DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications: Application filed on 7/26/2024
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10, and 18 are independent.
Double Patenting
Claims 1and 4-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,050,860. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application recites a system that performs the method of generating a chart recommendation by identifying and annotating the semantic meaning of data in a cell as recited in Patent ‘860. The claims of patent ‘129 identify charts relevant to an entity type associated with a column. The claims of the current application are broader than patent ‘860 and recite “wherein each chart in the plurality of charts is associated with a corresponding score based on the at least one of the user device characteristic or the entity type”. The claims of patent ‘860 does not explicitly recite “wherein each chart in the plurality of charts is associated with a corresponding score based on the at least one of the user device characteristic or the entity type”. However Religa et al. substantially discloses wherein each chart in the plurality of charts is associated with a corresponding score based on the at least one of the user device characteristic or the entity type (Religa et al. para[0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to have modified the system of patent ‘860 with the ranking system of Religa et al. in order to provide the most relevant charts first.
Current Application
US12,050,860
Patent US11,562,129
1. A system comprising:
a memory; and
a processing device communicably coupled to the memory, the processing device to:
1. A system to generate a chart recommendation based on machine understanding of spreadsheet data, the system comprising:
a memory; and
a processing device communicably coupled to the memory, the processing device to:
1. A method to generate a chart recommendation based on machine understanding of spreadsheet data comprising:
identify a set of data corresponding to content of one or more cells in a column of a spreadsheet presented to a user of a user device, wherein the user device is associated with a user device characteristic;
identify a set of data that each include content of a cell of one or more cells in a column of a spreadsheet presented to a user of a user device, wherein the user device is associated with a user device characteristic;
determining, by a processing device, a set of data that each include content of a cell of one or more cells in a column of a spreadsheet presented to a plurality of users of a plurality of user devices;
add an annotation to metadata of the spreadsheet, wherein the annotation is associated with an entity representing a semantic meaning of at least a subset of the set of data;
add an annotation to metadata of the cell in the column, wherein the annotation is associated with an entity representing a semantic meaning of data in the cell;
adding an annotation to metadata of the cell in the column, wherein the annotation is associated with an entity representing a semantic meaning of data in the cell;
determine, based on the annotation, an entity type associated with the column, the entity type representing a semantic meaning of the subset of data in the column of the spreadsheet;
determine, based on the annotation, an entity type associated with the column, the entity type representing a semantic meaning of the set of data in the column of the spreadsheet;
determining, based on the annotation, an entity type associated with the column, the entity type representing a semantic meaning of the set of data in the column of the spreadsheet;
identify a plurality of charts based on at least one of the user device characteristic associated with the user device or the entity type associated with the column, wherein each chart in the plurality of charts is associated with a corresponding score based on the at least one of the user device characteristic or the entity type;
Identify a plurality of charts based on the user device characteristic associated with the user device;
identify at least one of a plurality of charts that is relevant to at least one of: the entity type associated with the column, or a user class characteristic; and
identifying at least one of a plurality of charts that is relevant to the entity type associated with the column; and
provide the plurality of charts for presentation on the user device in an order reflecting the corresponding scores of the plurality of charts.
provide the identified chart for presentation to the user.
