DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Application filed on July 28, 2024, and Drawings filed on July 28, 2024.
2. Claims 1–20 are pending in this case. Claim 1, 17, 19 are independent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 6, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regard to claim 4, the prior arts do not disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including calculating the ideal fill size for the first source fill based on a size of the first source fill, a total frame capacity value, and a total source fill size value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 10 it is clear what constitute “automatically processing a
document format design to extract the set of source fills from that document format design.” It is unclear whether the system uses the design from the document or the source fills from the document. It is unclear what constitutes “extract the set of sources fills.” It is unclear whether extracted fills are to be used or are they being removed so the template can be used. For the purpose of a compact prosecution, it is interpreted that the system extracts the source fills from the document in order to use the document design.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi, Pub. No.: 2011/0058193A1, in view of Edmiston, 20130106913 A1.
With regard to claim 1:
Shiraishi discloses a computer implemented method for mapping a set of source fills to a set of destination frames, the method including: calculating an ideal fill size (the system determines the layout frame and image ideal resolution/size for the fill, paragraph 86: “Thereafter, the layout unit 203 assigns the image data extracted in step S104 to the layout frame determined in step S103 (in step S105). For example, the layout unit 203 synthesizes the layout frame with the image data according to the weight value (the weight value after the synthesis) W weighted to the image data. In addition, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the extracted image data according to the layout frame determined in step S103.”) for each source fill in the set of source fills (the images are collected and initial resolution determined, see also fig. 7 wherein the steps are repeated for each image, paragraph 64: “When this flow is started, the layout unit 203 acquires the attribute information (e.g., shooting date and time, setting information during shooting, and resolution) of the image data stored in the memory card 50 (step S101). In detail, the layout unit 203 accesses the memory card 50 through the interface 140, reads the attribute information of the entire image data, and stores the attribute information in the RAM 112.”); calculating a remaining capacity value for each destination frame in the set of destination frames (the system determines the layout frame property for the fill, paragraph 83: “Then, the layout unit 203 decides a layout frame (step S103). In detail, the layout unit 203 specifies a shooting time period in which the number of shots is the largest by using the histogram generated in step S102. Then, the layout unit 203 decides the layout frame based on the number of shots (i.e., the highest value) of image data belonging to the specified shooting time period. For example, the layout unit 203 reads a layout frame, to which image data of the number (e.g., 1/2 of the highest value) of items smaller than the highest value can be assigned, from a predetermined recording medium (e.g., the RAM 112).”); and mapping the set of source fills to the set of destination frames, wherein mapping the set of source fills to the set of destination frames includes: selecting a first source fill, the first source fill being the source fill that has the largest ideal fill size and that has not been mapped to any destination frame (the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, paragraph 89: “FIG. 5 is a diagram explaining an operation in which image data is assigned to a layout frame. Referring to the example shown in FIG. 5, for example, in the case in which image data including one large image and nine small images are assigned to the layout frame determined in step S103, the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, and assigns image data with the 2.sup.nd to 10.sup.th weight values W as the small images. At this time, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the image data such that the image data is fit into the layout frame.”); determining that a first destination frame has a largest remaining capacity value; and in response to determining that the first destination frame has the largest remaining capacity value; mapping the first source fill to the first destination frame (the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, paragraph 89 to paragraph 91: “Referring to the example shown in FIG. 5, for example, in the case in which image data including one large image and nine small images are assigned to the layout frame determined in step S103, the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, and assigns image data with the 2.sup.nd to 10.sup.th weight values W as the small images. At this time, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the image data such that the image data is fit into the layout frame. Furthermore, the characteristics of image data to be assigned to each layout frame may also be designated in advance. For example, it may be designated in advance such that image data regarded as a head shot is assigned to a certain layout frame as a large image. In such a case, the layout unit 203 assigns image data of the head shot, which has the highest weight value W weighted thereto, as the large image in step S105. Then, the layout unit 203 adds the above-described additional information (the title and the like of the album) (step S106). In detail, when the input of the additional information is received through the operation reception unit 201, the layout unit 203 decides the color (e.g., RGB) of the input additional information. As a method for deciding the color of the additional information, for example, the layout unit 203 determines a color with the highest appearance frequency of the image data assigned to the layout frame in step S105. Next, the layout unit 203 decides the determined color (or a similar color) as the color of the additional information. Then, the layout unit 203 assigns the additional information with the determined color to the layout frame determined in step S103 as an image with a size, which is fit into the layout frame.”);
Shiraishi does not disclose the aspect of updating the first destination frame's remaining capacity value.
