DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 7.29.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-15 are now pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I : Claims 1-13,15 in the reply filed on 6.9.26 is acknowledged. Applicant has argued restricted claims be examined together “since this can be done without serious burden”. However as stated by Examiner in Action filed 4.20.26, Group I and II are classified in H02K1/32 and H02K15/00 which leads to additional search. Therefore the restriction is proper and valid.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Venting features for cover plate of a rotor, rotor and method for mounting a rotor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims below are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recite the limitations “The cover plate according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the outer duct sections and one continuously formed inner duct section are provided…” wherein underlined are not defined either in claim 6 or claim 1. In order to further prosecution, Examiner is interpreting claim 6 dependency on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,5-7,9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chien et al (US20240106287A1 Filing date 6.14.23), hereinafter Chien.
Regarding Claim 1, Chien discloses (Figs 1,3,103,104) a cover plate for a rotor (100) of an electrical machine [0003], the cover plate comprising
a contact surface (103,104 surface facing 102b.102c) for bearing against a laminated core (102) of the rotor and at least one venting duct (105),
wherein the at least one venting duct is formed in the contact surface in the form of a groove (105 has channels Para 0009).
Regarding Claim 5, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 1. Chien further discloses wherein the venting duct (105) comprises at least one outer duct section (105a,105b), at least one inner duct section (105c,105d) and at least one radial duct section (105r which is a transition from 105a to 105c/105d), wherein the at least one outer duct section (105a,105b) is arranged further outwards in the radial direction (R) than the at least one inner duct section (105c,105d) and wherein the at least one outer duct section is connected to the at least one inner duct section via the at least one radial duct section (105r) .
Regarding Claim 6, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim
Regarding Claim 7, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 1. Chien further discloses
further comprising a positioning means (Fig 7, 105d provides for positioning to create plastic key 118 between 115 and 106a) provided to fix a defined position of the cover plate in the circumferential direction (Fig 6) relative to the rotor.
Regarding Claim 9, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 1. Chien further discloses
a rotor (100) of an electric machine, comprising at least one cover plate (103,104) according to claim 1 and a laminated core (102), wherein the rotor is rotatable about an axis of rotation (AA) and wherein the cover plate is arranged at an axial end (Fig 1) of the laminated core.
Regarding Claim 10, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 9. Chien further discloses
further comprising permanent magnets (114), wherein the laminated core has first recesses (113b,113c) and second recesses (113a, 113c), the first recesses being provided for accommodating the permanent magnets (114b), at least end sections of the first recesses and the second recesses being fluidically connected (Fig 7) to the venting duct (105).
Regarding Claim 11, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 10. Chien further discloses wherein a plastic [Para 0019] embeds the permanent magnets (114b) in the first recesses (113b,113c), the plastic extending into partial regions (105a,105b,105c,105d) of the venting duct (105).
Regarding Claim 12, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 9. Chien further discloses further comprising a rotor shaft (106), wherein the laminated core (102) is fixedly connected to the rotor shaft ,wherein the rotor shaft has counter-positioning means (106a) which, together with the positioning means (105d), determine the relative position of the cover plate and the rotor shaft in the circumferential direction (Fig 7, 105d provides for positioning to create plastic key 118 between 115 and 106a).
Regarding Claim 13, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 12. Chien further discloses wherein the rotor shaft (106) has a shoulder (Fig 2, 106s) against which the laminated core (102) is braced, the cover plate being (103 or 104) arranged between the shoulder (106s) and the laminated core (102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4,8,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien in view of Ogihara et al (US20200227962A1), hereinafter Ogihara.
Regarding Claim 2, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the venting duct has a maximum extension of less than 0.2 mm in a direction perpendicular to a plane formed by the contact surface.
Ogihara discloses (Fig 8) wherein the venting duct (61a) has a maximum extension of less than 0.2 mm in a direction perpendicular to a plane formed by the contact surface (57 surface)[Para 0047 discloses 61a depth at .05 to .15mm. Further Para 0041 discloses gap of .05 to .15mm. So summation of two provides range of .1 to .3mm with a nominal of .2mm. Further this extension is a Result Effective Variable wherein reducing the extension will make venting difficult and increasing the extension will allow adhesive to leak and the optimal value is arrived at by experimentation by an average skilled artisan MPEP 2144.05.II.B ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed cover plate of Chien with venting duct extension less than .2mm in order to allow air venting to happen while proving enough resistance to adhesive flow.