providing the identified chart for concurrent presentation to the plurality of users.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein to determine the entity type associated with the column, the processing device is further to: identify one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column, wherein each entity has an entity type; determine one or more commonly shared entity types for the column based on a number of cells in the column that share an entity type, wherein the number of cells satisfies a threshold condition; and identify a commonly shared entity type that has a highest number of cells that share the commonly shared entity type.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein to determine the entity type associated with the column, the processing device is further to: identify one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column, wherein each entity has an entity type; determine one or more commonly shared entity types for the column based on a number of cells in the column that share an entity type, wherein the number of cells satisfies a threshold condition; and identify a commonly shared entity type that has a highest number of cells that share the commonly shared entity type.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the entity type associated with the column comprises: identifying one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column, wherein each entity has an entity type; determining one or more commonly shared entity types for the column based on a number of cells in the column that share an entity type, wherein the number of cells satisfies a threshold condition; and identifying a commonly shared entity type that has a highest number of cells that share the commonly shared entity type.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein to identify one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column, the processing device is further to: identify one or more entities from a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge base having structured information about a plurality of entities and relational connections between the entities.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein to identify one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column, the processing device is further to: identify one or more entities from a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge base having structured information about a plurality of entities and relational connections between the entities.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein identifying one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column comprises identifying one or more entities from a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge base having structured information about a plurality of entities and relational connections between the entities.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the annotation to the metadata is based on a node on the knowledge graph, wherein the node represents the entity of the one or more entities associated with data in the cell and that is associated with the semantic meaning of the column.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the annotation to the metadata is based on a node on the knowledge graph, wherein the node represents the entity of the one or more entities associated with data in the cell and that is associated with the semantic meaning of the column.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the annotation to the metadata is based on a node on the knowledge graph, wherein the node represents the entity of the one or more entities associated with data in the cell and that is associated with the semantic meaning of the column.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein to identify the plurality of charts, the processing device is further to: train, using machine learning, a machine learning model to assign a relevancy score to each chart of the plurality of charts based on at least one of: entity types in a knowledge graph, one or more user device characteristics, or one or more user class characteristics; provide, as input to the trained machine learning model, at least one of the entity type associated with the column, the user device characteristic associated with the user device, or a user class characteristic; and obtain an output of the trained machine learning model, the output indicating the corresponding score for each of the plurality of charts for the column.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein to identify the at least one of the plurality of charts that is relevant to the at least one of: the entity type associated with the column, a user device characteristic associated with the user device, or a user class characteristic, the processing device is further to: train, using machine learning, a model to assign a score to each chart of the plurality of charts based on at least one of: entity types in a knowledge graph, one or more user device characteristics, or one or more user class characteristics; provide at least one of the entity type associated with the column, the user device characteristic associated with the user device, or the user class characteristic as input to a machine learning model trained using training data including collected historical data; obtain an output of the trained machine learning model, the output indicating a score for each of the plurality of charts for the column; and identify a chart with a highest score.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein identifying at least one of the plurality of charts that is relevant to the entity type associated with the column comprises: training, using machine learning, a model to assign a score to each chart of the plurality of charts based on entity types in a knowledge graph; providing the entity type associated with the column as input to a machine learning model trained using training data including collected historical data; obtaining an output of the trained machine learning model, the output indicating a score for each of the plurality of charts for the column; and identifying a chart with a highest score.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further to: identify a rule corresponding to at least one of the entity type associated with the column, the user device characteristic associated with the user device, or a user class characteristic of the user of the user device; and determine, based on the rule, the corresponding score for each chart in the plurality of charts.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein to identify the at least one of the plurality of charts that is relevant to at least one of: the entity type associated with the column, the user device characteristic associated with the user device, or the user class characteristic, the processing device is further to: identify a rule corresponding to at least one of the entity type associated with the column, the user device characteristic associated with the user device, or the user class characteristic; determine, based on the rule, a subset of the plurality of charts pertaining to at least one of: the entity type associated with the column, the user device characteristic associated with the user device, or the user class characteristic; determine a score for each chart in the subset; and identify a chart with a highest score in the determined subset of charts.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein identifying at least one of the plurality of charts that is relevant to the entity type associated with the column comprises: identifying a rule corresponding to the entity type associated with the column; determining, based on the rule, a subset of the plurality of charts pertaining to the entity type associated with the column, and a score for each chart in the subset; and identifying a chart with a highest score in the determined subset of charts.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein to provide the identified chart for presentation to the user, the processing device is further to: provide a recommendation to the user based on the identified chart; and responsive to receiving a user selection, provide the identified chart for presentation to the user.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein providing the identified chart for presentation to the user comprises: providing a recommendation to the user based on the identified chart; and responsive to receiving a user selection, providing the identified chart for presentation to the user.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further to annotate metadata associated with the column based on the semantic meaning of the column.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising annotating metadata associated with the column based on the semantic meaning of the column.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein to identify the at least one of the plurality of charts that is relevant to at least one of: the entity type associated with the column, a user device characteristic associated with the user device, or a user class characteristic, the processing device is further to: determine a score for each chart in the plurality of charts based on a set of rules that are associated with the semantic meaning of the column; and identify a chart with a highest score.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein identifying at least one of the plurality of charts that is relevant to the entity type associated with the column comprises: determining a score for each chart in the plurality of charts based on a set of rules that are associated with the semantic meaning of the column; and identifying a chart with a highest score.
