DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on April 26, 2026 concerning application No. 18/786,361 filed on July 26, 2024.
Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 04/26/2026 regarding the drawings have been fully considered. The amendments to the drawings have been entered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 regarding the newly filed claim amendments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For the same reasons as above, dependent claims 2-8 and 10-21 are not patentable over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Blanchard et al. (US 20220104886, as cited in the 08/28/2024 IDS, hereinafter Blanchard) in view of De Wild et al. (US 20230113291, hereinafter De Wild).
Regarding claim 1, Blanchard teaches an ultrasound probe (ultrasound probe 104 in fig. 1 or probe 204 in fig. 3), comprising:
a probe head including an array of ultrasonic transducers ([0075] “the plurality of ultrasonic transducers 110 arranged in an array in the probe head 208”. [0064]) configured to emit generated ultrasound signals into a target area of a patient, receive reflected ultrasound signals from the patient ([0030] “the ultrasound probe emits generated ultrasound signals into the patient from ultrasonic transducers in the probe head and receives reflected ultrasound signals from the patient by the ultrasonic transducers”. [0030] further discloses the identifying a target within the patient under the probe head from the image generated from the received signals. Therefore the emitted signals are sent into a target area of the patient), and convert the reflected ultrasound signals into corresponding electrical signals ([0080] discloses receiving, amplifying, and digitizing the reflected ultrasound signals);
a light source configured to project a visual indication onto a skin surface of the patient ([0067] “the light-pattern projector 114 is configured to project a light pattern 122 in the spatial region about the probe head 108”. Fig. 6 shows the pattern is projected on the skin); and
a console coupled with the probe head and the light source (fig. 1 discloses console 102 connected to the probe head and light source), the console including a signal converter configured to convert the electrical signals into ultrasound image data including an ultrasound image of the target area ([0080] discloses performing image processing to generate ultrasound images 136), one or more processors (the electronic circuitry of the console), and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon logic that ([079] discloses the console 102 includes a memory for storing programmable read only memory for controlling the system), when executed by the one or more processors, causes operations including:
performing a determination process on the ultrasound image data to determine when an anatomical target is present within the ultrasound image ([0081] discloses determining the depth of the anatomical structure within the ultrasound images 136, thereby performing a determination process that the anatomical target is present in the image); and
activating the light source to project the visual indication onto the skin surface (fig. 6 discloses activating the light source to project the pattern on the skin), the visual indication including one or more visual characteristics based on one or more characteristics of the anatomical target ([0081] discloses adjusting a scale of the pattern 122 based on the depth (anatomical characteristic) of the anatomical structure).
Blanchard does not specifically teach the one or more characteristics include a location of the anatomical target with respect to a central axis of the ultrasound probe.
However,
De Wild in a similar field of endeavor teaches activating a light source to project a visual indication, the visual indication including one or more characteristic including a location of the anatomical target with respect to a central axis of the ultrasound probe ([0047] “a marker in the form of an illuminated light source 72 can be produced directly above the imaged region, e.g. of an anatomical feature of a patient such as a blood vessel, tumour or the like” and [0072] “track the location of an artery or the like within an ultrasound image generated with the ultrasound probe 10 if the ultrasound probe is slightly moved, e.g. by tracking the user-highlighted region of interest based on the image characteristics such as intensity values of the pixels (or voxels) of the selected region(s) and automatically adjust which light source(s) 72, 72′ are to be activated on the ultrasound probe 10 based on the movement of the highlighted region(s) of interest between successive ultrasound images”. Figs. 1 and 5-6 further show the light source 72 is activated and produces an visual indication that include the location of an anatomical target with respect to a central axis of the ultrasound probe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the probe system disclosed by Blanchard to have the one or more characteristics include a location of the anatomical target with respect to a central axis of the ultrasound probe in order to improve procedure success rates, as recognized by De Wild ([0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Blanchard in view of De Wild teaches the probe of claim 1, as set forth above. Blanchard further teaches the one or more visual characteristics includes at least one of a dot or a line (figs. 6-8 show the visual characteristics include at least a line).
