DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
19 (rolling axis)
22 (roll surface)
41.3 (third air connection)
43.1 (third water feed opening)
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “of equal length” in line 5 should be moved after “comprising at least six side surfaces” in line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 2, it is unclear how one side surface is oriented at a 120-degree angle to each of the side surfaces. Each angle is 120 degrees thus one side surface is not at a 120-degree angle to the opposite side surface.
In regards to claim 6, it is unclear what shape a regular hexagon looks like.
In regards to claim 8, it is unclear how the stand is closed when rods and pipes are rolled through.
In regards to claims 9 and 10, it is unclear whether or not the motor is being claimed.
In regards to claim 11, it is unclear what structure the remote adjustment connector entails.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cernuschi (WO 2017068533 A1) in view of Qin (CN 102728616 A).
Regarding claim 1, Cernuschi discloses a stand for rolling metal rods, wires, or pipes along a rolling axis (Abstract), comprising: a stand housing including an outside; three rollers 31, 32, 33 positioned on a respective roller shaft in each case (Cernuschi: Abstract; Page 1, line 8; Figs. 8 and 9), the three rollers surrounding the rolling axis in a star-shaped manner collectively forming a caliber, wherein the three roller shafts are mounted by way of eccentric bushings in bearing holes of the stand housing such that a radial spacing of the rollers from the rolling axis is adjustable (Cernuschi: Page 21, lines 3-5).
Cernuschi does not explicitly disclose the stand housing, including an outside comprising at least six side surfaces when viewed along the rolling axis of equal length, the at least six side surfaces arranged in a rotationally symmetrical manner about the rolling axis, wherein each side surface is included in a pair of side surfaces that are located in parallel with one another.
However, Qin teaches a stand housing, including an outside comprising at least six side surfaces of equal length when viewed along the rolling axis, the at least six side surfaces arranged in a rotationally symmetrical manner about the rolling axis, wherein each side surface is included in a pair of side surfaces that are located in parallel with one another (Qin: Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the stand housing of Cernuschi with the hexagon stand housing of Qin. One ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution and the results of the substitution would have achieved the predictable result of rolling metal and allowing stand replacement. After modification, the rollers would be positioned relative to the side surface as shown in Qin.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1, Qin teaches at least one further of the outside side surfaces oriented at an angle of 120° relative to each of the side surfaces when viewed from the rolling axis (Qin: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on claim 1, Qin teaches that each of the three roller shafts (2) extends in parallel with a respective one of the pairs of mutually parallel side surfaces (Qin: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on claim 1, Qin teaches the outside of the stand comprises exactly six side surfaces forming a regular hexagon (Qin: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 1, Cernuschi discloses an adjustment connector (175, 175’) for introducing an adjustment torque, the adjustment connector configured to adjust a radial position of the roller shafts for setting the caliber (Cernuschi: Page 21, lines 15-17; Figs. 12-14).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 4, Cernuschi discloses an adjustment connector (175, 175’) for introducing an adjustment torque, the adjustment connector configured to adjust a radial position of the roller shafts for setting the caliber, wherein the adjustment connector is arranged on the outside of the stand housing (Cernuschi: Figs. 12 and 13). Cernuschi does not disclose the connector in a corner of the regular hexagon. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reposition the connector to a corner of the stand housing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 5, Cernuschi discloses the adjustment connector is manually actuatable or wherein the remote adjustment connector is automatically actuatable by a motor 131 (Cernuschi: Page 20, lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on claim 1, Cernuschi in view of Qin discloses the stand housing being closed and undivided (Qin: Fig. 1) (the side surfaces of the stand are closed and undivided in the same manner as applicant’s).
Regarding claim 11, which is dependent on claim 5, Cernuschi discloses that the adjustment connector is a remote adjustment connector (Cernuschi: Page 21, lines 16-17).
Regarding claim 12, which is dependent on claim 1, Cernuschi in view of Qin teaches the stand housing is produced from a monobloc (Qin: Fig. 1) (The claimed phrase “produced from a monbloc” is being treated as a product by process limitation. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113.).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cernuschi in view of Qin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cernuschi (US 20150128678 A1) (hereinafter referred to Cernuschi #2).
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on claim 1, Cernuschi in view of Qin fail to disclose that each of the three roller shafts or rollers can be driven separately by a respective motor associated with each of the three roller shafts or rollers.
However, Cernuschi #2 teaches that each of the three roller shafts or rollers (2, 2’, 2”) can be driven separately by a respective motor associated with each of the three roller shafts or rollers (Cernuschi #2: Paragraph 58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roller shafts of Cernuschi in view of Qin to include respective motors for each roller shaft as taught by Cernuschi #2 in order to drive each roller separately.
Regarding claim 10, which is dependent on claim 9, Cernuschi #2 teaches that the three roller shafts each comprise a drive-side end (5, 5’, 5”) for separate driving protruding towards the outside at one of the side surfaces of the stand housing (Cernuschi #2: Paragraph 60; Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/ORLANDO J RIOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725