DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelam et al (US 20170301112 A1).
RE claim 19, Nelam teaches A method, comprising:
determining one or more estimates of errors related to potential compression of a block of information (Figs 1-3, [0023]); and
using the one or more estimates and without compressing the block with every available mode of compression to determine which mode minimizes compression error, select a mode of compression to compress the block using the one or more estimates (Figs 1-2, [0023], [0031] wherein the combined error is estimated before compression for every block mode known in conventional ASTC compressions as each of the decimated grid mode [0025]-[0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelam et al, and further in view of Nystad (US 20140193081 A1).
RE claim 1, Nelam teaches An apparatus comprising: at least one processor system (Fig 5, abstract, [0073]) configured to:
for at least a first block of computer graphics texture data, an endpoint quantization error estimate, and an interpolation index quantization error estimate for plural block compression (BC) modes (Figs 2-3, [0006], [0023] “estimating the weight decimation error individually for each of the vertical decimated grid and the horizontal decimated grid from the plurality of decimated grids. Further, the method includes estimating a weight decimation error for each of remaining decimated grids from the plurality of decimated grids based on corresponding weight decimation error of the vertical decimated grid and the horizontal decimated grid. Further, the method includes computing a quantization error of each weight quantization level on an ideal weight grid. Further, the method includes determining a combined error by combining the weight decimation error, the color format choice error, and the quantization error for each of the decimated grids.” wherein 'Weight Decimation' and 'Color Endpoint Estimation,' these terms are functionally identical to the claimed 'Interpolation Index' and 'Endpoint Quantization' errors. In the field of texture compression, a 'weight' is the interpolation index used for blending, and the 'estimation' of endpoints necessarily includes a calculation of the error introduced by fitting those values into a constrained bit-budget (quantization). In addition [0053]-[0055]);
based at least in part on the estimates, select a first one of the BC modes; and compress the first block using the first mode (Figs 2-3, [0044], [0056]).
Nelam is silent RE: determine a projection error estimate. However Nystad teaches computing projection error or variance/direction vector in abstract, [0011]-[0020], [0103] to effectively choose the color space and compute the two endpoint colors to be used in typical BCX encoding schemes. This is readily available in Nelam [0035] “the partition estimation unit 104 applies a K-Mean clustering algorithm to group block texels into different partitions. Then, the extracted partition pattern from the K-means clustering is compared to pre-defined partition patterns to select ‘N’ number of best partition patterns. Finally, the partition estimation unit 104 selects a partition pattern with the least partition error.” And [0037] “determine an initial combined error by combining the weight decimation error and a color format choice error individually for each of the decimated grids.” Wherein the mapping the texels into different groups is functionally equivalent to projecting the pixel for cluster fit causing the projection error known in the BC7/ISPC encoders, described by Nystad ([0047]) wherein ASTC and BCX are both wellknown encoders implementing block-based encoding schemes.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that Nelam implicitly teaches a projection error estimate as the partition or the color format choice error, or can equally be applied as suggested by Nysad, to effectively choose the color space and two endpoint colors to be used in each of BC modes and thereby ensuring system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 2, Nelam as modified by Nystad teaches wherein the plural BC modes comprise plural BC7 modes (Nystad [0047] wherein the error estimation before compression for each model of Nelam Figs 2-3, [0023], [0053]-[0055], can be equally applied for the projection and quantization error in all of BC7 modes).
RE claim 3, Nelam as modified by Nystad teaches wherein the processor system is configured to: render the texture data on at least one video display at least in part by processing the first block compressed using the first mode (Nelam [0004], [0039]).
RE claim 4, Nelam as modified by Nystad teaches wherein the processor system is configured to: select the first one of the BC modes responsive to the first one of the BC modes having a lowest total sum of the estimates among the BC modes (Nelam Figs 2-3, [0044], [0056], Nystad [0189]).
RE claim 5, Nelam as modified by Nystad teaches wherein the processor system is configured to: determine a first projection error estimate for BC7 mode 6, a second projection error estimate for BC7 modes 4 and 5, a third projection error estimate for at least BC7 modes 1 and 3, and a fourth projection error estimate for BC7 modes 0 and 2 (Nelam Figs 2-3, [0023], [0023], [0053]-[0055], can be equally applied for the projection and quantization error in all of BC7 modes of Nystad Figs 1-2, [0047], [0292]- [0298], [0333], [0383] etc based on the content range of color space/RGBA, quality/bitrate parameters defining the specific modes 0-7, varying the partition, index and color end points modes).
RE claim 6, Nelam as modified by Nystad teaches wherein the processor system is configured to: determine individual respective endpoint quantization error estimates for respective BC7 modes 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 (Nelam Figs 2-3, [0023], [0053]-[0055], can be equally applied for the projection and quantization error in all of BC7 modes of Nystad Figs 1-2, [0047], [0292]- [0298], [0333], [0383] etc based on the content range of color space/RGBA, quality/bitrate parameters defining the specific modes 0-7, varying the partition, index and color end points modes).
