DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the use of inverted commas in reference numbers 113’ and 114’ in Fig. 3 (see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(1) and (u)(2)). It is recommended to use reference numbers 113A and 114A, for example.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following minor informalities: paragraphs [0028] and [0097] are objected to because of the use of inverted commas in reference numbers 113’ and 114’ (see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(1) and (u)(2)). It is recommended to use reference numbers 113A and 114A, for example.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 12-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duan (US 2023/0303067 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Duan discloses a risk area information transmitting apparatus comprising:
a storage unit which stores position information of a plurality of risk areas which may pose a risk for a vehicle to travel (In paragraph [0060], Duan discloses that a storage circuit 102 may be connected to the control circuit 101, where the storage circuit 102 may be configured as a read-only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a flash memory, or a combination thereof, and the control circuit 101 may implement functions of the vehicle 1A and the control device 100 according to the first embodiment by reading and executing data and a computer program recorded in the storage circuit 102; see also paragraph [0217] where Duan discloses that map data holding circuit may be configured by the storage circuit 102 and paragraph [0228] where Duan discloses that server 40 includes a storage 43);
a rearrangement unit which rearranges the plurality of risk areas in order of proximity to a vehicle which is a transmission destination of the plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A); and
a transmitting unit which transmits the position information of the plurality of risk areas rearranged by the rearrangement unit to the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Regarding claim 2, Duan further discloses wherein
the rearrangement unit rearranges the plurality of risk areas in order of proximity to the vehicle which is the transmission destination to generate transmission data including the position information of the plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A); and
the transmitting unit transmits the transmission data generated by the rearrangement unit to the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Regarding claim 3, Duan further discloses wherein
the rearrangement unit rearranges the plurality of risk areas in order of proximity to the vehicle which is the transmission destination, along a traveling direction of the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A; the Examiner understands that the risk areas are at least rearranged in order of proximity “along a traveling direction of the vehicle which is the transmission destination” under its broadest reasonable interpretation in that the risk areas which are along this traveling direction must be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance at least relative to each other for example, where the claim does not further limit arrangement of the risk areas along the traveling direction with risk areas which are not, or include other additional exclusionary language).
Regarding claim 5, Duan further discloses a receiving unit which receives request information for requesting position information of a risk area from a vehicle (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A), wherein
the rearrangement unit rearranges the plurality of risk areas in order of proximity to the vehicle from which the request information is transmitted (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A); and
the transmitting unit transmits information indicating the plurality of risk areas rearranged by the rearrangement unit to the vehicle from which the request information is transmitted (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Regarding claim 8, Duan further discloses a receiving unit which receives inquiry information as to whether a moving object is present in a risk area, from the vehicle which is a transmission destination of the plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0141], Duan discloses that the wireless communication circuit 18 may transmit the blind spot region through the V2X communication, where the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region through the V2X communication may transmit the second position through the V2X communication when the moving object 5 is in the blind spot region, and when the second position enters the blind spot region, the output circuit may output the information calling the first attention), wherein
the inquiry information includes specifying information for specifying the risk area (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18); and
the risk area information transmitting apparatus further comprises:
a presence determination unit which determines whether a predetermined target object is present in an area determined from position information of the risk area specified by the specifying information from among the plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication), wherein
the transmitting unit further transmits warning information when the presence determination unit determines that the predetermined target object is present in the area determined from the position information of the risk area identified from the specifying information (In paragraph [0158], Duan discloses that when the position of the moving object 5 is in the blind spot region, the control circuit 101 may display the information calling the first attention on the HMI device 20 which is an example of the display circuit).
Regarding claim 10, Duan further discloses wherein
the rearrangement unit rearranges the plurality of risk areas in order of proximity to the vehicle which is the transmission destination, along a traveling direction of the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A; the Examiner understands that the risk areas are at least rearranged in order of proximity “along a traveling direction of the vehicle which is the transmission destination” under its broadest reasonable interpretation in that the risk areas which are along this traveling direction must be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance at least relative to each other for example, where the claim does not further limit arrangement of the risk areas along the traveling direction with risk areas which are not, or include other additional exclusionary language).
