DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18786655 filed on 07/29/2024 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, the Applicant argues that JP ‘533 does not disclose the orthogonal parts in amended claim 1. The Examiner disagrees, the orthogonal parts are the protruding thickness of the coil in its thickness/orthogonal direction, therefore, amended claim 1 is still anticipated by JP ‘533 as explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4,7,11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigeru et al. (JP-S6032533; Hereinafter, “Shigeru”).
Regarding claim 1: Shigeru discloses a coil substrate (1), comprising:
a flexible substrate (flexible insulated sheet”; abstract, line 2) having a first surface and a second surface on an opposite side with respect to the first surface (annotated fig. 2 below); and
a plurality of coils (2, 3) comprising a plurality of first wirings (3c, 3b) and a plurality of second wirings (2a, 2b) such that the plurality of first wirings is formed on the first surface (fig. 2) of the flexible substrate (1) and includes a plurality of first orthogonal parts (the thickness of the first wirings extending in the orthogonal direction, perpendicular to the axis and the longitudinal directions) extending in an orthogonal direction orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the substrate (1) respectively
and that the plurality of second wirings (2a, 2b) is formed on the second surface (fig. 2) of the flexible substrate (1), and includes a plurality of second orthogonal parts (the thickness of the second wirings extending in the orthogonal direction, perpendicular to the axis and the longitudinal directions) extending in the orthogonal direction respectively,
wherein the flexible substrate (1) has a first end (annotated fig. 2 below) in a longitudinal direction (right and left in fig. 1-2) of the flexible substrate (1) and is configured to be wound (see the arrows showing the direction of winding the substrate end as shown in fig. 2) from the first end in a circumferential direction around an axis (the up-down direction in fig. 1) extending in the orthogonal direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction such that the flexible substrate (1) is formed into a cylindrical shape (abstract, line 5),
that the first surface of the flexible substrate is positioned on an inner circumferential side of the cylindrical shape (annotated fig. 2 below) and that the second surface of the flexible substrate is positioned on an outer circumferential side of the cylindrical shape (annotated fig. 2 below), and
the flexible substrate (1) has a first region (“first region” in the annotated fig. 2 below) adjacent to the first end (the annotated fig. 2 below) such that the first region includes the second orthogonal parts (the thickness of the 2nd wirings) of the second wirings in one of the coils (2a, 2b) closest to the first end of the flexible substrate and does not include the first orthogonal parts (the thickness of the 1st wirings) of the first wirings in the one of the coils closest to the first end (the left side in fig. 2) of the flexible substrate (1) and that the first orthogonal parts of the first wirings (3a, 3b) in the one of the coils closest to the first end of the flexible substrate are overlapping the second orthogonal parts (the thickness of the 2nr wirings) of the second wirings in an adjacent one of the coils adjacent to the one of the coils closest to the first end of the flexible substrate (see the overlapping in the second region in the annotated fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 2/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the flexible substrate (1) has a second region adjacent to the first region and a third region adjacent to the second region (annotated fig. 2 below) and adjacent to a second end of the flexible substrate on an opposite side with respect to the first end such that the third region includes the first orthogonal parts (the thickness of the 1st wiring in the orthogonal direction) of the first wirings (3a, 3b) in one of the coils closest to the second end (annotated fig. 2 below) of the flexible substrate (1) and does not include the second orthogonal parts (the thickness of the 2nd wiring in the orthogonal direction) of the second wirings (2a, 2b) in the one of the coils closest to the second end of the flexible substrate (annotated fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 4/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that a motor coil substrate (abstract, line 1), comprising: the coil substrate (1) wound from the first end (as shown by the arrow) in the circumferential direction around the axis such that the first surface (the bottom surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the inner circumferential side of the cylindrical shape and that the second surface (the top surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the outer circumferential side of the cylindrical shape (as previously discussed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 7/2/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that a motor coil substrate (abstract, line 1), comprising: the coil substrate (1) wound from the first end (as shown by the arrow) in the circumferential direction around the axis such that the first surface (the bottom surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the inner circumferential side of the cylindrical shape and that the second surface (the top surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the outer circumferential side of the cylindrical shape (as previously discussed in claim 1, and 4).
Regarding claim 11/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the plurality of coils (2, 3) is formed such that the coils are lined up along the longitudinal direction (fig. 2) of the flexible substrate (1).