10. A method to generate additional information for a spreadsheet based on machine understanding of spreadsheet data comprising: determining, by a processing device, a set of data that each include content of a cell of one or more cells in a column of the spreadsheet presented to a user; adding an annotation to metadata of the cell in the column, wherein the annotation is associated with an entity type representing a semantic meaning of the data in the cell; determining, based on the annotation, an entity type associated with the column, the entity type representing a semantic meaning of the set of data in the column of the spreadsheet; identifying additional information that is related to at least one of: the entity type associated with the column, a user device characteristic associated with the user device, or a user class characteristic; and adding one or more columns with the identified additional information to the spreadsheet, wherein a first cell of a first column of the one or more columns comprises a subset of the identified additional information, wherein the subset of the identified additional information corresponds to the data in the cell
10. A system to generate additional information for a spreadsheet based on machine understanding of spreadsheet data, the system comprising: a memory; and a processing device communicably coupled to the memory, the processing device to: determine a set of data that each include content of a cell of one or more cells in a column of the spreadsheet presented to a user; add an annotation to metadata of the cell in the column, wherein the annotation is associated with an entity type representing a semantic meaning of the data in the cell; determine, based on the annotation, an entity type associated with the column, the entity type representing a semantic meaning of the set of data in the column of the spreadsheet; identify additional information that is relevant to the entity type associated with the column; and add one or more columns with the identified additional information to the spreadsheet, wherein one or more cells of the one or more columns comprise the identified additional information.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein determining the entity type associated with the column comprises: identifying one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column, wherein each entity has an entity type; determining one or more commonly shared entity types for the column based on a number of cells in the column that share an entity type, wherein the number of cells satisfies a threshold condition; and identifying a commonly shared entity type that has a highest number of cells that share the commonly shared entity type.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein to determine the entity type associated with the column, the processing device is further to: identify one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column, wherein each entity has an entity type; determine one or more commonly shared entity types for the column based on a number of cells in the column that share an entity type, wherein the number of cells satisfies a threshold condition; and identify a commonly shared entity type that has a highest number of cells that share the commonly shared entity type.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein identifying the one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column comprises identifying one or more entities from a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge base having structured information about a plurality of entities and relational connections between the entities.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein to identify one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column the processing device is further to identify one or more entities from a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge base having structured information about a plurality of entities and relational connections between the entities.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising: annotating metadata associated with the column based on the semantic meaning of the column, wherein the annotation to the metadata is based on a node in the knowledge graph, wherein the node represents an entity of the one or more entities associated with data in the cell and that is associated with the semantic meaning of the column.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the processing device is further to: annotate metadata associated with the column based on the semantic meaning of the column, wherein the annotation to the metadata is based on a node in the knowledge graph, wherein the node represents an entity of the one or more entities associated with data in the cell and that is associated with the semantic meaning of the column.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein identifying one or more additional entity types that are closely related to the entity type associated with the column comprises: training, using machine learning, a model to assign a score to each entity type in the knowledge graph; providing the entity type associated with the column as input to a machine learning model trained using training data including collected historical data; obtaining an output of the trained machine learning model, the output indicating a score for each additional entity type; and identifying the one or more additional entity types that have a score that satisfies a second threshold condition.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein to identify one or more additional entity types that are closely related to the entity type associated with the column, the processing device is further to: train, using machine learning, a model to assign a score to each entity type in the knowledge graph; provide the entity type associated with the column as input to a machine learning model trained using training data including collected historical data; obtain an output of the trained machine learning model, the output indicating a score for each additional entity type; and identify the one or more additional entity types that have a score that satisfies a second threshold condition.
16. The method of claim 14, wherein identifying one or more additional entity types that are closely related to the entity type associated with the column comprises: identifying a rule corresponding to the entity type associated with the column; determining, based on the rule, a subset of additional entity types pertaining to the entity type associated with the column, and a score for each additional entity type in the subset; and identifying one or more additional entity types with a score that satisfies a second threshold condition in the determined subset of additional entity types.
