DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 9 recites the limitation “the processor configured to: transmit…; receive…;”. Claim 17 recites the limitation “the processor configured to: receive…; transmit…;”. The claim limitations seem to suggest that the processor (not the transceiver) is transmitting and receiving at the first wireless device and access point. The examiner suggests amending the claims clarify that the processor is configured to enable the transceiver to transmit and receive. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-10, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ross et al US 20180042047 (hereinafter Ross).
Regarding claim 1, Ross discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless device (SCA capable node, see [0019], [0023]), the method comprising:
transmitting a message indicating a capability to support a simultaneous channel access transmission to a second wireless device (SCA capable STAs/nodes advertise that they are capable of SCA to an AP, see figs. 1 and 2, [0019], [0023]);
receiving, from the second wireless device (AP, see [0019], [0023]), an indication for support of the simultaneous channel access transmission (an AP may advertise the capability to support SCA, see fig. 2, [0023]);
negotiating parameters of coordination for the simultaneous channel access transmission with the second wireless device (SCA transmitter and SCA receiver agree ahead of time that the SCA transmission will take place, see [0027]-[0030]);
performing coordinated channel access inside coordination windows for the simultaneous channel access transmission with the second wireless device (see [0019], [0030], [0032]-[0033]); and
performing uncoordinated channel access outside the coordination windows for non-simultaneous channel access transmission with the second wireless device (periods in which PCA transmission is performed; operating outside the SCA agreement, see [0029], [0032], [0035]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Ross further discloses wherein:
the first wireless device is a member of a first inter-connected network (1020-1040, see fig. 1, [0017]), and the second wireless device comprises an access point (AP) associated with a second inter-connected network (1050, see fig. 1, [0017]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 2, Ross further discloses wherein performing the coordinated channel access inside the coordination windows comprises:
coordinating transmission of devices within the first inter-connected network to access the channel with applicable constraints (see fig. 1, [0017], [0019], [0029], [0031]-[0033]); and
coordinating transmission of devices within the second inter-connected network to access the channel with applicable constraints (see fig. 1, [0017], [0019], [0029], [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Ross further discloses wherein the constrained coordinated transmission within the coordination windows by each of the first inter-connected network and the second inter-connected network comprises selection of transmitting devices, resource allocations to the transmitting devices, and transmit powers and modulation and coding schemes that comply with the negotiated parameters of coordination (see [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Ross further discloses altering one or more of the parameters of coordination for a prior negotiation for simultaneous channel access transmission (see [0029]); or terminating the prior negotiation for simultaneous channel access transmission.
Regarding claim 9, Ross discloses a first wireless device (STA 10010, see figs. 10 and 11, [0040]) comprising:
a transceiver (10050, 10080, see fig. 10, [0041], [0044]-[0045]); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (see figs. 10 and 11, [0040]), the processor configured to:
transmit a message indicating a capability to support a simultaneous channel access transmission to a second wireless device (SCA capable STAs/nodes advertise that they are capable of SCA to an AP, see figs. 1 and 2, [0019], [0023]);
receive, from the second wireless device (AP, see [0019], [0023]), an indication for support of the simultaneous channel access transmission (an AP may advertise the capability to support SCA, see fig. 2, [0023]);
negotiate parameters of coordination for the simultaneous channel access transmission with the second wireless device (SCA transmitter and SCA receiver agree ahead of time that the SCA transmission will take place, see [0027]-[0030]);
perform coordinated channel access inside coordination windows for the simultaneous channel access transmission with the second wireless device (see [0019], [0030], [0032]-[0033]); and
perform uncoordinated channel access outside the coordination windows for non-simultaneous channel access transmission with the second wireless device (periods in which PCA transmission is performed; operating outside the SCA agreement, see [0029], [0032], [0035]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 9, Ross further discloses wherein:
the first wireless device is a member of a first inter-connected network (1020-1040, see fig. 1, [0017]), and the second wireless device comprises an access point (AP) associated with a second inter-connected network (1050, see fig. 1, [0017]).