However Edmiston discloses the aspect of updating the first destination frame's remaining capacity value (see fig. 6c wherein the display lines are the frames, paragraph 38: “Returning to FIG. 5, at 506, an amount of remaining display space for a display line can be determined. In one embodiment, the amount of the remaining display space can comprise a difference between a size of the display line and a combined size of one or more images that have been filled into the display line. As an example, if the selected image comprises a first image selected from the image set 550, and the display line comprises the first display line of the display, the amount of remaining display space can comprise the size of the first display line (e.g., no images have been filled into the display line yet). Further, in this example, as selected images are respectively filled into the display line (e.g., a first, second, third and fourth, etc. selected image) the amount of remaining display space may be reduced by an amount of the respective selected images.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Edmiston to Shiraishi so the system can update the first destination frame's remaining capacity value in order to determine the next largest frame and determine what image to insert in the next largest frame based on the remaining capacity of the frames.
With regard to claims 2 and 18 and 20:
Shiraishi and Edmiston disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein updating the first destination frame's remaining capacity value includes subtracting the ideal fill size of the first source fill from a current remaining capacity value of the first destination frame (Edmiston, paragraph 38: “Returning to FIG. 5, at 506, an amount of remaining display space for a display line can be determined. In one embodiment, the amount of the remaining display space can comprise a difference between a size of the display line and a combined size of one or more images that have been filled into the display line. As an example, if the selected image comprises a first image selected from the image set 550, and the display line comprises the first display line of the display, the amount of remaining display space can comprise the size of the first display line (e.g., no images have been filled into the display line yet). Further, in this example, as selected images are respectively filled into the display line (e.g., a first, second, third and fourth, etc. selected image) the amount of remaining display space may be reduced by an amount of the respective selected images.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Edmiston to Shiraishi so the system can update the first destination frame's remaining capacity value in order to determine the next largest frame and determine what image to insert in the next largest frame based on the remaining capacity of the frames.
With regard to claim 3:
Shiraishi and Edmiston disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including calculating the ideal fill size for the first source fill (Shiraishi paragraph 86: “Thereafter, the layout unit 203 assigns the image data extracted in step S104 to the layout frame determined in step S103 (in step S105). For example, the layout unit 203 synthesizes the layout frame with the image data according to the weight value (the weight value after the synthesis) W weighted to the image data. In addition, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the extracted image data according to the layout frame determined in step S103.”) based on a size of the first source fill (Shiraishi paragraph 64: “When this flow is started, the layout unit 203 acquires the attribute information (e.g., shooting date and time, setting information during shooting, and resolution) of the image data stored in the memory card 50 (step S101). In detail, the layout unit 203 accesses the memory card 50 through the interface 140, reads the attribute information of the entire image data, and stores the attribute information in the RAM 112.”).
With regard to claim 8:
Shiraishi and Edmiston disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein after mapping the first source fill to the first destination frame (Shiraishi see fig. 7 wherein the steps are cursive and repeats until done, paragraph 94 and 95: “Herein, the layout unit 203 waits to receive an operation of print execution (OK) or an operation of print non-execution through the operation reception unit 201 (step S108). When the operation of print non-execution is received in step S108 (No in step S108), the layout unit 203 returns to step S103. Thus, the layout unit 203 performs step S103 to step S107 again, thereby providing a user with a separate layout frame (an album).”), mapping the set of source fills to the set of destination frames further includes: selecting a second source fill, the second source fill being the source fill that has the largest ideal fill size and that has not been mapped to any destination frame (Shiraishi the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, paragraph 89: “FIG. 5 is a diagram explaining an operation in which image data is assigned to a layout frame. Referring to the example shown in FIG. 5, for example, in the case in which image data including one large image and nine small images are assigned to the layout frame determined in step S103, the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, and assigns image data with the 2.sup.nd to 10.sup.th weight values W as the small images. At this time, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the image data such that the image data is fit into the layout frame.”); determining that the first destination frame has the largest remaining capacity value; and in response to determining that the first destination frame has the largest remaining capacity value (Edmiston wherein any individual frame can hold multiple images, paragraph 38: “Returning to FIG. 5, at 506, an amount of remaining display space for a display line can be determined. In one embodiment, the amount of the remaining display space can comprise a difference between a size of the display line and a combined