Detailed Action
Claims 21-40 of U.S. Application 18/786,809 filed on September 06, 2024 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/09/2024 and 08/09/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannam et al (US Pat No 10677621) in view of Spitaels et al (USPGPub 20110136353).
Prior Art: Hannam
Regarding claim 21, Hannam discloses an assembly (100) comprising: a cord (114); a plug (J1) operatively connected to the cord (shown in fig 3), wherein the plug is adapted to be plugged into a power monitor (plug into meter 108 as shown in fig 3); a first connection (along 117) operatively connected to the cord (shown in fig 3), configured to be connected to a first current transformer (104. Col 8 lines 1-15 and claim 3 discloses the transformer contains a current transformer); and a memory chip (106). Hannam does not fully disclose a memory chip situated within the plug.
However, Spitaels discloses a memory chip (69) situated within the plug (20. Par 61 discloses plug-in module contains memory). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hannam in view of Spitaels in order to determine information concerning to the plug-in module based on user needs (Spitaels par 61).
Regarding claim 22, Hannam discloses wherein the memory chip is adapted to store a first scale factor of the first current transformer (col 2 lines 50-62 discloses storing information such as correction data correction).
Regarding claim 24, Hannam discloses wherein the cable is a multi-wire cable including: a first wire (110) configured to connect between the first current transformer and the plug; and a second wire (112) configured to connect between the first current transformer and the plug (shown in fig 2 as having the cables in between the plug and transformer).
Regarding claim 25, Hannam discloses wherein the memory chip is connected to at least one of the first and second wires (shown in figs 2-9 as the memory is connected to the wires through 134 and 136).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 26-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 23, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest an assembly comprising: the first current transformer, wherein the first current transformer includes a first housing having a first handle portion and a first distal portion; a second housing having a second handle portion, a second distal portion, and a connector connected to the first connection; a first core, wherein the first core is mounted within the first distal portion; and a second core, wherein the second core is mounted within the second distal portion in combination with the other limitation of the claim.
Regarding claim 26, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest an assembly comprising: a second connection connected to the cord, configured to be connected to a second current transformer in combination with the other limitation of the claim.
Claims 27-33 are also objected to as they depend on claim 26.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 34-40 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 34, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a power monitor comprising: a power and I/F circuit operatively connected to the SoC, wherein the power and I/F circuit is configured to connect to an interface to control a memory chip of a current transformer assembly; wherein the SoC, the power and I/F circuit, and A/D are configured to: read a first scale factor for the first current transformer from the memory chip, receive a first sensor value from the first current transformer, compute a second sensor value from the first sensor value using the first scale factor, and use the second sensor value to determine information about energy consumption in a building in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 35-40 are also objected to as they depend on claim 34.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mitchell et al (US Pat No. 10432258): discloses a connector with memory inside.
McGinley et al (USPGPub 20070164704): discloses memory inside of the plug.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858