DETAIL ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s filing on 07/29/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant claims “a means for reducing common mode currents on the AC side of the first switching elements and on the AC side of the second switching elements” is indefinite, vague and imprecise statement. Applicant fails to clearly point out what is this “means” or how is this “means” being used “for reducing common mode currents on the AC side of the first switching elements and on the AC side of the second switching elements”. Examiner fails to interpret anything at all, at this stage, since this “means” can be anything and everything. Examiner recommends to either amend the statement so that the “means” is claimed more definitely or cancel it all together.
Claims 11, 14-20 are depending from claim 1, inheriting same deficiencies and thus rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5, 7, 11, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al. (“Ref 3600”, US Pub 2019/0363600).
Above Fig. 2-5 are from Matsumoto et al. (“Ref 3600”, US Pub 2019/0363600)
Regarding independent claim 1, Ref 3600 teaches (Fig. 2-4; Para 19-50) a power system (Fig. 2; claim 1), comprising:
an electric machine comprising a first multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-1; claim 1) and a second multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-2; claim 1), the first multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-1; claim 1) and the second multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-2; claim 1) being electrically opposite in phase with respect to one another; and
a power converter system (Fig. 2; claim 1) comprising:
first switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-1; claim 1) in electric connection with the first multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-1; claim 1) and having a DC side (Fig. 2; 12’s output being DC) and an AC side (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC);
second switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-2; claim 1) in electric connection with the second multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-2; claim 1) and having a DC side (Fig. 2; 12’s output being DC) and an AC side (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC);
a plurality of capacitors (Fig. 2; C10; claim 1) coupled
to the first switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-1; claim 1) on the DC side (Fig. 2; 12’s output being DC) of the first switching elements (Fig. 2; 12’s output being DC received by 13-1’s input) and
to the second switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-2; claim 1) on the DC side (Fig. 2; 12’s output being DC) of the second switching elements (Fig. 2; 12’s output being DC received by 13-2’s input); and
a means for reducing common mode currents (Fig. 2; plurality of filter capacitors C11-13, C21-23; claim 1)
on the AC side of the first switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23) and
on the AC side of the second switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-2’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 2nd filter capacitors C21-23 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-2 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23).
Regarding claims 2-3, Ref 3600 teaches wherein the means for reducing common mode currents on the AC side of the first switching elements and on the AC side of the second switching elements comprises:
a first plurality of filter capacitors on the AC side of the first switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23),
a second plurality of filter capacitors on the AC side of the second switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-2’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 2nd filter capacitors C21-23 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-2 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23), or both.
Regarding claim 4, Ref 3600 teaches
wherein the first plurality of filter capacitors are connected to one or more ground connections (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23), and
wherein the second plurality of filter capacitors are also connected to the one or more ground connections (Fig. 2; 13-2’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 2nd filter capacitors C21-23 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-2 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23).
Regarding claim 5, Ref 3600 teaches wherein the first plurality of filter capacitors are connected to the second plurality of filter capacitors (Fig. 2; 13-2’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 2nd filter capacitors C21-23 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-2 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23).
Regarding claim 7, Ref 3600 teaches wherein the means for reducing common mode currents on the AC side of the first switching elements and on the AC side of the second switching elements comprises: a first plurality of filter capacitors on the AC side of the first switching elements, wherein the first plurality of filter capacitors are also in electrical connection with the AC side of the second switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23 at the AC-side of 13-2’s output).
Regarding claim 11, Ref 3600 teaches wherein the power converter system comprises a housing (anticipated housing, when used for motor driving purposes, such as a vehicle system, etc.), and wherein the first switching elements (13-1) and the second switching elements (13-2) are located within the housing (anticipated housing, when used for motor driving purposes, such as a vehicle system, etc.).
Regarding claim 15, Ref 3600 teaches one or more processors configured to:
generate one or more first pulse width modulated (PWM) signals to control the first switching elements so as to render a first common mode signal (Fig. 2; 15 providing one or more 1st PWM signals driving each switch in 13-1 to render respective/1st common mode signal), the first PWM signals being generated based at least in part on one or more voltage commands (Fig. 3; Para 24-50) associated with the first multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-1; claim 1); and
generate one or more second PWM signals to control the second switching elements so as to render a second common mode signal (Fig. 2; 15 providing one or more 2nd PWM signals driving each switch in 13-2 to render respective/2nd common mode signal), the second PWM signals being generated based at least in part on one or more voltage commands (Fig. 3; Para 24-50) associated with the second multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-2; claim 1),
the second common mode signal having opposite polarity (opposite polarity but same waveform; Para 26-27, 36) with respect to the first common mode signal.
Regarding claim 16, Ref 3600 teaches wherein the second common mode signal (Fig. 2; 15 providing one or more 2nd PWM signals driving each switch in 13-2 to render respective/2nd common mode signal) has a same waveform (opposite polarity but same waveform; Para 24-50) as the first common mode signal (Fig. 2; 15 providing one or more 1st PWM signals driving each switch in 13-1 to render respective/1st common mode signal).
Regarding claim 17, Ref 3600 teaches wherein in generating the one or more second PWM signals, the one or more processors (Fig. 2; 15 providing one or more 2nd PWM signals driving each switch in 13-2 to render respective/2nd common mode signal) are configured to: shift a polarity of each one of the one or more second PWM signals (Fig. 3; Para 24-50).