15. The system of claim 13, wherein to identify one or more additional entity types that are closely related to the entity type associated with the column, the processing device is further to: identify a rule corresponding to the entity type associated with the column; determine, based on the rule, a subset of additional entity types pertaining to the entity type associated with the column, and a score for each additional entity type in the subset; and identify one or more additional entity types with a score that satisfies a second threshold condition in the determined subset of additional entity types.
17. The method of claim 10, wherein adding one or more columns with the identified additional information to the spreadsheet comprises: providing a recommendation to the user based on the identified additional information; and responsive to receiving a user selection, adding the identified additional information to the spreadsheet.
16. The system of claim 10, wherein to add one or more columns with the identified additional information to the spreadsheet, the processing device is further to: provide a recommendation to the user based on the identified additional information; and responsive to receiving a user selection, add the identified additional information to the spreadsheet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Religa et al. (US2020/0372077) in view of Ghasemi-Gol (“Tabular Cell Classification Using Pre-Trained Cell Embeddings”) and Abhyankar et al. (US2020/0252281) as made of reference in IDS dated 9/13/2024.
In regards to claim 1, Religa et al. substantially discloses a system comprising:
a memory (Religa et al. fig. 7 para[0036]); and
a processing device communicably coupled to the memory (Religa et al. fig. 7 para[0036]), the processing device to:
identify a set of data corresponding to content of one or more cells in a column of a spreadsheet presented to a user of a user device (Religa et al. fig.1 para[0019], selects a set of data (columns K and L) from a spreadsheet);
determine, based on the annotation, an entity type associated with the column (Religa et al. para[0019], classifier determines type of data associated with columns),
identify a plurality of charts based on at least one of the user device characteristic associated with the user device or the entity type associated with the column (Religa et al. para[0020], identifies charts relevant to datatype associated with the column), wherein each chart in the plurality of charts is associated with a corresponding score based on the at least one of the user device characteristic or the entity type (Religa et al. para[0021], the recommended charts may then be provided to the chart arranger to rank the charts in order of relevance to the data and the data types types); and
provide the plurality of charts for presentation on the user device in an order reflecting the corresponding scores of the plurality of charts (Religa et al. fig. 1 para[0021] provides identified (recommended) chart to user).
Religa et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the user device is associated with a user device characteristic;
the entity type representing a semantic meaning of the subset of data in the column of the spreadsheet.
However Abhyankar et al. substantially discloses wherein the user device is associated with a user device characteristic (Abhyankar et al. fig. 4 para[0088], the performance measures may also be associated with objects identifiers for the user device);
the entity type representing a semantic meaning of the subset of data in the column of the spreadsheet (Abhyankar et al. para[0022], determines entity type of column based on semantic information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the chart recommendation system of Religa et al. with the semantic information of Abhyankar et al. in order to identify the meaning and relationship between data objects (Abhyankar et al. para[0003]).
Religa et al. does not explicitly disclose add an annotation to metadata of the spreadsheet, wherein the annotation is associated with an entity representing a semantic meaning of at least a subset of the set of data.
However Ghasemi-Gol discloses add an annotation to metadata of the spreadsheet, wherein the annotation is associated with an entity representing a semantic meaning of at least a subset of the set of data (Ghasemi-Gol. Pg231 Section II.A para1 ln5-12, add annotation (embedding) to represent content and context of data in cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the chart recommendation method of Religa et al. with the classification embeddings of Ghasemi-Gol in order to identify relationships between content of cells (Ghasemi-Gol pg230 section I para1 ln6-12)
In regards to claim 2, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the corresponding score for each chart of the plurality of charts satisfies a threshold criterion (Religa et al. para[0021], The ranked charts 136 may then be provided to the chart presenter 140, where the charts may be presented to a user in accordance with their perceived level of relevance and/or rank.).
In regards to claim 3, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further to: ranking the plurality of charts based on the corresponding scores (Religa et al. para[0024] ln12-18, user may be able to scroll within the chart recommendation portion to view additional charts; however, the top ranked charts are generally placed at the top of the chart recommendation portion).
