta (
[BRI on the record] With respect to “expression delta,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: positional differences between expression models.
[0039] In this embodiment, blendshape engine 122 transfers expression deltas from a generic prior model (not shown) to optimized blendshape model 210 to generate target character expressions. An expression delta describes positional differences between the vertex positions included in a neutral facial depiction of the generic prior model and an expressive depiction of the generic prior model. For example, given a generic prior model that includes both a neutral facial depiction and an expressive depiction of the generic prior model smiling, blendshape engine 122 may calculate a smile expression delta based on the different positions of corresponding vertices in the neutral facial depiction and the expressive smiling depiction. Blendshape engine 122 may apply the smile expression delta to optimized blendshape model 210 and generate a model representing the target character smiling. The method steps included in this embodiment of the present invention are discussed below in the description of FIG. 3.
Spec. ¶ 39.
[Mapping Analysis]
, wherein
or
is mapped to expression delta, wherein
is mapped to an expressive depiction of a target character.
Prashanth 3.3:
, where the patches are expressed with vertices.).
Regarding Claim 9, Prashanth in view of Wang and Chen teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein modifying the one or more blendweight values is based on minimizing one or more energy value functions (
The Examiner takes an Official Notice that an energy function may be minimized to determine parameters. The motivation of combining this well-known knowledge would have been that an optimal/fitting solution could be found. Here, the energy function reflects some of the priorities when fitting models or finding solutions. Applicant either failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice, and the well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03.).
Claims 11-13 and 15-17 are substantially similar to Claims 1-3 and 5-7. The rejection analyses of Claims 1-3 and 5-7 based on Prashanth in view of Wang and Chen are applied to Claims 11-13 and 15-17. In addition, Claims 11 recites, “One or more non-transitory computer-readable media containing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of . . .” (Prashanth 1 Introduction: “Character facial animation is a key aspect of many computer graphics applications.” Chen ¶ 21: “Some embodiments are implemented by a computer system. A computer system may include a processor, a memory, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory and non-transitory medium may store instructions for performing methods and steps described herein.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s use of computer with Prashanth in view of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make calculation faster and more reliable.
Regarding Claim 14, Prashanth further teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 11,
wherein the one or more blendweight values associated with each of the plurality of patches define a weighted linear combination of corresponding patches associated with the plurality of facial depictions included in the facial database (
, wherein
has been mapped to blendweight values; wherein p is a patch; wherein equation (1) is a linear combination.
Wang:
Here, each target patch is based on a linear models of identities and their corresponding facial depictions, e.g., nasolabial fold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s multilinear model that includes identities with Prashanth. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use less data for the modeling and to allow flexible modeling. Wang Abstract; Fig. 2.
Claims 19-20 are substantially similar to Claims 11 and 14. The rejection analyses of Claims 11 and 14 are applied to Claims 19-20. In addition, Claims 19 recites, “A system comprising: one or more memories for storing instructions; and one or more processors for executing the instructions to: . . .” (Prashanth 1 Introduction: “Character facial animation is a key aspect of many computer graphics applications.” Chen ¶ 21: “Some embodiments are implemented by a computer system. A computer system may include a processor, a memory, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory and non-transitory medium may store instructions for performing methods and steps described herein.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s use of computer with Prashanth in view of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make calculation faster and more reliable.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prashanth in view of Wang and Chen as applied to Claims 7 and 17, in further view of Miller (US 20210166459 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Prashanth further teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 7,
wherein the expression delta defines one or more vertex position differences associated with vertices included in a neutral depiction of a generic prior model and corresponding vertices included in an expressive depiction of the generic prior model (
, wherein
is mapped to expression delta, where
corresponds to the neutral depiction and
corresponds to the expressive depiction of a generic prior model.
Prashanth 3.3:
, where the patches are expressed with vertices. Therefore,
defines vertex position differences.).
Prashanth in view of Wang and Chen’s disclosure is not explicit that
defines vertex position differences, although it is the understanding in the art.
Miller teaches that the blendshape of Prashanth in view of Wang and Chen’s could define vertex position differences (
“In addition to skeletal systems, ‘blendshapes’ can also be used in rigging to produce mesh deformations. A blendshape (sometimes also called a ‘morph target’ or just a ‘shape’) is a deformation applied to a set of vertices in the mesh where each vertex in the set is moved a specified amount in a specified direction based upon a weight. Each vertex in the set may have its own custom motion for a specific blendshape, and moving the vertices in the set simultaneously will generate the desired shape. The custom motion for each vertex in a blendshape can be specified by a ‘delta,’ which is a vector representing the amount and direction of XYZ motion applied to that vertex. Blendshapes can be used to produce, for example, facial deformations to move the eyes, lips, brows, nose, dimples, etc., just to name a few possibilities.” Miller ¶ 148.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Miller’s delta calculation with Prashanth in view of Wang, and Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to flexibly, expressively, and accurately control a model’s facial expression. “Blendshapes are useful for deforming the mesh in an art-directable way.” Miller ¶ 149. “Blendshapes can be used to produce, for example, facial deformations to move the eyes, lips, brows, nose, dimples, etc., just to name a few possibilities.” Miller ¶ 148.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to Claim 8. The rejection analyses of Claim 8 is applied to Claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Geertsen et al. (US 20240404160), which teaches the multilinear model based on identity and expression, similar to the amended limitations (4/16/26):
“Morphable Face Mesh: A morphable face mesh consists of a base “generic” face mesh and a set of closely related blendshapes organized into two groups: (1) the expression blendshapes defining isolated expression movements of a face that, when combined, can span the full range of possible facial expressions; and (2) the identity blendshapes, usually statistically determined to define a range of possible head and face shapes.” Geertsen ¶ 45.
However, Geertsen does not explicitly disclose that the multi-linear model is patch-based as the claimed invention requires.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENGXI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611