DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 07/26/2024 and 02/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4 and Claim 11, line 3 “the first part” should read - - -the first part of the SL slot - - -.
Claim 1, line 5 and Claim 11, line 4, “the second part” should read - - -the second part of the SL slot- - -.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are objected to by virtue of their dependency on Claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 11, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HONG et al. (US 20240097855 A1), hereinafter HONG.
Regarding Claim 1, HONG teaches a user equipment (UE) (¶0167. wireless device 100/200) comprising:
a transceiver (HONG, FIG. 14, ¶0169 one or more transceivers 106/206) configured to receive [: ] configuration information for a sidelink (SL) slot (HONG, ¶0142,SL CSI-RS transmission-related (candidate) (time/frequency) resource pattern information used/selected (and/or selectable) by a TX UE may be transmitted to an RX UE through PC5 RRC signaling; [and] ¶0146 the last symbol (e.g., for TX/RX switching) of an SL slot may be (pre)configured by a base station/network (specifically to the resource pool/service) for each parameter (combination) below or configured through PC5 RRC signaling between UEs; ¶0105-0107), the SL slot including a first part of the SL slot and a second part of the SL slot (HONG, FIG. 12 at S1201 and S1202; ¶0029, ¶0032 transmitting sidelink control information mapped to a first data region in a slot (“a first part”), and transmitting a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) mapped to a second data region in the slot (“a second part”), wherein a symbol of the first data region and a symbol of the second data region are separated from each other; see also ¶0032; ¶0034, the first data region and the second data region may be time-division-multiplexed (TDM)),
wherein the first part includes one or more SL channels (HONG, FIG. 11, ¶0131-¶0135, he PSCCH/PSSCH (“one or more SL channels”) may be TDMed in one slot as in option 1A/1B and option 3. The PSCCH/PSSCH may be FDMed as in option 2; see also ¶0030 the operations include transmitting a 1st sidelink control channel (SCI) on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and transmitting a 2nd SCI on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), wherein a modulation order of the 2nd stage SCI is used in determining the number of symbols for transmission of the 2nd stage SCI), and
wherein the second part includes one or more SL channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (HONG, FIG. 12 at S1202; ¶0029 a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) mapped to a second data region in the slot (“a second part”)), and a first SL channel from the one or more SL channels (HONG, ¶0131-¶0135, PSCCH and the associated PSSCH are transmitted using non-overlapping time resources; ¶0113-0115 SCI is transmitted); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (HONG, FIG. 14, ¶0170 one or more processors 202; and transceivers 206), the processor configured to determine, based on the first SL channel, a first SL CSI-RS resource from the one or more SL CSI-RS resources (HONG, ¶0142, CSI-RS transmission-related (candidate) (time/frequency) resource pattern information used/selected (and/or selectable) by a TX UE may be transmitted to an RX UE through PC5 RRC signaling . . . SL CSI-RS (candidate) (time/frequency) resource pattern overlapping an MCS selected by the TX UE and/or an PT-RS RE (and/or symbol) determined by the number/size of PSSCH frequency resources),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive the first SL CSI-RS resource (HONG, Claims 13 and 14, receiving, by the UE, a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) in the slot; see also FIG. 12, ¶0136-0138 slot structure previously cited).
Regarding Claim 3, HONG teaches Claim 1.
HONG further teaches the first SL channel is a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (HONG, ¶0030, the operations include transmitting a 1st sidelink control channel (SCI) on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH); ¶0105 [t] he sensing may be performed on a subchannel basis [and] UE1, which has autonomously selected resources in a resource pool, may transmit SCI to UE2 on a PSCCH; see also ¶0143; ¶0098; FIG. 10a, FIG. 10b).
Regarding Claim 4, HONG teaches Claim 1.
HONG further teaches the first SL channel is a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (HONG, ¶0105, UE1, which has autonomously selected resources in a resource pool, may transmit SCI to UE2 on a PSCCH and then transmit data based on the SCI to UE2 on a PSSCH; see also ¶0111, the UE may indicate one or more subchannels and/or slots reserved for PSSCH (re)transmission by the UE to another UE by SCI).
Regarding Claim 5, HONG teaches Claim 1.