In regards to claim 4, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the system of claim 1, wherein to determine the entity type associated with the column, the processing device is further to: identify one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column, wherein each entity has an entity type (Religa et al. para[0019] ln1-7, data classifier configured to perform operations relating to parsing the data, identifying types of data based on the data, identifying relationships between the types of data and the data itself, and providing the types of data, relationships, and the data itself as classified data to the chart selector);
determine one or more commonly shared entity types for the column based on a number of cells in the column that share an entity type, wherein the number of cells satisfies a threshold condition (Religa et al. para[0019] ln7-12, the data may correspond to data from a plurality of selected columns, for example columns Kand L); and
identify a commonly shared entity type that has a highest number of cells that share the commonly shared entity type (Religa et al. para[0019] ln15-26, the data classifier may identify one or more of the columns, whether selected or not as a numerical dataset, a time series, an ordinal series, a hierarchy, a specific category etc.).
In regards to claim 5, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the system of claim 4, wherein to identify one or more entities associated with the data of each cell in the column, the processing device is further to: identify one or more entities from a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge base having structured information about a plurality of entities and relational connections between the entities (Abhyankar et al. para[0024] ln8-12, even for only two objects, the may be a multidimensional connection between them with different weights representing strength of different relationships).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the chart recommendation system of Religa et al. with the semantic information of Abhyankar et al. in order to identify the meaning and relationship between data objects (Abhyankar et al. para[0003]).
In regards to claim 6, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the system of claim 5, wherein the annotation to the metadata is based on a node on the knowledge graph, wherein the node represents the entity of the one or more entities associated with data in the cell and that is associated with the semantic meaning of the column (Abhyankar et al. para[0022], semantic information may indicate that a particular column of data represents a particular attribute or metric and may indicate the data type of the data para[0023] ln6-11, the semantic graph can include different weights for connections between objects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the chart recommendation system of Religa et al. with the semantic information of Abhyankar et al. in order to identify the meaning and relationship between data objects (Abhyankar et al. para[0003]).
In regards to claim 7, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the system of claim 1, wherein to identify the plurality of charts, the processing device is further to:
train, using machine learning, a machine learning model to assign a relevancy score to each chart of the plurality of charts based on at least one of: entity types in a knowledge graph, one or more user device characteristics, or one or more user class characteristics (Religa et al. para[0021], a chart ranking may be different for a user that is a member of a specific organization or having an education level that is different from a user that may be a researcher, scientist, or other professional that works with data);
provide, as input to the trained machine learning model, at least one of the entity type associated with the column, the user device characteristic associated with the user device, or a user class characteristic (Religa et al. para[0025], based on best practices, heuristics, machine learning, and/or user preferences and/or characteristics, whether explicitly specified or learned from user interaction with the application for example or other applications, a type of chart may be recommended that best displays, highlights, or otherwise illustrates the selected data); and
obtain an output of the trained machine learning model, the output indicating the corresponding score for each of the plurality of charts for the column (Religa et al. para[0024] ln12-18, user may be able to scroll within the chart recommendation portion to view additional charts; however, the top ranked charts are generally placed at the top of the chart recommendation portion).
In regards to claim 8, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further to: identify a rule corresponding to at least one of the entity type associated with the column, the user device characteristic associated with the user device, or a user class characteristic of the user of the user device(Abhyankar et al. Para[0060], groups and sets can be a simple grouping such as “My Customers=Company 1, Company 2, and Company 3” or a rules-based grouping such as “My Top Customers=top 10 customers by Revenue for Year=2018”); and
determine, based on the rule, the corresponding score for each chart in the plurality of charts (Religa et al. para[0024] ln12-18, user may be able to scroll within the chart recommendation portion to view additional charts; however, the top ranked charts are generally placed at the top of the chart recommendation portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the chart recommendation system of Religa et al. with the semantic information of Abhyankar et al. in order to identify the meaning and relationship between data objects (Abhyankar et al. para[0003]).
