Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, “wherein the connecting portion is flexibly deformed,” in Claim 4, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, “wherein the combining member is a hook and loop fastener,” in Claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, “wherein the combining member is a bolt,” of Claim 9, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a combining member configured to fix the dust collection member to the worktable in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,789,569 to Tannewitz in view of DE 3446317 A.
In re Claim 1, Tannewitz teaches a dust collection structure (see Fig. 4) of a band saw machine (see Fig. 1, #1) for installation on a worktable (see Figs. 1-2, #5) and for a saw band to pass through (see Figs. 1-2, #4), the dust collection structure comprising:
a dust collection member (see Figs. 1-4, #10-18) including a seat for connecting to the worktable (see Figs. 1-4, upper surface of #10-18), a tube connected to the seat (see Figs. 1-3, #10/12), and a slot provided at the seat and the tube for the saw band to pass through (see Figs. 1-2, #14/15), the seat having a seat hole (see annotated Fig. 2, below), the tube having a tube hole communicating with the seat hole of the seat (see annotated Fig. 2, below, air can pass through from the seat hole to the tube hole), the slot communicating with the seat hole of the seat and the tube hole of the tube (see Fig. 2, #15/14, the air/fluid can pass from the seat hole through #14/15 into the tube hole).
Tannewitz does not teach a combining member configured to fix the dust collection member to the worktable through the seat of the dust collection member.
However, DE 3446317 A teaches that it is known in the art of enclosures surrounding band saws to provide combining members (see DE 3446317 A, Fig. 3, magnets #25 and #26) which are configured to fix the dust collection member to the worktable (see DE 3446317 A, Para. 0040 teaching “Holding magnets 25, 26 serve to hold the container 15 on the machine frame.”). Doing so provides for a quick release to disassemble the saw to, for example, clean the saw (see DE 3446317 A, Para. 0040).
In re Claim 2, modified Tannewitz, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the seat and the tube are integrally formed (the seat and tube are of the same structure).
In re Claim 5, modified Tannewitz, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the combining member is a magnetic member (see DE 3446317 A, Para. 0040).
In re Claim 6, modified Tannewitz, in re Claim 1, wherein the connecting member is installed in an installation hole of the seat (see DE 3446317 A, Para. 0040, Fig. 3, the circular magnets are in an installation hole in Fig. 3 of DE 3446317 A).
In re Claim 10, modified Tannewitz, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the dust collection member has an opening passing through the fixing portion and communicating with the seat hole (see annotated, Fig. 2, above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,789,569 to Tannewitz in view of DE 3446317 A, and further in view of
US 8,869,665 to Dammertz.
In re Claim 3, modified Tannewitz, in re Claim 1, wherein the seat has a fixing portion for fixing to the worktable and a connecting portion connected to the tube; the seat hole passes through the fixing portion and the connecting portion.
However, Dammertz teaches that it is known in the art of locking vacuum attachments to the underside of saw tables to provide a fixing portion (see Dammertz, Fig. 5, the edge surface of mounting flange #56) for fixing to the worktable and a connecting portion (see Dammertz, Fig. 5, the bottom surface of mounting flange #56) connected to the tube.
In the same field of invention, vacuum attachments for saw that are attached to the underside of the work table, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add the mounting flange of Dammertz to the device of modified Tannewitz. Doing so allows the user to secure the assembly the table in a number of different ways (see Dammertz, Col. 3, ll. 53-Col. 4, ll. 5). Additionally, the flange of Dammertz, provides more surface area to secure the assembly to the table, thus making a more secure connection.
Such a combination would provide for the seat hole passes through the fixing portion and the connecting portion (see Dammertz, Fig. 5, #56 in view of Tannewitz, Fig. 3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,789,569 to Tannewitz in view of DE 3446317 A, and further in view of US 2006/0053629 to Martin.
In re Claim 4, Tannewitz, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the connecting portion is flexibly deformed.
However, Martin teaches that it is known in the art of dust collection from saws, to utilize bellows between a flat planer surface and the collection system (see Fig. 1, #15 and Para. 0028-0031). In the same field of invention, dust /debris collection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add the dust bellows between the collection assembly and the table of modified Tannewitz. Doing so provides a system that is “almost completely closed” (see Martin, Para. 0031), thereby making the system more efficient in capturing the debris.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,789,569 to Tannewitz in view of DE 3446317 A, and further in view of US 2,664,118 to Krumbach.
In re Claim 7, modified Tannewitz, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the seat has a through hole communicating with the installation hole.
However, Krumbach teaches that it is known in the art of securing structures to band saws by way of a bolt (see Fig. 1, #51/52). In the same field of invention, securing enclosures to band saws. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to replace the attachment structures of modified Tannewitz with the bolts of Krumbach. Doing is the substation of one known attachment structure for another known attachment structure to achieve the
In re Claim 9, modified Tannewitz, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the combining member is a bolt.
However, Krumbach teaches that it is known in the art of securing structures to band saws by way of a bolt (see Fig. 1, #51/52). In the same field of invention, securing enclosures to band saws. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to replace the attachment structures of modified Tannewitz with the bolts of Krumbach. Doing is the substation of one known attachment structure for another known attachment structure to achieve the
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1,789,569 to Tannewitz in view of DE 3446317 A, and further in view of US 5,464,286 to Stevens.
In re Claim 8, modified Tannewitz, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the combining member is a hook and loop fastener. However, Stevens teaches that it is known in the art of debris catching assemblies to secure the assembly (see e.g., Fig. 4, of Stevens, #10) by way of magnets, or hook and pile fasteners (Velcro) (see Stevens, Col. 2, ll. 45-53). In the same field of invention, securing debris structures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to use any known securing means including magnets or Velcro. Doing so is the substitution of one known securing means for another known secure means in order to position the debris catcher in the proper location (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724