Regarding claim 12, Duan further discloses a receiving unit which receives request information for requesting position information of a risk area from a vehicle (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A), wherein
the rearrangement unit rearranges the plurality of risk areas in order of proximity to the vehicle from which the request information is transmitted (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A); and
the transmitting unit transmits information indicating the plurality of risk areas rearranged by the rearrangement unit to the vehicle from which the request information is transmitted (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Regarding claim 13, Duan further discloses a receiving unit which receives request information for requesting position information of a risk area from a vehicle (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A), wherein
the rearrangement unit rearranges the plurality of risk areas in order of proximity to the vehicle from which the request information is transmitted (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A); and
the transmitting unit transmits information indicating the plurality of risk areas rearranged by the rearrangement unit to the vehicle from which the request information is transmitted (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Regarding claim 17, Duan further discloses a receiving unit which receives inquiry information as to whether a moving object is present in a risk area, from the vehicle which is a transmission destination of the plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0141], Duan discloses that the wireless communication circuit 18 may transmit the blind spot region through the V2X communication, where the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region through the V2X communication may transmit the second position through the V2X communication when the moving object 5 is in the blind spot region, and when the second position enters the blind spot region, the output circuit may output the information calling the first attention), wherein
the inquiry information includes specifying information for specifying the risk area (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18); and
the risk area information transmitting apparatus further comprises:
a presence determination unit which determines whether a predetermined target object is present in an area determined from position information of the risk area specified by the specifying information from among the plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication), wherein
the transmitting unit further transmits warning information when the presence determination unit determines that the predetermined target object is present in the area determined from the position information of the risk area identified from the specifying information (In paragraph [0158], Duan discloses that when the position of the moving object 5 is in the blind spot region, the control circuit 101 may display the information calling the first attention on the HMI device 20 which is an example of the display circuit).
Regarding claim 18, Duan further discloses a receiving unit which receives inquiry information as to whether a moving object is present in a risk area, from the vehicle which is a transmission destination of the plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0141], Duan discloses that the wireless communication circuit 18 may transmit the blind spot region through the V2X communication, where the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region through the V2X communication may transmit the second position through the V2X communication when the moving object 5 is in the blind spot region, and when the second position enters the blind spot region, the output circuit may output the information calling the first attention), wherein
the inquiry information includes specifying information for specifying the risk area (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18); and
the risk area information transmitting apparatus further comprises:
a presence determination unit which determines whether a predetermined target object is present in an area determined from position information of the risk area specified by the specifying information from among the plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication), wherein
the transmitting unit further transmits warning information when the presence determination unit determines that the predetermined target object is present in the area determined from the position information of the risk area identified from the specifying information (In paragraph [0158], Duan discloses that when the position of the moving object 5 is in the blind spot region, the control circuit 101 may display the information calling the first attention on the HMI device 20 which is an example of the display circuit).
Regarding claim 19, Duan discloses a risk area information transmitting method comprising:
storing position information of a plurality of risk areas which may pose a risk for a vehicle to travel (In paragraph [0060], Duan discloses that a storage circuit 102 may be connected to the control circuit 101, where the storage circuit 102 may be configured as a read-only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a flash memory, or a combination thereof, and the control circuit 101 may implement functions of the vehicle 1A and the control device 100 according to the first embodiment by reading and executing data and a computer program recorded in the storage circuit 102; see also paragraph [0217] where Duan discloses that map data holding circuit may be configured by the storage circuit 102 and paragraph [0228] where Duan discloses that server 40 includes a storage 43);
rearranging the plurality of risk areas in order of proximity to a vehicle which is a transmission destination of the plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A); and
transmitting the position information of the plurality of risk areas rearranged by the rearrangement unit to the vehicle (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Regarding claim 20, Duan further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein a program to cause a computer to function as:
a storage unit which stores position information of a plurality of risk areas which may pose a risk for a vehicle to travel (In paragraph [0060], Duan discloses that a storage circuit 102 may be connected to the control circuit 101, where the storage circuit 102 may be configured as a read-only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a flash memory, or a combination thereof, and the control circuit 101 may implement functions of the vehicle 1A and the control device 100 according to the first embodiment by reading and executing data and a computer program recorded in the storage circuit 102; see also paragraph [0217] where Duan discloses that map data holding circuit may be configured by the storage circuit 102 and paragraph [0228] where Duan discloses that server 40 includes a storage 43);
a rearrangement unit which rearranges the plurality of risk areas in order of proximity to a vehicle which is a transmission destination of the plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A); and
a transmitting unit which transmits the position information of the plurality of risk areas rearranged by the rearrangement unit to a vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0154], Duan discloses that the vehicle 1A transmits (for example, broadcasts) the blind spot region information through the V2X communication through the wireless communication circuit 18, and when the moving object 5 that has received the blind spot region information is in the blind spot region indicated by the blind spot region information, the moving object 5 returns (feeds back) the position (second position) of the moving object 5 to the vehicle 1A through the V2X communication; in paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 2023/0303067 A1), in view of Bletzer (US 2018/0096600 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Duan further discloses a selection unit which selects, from among a plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, a plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A), wherein
the rearrangement unit rearranges the plurality of risk areas selected by the selection unit in order of proximity to the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Duan does not explicitly disclose wherein the selection unit selects, from among a plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, a plurality of risk areas that fall within a predetermined distance from a position of the vehicle which is the transmission destination.