In regards to claim 9, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further to:
identify a set of rules corresponding to the semantic meaning of the column (Abhyankar et al. para[0060], groups and sets can be a simple grouping such as “My Customers=Company 1, Company 2, and Company 3” or a rules-based grouping such as “My Top Customers=top 10 customers by Revenue for Year=2018”); and
determine, based on the set of rules, the corresponding score for each chart in the plurality of charts (Religa et al. para[0021] ln22-26, machine learning may be utilized to determine a ranking of the charts based on the selected data, classification of data, previous user interactions and selection of a chart, and/or user characteristics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the chart recommendation system of Religa et al. with the semantic information of Abhyankar et al. in order to identify the meaning and relationship between data objects (Abhyankar et al. para[0003]).
Claims 10-13 recite substantially similar limitations to claims 1 and 4-6. Thus claims 10-13 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 1 and 4-6.
In regards to claim 14, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the method of claim 10, wherein identifying additional information that is related to at least one of: the entity type associated with the column, a user device characteristic associated with the user device, or a user class characteristic comprises:
identifying one or more additional entity types that are closely related to the entity type associated with the column (Abhyankar et al. para[0035] ln9-13, additional associated data can be stored in the same manner at other locations);
identifying one or more additional entities in a knowledge graph comprising a knowledge base having structured information about a plurality of entities and relational connections between the entities, wherein the additional entities are associated with the one or more identified additional entity types (Abhyankar et al. para[0035] ln13-17, This metadata can be associated or linked to the core structured metadata for the objects by referencing objects through the identifiers or other references defined in the core semantic graph structured metadata); and
identifying data in the one or more identified additional entities (Abhyankar et al. para[0035] ln17-25, the service can provide access to diverse types of data associated with the semantic graph through a single interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the chart recommendation system of Religa et al. with the semantic information of Abhyankar et al. in order to identify the meaning and relationship between data objects (Abhyankar et al. para[0003]).
In regards to claim 15, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the method of claim 10, wherein identifying one or more additional entity types that are closely related to the entity type associated with the column comprises:
training, using machine learning, a machine learning model to assign a score to each entity type in a knowledge graph (Religa et al. para[0021] ln22-32, in some instances, machine learning may be utilized to determine a ranking of the charts based on the selected data);
providing the entity type associated with the column as input to the trained machine learning model (Religa et al. para[0025] ln8-14, based on machine learning a type of chart may e recommended that best illustrates the selected data);
obtaining an output of the trained machine learning model, the output indicating a score for each additional entity type (Religa et al. para[0024] ln12-18, displays highest ranked charts first); and
identifying the one or more additional entity types that have a score that satisfies a second threshold condition (Religa et al. para[0024] ln12-18, displays the six highest ranked charts).
In regards to claim 16, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the method of claim 10, wherein identifying one or more additional entity types that are closely related to the entity type associated with the column comprises:
identifying a rule corresponding to the entity type associated with the column (Abhyankar et al. para[0060] ln5-8, Groups and Sets can be a simple grouping such as “My Customers=Company 1, Company 2, and Company 2” or a rules-based grouping such as “My Top Customers=top 10 Customers by Revenue for Year=2018”);
determining, based on the rule, a subset of additional entity types pertaining to the entity type associated with the column, and a score for each additional entity type in the subset (Abhyankar et al. para[0025], many different types of objects can be identified and characterized using the semantic graph); and
identifying one or more additional entity types with a score that satisfies a second threshold condition in the determined subset of additional entity types (Religa et al. para[0024] ln12-18, the top ranked charts can be displayed at the top of the chart recommendation portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the chart recommendation system of Religa et al. with the semantic information of Abhyankar et al. in order to identify the meaning and relationship between data objects (Abhyankar et al. para[0003]).
In regards to claim 17, Religa as modified by Abhyankar et al. and Ghasemi-Gol substantially disclose the method of claim 10, wherein adding the one or more columns with the identified additional information to the spreadsheet comprises: responsive to receiving a user selection in response to the recommendation, adding the identified additional information to the spreadsheet (Religa et al. para[0031], application may build, render, or otherwise create the recommended charts at 524 and further rank each of the charts based on best practices, and most relevant to the user).
Claims 18-20 recite substantially similar limitations to claims 10, 15 and 16. Thus claims 18-20 are rejected along the same rationale as claims
Conclusion
/N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141