RE claim 7, Nelam as modified by Nystad teaches wherein the processor system is configured to: determine individual respective interpolation quantization error estimates for respective BC7 modes 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 (Nelam Figs 2-3, [0023], [0053]-[0055], can be equally applied for the projection and quantization error in all of BC7 modes of Nystad Figs 1-2, [0047], [0292]- [0298], [0333], [0383] etc based on the content range of color space/RGBA, quality/bitrate parameters defining the specific modes 0-7, varying the partition, index and color end points modes).
RE claim 8, Nelam as modified by Nystad teaches wherein the processor system is configured to: determine the interpolation index quantization error estimate at least in part by quantizing interpolation index values from a set of scalar values in a range to N-bits (Nelam Figs 2-3, [0023], [0053]-[0055], can be equally applied for the projection and quantization error in all of BC7 modes of Nystad Figs 1-4, [0047], [0292]- [0298], [0333], [0383] etc based on the content range of color space/RGBA, quality/bitrate parameters defining the specific modes 0-7, varying the partition, index and color end points modes).
RE claim 9, Nelam as modified by Nystad teaches wherein the processor system is configured to: determine the interpolation index quantization error estimate at least in part by quantizing interpolation index values from a uniformly distributed set of scalar values in a range to N-bits of precision and quantizing endpoints in the values to M-bits of precision; and approximate a combined error term from the quantizing to a piecewise linear function (Nelam Figs 2-3, [0023], [0053]-[0055], calculating the combined error can be equally applied for the projection and quantization error in all of BC7 modes of Nystad Figs 4-5, [0010], [0344], [0292]- [0298], [0333], [0383] etc based on the content range of color space/RGBA, quality/bitrate parameters defining the specific modes 0-7/bit precision, varying the partition, index and color end points modes).
RE claim 10, Nelam as modified by Nystad teaches wherein the processor system is configured to: determine the interpolation index quantization error estimate at least in part by quantizing interpolation index values from a distributed set of scalar values in a range to N-bits of precision and quantizing endpoints in the values to M-bits of precision; and approximate a combined error term from the quantizing to a piecewise quadratic function (Nelam Figs 2-3, [0023], [0053]-[0055], calculating the combined error can be equally applied for the projection and quantization error in all of BC7 modes of Nystad Figs 4-5, [0010], [0344], [0292]- [0298], [0333], [0383] etc based on the content range of color space/RGBA, quality/bitrate parameters defining the specific modes 0-7/bit precision, varying the partition, index and color end points modes).
RE claim 11, Nelam teaches A device comprising: at least one computer storage that is not a transitory signal and that comprises instructions executable by at least one processor system (Fig 5, [0068]) to: select a block compression (BC) mode of compression with which to compress at least one block of data without compressing the block with every available mode of compression to determine which mode minimizes compression error least in part using projection error estimates and/or endpoint quantization error estimates and/or interpolation index quantization error estimates for plural BC modes (Figs 2-3, [0006], [0023] “estimating the weight decimation error individually for each of the vertical decimated grid and the horizontal decimated grid from the plurality of decimated grids. Further, the method includes estimating a weight decimation error for each of remaining decimated grids from the plurality of decimated grids based on corresponding weight decimation error of the vertical decimated grid and the horizontal decimated grid. Further, the method includes computing a quantization error of each weight quantization level on an ideal weight grid. Further, the method includes determining a combined error by combining the weight decimation error, the color format choice error, and the quantization error for each of the decimated grids.” wherein 'Weight Decimation' and 'Color Endpoint Estimation,' these terms are functionally identical to the claimed 'Interpolation Index' and 'Endpoint Quantization' errors. In the field of texture compression, a 'weight' is the interpolation index used for blending, and the 'estimation' of endpoints necessarily includes a calculation of the error introduced by fitting those values into a constrained bit-budget (quantization). In addition [0053]-[0055]. In addition [0031] wherein the combined error is estimated before compression for every block mode known in conventional ASTC compressions [0025]-[0030]);
Nelam is silent RE: (BC)7 mode. However Nystad teaches different modes of BC7 in Figs 1-5, [0047], [0010], [0344], [0292]- [0298], [0333], [0383] implementing block-based texture data encoding schemes, teaching the known error projection and quantization error calculations for selecting the best BC7 mode with minimal error [0189].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the error estimation without the exhaustive error minimization with compressed to increase efficiently explicitly taught by Nelam [0025]- [0031] in the BC7 encoding modes of Nysad, solving long standing problem of the BC7 architecture and extend the applicability of the method and system and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claims 12-18 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claims 4, 3, 5-8 respectively and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 2 as method and therefore rejected under the same rationale. In addition Nelam teaches rendering the texture at least in part by processing the block compressed using the selected mode ([0004], [0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached 892.
/Sultana M Zalalee/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614