DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 07/07/2026.
Claims 1, 7-8, and 14-15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Graziano, Bartik, and Xu fail to teach the amended language, “in response to determining a first vector and a second vector of the plurality of vectors are visually similar, determining that a first email and a second email of the plurality of emails associated with the first vector and the second vector of the plurality of vectors, respectively, were created using a same email kit” because Xu uses the vector comparison method to determine whether the known vector is associated with a particular solution rather than for identifying email kits. Examiner disagrees. Xu teaches the use of feature vectors to determine whether images of solution incidents are similar (Figs. 3A and 3B; Col 8 lines 23-33). While Xu does not explicitly use the vector comparison to identify similarities between images of emails, the amended language exemplifies an intended use of Xu’s image comparison method. Furthermore, extracting and encoding features into vectors for comparison is a well-known method in the art of image processing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graziano et al. (U.S. 2025/0106249)(hereinafter Graziano) in view of Bartik et al. (U.S. 10,601,866)(hereinafter Bartik), and in further view of Xu et al. (US 10,896,018)(hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, rendering each of a plurality of emails to generate an image (Graziano: see Page 6 paragraph 0074, "In particular, in the embodiment considered, the computer receives, in a step 1100, the (source) code COD of the e-mail or webpage, and the corresponding source data SRC. Moreover, once the code COD of the e-mail or of the webpages is obtained, the computer generates the image IMG via a rendering of the code COD").
However, Graziano does not teach generation of a plurality of images.
Nevertheless, Bartik-which is in the same field of endeavor- teaches generation of a plurality of images (Bartik: see Col 9 lines 22-26, "Next at 206, the downloaded content is rendered and screenshots of the suspicious URL and the domain landing page URL are produced. Rendering URL content may consist of processing the downloaded content image to generate a screenshot (i.e., a realistic image of the webpage)").
Graziano and Bartik are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Graziano’s email rendering to produce an image with Bartik’s method for producing a plurality of images. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to process multiple sections of the screenshots and increase the amount of data that could be used for reference or historical data when performing similarity analysis.
Graziano and Bartik do not teach teaches extracting a plurality of features from each of the plurality of processed images; encoding the plurality of features into a vector for each of the plurality of processed images to generate a plurality of vectors; determining whether two or more of the plurality of vectors are visually similar; and in response to determining a first vector and a second vector of the plurality of vectors are visually similar, determining that a first email and a second email of the plurality of emails associated with the first vector and the second vector of the plurality of vectors, respectively, were created using a same email kit.
Nevertheless, Xu-which is in the same field of endeavor- teaches extracting a plurality of features from each of the plurality of processed images (Xu: see Col 13 lines 44-47, "providing the image for processing through an image model, the image model providing an initial set of features, each feature in the initial set of features being representative of the image");
encoding the plurality of features into a vector for each of the plurality of processed images to generate a plurality of vectors (Xu: see Col 13 lines 39-42, "processing, by the one or more processors, the image to generate a vector, the vector comprising features representative of the image, at least one feature representing one of more keywords of the image");
determining whether two or more of the plurality of vectors are visually similar (Xu: see Col 8 lines 23-29, "In some implementations, the vector module 212 provides the image vector to the comparison module 214. In some examples, the comparison module 214 compares the image vector to known vectors of the known vector DB 216. In some examples, the image vector is compared to known vectors in an effort to identify at least one known vector that is determined to be sufficiently similar to the image vector") and
in response to determining a first vector and a second vector of the plurality of vectors are visually similar, determining that a first email and a second email of the plurality of emails associated with the first vector and the second vector of the plurality of vectors, respectively, were created using a same email kit (Xu: see Col 8 lines 23-33, "In some implementations, the vector module 212 provides the image vector to the comparison module 214. In some examples, the comparison module 214 compares the image vector to known vectors of the known vector DB 216. In some examples, the image vector is compared to known vectors in an effort to identify at least one known vector that is determined to be sufficiently similar to the image vector. In further detail, the image vector can be compared to each known vector (or a sub-set of known vectors) and a similarity score can be provided for each image vector (IV)—known vector (KV) pair").
