DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2024, 08/05/2024, 11/07/2025, 03/30/2026 and 07/02/2026 was filed on and after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 8-10 of copending Application No. 18/787507. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in Application No. 18/787507 are claiming the same embodiment with similar structural limitations.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application of claims 1-5 and 11-15 corresponds to the subject matter of claims 1, 2 and 8-10 of 18/787507; the details are as follows:
Claim 1 of the instant application recites, “an electrical connector, comprising: a conductive housing, the conductive housing defining a receiving slot configured to at least partially receive a mating module along a first direction; the conductive housing comprising a first conductive housing, the first conductive housing defining a first terminal module installation slot and a first filling groove; the first terminal module installation slot communicating with the receiving slot; a first terminal module, the first terminal module being at least partially installed in the first terminal module installation slot; the first terminal module comprising a first conductive terminal which is not in contact with the first conductive housing; and a first insulating fixing block, the first insulating fixing block being fixed in the first filling groove, the first insulating fixing block being located adjacent to a front end of the receiving slot,” (same elements recited in claim 1 of application 18/787507).
Claim 2 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the first conductive terminal comprises a first fixing portion and a first contact arm connected to the first fixing portion; the first fixing portion is at least partially located in the first terminal module installation slot; the first contact arm comprises a first contact portion protruding into the receiving slot,” (same elements recited in claim 1+8 of application 18/787507).
Claim 3 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 2, wherein the first insulating fixing block comprises a first slit and a second slit; the first slit and the second slit are arranged side by side along a second direction; the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction; the first terminal module has two first conductive terminals which are a first signal terminal and a second signal terminal, respectively; the first contact arm of the first signal terminal extends at least partially into the first slit; the first contact arm of the second signal terminal extends at least partially into the second slit,” (same elements recited in claim 1+8+9 of application 18/787507).
Claim 4 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 3, wherein the first terminal module comprises a first holding block fixed on the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal; the first holding block is received in the first terminal module installation slot, SO that the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing,” (same elements recited in claim 1+8+9+10 of application 18/787507).
Claim 5 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating fixing block is molded in the first filling groove to be integrated with the first conductive housing,” (same elements recited in claim 1+2 of application 18/787507).
Claim 11 of the instant application recites, “an electrical connector, comprising: a conductive housing, the conductive housing comprising a front surface and a receiving slot extending through the front surface along a first direction; the receiving slot being configured to at least partially receive a mating module along the first direction; the conductive housing comprising a first conductive housing, the first conductive housing defining a first terminal module installation slot and a first filling groove; the first terminal module installation slot communicating with the receiving slot; the first filling groove extending through the front surface along the first direction; a first terminal module, the first terminal module being at least partially installed in the first terminal module installation slot; the first terminal module comprising a plurality of first conductive terminals which are not in contact with the first conductive housing; and a first insulating fixing block, the first insulating fixing block being fixed in the first filling groove,” (same elements recited in claim 1 of application 18/787507).
Claim 12 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein the first conductive terminal comprises a first fixing portion and a first contact arm connected to the first fixing portion; the first fixing portion is at least partially located in the first terminal module installation slot; the first contact arm comprises a first contact portion protruding into the receiving slot,” (same elements recited in claim 1+8 of application 18/787507).
Claim 13 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 12, wherein the first insulating fixing block comprises a first slit and a second slit; the first slit and the second slit are arranged side by side along a second direction; the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction; the first terminal module has two first conductive terminals which are a first signal terminal and a second signal terminal, respectively; the first contact arm of the first signal terminal extends at least partially into the first slit; the first contact arm of the second signal terminal extends at least partially into the second slit,” (same elements recited in claim 1+8+9 of application 18/787507).
Claim 14 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 13, wherein the first terminal module comprises a first holding block fixed on the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal; the first holding block is received in the first terminal module installation slot, SO that the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing,” (same elements recited in claim 1+8+9+10 of application 18/787507).
Claim 15 of the instant application recites, “the electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein the first insulating fixing block is molded in the first filling groove to be integrated with the first conductive housing,” (same elements recited in claim 1+2 of application 18/787507).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan et al. US20250105541.
Regarding claim 1, Fan discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a conductive housing (fig. 2a; 610), the conductive housing (610) defining a receiving slot (fig. 3a; space of A) configured to at least partially receive a mating module (111) along a first direction (fig. 1a; Z); the conductive housing (610) comprising a first conductive housing (body of 610), the first conductive housing (610) defining a first terminal module installation slot (fig. 2b; sections of 220 that receives 220/240) and a first filling groove (fig. 3a; narrow slots of A that are opposite each other in the X direction); the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240) communicating with the receiving slot (space of A); a first terminal module (fig. 3a; 240), the first terminal module (240) being at least partially installed in the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240); the first terminal module (240) comprising a first conductive terminal (fig. 6; 314) which is not in contact with the first conductive housing (610); and a first insulating fixing block (fig. 3a; 440), the first insulating fixing block (440) being fixed in the first filling groove (narrow slots of A, see figs. 2a and 3a), the first insulating fixing block (440) being located adjacent to a front end (front of 610) of the receiving slot (space of A).
Regarding claim 2, Fan discloses wherein the first conductive terminal (314) comprises a first fixing portion (fig. 6; section of 314 that 410 covers) and a first contact arm (fig. 6; 311) connected to the first fixing portion (section of 314 that 410 covers); the first fixing portion (section of 314 that 410 covers) is at least partially located in the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240); the first contact arm (311) comprises a first contact portion (section of 311 that contacts 111) protruding into the receiving slot (opening of A).
Regarding claim 5, Fan discloses wherein the first insulating fixing block (440) is molded in the first filling groove to be integrated with the first conductive housing (610).