Regarding claim 8, Blanchard in view of De Wild teaches the probe of claim 7, as set forth above. Blanchard further teaches the one or more visual characteristics include the line, and wherein the line is configured to extend away from the ultrasound probe in a direction perpendicular to a front face of the ultrasound probe (figs. 6 and 7 show the pattern 122 includes a line that extends away from the ultrasound probe 104/204 in a direction perpendicular to the front face of the probe).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard in view of De Wild as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bouazza-Marouf et al. (US 20190282262, hereinafter Bouazza).
Regarding claim 2, Blanchard in view of De Wild teaches the probe of claim 1, as set forth above. Blanchard in view of De Wild does not specifically teach the light source includes a separate light source module attached to and operably coupled with the ultrasound probe.
However,
Bouazza in a similar field of endeavor teaches the light source includes a separate light source module attached to and operably coupled with the ultrasound probe ([0045] discloses the marking guide is a laser/light guide attached to the probe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of having the light source include a separate light source module attached to and operably coupled with the ultrasound probe of Bouazza to the probe of Blanchard in view of De Wild to allow for the predictable results of increasing the mobility and versatility of the probe by not limiting it to be used for the sole purpose of having a light guide.
Regarding claim 3, Blanchard in view of De Wild and Bouazza teaches the probe of claim 2, as set forth above. Bouazza further teaches the separate light source module is configured to attach to and operably couple with the ultrasound probe having a sterile barrier covering the probe, the sterile barrier disposed between the separate light source module and the ultrasound probe ([0412] discloses the US probe is placed into a sterile cover and then the marking bracket (light source) is then fixed to the probe. [0471]-[0472] additionally discloses “the bracket can be mounted externally to the cover without damaging the cover and can serve to hold the cover tightly around the end of the probe”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the probe system disclosed by Blanchard in view of De Wild and Bouazza to have the separate light source module is configured to attach to and operably couple with the ultrasound probe having a sterile barrier covering the probe, the sterile barrier disposed between the separate light source module and the ultrasound probe in order to improve patient outcomes, as recognized by Bouazza ([0020]).
Regarding claim 4, Blanchard in view of De Wild and Bouazza teaches the probe of claim 2, as set forth above. Bouazza further teaches the separate light source module is wirelessly coupled with the ultrasound probe ([0301] discloses the marking guide includes laser/light pointer. [0381]-[0382] discloses the parts of the marking bracket guide are wirelessly connected to the system).
Regarding claim 5, Blanchard in view of De Wild and Bouazza teaches the probe of claim 2, as set forth above. Bouazza further teaches the separate light source module is configured for single use ([0471] discloses the bracket is mounted on the probe and is therefore detachable and configured for single use).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard in view of De Wild as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito et al. (US 20130296651, hereinafter Ito).
Regarding claim 6, Blanchard in view of De Wild teaches the probe of claim 1, as set forth above. Blanchard in view of De Wild does not specifically teach the operations further include deactivating the light source when the anatomical target is not present within the ultrasound image.
However,
Ito in a similar field of endeavor teaches the operations further include deactivating the light source when the target is not present within the ultrasound image ([0008] and [0094] disclose stopping the illumination of the light when it is determined when the insertion portion (target) is not present within an observation target (image)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the probe system disclosed by Blanchard in view of De Wild to have the operations further include deactivating the light source when the anatomical target is not present within the ultrasound image in order to extend the light of the light source, as recognized by Ito ([0094]).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard in view of De Wild as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN115337041A, hereinafter Li)
Regarding claim 9, Blanchard in view of De Wild teaches the probe of claim 1, as set forth above. Blanchard in view of De Wild does not specifically teach the one or more characteristics of the anatomical target include an identity of the anatomical target.