11. The first wireless device of Claim 10, wherein to negotiate the parameters of coordination, the processor is further configured to receive a message from the second wireless device with an indication of: an identifier of the negotiation being performed, a result of the negotiation being an accept, reject, or a rejection with suggestion of alternate parameters, a maximum interference level that can be tolerated by the second inter-connected network within the coordination windows, types of transmissions by the second inter-connected network within the coordination windows over which simultaneous transmission is allowed, and other parameters for simultaneous use of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) during the coordination windows.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 10, Ross further discloses wherein to perform the coordinated channel access inside the coordination windows, the processor is further configured to:
coordinate transmission of devices within the first inter-connected network to access the channel with applicable constraints (see fig. 1, [0017], [0019], [0029], [0031]-[0033]); and
coordinate transmission of devices within the second inter-connected network to access the channel with applicable constraints (see fig. 1, [0017], [0019], [0029], [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13, Ross further discloses wherein to coordinate transmission of devices within each of the first inter-connected network and the second inter-connected network, the processor is further configured to select transmitting devices, resource allocations to the transmitting devices, and transmit powers and modulation and coding schemes that comply with the negotiated parameters of coordination (see [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0037]).
15. The first wireless device of Claim 9, wherein to negotiate the parameters of coordination, the processor is further configured to transmit a message with an indication of: an identifier of the negotiation being performed, a periodicity and duration of the coordination windows, required resources by a first inter-connected network within the coordination window, a transmit power to be used by devices of the first inter-connected network within the coordination windows, a maximum interference level that can be tolerated by the first inter-connected network within the coordination windows, link identifiers corresponding to links where the negotiated parameters are applicable, a direction of transmissions uplink, downlink or bidirectional that are allowed within the coordination windows, and other parameters for simultaneous use of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) during the coordination windows.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 9, Ross further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to:
alter one or more of the parameters of coordination for a prior negotiation for simultaneous channel access transmission (see [0029]); or
terminate the prior negotiation for simultaneous channel access transmission.
Regarding claim 17, Ross discloses an access point (AP) associated with a second inter-connected network (AP 10010, see [0019], [0023], [0040]), the AP comprising:
a transceiver (10050, 10080, see fig. 10, [0041], [0044]-[0045]); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (see figs. 10 and 11, [0040]), the processor configured to:
receive a message indicating a capability to support a simultaneous channel access transmission from a first wireless device (SCA capable STAs/nodes advertise that they are capable of SCA to an AP, see figs. 1 and 2, [0019], [0023]), wherein the first wireless device is a member of a first inter-connected network (see fig. 1, [0017]);
transmit, to the first wireless device (STA 10010, see figs. 10 and 11, [0040]), an indication for support of the simultaneous channel access transmission (an AP may advertise the capability to support SCA, see fig. 2, [0023]);
negotiate parameters of coordination for the simultaneous channel access transmission with the first wireless device (SCA transmitter and SCA receiver agree ahead of time that the SCA transmission will take place, see [0027]-[0030]);
perform coordinated channel access inside coordination windows for the simultaneous channel access transmission with the first wireless device (see [0019], [0030], [0032]-[0033]); and
perform uncoordinated channel access outside the coordination windows for non-simultaneous channel access transmission with the first wireless device (periods in which PCA transmission is performed; operating outside the SCA agreement, see [0029], [0032], [0035]).
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 17, Ross further discloses wherein to perform the coordinated channel access inside the coordination windows, the processor is further configured to:
coordinate transmission of devices within the first inter-connected network to access the channel with applicable constraints (see fig. 1, [0017], [0019], [0029], [0031]-[0033]); and
coordinate transmission of devices within the second inter-connected network to access the channel with applicable constraints (see fig. 1, [0017], [0019], [0029], [0031]-[0033]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7, 11, 12, 15, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tang US 20200229188 discloses a terminal device transmitting capability information to a network device to indicate that it has the capability in simultaneous transmission and reception on multiple carriers.
Zhang et al US 20170257885 discloses devices (AP and STA) exchanging multi-channel simultaneous capabilities.
Li et al US 20150036575 discloses negotiation of transmitting time between an access point and a wireless station.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648