Regarding claim 12/11/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that the flexible substrate (1) has a second region adjacent to the first region and a third region adjacent to the second region (annotated fig. 2 below) and adjacent to a second end of the flexible substrate on an opposite side with respect to the first end such that the third region includes the first wirings (3a) and does not include the second wirings (2a, and/or 2b).
Regarding claim 14/11/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that a motor coil substrate (abstract, line 1), comprising: the coil substrate (1) wound from the first end (as shown by the arrow) in the circumferential direction around the axis such that the first surface (the bottom surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the inner circumferential side of the cylindrical shape and that the second surface (the top surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the outer circumferential side of the cylindrical shape (as previously discussed in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 6, 9, 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeru in view of Morita et al. (US 2019/0245401; Hereinafter, “Morita”).
Regarding claim 3/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose that each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors connecting the first wirings and the second wirings.
Morita teaches (in fig. 2A) forming each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns (24F) comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings (24S) formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors (24A) connecting the first wirings and the second wirings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the coil substrate of Shigeru with each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors connecting the first wirings and the second wirings as disclosed by Morita to achieve high reliability, high efficiency, and low resistance (para 0073]).
Regarding claim 6/2/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 2 but does not disclose that each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors connecting the first wirings and the second wirings.
Morita teaches (in fig. 2A) forming each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns (24F) comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings (24S) formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors (24A) connecting the first wirings and the second wirings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the coil substrate of Shigeru with each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors connecting the first wirings and the second wirings as disclosed by Morita to achieve high reliability, high efficiency, and low resistance (para 0073]).
Regarding claim 9/3/1: Shigeru in view of Morita discloses the limitations of claim 1 and Shigeru further discloses that a motor coil substrate (abstract, line 1), comprising: the coil substrate (1) wound from the first end (as shown by the arrow) in the circumferential direction around the axis such that the first surface (the bottom surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the inner circumferential side of the cylindrical shape and that the second surface (the top surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the outer circumferential side of the cylindrical shape (as previously discussed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 13/11/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 11 but does not disclose that each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors connecting the first wirings and the second wirings.
Morita teaches (in fig. 2A) forming each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns (24F) comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings (24S) formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors (24A) connecting the first wirings and the second wirings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the coil substrate of Shigeru with each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors connecting the first wirings and the second wirings as disclosed by Morita to achieve high reliability, high efficiency, and low resistance (para 0073]).
Claims 5, 8, 15-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeru in view of Nomura et al. (US 2011/0140564; Hereinafter, “Nomura”).
Regarding claim 5/4/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 4 including the motor (abstract, line before last). Shigeru does not disclose that the motor comprising: a cylindrical yoke; the motor coil substrate positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke; a magnet positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate; and a rotation shaft positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate.
Nomura discloses that the motor comprising (see fig. 18): a cylindrical yoke (103); the motor coil substrate (10) positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103); a magnet (101a; para [0079] and claim 15) positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103) such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (10); and a rotation shaft (101) positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate (10) such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (fig. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the motor of Shigeru to have a cylindrical yoke; the motor coil substrate positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke; a magnet positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate; and a rotation shaft positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate as disclosed by Nomura to obtain an excellent motor at a lower cost (para [0086]).
Regarding claim 8/7/2/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 7 including the motor (abstract, line before last). Shigeru does not disclose that the motor comprising: a cylindrical yoke; the motor coil substrate positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke; a magnet positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate; and a rotation shaft positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate.
Nomura discloses that the motor comprising (see fig. 18): a cylindrical yoke (103); the motor coil substrate (10) positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103); a magnet (101a; para [0079] and claim 15) positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103) such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (10); and a rotation shaft (101) positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate (10) such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (fig. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the motor of Shigeru to have a cylindrical yoke; the motor coil substrate positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke; a magnet positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate; and a rotation shaft positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate as disclosed by Nomura to obtain an excellent motor at a lower cost (para [0086]).
Regarding claim 15/14/11/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 14 including the motor (abstract, line before last). Shigeru does not disclose that the motor comprising: a cylindrical yoke; the motor coil substrate positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke; a magnet positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate; and a rotation shaft positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate.