HONG further teaches the first SL channel includes information indicating at least one of:
symbols used for the first SL CSI-RS resource, sub-channels used for the first SL CSI-RS resource, wherein a sub-channel from the sub-channels is one or more physical resource blocks (PRBs), sub-carriers within the one or more PRBs used for the first SL CSI-RS resource, and whether the one or more PRBs used for the first SL CSI-RS resource are even or odd (HONG, FIG. 10b; ¶0105, the sensing may be performed on a subchannel basis. UE1, which has autonomously selected resources in a resource pool, may transmit SCI to UE2 on a PSCCH and then transmit data based on the SCI to UE2 on a PSSCH; ¶0111, in NR resource allocation mode 2, the UE may indicate one or more subchannels and/or slots used by the UE to another UE by SCI (the “sub-channel information”), [f]or example, the UE may indicate one or more subchannels and/or slots reserved for PSSCH (re)transmission by the UE to another UE by SCI).
Regarding Claim 6, HONG teaches Claim 1.
HONG further teaches the first SL channel includes information indicating more than one SL CSI-RS resource (HONG, ¶0139 [t]he 2nd stage SCI (“information” may include second data region related information, and the second data region related information may include at least one of time/frequency resource information. . . [and] a CSI-RS time/frequency (resource) pattern [that] may be considered to be transmitted through 2nd SCI instead of a PSSCH (e.g., transmitted through some resources set in advance on the PSSCH . . specifically to a resource pool, [i.e., to “more than one resource”]).
Regarding Claim 8, HONG teaches Claim 1.
HONG further teaches the transceiver is further configured to transmit: a second SL CSI-RS resource from the one or more SL CSI-RS resources (HONG, ¶0136 UE may transmit a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) mapped to a second data region in the slot (S1202 of FIG. 12); ¶0142, an SL CSI-RS (candidate) (time/frequency) resource pattern signaled by the TX UE to the RX UE may be selected from a (candidate) set configured in advance specifically to a resource pool / a “second SL CSI-RS resource”; ¶0145 SL CSI-RS (candidate) (time/frequency) resource pattern overlapping an MCS selected by the TX UE and/or an PT-RS RE (and/or symbol) determined by the number/size of PSSCH frequency resources (and/or all available PT-RS RE (and/or symbol) sets) resource”), and a second SL channel from the one or more SL channels, the second SL channel is associated with the second SL CSI-RS resource (HONG, ¶0134, the 2nd SCI is multiplexed and transmitted on the PSSCH; ¶0139 [The 2nd stage SCI may include second data region related information, and the second data region related information may include at least one of time/frequency resource information).
Regarding Claims 11, 13-16, and 18, the claims disclose similar features of Claims 1, 3-6, and 8, respectively and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 1, 3-6, and 8, in method form (HONG, Abstract; FIG. 12, ¶0136; ¶0001; a sidelink operating method of channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission-related UE and an apparatus) a method of operating a UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG, in view of Li et al. (US 20240224302 A1), hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 2, HONG teaches Claim 1.
HONG does not explicitly teach the configuration information includes an association between the first SL channel and the first SL CSI-RS resource.
However, in the analogous art, Li discloses the configuration information includes an association between the first SL channel and the first SL CSI-RS resource (Li, ¶0122 A UE transmits sidelink CSI-RS within a unicast PSSCH transmission [and] parameters for CSI-RS transmission are configured for each CSI-RS configuration; [and] ¶0156, the UE can be configured with one CSI-RS pattern as indicated by the higher layer parameters sl-CSI-RS-FreqAllocation, sl-CSI-RS-FirstSymbol in SL-CSI-RS-Config [and] the resource blocks used for the PSSCH associated with the SCI format 2-A triggering a report, i.e. “an association”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine HONG’s sidelink operating method of channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission-related UE with Li’s method and apparatus for sidelink control information of sidelink reference signal in a wireless communication system. The motivation would be to provide users of mobile communication devices with voice over IP, multimedia, multicast and on-demand communication services in alignment with evolved 3GPP standard with respect to SL (¶0003-0004; 0020].
Regarding Claim 12, the claim discloses similar features of Claim 2 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 2, in method form.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable HONG, in view of Huang et al. (US 20240163920 A1), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding Claim 7, HONG teaches Claim 1.
HONG further teaches a SL channel in the first part of the occasion indicates a SL CSI-RS in the second part of the occasion (HONG, ¶0136, sidelink control information mapped to a first data region in a slot (S1201 in FIG. 12), and also transmit a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) mapped to a second data region in the slot (S1202 of FIG. 12); ¶0139 he second data region related information may include CSI-RS related (resource) information . . .a CSI-RS time/frequency (resource) pattern; see also ¶0099; 0101 FIG. 6; a slot including PSCCH, PSSCH, DM-RS and CSI-RS).
