DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on July 26th, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
The present application claims priority to provisional application no. 63/531,978, 63/531,973, 63/553,296, 63/575,235, filed August 10th, 2023, August 10th, 2023, February 14th, 2024, and April 5th, 2024, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2025/0141644, hereinafter Jung).
With respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, Jung discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, method, and base station (paragraph [0003], lines 1-9), the UE comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from a base station (BS) (paragraph [0021], lines 1-3); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (paragraph [0006], lines 1-7), the processor configured to:
determine, based on an indication in the first PDSCH, that a set of synchronization signals and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) blocks is activated for transmission from the BS (paragraph [0042], lines 7-12, corresponding SS/PBCH block);
determine a time domain offset with respect to the first PDSCH; and determine that the set of SS/PBCH blocks is to be transmitted after the time domain offset (paragraph [0042], lines 7-12, UE can determine an offset),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a SS/PBCH block in the set of SS/PBCH blocks (paragraph [0042], lines 7-12).
With respect to claims 2, 9, and 16, Jung discloses the UE of claims 1, 8, and 15, wherein:
the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state (paragraph [0050], lines 1-8), and
the set of SS/PBCH blocks is to be transmitted in a secondary cell (SCell) (paragraph [0049], lines 1-4).
With respect to claims 3, 10, and 17, Jung discloses the UE of claims 1, 8, and 15, wherein the first PDSCH includes one of 1) a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (paragraph [0050], lines 1-8) or 2) radio resource control (RRC) parameters (paragraph [0050], lines 1-8).
With respect to claims 4, 11, and 18, Jung discloses the UE of claims 1, 8, and 15, wherein the set of SS/PBCH blocks is to be transmitted within a time domain window (paragraph [0064], time duration).
With respect to claims 5, 12, and 19, Jung discloses the UE of claims 4, 11, and 18, wherein:
a starting instance of the time domain window is determined based the first PDSCH (paragraph [0062], time domain position); and
an ending instance of the time domain window is determined based on one of:
a second PDSCH, wherein the second PDSCH includes an indication that the transmission of the set of SS/PBCH blocks is deactivated (paragraph [0052], lines 1-8, dynamic indication);
a counter corresponding to a number of SS/PBCH block bursts in the set of SS/PBCH blocks; or
a duration of the time domain window (paragraph [0052], periodicity).
With respect to claims 6 and 13, Jung discloses the UE of claim 4 and 11, wherein:
the set of SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted periodically within the time domain window (paragraph [0052], lines 1-8, dynamic indication), and
an interval between two neighboring SS/PBCH block bursts is provided by a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (paragraph [0048]).
With respect to claims 7, 14, and 20, Jung discloses the UE of claims 1, 8, and 15, wherein:
the transceiver is further configured to receive radio resource control (RRC) parameters, and the RRC parameters include:
a cell identity (ID) for the set of SS/PBCH blocks (paragraph [0034]);
a bitmap indicating a time domain pattern for the set of SS/PBCH blocks (paragraph [0043]);
a frequency location for the set of SS/PBCH blocks (paragraph [0064]); or
a transmission power for the set of SS/PBCH blocks (paragraph [0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim Pat. Pub. 2024/0314651
Ko Pat. Pub. 2022/0272650
Liou Pat. Pub. 2022/0061117
Molavian Jazi Pat. Pub. 2022/0053522
Su Pat. Pub. 2026/0012979
Prasad Pat. Pub. 2026/0012813
Li Pat. Pub. 2024/0236990
Myung Pat. Pub. 2026/0032692
Oliveira da Costa Pat. Pub. 2025/0184878
Abotabl Pat. Pub. 2024/0306093
Babaei Pat. Pub. 2024/0098636
Liu Pat. Pub. 2023/0239126
Pezeshki Pat. Pub. 2021/0345131
Alfarhan Pat. Pub. 2025/0212291
Zhou Pat. Pub. 2025/0184887
Jung Pat. Pub. 2024/0171362
8/3/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457