DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The continuation data listed in Paragraph 1 of the specification for Application No. 18/309,715, filed April 28, 2023, should be updated, as Application No. 18/309,715 is now U.S. Patent No. 12,071,497. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Multiple periods in the claims (See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995) [MPEP 608.01(m)] {a. should be a), etc.}. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9, 13-15, 19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation about 40 and about 80 weight percent, and the claim also recites about 60 and about 75 weight percent which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation about 1 and about 20 weight percent, and the claim also recites about 5 and about 15 weight percent which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 15 recites the broad recitation about 15% to about 22% by weight, and the claim also recites about 16% to about 20% by weight which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 19 recites the broad recitation about 0.1 and about 5 weight percent, and the claim also recites about 0.5 and about 3 weight percent, and about 0.5 and about 2 weight percent which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 22 recites the broad recitation about 0.1 and about 5 weight percent, and the claim also recites about 1 and about 4 weight percent, and about 1 and about 3 weight percent which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 23 recites the broad recitation about 0 and about 15 weight percent, and the claim also recites about 1 and about 10 weight percent, and about 1 and about 8 weight percent which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 24 recites the broad recitation a refractive index of at least 1.45 and an ABBE number of at least 45, and the claim also recites a refractive index of at least 1.48 and an ABBE number of at least 50, and a refractive index of at least 1.50 and an ABBE number of at least 50 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 13 depends from claim 50, therefore claim 13 is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 13 will be interpreted as depending from claim 12.
Claim 14 depends from claim 51, therefore claim 14 is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 14 will be interpreted as depending from claim 12.
Claim 21 depends from claim 61, therefore claim 21 is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 21 will be interpreted as depending from claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-22 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alli et al. (US 2018/0011222), when taken with Taşkıran, I.; Ezdeşir, A.; Sunal, G.; Uyanık, N. J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2006, 101, 128.
Regarding claims 1, 7-11, 15-20 and 25-26: Alli et al. (US ‘222) discloses silicone hydrogel compositions [abstract], wherein Example 93 [Ex. 93; 0385-0387; Table 40, Ex. 93] contains 25 parts OH-mPDMS (n=4) (mono-(2-hydroxy-3-methacryloxypropyl)-propyl ether terminated mono-n-butyl terminated polydimethylsiloxane [0307]), 28 parts OH-mPDMS (n=15), 5 parts Tegomer V-Si 2250 ([0298]; bis-3-acryloxy-2-hydroxypropyloxypropyl polydimethylsiloxane [see instant specification, pg. 37, ln. 19-20]), 0.25 parts EGDMA (ethylene glycol dimethacrylate [0290]), 20 parts DMA (N,N-dimethylacrylamide [0266]), 7.89 parts HEMA (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate [0267]) {corresponding to ~ 3.5 wt% HEMA}, 7 parts PVP K90 (poly(N-vinylpyrrolidone) [0287]), 2 parts pVMA (poly(N-vinyl N-methyl acetamide) [0286]) {corresponding to ~ 4 wt% PVP and pVMA}, 4.5 parts UV absorbers, 0.34 parts Irgacure 1970 (blend containing bis(2,6-dimethoxybenzoyl)-2,4,4-trimethyl-penylphosphineoxide [0300]), 0.002 parts Blue HEMA (1-amino-4-[3-(4-(2-methacryloyloxy-ethoxy)6-chlorotriazin-2-ylamino)-4-sulfophenylamino]anthrquinone-2-sulfonic acid [0284]; corresponding to aromatic (meth)acrylate), 23 parts diluent and 100 parts water [Ex. 93; 0385-0387; Table 40, Ex. 93]. Alli et al. (US ‘222) discloses curing the composition of Ex. 93 to afford contact lenses [abstract; Ex. 93; 0385-0387; Table 40, Ex. 93]. Alli et al. (US ‘222) discloses the hydroxyl-containing silicone components are present in an amount of about 40 to about 70 wt%, wherein the ratio of the first to second hydroxyl-containing silicone component {ex. Tegomer 2250} is 0.2 to 1.3 [0098-0110].
While Alli et al. (US ‘222) does not disclose Ex. 93 containing about 15 to about 22 wt% Tegomer 2250, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05]. Additionally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject mat-ter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [see MPEP 2144.05].
Taşkıran et al. (J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2006, 101, 128) provides evidence for Tegomer V-Si 2250:
[§Experimental].
Regarding claims 12-14: Alli et al. (US ‘222) discloses hydroxyl-containing silicone component of Formula XI [0104-0105], wherein R1 can be H, R2 and R3 can be C1 alkyl and n = 1-50 [0104-0105].