HONG does not explicitly teach the SL slot includes more than one occasion, an occasion from the more than one occasion includes N symbols, where N>=1, each occasion of the more than one occasion includes the first part and the second part
However, in the analogous art, Huang discloses the SL slot includes more than one occasion (Huang, ¶0280, either one of at least the first (candidate) occasion and the second (candidate) occasion (of PSCCH/PSSCH) is utilized/applied in the same slot), an occasion from the more than one occasion includes N symbols, where N>=1 (Huang, ¶0309, the [f]irst occasion (including AGC and gap symbol) is with symbols #2˜#11 occupying 10 symbols [and] ¶0310, the second occasion (including AGC and gap symbol) is with symbols #6˜#11 occupying 6 symbol), each occasion of the more than one occasion includes the first part and the second part (Huang, the first occasion, second occasion starts from the symbol with index #2, #7, respectively, and the first specific location is 4. Starting (symbol) location of SL CSI-RS for the first occasion of PSCCH/PSSCH is symbol #4 (which is determined by #0+4). Starting (symbol) location of SL CSI-RS for the second occasion of PSCCH/PSSCH is symbol #11 (which is determined by #7+4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine HONG’s sidelink operating method of channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission-related UE with Huang’s method and apparatus for sidelink transmission in a wireless communication system. The motivation would be to increase time opportunities of Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH)/Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) to improve throughput of sidelink for supporting higher data rate service. [Huang, ¶0256].
Regarding Claim 17, the claim discloses similar features of Claim 7 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 7, in method form.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG, in view of Hong et al. (US 20260012957 A1), hereinafter Hong1.
Regarding Claim 9, HONG teaches Claim 8.
HONG does not explicitly teach the second SL channel and the second SL CSI-RS resource use a same spatial domain transmission filter.
However, in the analogous art, Hong1 explicitly discloses the second SL channel and the second SL CSI-RS resource use a same spatial domain transmission filter (Hong1, ¶0146, a common BI may be mapped to RSs transmitted using the same beam, “same spatial domain filter”; ¶0150 the CSI-RS for beam management or beam measurement purposes for a beam used for transmitting the PSCCH may still be configured to be transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine HONG’s sidelink operating method of channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission-related UE with Hong1’s a method for beam measurement and procedures for a TX UE and an RX UE for beam change in a sidelink. The motivation would be to address need for development of beam management in a sidelink and address the evolving 3GPP Standard. [Hong1, ¶0004; ¶¶0134-0135].
Regarding Claim 19, the claim discloses similar features of Claim 9 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 9, in method form.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG, in view of DAMNJANOVIC et al. (US 20210328643 A1), hereinafter DAMNJANOVIC.
Regarding Claim 10, HONG teaches Claim 1.
HONG further teaches the transceiver is further configuration to transmit: more than one CSI-RS resources from the one or more SL CSI-RS resources (HONG, ¶0142, SL CSI-RS candidate resource-pattern information used/selected by a Tx UE, including selection from a candidate set configured in advanced; see also ¶0144; DAMNJANOVIC ¶0092), and
HONG does not explicitly teach [to transmit] a second SL channel from the one or more SL channels, the second SL channel is associated with the more than one CSI-RS resources.
However, in the analogous art, DAMNJANOVIC explicitly discloses [to transmit] a second SL channel from the one or more SL channels, the second SL channel is associated with the more than one CSI-RS resources (DAMNJANOVIC, ¶0081; ¶0092, the UE 805 may transmit, to the relay UE 810, a second set of CSI-RSs in the second set of CSI-RS resources; ¶0040 [UEs] may communicate directly using one or more sidelink channels; ¶0053 the PSCCH 315 may carry sidelink control information (SCI) 330, which may indicate various control information used for sidelink communications, such as one or more resources (e.g., time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, and/or the like) where a transport block (TB) 335 may be carried on the PSSCH 320).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine HONG’s sidelink operating method of channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission-related UE with DAMNJANOVICs method and apparatus for specific sidelink CSI reporting. The motivation would be to improve network performance and link diversity. [DAMNJANOVIC, ¶0070; ¶0109].
Regarding Claim 20, the claim discloses similar features of Claim 10 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 10, in method form.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACY L WILLIAMS whose telephone number is 571-270-7694. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TRACY L WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465