DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims recite that the only buffers present are one or more a phosphate buffers. This is a negative limitation that excludes all other buffers. The specification does not provide literal support. Further, it does not contemplate all other buffers and thus cannot exclude all other buffers. See MPEP 2173.05(i) for the requirements to provide proper support for a negative limitation.
Dependent claims are rejected for the same reason as the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 2008/0307751) in view of Gallois-Bernos et al. (US 2013/0005805).
With regards to claim 1, Newman et al. teaches a packaging system for the storage of ophthalmic devices (contact lens) comprising a sealed container containing one or more unused ophthalmic devices immersed in an aqueous packaging solution (para [0033], [0034]; abstract). The packaging solution contains one or more osmoprotectants (recites multiple polyols may be present and includes sucrose which is an exemplary one in the present specification for the osmoprotectant; instant para [0045]; Newman para [0028]-[0029]), a non ionic surfactant (para [0029]), and one or more polyol demulcents (glycerol; para [0029]). The osmolality and pH are taught to be within or overlapping the claimed ranges (abstract and para [0029], [0030]). The package is terminally sterilized with heat sterilization (para [0033]).
Newman et al. teaches that the solution can have sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and phosphate buffers (abstract; para [0030]). The buffer can also be a borate buffer (para [0030]). Phosphate or borate can be the only added buffering agents (para [0030]).
Newman teaches a non ionic surfactant but does not specify that it is a poloxamer. Gallois-Bernos et al. teaches that poloxamers such as Pluronic 127 are particularly suitable for lens packaging solutions (para [0087], [0090], [0091]). A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have found it obvious to have selected a poloxamer such as Pluronic 127 as the non-ionic surfactant as it is a non-ionic surfactant taught to be particularly useful in lens packaging solutions. That it is a comfort agent is an intended use of the poloxamer. Pluronic 127 is a poloxamer of the later recited formula in claim 4 and is thus taken to be capable of functioning as a comfort agent.
With regards to claim 2, the device is a contact lens (abstract).
With regards to claim 3, Newman et al. does not teach the use of erythritol. Gallois-Bernos et al. teaches that erythritol is useful as an osmoprotectant that protects against hypertonicity (para [0036]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used erythritol as an osmoprotectant/tonicity agent in order to protect against hypertonicity.
With regards to claim 4, Pluronic 127 is a poloxamer with the claimed copolymer formula.
With regards to claim 5, Pluronic 127 has an HLB of 22.
With regards to claim 6, the one or more polyol demulcents can be glycerol (para [0029]).
With regards to claim 7-9, Newman et al. teaches 0.1-5% total concentration of the tonicity agents in the solution (total of things such as glycerol, sucrose, erythritol). Newman is silent to the amount of the non-ionic surfactant. Gallois-Bernos et al. teaches using the nonionic surfactant at concentrations of 0.25-5%; Tween/polysorbate 80 in Table 4 and claim 20). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used amounts of the claimed components within the claimed ranges motivated by an expectation of successfully providing the glycerol, erythritol, and nonionic surfactant in a lens packaging solution. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have optimized the concentrations in order to get the desired osmoprotection, tonicity, and/or surfactant action.
With regards to claim 10, Newman et al. does not teach the use of a poloxamine but as set forth above teaches the use of a non ionic surfactant. Gallois-Bernos et al. teaches that a combination of poloxamine and poloxamer can be used as a surfactant in lens packaging solutions (para [0090]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have provided a combination of poloxamer and poloxamine as the non-ionic surfactant motivated by an expectation of successfully providing a non-ionic surfactant for use in the lens packaging solution.
With regards to claim 11, Newman et al. teaches that the solution can have sodium chloride and/or potassium chloride (abstract; para [0030]).
With regards to claim 12, Newman et al. teaches at least the presence of a tonicity agent and a wetting agent (abstract and para [0029]).
With regards to claims 13-15, Newman et al. does not teach the use of a disinfecting agent or germicide in the heat sterilized sealed package (para [0033], see whole document).
With regards to claim 16, Newman et al. teaches a method of preparing a package comprising a storable, sterile ophthalmic device, the method comprising: (a) providing an ophthalmic device (contact lens); (b) immersing the ophthalmic device in an aqueous packaging solution (solution and lens are placed in the blister container); (c) packaging the aqueous packaging solution and the ophthalmic device in a manner preventing contamination of the ophthalmic device by microorganisms (sealed); and (d) sterilizing the packaged solution and ophthalmic device (heat sterilized in an autoclave) (para [0033]).
As to the solution, The packaging solution contains one or more osmoprotectants (recites multiple polyols may be present and includes sucrose which is an exemplary one in the present specification for the osmoprotectant; instant para [0045]; Newman para [0028]-[0029]), a non ionic surfactant (para [0029]), and one or more polyol demulcents (glycerol; para [0029]). The osmolality and pH are taught to be within or overlapping the claimed ranges (abstract and para [0029], [0030]). The package is terminally sterilized with heat sterilization (para [0033]).
Newman et al. teaches that the solution can have sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and phosphate buffers (abstract; para [0030]). The buffer can also be a borate buffer (para [0030]). Phosphate or borate can be the only added buffering agents (para [0030]).
Newman teaches a non ionic surfactant but does not specify that it is a poloxamer. Gallois-Bernos et al. teaches that poloxamers such as Pluronic 127 are particularly suitable for lens packaging solutions (para [0087], [0090], [0091]). A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have found it obvious to have selected a poloxamer such as Pluronic 127 as the non-ionic surfactant as it is a non-ionic surfactant taught to be particularly useful in lens packaging solutions. That it is a comfort agent is an intended use of the poloxamer. Pluronic 127 is a poloxamer of the later recited formula in claim 4 and is thus taken to be capable of functioning as a comfort agent.
With regards to claim 17, the device is a contact lens (abstract).
With regards to claim 18, Pluronic 127 is a poloxamer with the claimed copolymer formula.
With regards to claim 19, Newman et al. teaches 0.1-5% total concentration of the tonicity agents in the solution (total of things such as glycerol, sucrose, erythritol). Newman is silent to the amount of the non-ionic surfactant. Gallois-Bernos et al. teaches using the nonionic surfactant at concentrations of 0.25-5%; Tween/polysorbate 80 in Table 4 and claim 20). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used amounts of the claimed components within the claimed ranges motivated by an expectation of successfully providing the glycerol, sucrose, and nonionic surfactant in a lens packaging solution. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have optimized the concentrations in order to get the desired osmoprotection, tonicity, and/or surfactant action.
With regards to claim 20, Newman et al. does not teach the use of a poloxamine but as set forth above teaches the use of a non ionic surfactant. Gallois-Bernos et al. teaches that a combination of poloxamine and poloxamer can be used as a surfactant in lens packaging solutions (para [0090]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have provided a combination of poloxamer and poloxamine as the non-ionic surfactant motivated by an expectation of successfully providing a non-ionic surfactant for use in the lens packaging solution. Newman et al. teaches that the solution can have sodium chloride and potassium chloride (abstract; para [0030]).
Conclusion
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799