However, Bletzer teaches wherein the selection unit selects, from among a plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, a plurality of risk areas that fall within a predetermined distance from a position of the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0073-0074], Bletzer teaches a minimum visible distance for which a composite view of blind spots is obtained, where the minimum visible distance will be increased based on the speed the vehicle is traveling in the direction in question to create a bubble of safe visible distance 1302 around the vehicle 1300).
Bletzer is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to obtaining blind spot information for areas within a predetermined distance. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Bletzer with the apparatus as disclosed by Duan where a calculation could use the Typical Stopping Distance as recommended by local road authorities, where it is more than the minimum stated above, to create a bubble of safe visible distance 1302 around the vehicle 1300 traveling at constant speed, relative to its speed, as suggested by Bletzer in paragraph [0074]. Doing so may be advantageous in that doing so will allow safe navigation of the vehicle by improving understanding of potential dangers present in the vehicle’s blind spots while keeping the required obtained data to a relevant amount to prevent major incident, for example.
Regarding claim 14, Duan further discloses a selection unit which selects, from among a plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, a plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A), wherein
the rearrangement unit rearranges the plurality of risk areas selected by the selection unit in order of proximity to the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Duan does not explicitly disclose wherein the selection unit selects, from among a plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, a plurality of risk areas that fall within a predetermined distance from a position of the vehicle which is the transmission destination.
However, Bletzer teaches wherein the selection unit selects, from among a plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, a plurality of risk areas that fall within a predetermined distance from a position of the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0073-0074], Bletzer teaches a minimum visible distance for which a composite view of blind spots is obtained, where the minimum visible distance will be increased based on the speed the vehicle is traveling in the direction in question to create a bubble of safe visible distance 1302 around the vehicle 1300).
Bletzer is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to obtaining blind spot information for areas within a predetermined distance. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Bletzer with the apparatus as disclosed by Duan where a calculation could use the Typical Stopping Distance as recommended by local road authorities, where it is more than the minimum stated above, to create a bubble of safe visible distance 1302 around the vehicle 1300 traveling at constant speed, relative to its speed, as suggested by Bletzer in paragraph [0074]. Doing so may be advantageous in that doing so will allow safe navigation of the vehicle by improving understanding of potential dangers present in the vehicle’s blind spots while keeping the required obtained data to a relevant amount to prevent major incident, for example.
Regarding claim 15, Duan further discloses a selection unit which selects, from among a plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, a plurality of risk areas (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A), wherein
the rearrangement unit rearranges the plurality of risk areas selected by the selection unit in order of proximity to the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0171], Duan discloses that the blind spot region information set may include a plurality of pieces of blind spot region information, where in the blind spot region information set, the blind spot region information may be arranged in ascending order of the obstacle distance (that is, in order from the obstacle closest to the vehicle 1A), for example, when a first obstacle and a second obstacle are present in order of proximity to the vehicle 1A, a first blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the first obstacle and a second blind spot region information indicating a blind spot region formed by the second obstacle may be arranged in order in the blind spot region information set transmitted by the vehicle 1A).
Duan does not explicitly disclose wherein the selection unit selects, from among a plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, a plurality of risk areas that fall within a predetermined distance from a position of the vehicle which is the transmission destination.
However, Bletzer teaches wherein the selection unit selects, from among a plurality of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, a plurality of risk areas that fall within a predetermined distance from a position of the vehicle which is the transmission destination (In paragraph [0073-0074], Bletzer teaches a minimum visible distance for which a composite view of blind spots is obtained, where the minimum visible distance will be increased based on the speed the vehicle is traveling in the direction in question to create a bubble of safe visible distance 1302 around the vehicle 1300).
Bletzer is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to obtaining blind spot information for areas within a predetermined distance. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Bletzer with the apparatus as disclosed by Duan where a calculation could use the Typical Stopping Distance as recommended by local road authorities, where it is more than the minimum stated above, to create a bubble of safe visible distance 1302 around the vehicle 1300 traveling at constant speed, relative to its speed, as suggested by Bletzer in paragraph [0074]. Doing so may be advantageous in that doing so will allow safe navigation of the vehicle by improving understanding of potential dangers present in the vehicle’s blind spots while keeping the required obtained data to a relevant amount to prevent major incident, for example.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 2023/0303067 A1) and Bletzer (US 2018/0096600 A1), in view of Hwang (US 2022/0086609 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Duan and Bletzer does not explicitly disclose wherein
when a number of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit exceeds a predetermined threshold below which the risk areas are allowed to be transmitted by the transmitting unit at one time, the selection unit selects, from among risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, the plurality of risk areas to be transmitted to the transmission destination with the predetermined threshold as an upper limit.