size of one or more images that have been filled into the display line. As an example, if the selected image comprises a first image selected from the image set 550, and the display line comprises the first display line of the display, the amount of remaining display space can comprise the size of the first display line (e.g., no images have been filled into the display line yet). Further, in this example, as selected images are respectively filled into the display line (e.g., a first, second, third and fourth, etc. selected image) the amount of remaining display space may be reduced by an amount of the respective selected images.”): mapping the second source fill to the first destination frame (Shiraishi the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, paragraph 89 to paragraph 91: “Referring to the example shown in FIG. 5, for example, in the case in which image data including one large image and nine small images are assigned to the layout frame determined in step S103, the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, and assigns image data with the 2.sup.nd to 10.sup.th weight values W as the small images. At this time, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the image data such that the image data is fit into the layout frame. Furthermore, the characteristics of image data to be assigned to each layout frame may also be designated in advance. For example, it may be designated in advance such that image data regarded as a head shot is assigned to a certain layout frame as a large image. In such a case, the layout unit 203 assigns image data of the head shot, which has the highest weight value W weighted thereto, as the large image in step S105. Then, the layout unit 203 adds the above-described additional information (the title and the like of the album) (step S106). In detail, when the input of the additional information is received through the operation reception unit 201, the layout unit 203 decides the color (e.g., RGB) of the input additional information. As a method for deciding the color of the additional information, for example, the layout unit 203 determines a color with the highest appearance frequency of the image data assigned to the layout frame in step S105. Next, the layout unit 203 decides the determined color (or a similar color) as the color of the additional information. Then, the layout unit 203 assigns the additional information with the determined color to the layout frame determined in step S103 as an image with a size, which is fit into the layout frame.”); and updating the first destination frame's remaining capacity value based on the second source fill (Edmiston paragraph 38: “Returning to FIG. 5, at 506, an amount of remaining display space for a display line can be determined. In one embodiment, the amount of the remaining display space can comprise a difference between a size of the display line and a combined size of one or more images that have been filled into the display line. As an example, if the selected image comprises a first image selected from the image set 550, and the display line comprises the first display line of the display, the amount of remaining display space can comprise the size of the first display line (e.g., no images have been filled into the display line yet). Further, in this example, as selected images are respectively filled into the display line (e.g., a first, second, third and fourth, etc. selected image) the amount of remaining display space may be reduced by an amount of the respective selected images.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Edmiston to Shiraishi so the system can update the first destination frame's remaining capacity value in order to determine the next largest frame and determine what image to insert in the next largest frame based on the remaining capacity of the frames.
With regard to claim 9:
Shiraishi and Edmiston disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein after mapping the first source fill to the first destination frame (Shiraishi see fig. 7 wherein the steps are cursive and repeats until done, paragraph 94 and 95: “Herein, the layout unit 203 waits to receive an operation of print execution (OK) or an operation of print non-execution through the operation reception unit 201 (step S108). When the operation of print non-execution is received in step S108 (No in step S108), the layout unit 203 returns to step S103. Thus, the layout unit 203 performs step S103 to step S107 again, thereby providing a user with a separate layout frame (an album).”), mapping the set of source fills to the set of destination frames further includes: selecting a second source fill, the second source fill being the source fill that has the largest ideal fill size and that has not been mapped to any destination frame (Shiraishi the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, paragraph 89: “FIG. 5 is a diagram explaining an operation in which image data is assigned to a layout frame. Referring to the example shown in FIG. 5, for example, in the case in which image data including one large image and nine small images are assigned to the layout frame determined in step S103, the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, and assigns image data with the 2.sup.nd to 10.sup.th weight values W as the small images. At this time, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the image data such that the image data is fit into the layout frame.”); determining that a second destination frame has the largest remaining capacity value Shiraishi the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, paragraph 89 to paragraph 91: “Referring to the example shown in FIG. 5, for example, in the case in which image data including one large image and nine small images are assigned to the layout frame determined in step S103, the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, and assigns image data with the 2.sup.nd to 10.sup.th weight values W as the small images. At this time, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the image data such that the image data is fit into the layout frame. Furthermore, the characteristics