Regarding claim 18, Ref 3600 teaches wherein the first multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-1; claim 1) and the second multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-2; claim 1) are associated with a same channel of the power system (Para 3, 38).
Regarding claim 19, Ref 3600 teaches wherein the first multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-1; claim 1) is associated with a first channel of the power system (Para 3, 38) and the second multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-2; claim 1) is associated with a second channel of the power system (Para 3, 38).
Regarding claim 20, Ref 3600 teaches
wherein the electric machine defines a radial direction (Motor; Para 3, 38), and
wherein the first multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-1; claim 1) is arranged in a first set and a second set positioned opposite one another along the radial direction, and
wherein the second multiphase winding (Fig. 2; 14-2; claim 1) is arranged in a first set and a second set positioned opposite one another along the radial direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (“Ref 3600”, US Pub 2019/0363600), in view of Ron C. Schueneman (“Ron”, US Pub 2012/0014143).
Regarding claims 9, 6, 8, Ref 3600 teaches wherein the power converter system further comprises
a first plurality of filters on the AC side of the first switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23) and
a second plurality of filters on the AC side of the second switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-2’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 2nd filter capacitors C21-23 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-2 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23), and
wherein the means for reducing common mode currents on the AC side of the first switching elements and on the AC side of the second switching elements comprises:
a first electrical connection (respective electrical cable or wire connection output of taught 1st switching elements and respective capacitor out of taught 1st plurality of capacitors C11-13) between the first plurality of filters and one or more ground connections (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23); and
a second electrical connection (respective electrical cable or wire connection output of taught 2nd switching elements and respective capacitor out of taught 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23) between the second plurality of filters and the one or more ground connections (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23).
However, Ref 3600 fails to teach use of dv/dt filters (for respective 1st and 2nd switching elements).
Above Fig. 1-4 are from Ron C. Schueneman (“Ron”, US Pub 2012/0014143)
However, Ron teaches old and established (Fig. 1-4; Para 4-12) use of dv/dt filters (Fig. 3-4; dv/dt filters ’40 or 42’ and common mode filter 44 (in another word LC filter), arranged between inverter’s output (i.e., for respective 1st and 2nd switching elements) and load).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ref 3600’s power system to include use of dv/dt filters, in place of respective filters corresponds to 1st and 2nd switching elements, as doing so would have reduced common mode currents at the output of taught inverter’s switching elements, as taught by Ron (Para 9-12), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 10, Ref teaches
wherein the first electrical connection (respective electrical cable or wire connection output of taught 1st switching elements and respective capacitor out of taught 1st plurality of capacitors C11-13) comprises a first capacitor (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23), and
wherein the second electrical connection (respective electrical cable or wire connection output of taught 2nd switching elements and respective capacitor out of taught 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23) comprises a second capacitor (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23).
Furthermore, Ron teaches old and established (Fig. 1-4; Para 4-12) use of dv/dt filters (Fig. 3-4; dv/dt filters ’40 or 42’ and common mode filter 44, arranged between inverter’s output (i.e., for respective 1st and 2nd switching elements) and load) and electrical connections comprises respective capacitor(s) (44).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ref 3600’s power system to include use of dv/dt filters, in place of respective filters corresponds to 1st and 2nd switching elements, as doing so would have reduced common mode currents at the output of taught inverter’s switching elements, as taught by Ron (Para 9-12), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Ref 3600 teaches
wherein the means for reducing common mode currents on the AC side of the first switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-1’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 1st filter capacitors C11-13 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-1 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23) and on the AC side of the second switching elements (Fig. 2; 13-2’s output being AC, wherein each plurality of 2nd filter capacitors C21-23 respectively connected between each phased output of 13-2 and ground, and 1st plurality of filter capacitors C11-13 also being connected to 2nd plurality of capacitors C21-23) comprises:
a first plurality of filters (C11-13) on the AC side of the first switching elements; and
a second plurality of filters (C21-23) on the AC side of the second switching elements.
However, Ref 3600 fails to teach use of LC filters (for respective 1st and 2nd switching elements).
However, Ron teaches old and established (Fig. 1-4; Para 4-12) use of dv/dt filters and LC filters (Fig. 3-4; dv/dt filters ’40 or 42’ and common mode filter 44 (in another word LC filter), arranged between inverter’s output (i.e., for respective 1st and 2nd switching elements) and load).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ref 3600’s power system to include use of dv/dt filters and LC filters, in place of respective filters corresponds to 1st and 2nd switching elements, as doing so would have reduced common mode currents at the output of taught inverter’s switching elements, as taught by Ron (Para 9-12), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, cited prior art(s) failed to teach, “wherein the first plurality of LC filters is located between the first plurality of dv/dt filters and the first switching elements, and wherein the second plurality of LC filters is located between the second plurality of dv/dt filters and the second switching elements”.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, Ref 3600 teaches wherein the plurality of capacitors (C10 coupled to both 13-1 and 13-2 DC side) coupled to the first switching elements on the DC side of the first switching elements (13-1’s DC side) and to the second switching elements on the DC side of the second switching elements (13-2’s DC side).
However, cited art(s) failed to teach, “the plurality of capacitors coupled to the first switching elements on the DC side of the first switching elements and to the second switching elements on the DC side of the second switching elements comprises a plurality of Y-capacitors”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NUSRAT QUDDUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838