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). [see MPEP 2144.06].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Note Formula XI:
[0104-0105].
Regarding claims 21-22: Alli et al. (US ‘222) discloses 1.75 parts UV Absorbers {~ 0.8 wt%}, such as Norbloc (2-(2’-hydroxy-5-methacryloyloxyethylphenyl)-2H-benzotriazole) [0045, 0321, 0385-0387; Ex. 93; Table 40, Ex. 93] [see MPEP 2131.02].
Regarding claim 24: Alli et al. (US ‘222) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a refractive index of at least 1.45 and an ABBE number of at least 45 [instant claim 24], would implicitly be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Claim(s) 1, 7-22 and 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alli et al. (US 2018/0011223), when taken with Taşkıran, I.; Ezdeşir, A.; Sunal, G.; Uyanık, N. J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2006, 101, 128.
Regarding claims 1, 7-11, 15-22, and 25-27: Alli et al. (US ‘223) discloses silicone hydrogel compositions [abstract], wherein Example 24 [Ex. 24; 0227-0229; Table 6, Ex. 24] contains 41.5 parts OH-mPDMS (n=4) (mono-(2-hydroxy-3-methacryloxypropyl)-propyl ether terminated mono-n-butyl terminated polydimethylsiloxane [0219]), 15 parts NMMA (N-methyl methacrylamide [0219]), 12 parts HEMA (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate [0219]; corresponding to ~5.4 wt% HEMA), 7 parts pVMA (poly(N-vinyl N-methyl acetamide) [0219]; corresponding to ~3.1 wt% pVMA), 10 parts Tegomer 2250 ([0219] bis-3-acryloxy-2-hydroxypropyloxypropyl polydimethylsiloxane [see instant specification, pg. 37, ln. 19-20]), 7.5 parts EGDMA (ethylene glycol dimethacrylate [0219]), 1.75 parts Norbloc (2-(2’-hydroxy-5-methacryloyloxyethylphenyl)-2H-benzotriazole [0219]; corresponding to ~0.8 wt% Norbloc), 4.98 parts TMPTA (trimethylolpropane trimethacrylate [219]), 0.25 parts CGI 819 (bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)-phenylphosphineoxide [0219]), 0.02 parts Blue HEMA (1-amino-4-[3-(4-(2-methacryloyloxy-ethoxy)6-chlorotriazin-2-ylamino)-4-sulfophenylamino]anthrquinone-2-sulfonic acid [0219]; corresponding to aromatic (meth)acrylate), 23 parts diluent and 100 parts water [Ex. 24; 0227-0229; Table 6, Ex. 24]. Alli et al. (US ‘223) discloses curing the composition of Ex. 24 to afford contact lenses [Ex. 24; 0227-0229; Table 6, Ex. 24]. Alli et al. (US ‘223) discloses the hydroxyl-containing silicone components are present in an amount of about 20 to about 60 wt% [0119-0134].
While Alli et al. (US ‘223) does not disclose Ex. 24 containing about 15 to about 22 wt% Tegomer 2250, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05]. Additionally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject mat-ter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [see MPEP 2144.05].
Taşkıran et al. (J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2006, 101, 128) provides evidence for Tegomer V-Si 2250 having n = 20:
[§Experimental].
Regarding claims 12-14: Alli et al. (US ‘223) discloses hydroxyl-containing silicone component of Formula LXI [0132] , wherein R1 can be H, R16 and R17 can be C1 alkyl and n = 10-50 [0132; 0140].
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). [see MPEP 2144.06].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Note Formula LXI:
[0132; 0140].
Regarding claim 24: Alli et al. (US ‘223) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a refractive index of at least 1.45 and an ABBE number of at least 45 [instant claim 24], would implicitly be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of U.S. Patent No. 11,708,440. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition of U.S. Patent No. 11,708,440 containing an aromatic (meth)acrylate, a hydroxyalkyl (meth)acrylate, and a bis(2-hydroxypropyl (meth)acrylate) terminated polysiloxane substantially overlaps in scope with the instant claimed composition. While U.S. Patent No. 11,708,440 does not specifically claim 15-22 wt% of bis(2-hydroxypropyl (meth)acrylate) terminated polysiloxane, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed 15-22 wt% of bis(2-hydroxypropyl (meth)acrylate) terminated polysiloxane, as U.S. Patent No. 11,708,440 claims about 15-30 wt% of bis(2-hydroxypropyl (meth)acrylate) terminated polysiloxane [claim 18].
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767