of image data to be assigned to each layout frame may also be designated in advance. For example, it may be designated in advance such that image data regarded as a head shot is assigned to a certain layout frame as a large image. In such a case, the layout unit 203 assigns image data of the head shot, which has the highest weight value W weighted thereto, as the large image in step S105. Then, the layout unit 203 adds the above-described additional information (the title and the like of the album) (step S106). In detail, when the input of the additional information is received through the operation reception unit 201, the layout unit 203 decides the color (e.g., RGB) of the input additional information. As a method for deciding the color of the additional information, for example, the layout unit 203 determines a color with the highest appearance frequency of the image data assigned to the layout frame in step S105. Next, the layout unit 203 decides the determined color (or a similar color) as the color of the additional information. Then, the layout unit 203 assigns the additional information with the determined color to the layout frame determined in step S103 as an image with a size, which is fit into the layout frame.”); and in response to determining that the second destination frame has the largest remaining capacity value: mapping the second source fill to the second destination frame (Shiraishi the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, paragraph 89 to paragraph 91: “Referring to the example shown in FIG. 5, for example, in the case in which image data including one large image and nine small images are assigned to the layout frame determined in step S103, the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, and assigns image data with the 2.sup.nd to 10.sup.th weight values W as the small images. At this time, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the image data such that the image data is fit into the layout frame. Furthermore, the characteristics of image data to be assigned to each layout frame may also be designated in advance. For example, it may be designated in advance such that image data regarded as a head shot is assigned to a certain layout frame as a large image. In such a case, the layout unit 203 assigns image data of the head shot, which has the highest weight value W weighted thereto, as the large image in step S105. Then, the layout unit 203 adds the above-described additional information (the title and the like of the album) (step S106). In detail, when the input of the additional information is received through the operation reception unit 201, the layout unit 203 decides the color (e.g., RGB) of the input additional information. As a method for deciding the color of the additional information, for example, the layout unit 203 determines a color with the highest appearance frequency of the image data assigned to the layout frame in step S105. Next, the layout unit 203 decides the determined color (or a similar color) as the color of the additional information. Then, the layout unit 203 assigns the additional information with the determined color to the layout frame determined in step S103 as an image with a size, which is fit into the layout frame.”); and updating the second destination frame's remaining capacity value based on the second source fill (Edmiston paragraph 38: “Returning to FIG. 5, at 506, an amount of remaining display space for a display line can be determined. In one embodiment, the amount of the remaining display space can comprise a difference between a size of the display line and a combined size of one or more images that have been filled into the display line. As an example, if the selected image comprises a first image selected from the image set 550, and the display line comprises the first display line of the display, the amount of remaining display space can comprise the size of the first display line (e.g., no images have been filled into the display line yet). Further, in this example, as selected images are respectively filled into the display line (e.g., a first, second, third and fourth, etc. selected image) the amount of remaining display space may be reduced by an amount of the respective selected images.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Edmiston to Shiraishi so the system can update the first destination frame's remaining capacity value in order to determine the next largest frame and determine what image to insert in the next largest frame based on the remaining capacity of the frames.
With regard to claim 12:
Shiraishi and Edmiston disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including receiving a first set of one or more user inputs selecting the set of source fills (Edmiston, paragraph 33 “FIG. 5 is a flow diagram illustrating an example embodiment 500 where one or more portions of one or more techniques described herein may be implemented. At 502 in the example embodiment 500, an iterative process (e.g., 502 to 520) begins. A next available image can be selected from a set of images 550, at 502. As one example, the set of images may comprise a collection (e.g., in one or more albums) of images saved and/or selected by a user (e.g., photos taken, images captured, images received and/or downloaded online, etc.). As an example, the user may have one or more local folders comprising a collection of images stored by the user. As another example, the user may access one or more remote folders (e.g., in the cloud) comprising a collection of images saved by the user. As yet another example, the user may select a collection of images online, such as by performing an online image search (e.g., using query terms to select the collection of images returned by the search). It will be appreciated that the set of images may comprise one or more images from one or more locations (e.g., local and/or remote), and the set may comprise images to be selected for displaying in a display.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Edmiston to Shiraishi so the user can select source fills to use for the templates giving the user more choices and autonomy.