Nomura discloses that the motor comprising (see fig. 18): a cylindrical yoke (103); the motor coil substrate (10) positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103); a magnet (101a; para [0079] and claim 15) positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103) such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (10); and a rotation shaft (101) positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate (10) such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (fig. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the motor of Shigeru to have a cylindrical yoke; the motor coil substrate positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke; a magnet positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate; and a rotation shaft positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate as disclosed by Nomura to obtain an excellent motor at a lower cost (para [0086]).
Regarding claim 16/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose that the plurality of coils includes a U phase coil, a V phase coil, and a W phase coil and is formed such that the coils are lined up along the longitudinal direction of the flexible substrate.
Nomura discloses the plurality of coils includes a U phase coil, a V phase coil, and a W phase coil (R-S-T phase coils; para [0067]) and is formed such that the coils (12-13; fig. 1) are lined up along the longitudinal direction (fig. 1) of the flexible substrate (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the coil substrate of Shigeru to have the plurality of coils includes a U phase coil, a V phase coil, and a W phase coil and is formed such that the coils are lined up along the longitudinal direction of the flexible substrate as disclosed by Nomura to achieve higher magnetic power (para [0067]).
Regarding claim 17/16/1: Shigeru in view of Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 16 and Shigeru further discloses that the flexible substrate (1) has a second region adjacent to the first region and a third region adjacent to the second region (annotated fig. 2 below) and adjacent to a second end of the flexible substrate on an opposite side with respect to the first end such that the third region includes the first orthogonal parts (the axial protruding wires in the orthogonal direction) of the first wirings (3a, 3b) in one of the coils closest to the second end (annotated fig. 2 below) of the flexible substrate (1) and does not include the second orthogonal parts of the second wirings (the axial protrudins of the 2nd wirings in the orthogonal direction) of the second wirings (2a, 2b) in the one of the coils closest to the second end of the flexible substrate (annotated fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 19/16/1: Shigeru in view of Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 16 and Shigeru further discloses a motor coil substrate (abstract, line 1), comprising: the coil substrate (1) wound from the first end (as shown by the arrow) in the circumferential direction around the axis such that the first surface (the bottom surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the inner circumferential side of the cylindrical shape and that the second surface (the top surface in fig. 2) is positioned on the outer circumferential side of the cylindrical shape (as previously discussed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 20/19/16/1/1: Shigeru discloses the limitations of claim 19 including the motor (abstract, line before last).
Nomura further discloses that the motor comprising (see fig. 18): a cylindrical yoke (103); the motor coil substrate (10) positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103); a magnet (101a; para [0079] and claim 15) positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103) such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (10); and a rotation shaft (101) positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate (10) such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (fig. 18).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeru in view of Morita and in further view of Nomura.
Regarding claim 10/9/3/1: Shigeru-Morita discloses the limitations of claim 9 including the motor (abstract, line before last). Shigeru does not disclose that the motor comprising: a cylindrical yoke; the motor coil substrate positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke; a magnet positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate; and a rotation shaft positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate.
Nomura discloses that the motor comprising (see fig. 18): a cylindrical yoke (103); the motor coil substrate (10) positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103); a magnet (101a; para [0079] and claim 15) positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke (103) such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (10); and a rotation shaft (101) positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate (10) such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate (fig. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the motor of Shigeru in view of Morita to have a cylindrical yoke; the motor coil substrate positioned on an inner side of the cylindrical yoke; a magnet positioned on the inner side of the cylindrical yoke such that the magnet is positioned on an inner side of the motor coil substrate; and a rotation shaft positioned on the inner side of the motor coil substrate such that the rotation shaft is on an inner side of the motor coil substrate as disclosed by Nomura to obtain an excellent motor at a lower cost (para [0086]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeru in view of Nomura and in further view of Morita.
Regarding claim 18/16/1: Shigeru in view of Nomura discloses the limitations of claim 16 but does not disclose that each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors connecting the first wirings and the second wirings.
Morita teaches (in fig. 2A) forming each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns (24F) comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings (24S) formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors (24A) connecting the first wirings and the second wirings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the coil substrate of Shigeru in view of Nomura with each of the coils includes a plurality of half turns comprising the first wirings formed on the first surface, a plurality of half turns comprising the second wirings formed on the second surface, and a plurality of via conductors connecting the first wirings and the second wirings as disclosed by Morita to achieve high reliability, high efficiency, and low resistance (para 0073]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834