Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03 September 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafin et al. (US 2025/0203446 as supported by the corresponding figures and passages of U.S. Provisional application No. 63/611,373) in view of Kang et al. (US 2021/0007002), Kotecha et al. (US 2022/0337706), Canpolat et al. (US 2023/0379749) and Liao (US 2022/0086741). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 1, Shafin discloses a method comprising: receiving, by an Access Point (AP), a Stream Classification Service (SCS) request from a station for a SCS flow (figs. 8-9 and 12, and para. 103; paras. 142-143 and 149; note: traffic streams or flows), the SCS request comprising a flow identifier for the SCS flow (paras. 98 and 100; note: QoS/SCS request; paras. 136, 138 and 142-143; note: traffic or stream identifier in the request), and processing, by the AP, the SCS request for the SCS flow (para. 98; note: accepts, rejects or suggests alternatives for the request).
Shafin fails to disclose wherein the flow identifier comprises a Fully Qualified Domain Name (FDQN) or an application Identifier (ID) for identifying the SCS flow. However, Kang discloses an application identifier for QoS in a flow request (fig. 3 and para. 113), and Kotecha discloses an application identifier used with QoS to manage data flow policy (fig. 6-8 and paras. 47 (“application identifier associated with the data flow”), 48-50, 79 and 92). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the flow identifier comprise a Fully Qualified Domain Name (FDQN) or an application Identifier (ID) for identifying the SCS flow in the invention of Shafin. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing network control of a flow based on an application as is known int the art (Kang, fig. 3 and para. 113; Kotecha, fig. 6-8 and paras. 47-50, 79 and 92; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Further, Shafin in view of Kang and Kotecha fails to teach and make obvious verifying, by the AP, a network policy associated with the flow identifier for the SCS flow; and processing, by the AP, the SCS request for the SCS flow based on the network policy. However, Canpolat discloses an SCS request for QoS where the policy for QoS setup is verified (fig. 8 and para. 26 and 69; note: reject or admit a request based on network availability; note: maximum resource use), and Liao discloses QoS and traffic policies of a network (paras. 90, 179-181 and 200) that are authorized (para. 92-93). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to verify, by the AP, a network policy associated with the flow identifier for the SCS flow; and process, by the AP, the SCS request for the SCS flow based on the network policy in the invention of Shafin in view of Kang and Kotecha. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, controlling resource allocation of a network as is known in the art (Canpolat, fig. 8 and para. 26 and 69; Liao, paras. 90, 92-93, 179-181 and 200) that are authorized; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 2, Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein processing the SCS request comprises determining a quality of service characteristics associated with the flow identifier received in the SCS request (Shafin, paras. 103 and 142-143; note: receiving and accepting or rejecting the QoS requirements of the flow or stream; Canpolat, fig. 8 and para. 26 and 69; Liao, paras. 90, 92-93, 179-181 and 200).
Regarding claim 3, Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the FDQN or the application ID is provided in a sub-element of a SCS descriptor element of the SCS request (Shafin, para. 143).
Regarding claim 6, Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein verifying the network policy associated with the flow identifier for the SCS flow comprises: determining the network policy associated with the flow identifier (Shafin, paras. 103 and 142-143; Canpolat, fig. 8 and para. 26 and 69); and verifying that the network policy associated with the flow identifier allows the SCS flow (; Liao, paras. 90, 92-93, 179-181 and 200).
Regarding claim 7, Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao teaches and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein processing the SCS request for the SCS flow comprises determining that the AP can support QoS resources requested for the SCS flow Shafin, paras. 103 and 142-143; Canpolat, fig. 8 and para. 26 and 69; note: reject or admit a request based on network availability; note: maximum resource use).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eisen et al. (US 2023/0127299).
Regarding claim 5, Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao fails to teach and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the FDQN or the application ID is provided in a classifier type 10 field of a traffic classifier element of the SCS request. However, Eisen discloses SCS information in a type 10 element (para. 31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have FDQN or the application ID provided in a classifier type 10 field of a traffic classifier element of the SCS request in the invention of Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing control data in a standardized format as is known in the art (Eisen, para. 31; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sun (US 2023/0021830).
Regarding claim 8, Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao fails to teach and makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein the application ID comprises an operating system assigned application ID and an operating system type. However, Sun discloses this feature (paras. 97-98; paras. 65 and 157; note: exchange of control information including operating system identifier and an operating system application identifier). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the application ID comprise an operating system assigned application ID and an operating system type in the invention of Shafin in view of Kang, Kotecha Canpolat and Liao. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, using application and operating system information to provide policy control in a network as is known in the art (Sun, paras. 65, 97-98 and 157; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462