With regard to claim 13:
Shiraishi and Edmiston disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein each frame in the set of destination frames corresponds to an element of a deck-format design page (Shiraishi see fig. 5 for deck-format design page, paragraph 104 and 105: “For example, according to the previous embodiment, in step S103, the layout unit 203 automatically decides the layout frame regardless of instructions from a user. However, the present invention is not limited thereto. For example, in step S103, the layout unit 203 displays a candidate of the layout frame through the display unit 202. Then, it may also be possible to receive an instruction for selecting one layout frame from a user through the operation reception unit 201, and decide the layout frame. Furthermore, according to the previous embodiment, in step S106, the layout unit 203 decides the color (or the similar color) with the highest appearance frequency of the image data, which has been assigned to the layout frame, as the color of the additional information. However, the present invention is not limited thereto. For example, in step S106, the layout unit 203 may also decide a complementary color of the color with the highest appearance frequency of the image data, which has been assigned to the layout frame, as the color of the additional information. In addition, the layout unit 203 may also decide a color (e.g., a color with the highest appearance frequency of the image data assigned to the layout frame as a large image) of the most characteristic image data among the image data, which has been assigned to the layout frame, as the color of the additional information.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Edmiston to Shiraishi so the user can select source fills to use for the templates giving the user more choices and autonomy.
With regard to claim 15:
Shiraishi and Edmiston disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including receiving a second set of one or more user inputs selecting the set of destination frames (see fig. 5 wherein the steps are recursive allowing the user to select two or more sets of destination frames, paragraph 33 “FIG. 5 is a flow diagram illustrating an example embodiment 500 where one or more portions of one or more techniques described herein may be implemented. At 502 in the example embodiment 500, an iterative process (e.g., 502 to 520) begins. A next available image can be selected from a set of images 550, at 502. As one example, the set of images may comprise a collection (e.g., in one or more albums) of images saved and/or selected by a user (e.g., photos taken, images captured, images received and/or downloaded online, etc.). As an example, the user may have one or more local folders comprising a collection of images stored by the user. As another example, the user may access one or more remote folders (e.g., in the cloud) comprising a collection of images saved by the user. As yet another example, the user may select a collection of images online, such as by performing an online image search (e.g., using query terms to select the collection of images returned by the search). It will be appreciated that the set of images may comprise one or more images from one or more locations (e.g., local and/or remote), and the set may comprise images to be selected for displaying in a display.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Edmiston to Shiraishi so the user can select source fills to use for the templates giving the user more choices and autonomy.
With regard to claim 16:
Shiraishi and Edmiston disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including transferring the set of source fills to the set of destination frames (Shiraishi the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, paragraph 89 to paragraph 91: “Referring to the example shown in FIG. 5, for example, in the case in which image data including one large image and nine small images are assigned to the layout frame determined in step S103, the layout unit 203 assigns image data with the highest weight value W (to the largest frame) as the large image, and assigns image data with the 2.sup.nd to 10.sup.th weight values W as the small images. At this time, the layout unit 203 may also change the size or resolution of the image data such that the image data is fit into the layout frame. Furthermore, the characteristics of image data to be assigned to each layout frame may also be designated in advance. For example, it may be designated in advance such that image data regarded as a head shot is assigned to a certain layout frame as a large image. In such a case, the layout unit 203 assigns image data of the head shot, which has the highest weight value W weighted thereto, as the large image in step S105. Then, the layout unit 203 adds the above-described additional information (the title and the like of the album) (step S106). In detail, when the input of the additional information is received through the operation reception unit 201, the layout unit 203 decides the color (e.g., RGB) of the input additional information. As a method for deciding the color of the additional information, for example, the layout unit 203 determines a color with the highest appearance frequency of the image data assigned to the layout frame in step S105. Next, the layout unit 203 decides the determined color (or a similar color) as the color of the additional information. Then, the layout unit 203 assigns the additional information with the determined color to the layout frame determined in step S103 as an image with a size, which is fit into the layout frame.”).
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claims 10, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi, Pub. No.: 2011/0058193A1, in view of Edmiston, and further in view of Tafel, 20150058462 A1,
With regard to claim 10:
Shiraishi and Edmiston do not disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including automatically processing a document format design to extract the set of source fills from that document format design.
However Tafel discloses the aspect of further including automatically processing a document format design to extract the set of source fills from that document format design. (paragraph 62 to 64: “Referring now to FIG. 4, therein is shown an example of a display of a navigation template 402 of the content delivery system 100 of FIG. 1. The content delivery system 100 can navigate through the content elements 206 of the content article 204 using the navigation template 402. The navigation template 402 is a control element for regulating the content navigation between the content elements 206. Content navigation is the pattern of information displayed in the display content 205 during the traversal from one of the content elements 206 to another of the content elements 206. For example, content navigation can allow reading the content article 204 by moving from the title 210 of FIG. 2 to the graphic 214 of FIG. 2, and then to the text block 218 of FIG. 2.The navigation template 402 can include template regions 404. The template regions 404 are navigation and formatting elements associated with the content elements 206 of the content article 204. The template regions 404 are linked to locations in the content article 204 that correspond to the content elements 206. The template regions 404 can include a navigation destination 406. The navigation destination 406 is information for one of the template regions 404 that describes another of the template regions 404 as a destination during content navigation. The navigation destination 406 can indicate a destination from one of the template regions 404.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Tafel to Shiraishi and Edmiston so the system can automatically determine a document format design to extract the set of source fills to saving time and resources.