However,
Li in a similar field of endeavor teaches activating the light source based on one or more characteristics of the anatomical target include an identity of the anatomical target (pg. 8, para. 12, discloses adjusting the direction and type of light source to be used based on the shape and direction of blood flow (identity) of the blood vessel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of having the one or more characteristics of the anatomical target include an identity of the anatomical target of Li to the probe of Blanchard in view of De Wild to allow for the predictable results of providing additional guidance to the user to ensure they are performing the procedure on the correct target location.
Regarding claim 10, Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li teaches the probe of claim 9, as set forth above. Blanchard further teaches the operations further include performing a location process on the ultrasound image data to determine the location of the anatomical target with respect to the ultrasound probe ([0081] and fig. 4 disclose determining the depth of the anatomical structure within the image which corresponds to the depth (location) the anatomical structure is from the probe head).
Regarding claim 11, Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li teaches the probe of claim 10, as set forth above. Blanchard further teaches activating the light source includes projecting the visual indication onto the skin surface at a location above the anatomical target (fig. 6 shows the activation of the light source to generate the pattern includes projecting the pattern on the skin at a location above the anatomical target (blood vessel)).
Regarding claim 12, Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li teaches the probe of claim 11, as set forth above. Blanchard further teaches the location of the visual indication defines an insertion site for a needle to access the anatomical target (fig. 6 shows the location of the pattern defines an insertion site for the needle 116 to access the anatomical target (blood vessel)).
Claim(s) 13 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li as applied to claims 9 and 10 above, and further in view of Messerly et al. (US 20220160434, hereinafter Messerly).
Regarding claim 13, Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li teaches the probe of claim 9, as set forth above. Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li does not specifically teach the operations further include performing an identification process on the ultrasound image data to identify the anatomical target as a vein or as an anatomical element other than a vein.
However,
Messerly in a similar field of endeavor teaches the operations further include performing an identification process on the ultrasound image data to identify the anatomical target as a vein or as an anatomical element other than a vein ([0072] discloses the system classifies the target by identifying whether the target is a vein or artery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the probe system disclosed by Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li to have the operations further include performing an identification process on the ultrasound image data to identify the anatomical target as a vein or as an anatomical element other than a vein in order to improve clinical accuracy, as recognized by Messerly ([0075]).
Regarding claim 17, Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li teaches the probe of claim 10, as set forth above. Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li does not specifically teach performing the location process includes applying a first trained machine-learning model to the ultrasound image data resulting in the determination of the location of the anatomical target with respect to the ultrasound probe.
However,
Messerly in a similar field of endeavor teaches performing the location process includes applying a first trained machine-learning model to the ultrasound image data resulting in the determination of the location of the anatomical target with respect to the ultrasound probe ([0071] discloses using a machine learning method to identify specific targets within the image. [0066] “the disclosed system can simultaneously determine the location of anatomical targets”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the probe system disclosed by Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li to have performing the location process include applying a first trained machine-learning model to the ultrasound image data resulting in the determination of the location of the anatomical target with respect to the ultrasound probe in order to improve clinical accuracy, as recognized by Messerly ([0075]).
Regarding claim 18, Blanchard in view of De Wild, Li and Messerly teaches the probe of claim 13, as set forth above. Messerly further teaches performing the identification process includes applying a second trained machine-learning model to the ultrasound image data resulting in the identification of the anatomical target as the vein or as the anatomical element other than a vein ([0084] discloses using an AI model to classify the potential targets such as blood vessels. [0072]-[0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the probe system disclosed by Blanchard in view of De Wild, Li, and Messerly to have performing the identification process includes applying a second trained machine-learning model to the ultrasound image data resulting in the identification of the anatomical target as the vein or as the anatomical element other than a vein in order to improve clinical accuracy, as recognized by Messerly ([0075]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard in view of De Wild, Li, and Messerly as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kadokura et al. (US 20240050060, hereinafter Kadokura).
Regarding claim 14, Blanchard in view of De Wild, Li, and Messerly teaches the probe of claim 13, as set forth above. Blanchard in view of De Wild, Li, and Messerly does not specifically teach the one or more visual characteristics include a number of colors.