Graziano, Bartik, and Xu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the images generated by Graziano and Bartik with Xu’s vector encoding to determine the similarity between images. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to detect a phishing attack; specifically attacks that utilize trusted icons, logos or information to convince a user to interact with the attack.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Graziano teaches rendering a HyperText Markup Language (HTML) source for each of the plurality of emails (Graziano: see Page 6 paragraph 0074, “The code COD of an e-mail or of a webpage is typically in HTML (HyperText Markup Language) code, and the solutions for carrying out a graphic rendering of this HTML code are commonly known”).
Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graziano, Bartik, and Xu, as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 above, and in further view of Choudhary et al. (US 12,020, 484)(hereinafter Choudhary).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Graziano, Bartik, and Xu teach the invention detailed above.
However, Graziano, Bartik, and Xu fail to teach each of the plurality of vectors captures a numerical representation of visual elements embedded within a single email.
Nevertheless, Choudhary-which is in the same field of endeavor- teaches each of the plurality of vectors captures a numerical representation of visual elements embedded within a single email (Choudhary: see Col 10 lines 6-13, "The summarization of the extracted features by the dense layer allows the neural network processor 103 to generate an n-dimensional feature vector. In an example, if the 1-D array, representing the normalized pixel values of the reference image, at the input layer of the neural network model is of 3×32×32 dimensions, the dense layer may generate a 128-dimensional feature vector of the reference image").
Graziano, Bartik, Xu, and Choudhary are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use numerical representations of the vectors generated by Graziano, Bartik, and Xu when determining similarities between images. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to improve the efficiency and scalability of the matching technique.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Graziano, Bartik, Xu and Choudhary teach grouping two or more of the plurality of vectors that are visually similar together using a clustering algorithm or a similarity threshold (Choudhary: see Col 10 lines 30-42, "The cluster generating engine 104 may create clusters including images that are similar to each other. The similarities between two images may be determined by measuring the cosine distance between the feature vectors of the two images"). Motivation to combine Graziano, Bartik, Xu and Choudhary, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claims 3, 10, and 17.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graziano, Bartik, Xu, and Choudhary, as applied to claims 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18, and in further view of Kalman (US 8,260,078)(hereinafter Kalman).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Graziano, Bartik, Xu, and Choudhary teach normalizing each of the plurality of images to modify pixel values to adhere to a particular range and distribution (Choudhary: see Col 17 lines 54-56, "The pixel values of each of the plurality of images may be normalized such that the pixel values fall in the range 0-1").
However, Graziano, Bartik, Xu, and Choudhary fail to teach sharpening each of the plurality of images to accentuate edges and intricate details.
Nevertheless, Kalman-which is in the same field of endeavor- teaches sharpening each of the plurality of images to accentuate edges and intricate details (Kalman: see Col 1 lines 65-67- Col 2 lines 1-4, "For example, sharpening artifacts known as "bright overshoot" and "dark undershoot," known collectively as "overshoot," may be introduced into the digital image by the sharpening filter within regions of the digital image that rapidly transition from a bright area to a dark area. Such a region may be indicative of an edge between different objects represented by the digital image").
Graziano, Bartik, Xu, Choudhary and Kalman are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize Choudhary’s method for normalization of image pixels with Kalman’s method for sharpening the images of Graziano, Bartik, and Xu. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to improve the accuracy of the detection system by sharpening edges and details that will be used when determining similarities.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graziano, Bartik, Xu, as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 above, and in further view of Nutt et al. (US 10,027,610)(hereinafter Nutt).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Graziano, Bartik, and Xu teach the invention detailed above.
However, Graziano, Bartik, and Xu fail to teach cropping each of the plurality of images to eliminate outer segments, the outer segments including an email header and redundant spaces surrounding a body of each of the plurality of images.