With regard to claim 11:
Shiraishi and Edmiston and Tafel disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including automatically processing a page of a deck format design to extract the set of source fills from that page (Tafel paragraph 62 to 64: “Referring now to FIG. 4, therein is shown an example of a display of a navigation template 402 of the content delivery system 100 of FIG. 1. The content delivery system 100 can navigate through the content elements 206 of the content article 204 using the navigation template 402. The navigation template 402 is a control element for regulating the content navigation between the content elements 206. Content navigation is the pattern of information displayed in the display content 205 during the traversal from one of the content elements 206 to another of the content elements 206. For example, content navigation can allow reading the content article 204 by moving from the title 210 of FIG. 2 to the graphic 214 of FIG. 2, and then to the text block 218 of FIG. 2. The navigation template 402 can include template regions 404. The template regions 404 are navigation and formatting elements associated with the content elements 206 of the content article 204. The template regions 404 are linked to locations in the content article 204 that correspond to the content elements 206. The template regions 404 can include a navigation destination 406. The navigation destination 406 is information for one of the template regions 404 that describes another of the template regions 404 as a destination during content navigation. The navigation destination 406 can indicate a destination from one of the template regions 404.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Tafel to Shiraishi and Edmiston so the system can automatically determine a page of a deck format design to extract the set of source fills to saving time and resources.
With regard to claim 14:
Shiraishi and Edmiston and Tafel disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1, further including automatically processing a page of a deck format design to determine the set of destination frames (paragraph 62 to 64: “Referring now to FIG. 4, therein is shown an example of a display of a navigation template 402 of the content delivery system 100 of FIG. 1. The content delivery system 100 can navigate through the content elements 206 of the content article 204 using the navigation template 402. The navigation template 402 is a control element for regulating the content navigation between the content elements 206. Content navigation is the pattern of information displayed in the display content 205 during the traversal from one of the content elements 206 to another of the content elements 206. For example, content navigation can allow reading the content article 204 by moving from the title 210 of FIG. 2 to the graphic 214 of FIG. 2, and then to the text block 218 of FIG. 2.The navigation template 402 can include template regions 404. The template regions 404 are navigation and formatting elements associated with the content elements 206 of the content article 204. The template regions 404 are linked to locations in the content article 204 that correspond to the content elements 206. The template regions 404 can include a navigation destination 406. The navigation destination 406 is information for one of the template regions 404 that describes another of the template regions 404 as a destination during content navigation. The navigation destination 406 can indicate a destination from one of the template regions 404.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Tafel to Shiraishi and Edmiston so the system can automatically determine a page of a deck format design to saving time and resources.
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Agrawal, Pub. No.: 20200311185 A1, Disclosed systems and methods determine a reading order of an electronic document. In an example, a document processing application accesses a content stream that includes a first object with a first location within the electronic document, a second object with a second location within the electronic document, and a third object with a third location within the electronic document. The application computes a region that includes the first object and the second object by determining that the second object is adjacent to the first object in a first dimension, at least a portion of the first and second objects are aligned in a second dimension, and the boundaries of the region do not intersect or encompass the third object. Based on the objects in the region, the application determines that a reading order should include the first object and the second object and should exclude the third object.
Mulligan, Patent No.: 10311060 B2: Provided are methods and systems of glyph management using texture atlases that may, among other things, improve User Interface (UI) performance and quality, as well as reduce memory requirements for storing glyphs. Due to their monochrome nature, glyphs are stored on any one of the red, green, blue, or alpha color channels that exist within a texture memory. Commonly used glyphs may be used to generate an initial texture atlas or texture atlases. Texture atlases may also be dynamically updated as additional glyphs are needed. Required glyphs needed to be displayed in a UI may be provided from the texture atlas to a graphics processor, and the graphics processor can use texture information to render the glyphs in the UI.
Conclusion
/DI XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178