However, Hwang teaches wherein
when a number of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit exceeds a predetermined threshold below which the risk areas are allowed to be transmitted by the transmitting unit at one time, the selection unit selects, from among risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, the plurality of risk areas to be transmitted to the transmission destination with the predetermined threshold as an upper limit (In paragraph [0006], Hwang teaches dividing a Collective Perception Service Message (CPM), based on a sorting type which is configured in the first V2X communication device, when a size of the CPM exceeds a maximum transmission unit (MTU); and transmitting the divided CPM to a second V2X communication device; the Examiner understands that any part of the divided CPM that exceeded the maximum transmission unit value at least includes information pertaining to a number of risk areas under the predetermined threshold as an upper limit, the upper limit threshold in this case being the amount of risk areas that may be included in the CPM without exceeding MTU for example).
Hwang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to restricting the amount of transmitted data according to a predetermined threshold as an upper limit. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Hwang with the apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Duan and Bletzer, where doing so may be advantageous in that a large amount of information that may be too large to be transmitted in a single data package can be prevented from being improperly transmitted resulting in inaccurate or incomplete information, for example.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Duan and Bletzer does not explicitly disclose wherein
when a number of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit exceeds a predetermined threshold below which the risk areas are allowed to be transmitted by the transmitting unit at one time, the selection unit selects, from among risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, the plurality of risk areas to be transmitted to the transmission destination with the predetermined threshold as an upper limit.
However, Hwang teaches wherein
when a number of risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit exceeds a predetermined threshold below which the risk areas are allowed to be transmitted by the transmitting unit at one time, the selection unit selects, from among risk areas of which position information is stored in the storage unit, the plurality of risk areas to be transmitted to the transmission destination with the predetermined threshold as an upper limit (In paragraph [0006], Hwang teaches dividing a Collective Perception Service Message (CPM), based on a sorting type which is configured in the first V2X communication device, when a size of the CPM exceeds a maximum transmission unit (MTU); and transmitting the divided CPM to a second V2X communication device; the Examiner understands that any part of the divided CPM that exceeded the maximum transmission unit value at least includes information pertaining to a number of risk areas under the predetermined threshold as an upper limit, the upper limit threshold in this case being the amount of risk areas that may be included in the CPM without exceeding MTU for example).
Hwang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to restricting the amount of transmitted data according to a predetermined threshold as an upper limit. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Hwang with the apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Duan and Bletzer, where doing so may be advantageous in that a large amount of information that may be too large to be transmitted in a single data package can be prevented from being improperly transmitted resulting in inaccurate or incomplete information, for example.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 2023/0303067 A1), in view of Kurehashi (US 2021/0281968 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Duan does not explicitly disclose wherein
the risk area information transmitting apparatus is a mobile edge computing (MEC) server.
However, Kurehashi teaches wherein
the risk area information transmitting apparatus is a mobile edge computing (MEC) server (In paragraphs [0022-0024], Kurehashi teaches that the information collecting apparatus 40 includes a wireless access apparatus 50 and the MEC server 60, where The MEC server 60 is a mobile edge computing (MEC) server, for example, the MEC server 60 is connected between the core facility of the mobile communication network and the wireless access apparatus 50 and provides a service by performing wireless communication with a communication terminal that is present in the information provision area 100 via the wireless access apparatus 50).
Kurehashi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to the use of a mobile edge computing server for use in communicating risk are information by and for a vehicle. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Kurehashi with the apparatus as disclosed by Duan where doing so is well understood in the art, and may be implemented without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. Doing so may be advantageous in that cost and utility of the apparatus may be improved by utilizing preexisting and/or preinstalled infrastructure, for example.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakamura (US 2022/0319327 A1) teaches a collision risk calculation unit that calculates a collision risk between a vehicle and each of a plurality of objects present in a traveling direction of the vehicle, and an object selection unit that determines a transmission order of pieces of information on the individual objects based on the collision risk, and transmits the pieces of object information to the vehicle based on the transmission order.
Srivastava (US 2021/0021376 A1) teaches cellular V2X communications, including where a 3GPP radio unit may compare the size of the data packet to the maximum packet size allowed for the replication and transmission for the V2X application to determine that the size of the data packet is less than the maximum packet size.
Seo (US 10,716,093 B2) teaches a method for allocating resources for direct communication between terminals in wireless communication system and device therefor, including where, as a variation of the operation of transmitting the message (or, data of a size exceeding a prescribed limit stored in a buffer) of the size exceeding the prescribed limit using both the periodic resource and the aperiodic resource, the message of the size exceeding the prescribed limit can be divided into a plurality of transport blocks.
/HARRISON HEFLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665