Nevertheless, Nutt-which is in the same field of endeavor- teaches cropping each of the plurality of images to eliminate outer segments, the outer segments including an email header and redundant spaces surrounding a body of each of the plurality of images (Nutt: see Col 2 lines 1-5, "Some example embodiments could include embodiments where cropping an image includes at least loading the content source, crop the image, identify any html tags, crop the html tags, locate coordinates and dimensions of any links within the content source").
Graziano, Bartik, Xu, and Nutt are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize Nutt’s method for cropping the image generated by Graziano, Bartik, and Xu. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to make smaller or closer similarity thresholds by focusing on specific areas.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graziano, Bartik, and Xu, as applied to claims as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 above, and in further view of Luo et al. (US 12,333,394)(hereinafter Luo).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Graziano, Bartik, and Xu teach the invention detailed above.
However, Graziano, Bartik, and Xu fail to teach the plurality of emails comprise historic emails and new emails, wherein the first email is a historic email and the second email is a new email; the historic emails represent emails that have been manually reclassified to include correct labels, the correct labels comprising spam, phishing, and graymail labels; and the new emails have been filtered to only include emails with one or more visual components.
Nevertheless, Luo-which is in the same field of endeavor- teaches the plurality of emails comprise historic emails and new emails, wherein the first email is a historic email and the second email is a new email (Luo: see Col 8 lines 13-17, “At 302, labeled email features are received. The labeled email features may be such things as identifying a given email address as being associated with spam or a label that identifies a particular IP address as being associated with a computer that is known to send good email”; Col 8 lines 47-49, “The unlabeled emails may include but are not limited to newly received emails that have come into an email system from an external network”); the historic emails represent emails that have been manually reclassified to include correct labels (Luo: see Col 27 lines 8-17, "receiving a labeled cluster comprising an email-category label and seed data; assigning the email-category label to the unlabeled email based on a first derivative edge in an expansion graph thereby creating a labeled email, wherein the first derivative edge is a directional edge from the labeled cluster to the feature and the first derivative edge represents first inference logic that the email-category label associated with the labeled cluster is also associated with the unlabeled email"; Col 27 claim 4, " the seed data comprise a previously labeled email, a denylist, an allowlist, or a communication graph"), the correct labels comprising spam, phishing, and graymail labels (Luo: see Col 5 lines 22-34, "...It may be a “spam” email which is electronic junk mail that is unsolicited and often contains advertising from some product. The email 104 may be a “phishing” email which is a fraudulent email falsely claiming to be an established legitimate enterprise in an attempt to scam the user into surrendering private information that will be used for identity theft or other crime. “Bulk” email is another possibility for the email 104. Bulk email is email that is sent to large groups at once. It is typically comprised of advertising or marketing messages that are sent as mass email"; Col 8 lines 38-42, "These initial labels may be referred to as “seeds” because they provide a starting point for creating a cluster of emails or of email features that are similar, and thus, are believed to be associated with the same label (e.g., good, spam, bulk email, etc.)"); and the new emails have been filtered to only include emails with one or more visual components (Luo: see Col 8 lines 45-49, "At 304, unlabeled emails are received. These unlabeled emails may be emails that already exist within an email system. The unlabeled emails may include but are not limited to newly received emails that have come into an email system from an external network"; Col 11 lines 3-10, "FIG. 7 shows a different use of clustering in which various features of an unlabeled email 700 are used to provide potential labels for the unlabeled email 700. Labels may be associated with the unlabeled email 700 based on clusters to which features of the unlabeled email 700 belong. In this example, the clusters are labeled email addresses 702, labeled host servers 704, labeled URLs 706, and labeled fingerprints 708").
Graziano, Bartik, Xu, and Luo are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize Luo’s method of utilizing previously categorized emails to categorize unlabeled emails. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to continuously train a system to identify different categories of emails.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELAH JANAE MCFARLAND-BARNES/Examiner, Art Unit 2431
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431