Regarding Claim 3, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the venting duct has a cross-sectional area of less than 0.5 mm².
Ogihara discloses wherein the venting duct has a cross-sectional area of less than 0.5 mm²(Ogihara discloses axial extension 61a,61 as shown above between 0.1 to 0.3mm and Fig 8 suggests 56 width such that area will be less than 0.5 mm². For e.g., even If 56w = 10 times 0.2mm, area = 2*.2 =.4 mm². Further this area is a Result Effective Variable wherein reducing the area will make venting difficult and increasing the area will allow adhesive to leak and the optimal value is arrived at by experimentation by an average skilled artisan MPEP 2144.05.II.B ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed cover plate of Chien with venting duct area less than .5 mm² in order to allow air venting to happen while proving enough resistance to adhesive flow.
Regarding Claim 4, Chien in view of Ogihara discloses the cover plate according to claim 3 but does not explicitly disclose wherein a first dimension of the venting duct determining the cross-sectional area is larger than a second dimension of the venting duct determining the cross-sectional area at least by a factor of 20.
Ogihara further discloses (Fig 8) wherein a first dimension (56w) of the venting duct (61,61a) determining the cross-sectional area is larger than a second dimension (61a,61 depth as shown before between 0.1 and 0.3mm) of the venting duct determining the cross-sectional area at least by a factor of 20 (Choice of dimensions forming this area is a Result Effective Variable wherein the ratio of the dimensions determine the optimal design where air can be vented without adhesive leaking out and the optimal value is arrived at by experimentation by an average skilled artisan MPEP 2144.05.II.B . Further specification does not recite any particular ratio at which unexpected results were seen].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed cover plate of Chien with ratio of dimensions forming venting duct area being at least 20 in order to allow air venting to happen while proving enough resistance to adhesive flow.
Regarding Claim 8, Chien discloses the cover plate according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cover plate is a cast part.
Ogihara discloses wherein the cover plate is a cast part [Para 0036 discloses 53 made of a resin material].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed cover plate of Chien with it being made as a cast part as taught by Ogihara in order easily manufacture the required geometry of the cover plate in an cost efficient manner while at the same time achieving the level of strength and durability required [Para 0032 of instant specification recites “cast” as “made of aluminum or plastic”].
Regarding Claim 15, Chien discloses (Figs 1,3,103,104) a cover plate for a rotor (100) of an electrical machine [0003], the cover plate comprising
a contact surface (103,104 surface facing 102b.102c) for bearing against a laminated core (102) of the rotor and at least one venting duct (105),
wherein the at least one venting duct is formed in the contact surface in the form of a groove (105 has channels Para 0009) but does not explicitly disclose it having a cross-sectional area of less than 0.5 mm², and wherein a first dimension of the venting duct determining the cross-sectional area is larger than a second dimension of the venting duct determining the cross-sectional area at least by a factor of 20.
Ogihara discloses wherein the venting duct has a cross-sectional area of less than 0.5 mm²(Ogihara discloses axial extension 61a,61 as shown above between 0.1 to 0.3mm and Fig 8 suggests 56 width such that area will be less than 0.5 mm². For e.g., even If 56w = 20 times 0.1mm, area = 2*.1 =.2 mm². Further this area is a Result Effective Variable wherein reducing the area will make venting difficult and increasing the area will allow adhesive to leak and the optimal value is arrived at by experimentation by an average skilled artisan MPEP 2144.05.II.B ] and
Ogihara further discloses (Fig 8) wherein a first dimension (56w) of the venting duct (61,61a) determining the cross-sectional area is larger than a second dimension (61a,61 depth as shown before between 0.1 and 0.3mm) of the venting duct determining the cross-sectional area at least by a factor of 20 (Choice of dimensions forming this area is a Result Effective Variable wherein the ratio of the dimensions determine the optimal design where air can be vented without adhesive leaking out and the optimal value is arrived at by experimentation by an average skilled artisan MPEP 2144.05.II.B . Further specification does not recite any particular ratio at which unexpected results were seen].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed cover plate of Chien with venting duct area less than .5 mm² and with ratio of dimensions forming venting duct area being at least 20 in order to allow air venting to happen while proving enough resistance to adhesive flow .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Buettner et al (DE102002027758A1 English translation) has relevant venting structure.
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834