DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Claims 1-4, 17-18, in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 requires concentrations of tartaric acid, glycine, Na citrate, alanine, 2Na succinate, and Na sulfate that are different from what is required in the independent claim 1. Accordingly, claim 3 does not further limit the independent claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (Molecules, 2018), Singh (Minimalist, 2020), Seitz (WO 02/078667), and further in view of Kopilow et al., (US 5,169,622).
Tang et al. teaches the dual effects of alpha-hydroxy acids (AHAs) on skin. AHA’s like “tartaric acid” are used “extensively in cosmetic formulations” and “have been used as superficial peeling agents as well as to ameliorate the appearance of keratoses and acne in dermatology” (Abstract).
“In chemical peeling, AHAs are used in exposure time intervals such as 35% (4 min), 52.5% (3 min), 70% (2 min) at varying intervals for up to 6 months” (p. 2, last paragraph). Here the reference provides motivation for using tartaric acid in a cosmetic composition in an amount of 57.07% or 57% (claim 3) insofar as it is within the scope of usage as a chemical peel. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to apply the cosmetic to the skin, as per claims 17-18.
Tang does not teach other claimed ingredients such as amino acids.
Sing teaches the role of amino acids in skin care, identifying “11 non-essential amino acids”, i.e. “alanine, arginine, asparagine, aspartic acid, cysteine, glutamic acid, glycine, proline, serine, and tyrosine” (page 1, 8th paragraph) and “nine essential amino acids”, i.e., “histidine, isoleucine, leucine, lysine, methionine, phenylalanine, threonine, tryptophan, and valine” (Id. 11th paragraph), as per claims 1-4.
“Topical products containing amino acids fortify the natural defense mechanism of our skin and improve its texture” (page 2, last paragraph). These amino acids also promote healing insofar as the reference teaches, “They repair and replace the damaged proteins in your skin. Mostly, they are known to boost the process of wound healing and closure” (page 3, 5th paragraph).
Here, it would have been reasonable to combine amino acids, like glycine and alanine, with the chemical peel of Tang for the advantage of boosting skin repair and improving skin texture, as taught by Singh.
The combination of Tang et al. and Singh does not teach disodium succinate, sodium sulfate, or sodium citrate.
Seitz teaches compositions for the care of skin (Abstract), comprising a “hydrotrope”, which “is a compound that has the ability to enhance the water solubility of other compounds”, where hydrotropes include “disodium succinate” (p. 34, lines 5-18). Hydrotropes may be present from “about 1% to about 40%, by weight” (p. 33, line 19).
The compositions also comprise humectants, which may be present from “0% to about 2%” such as “sodium lactate” “sodium PCA”, “PCA” (p. 37, lines 15-33) and “water” as a carrier (p. 38, lines 18-19), as per claim 4.
Kopolow et al. teaches hair and skin compositions (Abstract) comprising “sodium citrate” and “sodium sulfate”, as “optional components suitable for rendering such compositions more acceptable”, which may be present “from about 0.01% to about 10%” (Id. lines 8-34).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (see MPEP 2144.07). Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function (see 2144.06).
In this case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the ingredients as claimed in order to make a cosmetic for treating the skin in view of the prior art. The artisan would have been motivated to provide tartaric acid in the claimed amount for is ability to chemically peel the skin. The amino acids would have been added for the advantage of tissue repair and improved texture. The addition of disodium succinate, sodium citrate, and sodium sulfate would have been advantageous for rendering compositions more acceptable, as taught by Seitz and Kopolow et al.
It is noted that the prior art is silent as to the amounts of amino acid present in the composition; however, because the presence of amino is taught it would have been obvious to optimize the range of amino acid, especially given its function for treating skin. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612