NOTE: The limitation, “molded in the first filling groove,” has not been given significant patentable weight because the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. electrical connector, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. molded in the first filling groove. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 11, Fan discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a conductive housing (fig. 2a; 610), the conductive housing (610) a front surface (front surface of 610 that faces 110 of fig. 1a) and a receiving slot (fig. 3a; space of A) extending through the front surface (front surface of 610) along a first direction (Z); the receiving slot (space of A) being configured to at least partially receive a mating module (111) along a first direction (fig. 1a; Z); the conductive housing (610) comprising a first conductive housing (body of 610), the first conductive housing (610) defining a first terminal module installation slot (fig. 2b; sections of 220 that receives 220/240) and a first filling groove (fig. 3a; narrow slots of A that are opposite each other in the X direction); the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240) communicating with the receiving slot (space of A); the first filling groove (narrow slots of A that are opposite each other in the X direction) extending through the front surface (front surface of 610) along the first direction (Z); a first terminal module (fig. 3a; 240), the first terminal module (240) being at least partially installed in the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240); the first terminal module (240) comprising a plurality first conductive terminal (fig. 6; 314) which are not in contact with the first conductive housing (610); and a first insulating fixing block (fig. 3a; 440), the first insulating fixing block (440) being fixed in the first filling groove (narrow slots of A, see figs. 2a and 3a).
Regarding claim 12, Fan discloses wherein the first conductive terminal (314) comprises a first fixing portion (fig. 6; section of 314 that 410 covers) and a first contact arm (fig. 6; 311) connected to the first fixing portion (section of 314 that 410 covers); the first fixing portion (section of 314 that 410 covers) is at least partially located in the first terminal module installation slot (sections of 220 that receives 220/240); the first contact arm (311) comprises a first contact portion (section of 311 that contacts 111) protruding into the receiving slot (opening of A).
Regarding claim 15, Fan discloses wherein the first insulating fixing block (440) is molded in the first filling groove to be integrated with the first conductive housing (610).
NOTE: The limitation, “molded in the first filling groove,” has not been given significant patentable weight because the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. electrical connector, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. molded in the first filling groove. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. US20250105541(Fan1) in view of Fan et al. US20240145958(Fan2).
Regarding claim 3, Fan1 discloses wherein the first insulating fixing block (440) comprises a first slit and a second slit (fig. 3a; 442); the first slit and the second slit (442) are arranged side by side along a second direction (fig. 3a; X); the second direction (X) is perpendicular to the first direction (Z); the first terminal module (240) has two first conductive terminals (two 314); the first contact arm (311) of the first conductive terminal (314) extends at least partially into the first slit (442).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 13 and 14, Fan1 does not disclose the two first conductive terminals being first and second signal terminals, respectively; the first contact arm of the first signal terminal extends at least partially into the first slit; the first contact arm of the second signal terminal extends at least partially into the second slit [claims 3 and 13]; wherein the first terminal module comprises a first holding block fixed on the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal; the first holding block is received in the first terminal module installation slot, so that the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing [claims 4 and 14].
Regarding claims 3, 4, 13 and 14, Fan2 teaches the two first conductive terminals (fig. 7b; 420a) being first and second signal terminals (420a), respectively; the first contact arm (fig. 7b; 421) of the first signal terminal (one terminal of 420a) extends at least partially into the first slit (fig. 8b; slit of 310 that receives 421 one terminal of 420a); the first contact arm (421) of the second signal terminal (other terminal of 420a) extends at least partially into the second slit (slit of 310 that receives 421 other terminal of 420a); the first terminal module (fig. 7a; 520) comprises a first holding block (fig. 7a; 820) fixed on the first fixing portion (fig. 7b; 403) of the first signal terminal (one terminal of 420) and the first fixing portion (403) of the second signal terminal (other terminal of 420); the first holding block (820) is received in the first terminal module installation slot (space of 310 that receives 520), so that the first fixing portion (403) of the first signal terminal (one terminal of 420) and the first fixing portion (403) of the second signal terminal (other terminal of 420) are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot (space of 310 that receives 520) in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing (fig. 4; 600).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the two first conductive terminals being first and second signal terminals, respectively; the first contact arm of the first signal terminal extending at least partially into the first slit; the first contact arm of the second signal terminal extends at least partially into the second slit and the first terminal module comprising a first holding block fixed on the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal; the first holding block is received in the first terminal module installation slot, so that the first fixing portion of the first signal terminal and the first fixing portion of the second signal terminal are arranged overhead in the first terminal module installation slot in order not to be in contact with the first conductive housing as suggested by Fan2 for the benefit of providing improved EMI shielding in order to optimize signal quality during transmission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest the conductive housing comprises a second conductive housing; the second conductive housing defines a second terminal module installation slot and a second filling groove located at a front end of the second terminal module installation slot; the second terminal module installation slot communicates with the receiving slot; the electrical connector comprises a second terminal module; the second terminal module is at least partially installed in the second terminal module installation slot; the second terminal module comprises a second conductive terminal which is not in contact with the second conductive housing; the electrical connector further comprises a second insulating fixing block; the second insulating fixing block is fixed in the second filling groove; the second insulating fixing block is located adjacent to the front end of the receiving slot combined with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest wherein the conductive housing comprises a second conductive housing; the second conductive housing defines a second terminal module installation slot and a second filling groove extending through the front surface along the first direction; the second terminal module installation slot communicates with the receiving slot; the electrical connector comprises a second terminal module; the second terminal module is at least partially installed in the second terminal module installation slot; the second terminal module comprises a plurality of second conductive terminals which are not in contact with the second conductive housing; the electrical connector further comprises a second insulating fixing block; the second insulating fixing block is fixed in the second filling groove combined with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831