However,
Kadokura in a similar field of endeavor teaches the one or more visual characteristics include a number of colors ([0079] discloses the laser pointer outputs a color beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of having the one or more visual characteristics include a number of colors of Kadokura to the probe system disclosed by Blanchard in view of De Wild, Li, and Messerly to allow for the predictable results of increasing the visibility of the visual indication.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Meurer et al. (US 20120179038, hereinafter Meurer).
Regarding claim 19, Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li teaches the probe of claim 10, as set forth above. Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li does not specifically teach the ultrasound probe is operably coupled with a needle tracking system configured to determine a location and an orientation of a trackable needle with respect to the ultrasound probe, the operations further including: receiving needle tracking data from the needle tracking system; and performing a tracking process on the ultrasound image data in combination with the needle tracking data to determine a location of the trackable needle with respect to the anatomical target, and the one or more visual characteristics include visual characteristics based on the location of the trackable needle with respect to the anatomical target.
However,
Meurer in a similar field of endeavor teaches the ultrasound probe is operably coupled with a needle tracking system configured to determine a location and an orientation of a trackable needle with respect to the ultrasound probe (fig. 1 shows the probe 16 is operably coupled to the position/trajectory computation component 38 (needle tracking system) and [0020] discloses the component 38 calculates the orientation and physical location of the interventional instrument 34 (needle)), the operations further including: receiving needle tracking data from the needle tracking system ([0020] discloses “The control circuitry 26 may receive the interventional instrument 34 location and orientation data”); and performing a tracking process on the ultrasound image data in combination with the needle tracking data to determine a location of the trackable needle with respect to the anatomical target ([0025] discloses in step 58 it is determined whether the instrument (needle) is in the ultrasound plane, thereby determining the location of the instrument relative to the target since the target is in plane), and the one or more visual characteristics include visual characteristics based on the location of the trackable needle with respect to the anatomical target ([0025] discloses displaying the path of the instrument in a specific color based on whether the instrument is aligned with the target or not).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the probe system disclosed by Blanchard in view of De Wild and Li to have the ultrasound probe be operably coupled with a needle tracking system configured to determine a location and an orientation of a trackable needle with respect to the ultrasound probe, the operations further including: receiving needle tracking data from the needle tracking system; and performing a tracking process on the ultrasound image data in combination with the needle tracking data to determine a location of the trackable needle with respect to the anatomical target, and the one or more visual characteristics include visual characteristics based on the location of the trackable needle with respect to the anatomical target in order to decrease complication and improve controllability of the procedure, as recognized by Meurer.
Regarding claim 20, Blanchard in view of De Wild, Li, and Meurer teaches the probe of claim 19, as set forth above. Meurer further teaches the visual characteristics based on the location of the trackable needle are configured to indicate when the trackable needle is aligned with the anatomical target ([0025] discloses the color change indicates when the needle is aligned with the target).
Regarding claim 21, Blanchard in view of De Wild, Li, and Meurer teaches the probe of claim 20, as set forth above. Meurer further teaches the visual characteristics based on the location of the trackable needle include: a fifth color when the tracking process determines that the trackable needle is not aligned with the anatomical target; and a sixth color different from the fifth color when the tracking process determines that the trackable needle is aligned with the anatomical target ([0025], [0027] and fig. 2 disclose displaying the path as green when the instrument is aligned with the target and as red when the instrument is not aligned with the target).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to reasonably teach or in combination render obvious the following limitations when the claims taken as a whole to include, “the one or more visual characteristics include: a first color when the identification process identifies the anatomical target as a vein; and a second color, different from the first color, when the identification process identifies the anatomical target as the anatomical element other than a vein.”, where the visual characteristics specifically relate to the visual indications projected onto the skin surface of the subject using the light source.
Examiner notes the prior art reference Misener et al. (US 20230389893) discloses the limitation recited above in [0055], “The light projector 220 may indicate an artery versus a vein in other ways, such as projecting a color over a projected image of the blood vessel”. However, the Misener et al. reference cannot be applied as prior art as it falls within the 102(b)(1)(A) exception.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW W BEGEMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798