DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 20190189117) in view of Marshall et al. (US 20230394440).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 16, Kumar discloses a method, comprising: causing a virtual meeting user interface (UI) to be presented during a virtual meeting between a plurality of participants (Paragraphs: 0023, 0028 and fig.2, 200, 204: Kumar discusses how user interface include one or more video streams showing a feed from a camera aimed at participants (i.e. a plurality of participants) at an endpoint for participating in a teleconference at an endpoint; and how video conferencing system including an interactive virtual assistant system wherein a session is created when a conversation is started between the interactive virtual assistant system and a user at the endpoint), the virtual meeting UI comprising: a plurality of first regions each corresponding to a participant of the plurality of participants (Paragraph: 0023 and fig.2, 202a: Kumar discusses how a user interface include one or more video streams such as, video stream 202a, showing a feed from a camera aimed at participants), and a second region corresponding to a presentation of content by a first participant of the plurality of participants (Paragraph: 0023, fig.1 and fig.2, 204: Kumar discusses how a video stream, showing a “screen sharing” stream at an endpoint such as a laptop 110, where user interface 200 is presented to a user at a different endpoint (such as User B 114b at endpoint 106b); and how a user interface 200 additionally include a panel 204 indicating information about participants to the video conference); determining, using an artificial intelligence (AI) model and using at least a first portion of a transcript of the virtual meeting as input to the AI model (Paragraphs: 0006, 0031 and fig.5, 512: Kumar discusses how a Natural language understanding processor (i.e. AI model processor) processes the transcript using natural language approaches to determine the user's intent based on the transcript made up of user statements, within the context of the conversation session; and how the system identifying a group intent in a video conference using a virtual agent),
Kumar discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “a second participant of the plurality of participants is interested in accessing the content outside of the virtual meeting UI; and causing the content to be accessible to the second participant outside of the virtual meeting UI”
Marshall however discloses a second participant of the plurality of participants is interested in accessing the content outside of the virtual meeting UI; and causing the content to be accessible to the second participant outside of the virtual meeting UI (Paragraphs: 0016, 0164 and 0173: Marshall discusses how users of the collaborative document granted access permissions to the collaborative document based in part on a user or organizational preference and how users may also have the ability to disable audio and/or video depending on personal preferences; Marshall also discusses how the system facilitating communication between and among users, and enable users to exchange messages and/or other data via the communication platform via a text-based messages, such as documents, files, PDFs, and so forth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Kumar, and modify a system wherein a second participant of the plurality of participants is interested in accessing the content outside of the virtual meeting UI; and causing the content to be accessible to the second participant outside of the virtual meeting UI, as taught by Marshall, thus providing collaborative document in association with virtual meeting scheduled on communication platform, as discussed by Marshall.
Considering claims 2, 13 and 19, Kumar discloses the method of claims 1, 9 and 16, wherein: the AI model comprises a generative AI model; using the AI model and using the at least a first portion of the transcript as input to the AI model comprises using a generative AI prompt as input to the generative AI model (Paragraphs: 0066 and 0072: using the NLU processor, the agent may generate an agent statement prompt to obtain confirmation from one or more users before causing the responsive action to be executed); and the generative AI prompt comprises: the at least a first portion of the transcript, and a command for the generative AI model to determine whether the at least a first portion of the transcript indicates the second participant is interested in access the content outside of the virtual meeting (Paragraphs: 0023, 0031 and 0072: Natural language understanding (NLU) processor 512 (i.e. AI model) processes the transcript using a machine technique to determine the user intent, i.e. participant is interested).
Considering claims 3, 14 and 20, Kumar discloses the method of claims 1, 9 and 16, wherein the content comprises at least one of: a slide presentation; an image; a video; or a text-based document (Paragraphs: 0022, 0030 and 0072: Kumar discusses how a multimedia content including but not limited to the composite audio/video stream).
Considering claims 4 and 15, Kumar discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, further comprising: determining, using the AI model and using at least a second portion of the transcript, that a third participant of the plurality of participants is interested in scheduling a follow-up virtual meeting (Paragraph: 0019 and 0071: Kumar discusses how a domain-specific learning modules (i.e. AI model) may include a “scheduling” learning module, in which a virtual assistant recognize intents such as intents to schedule a follow-up meeting; and schedules a follow-up meeting via a calendar service); and causing a calendar application to generate a calendar invite (Paragraphs: 0019 and 0069: Kumar discusses how a user intent to schedule a meeting and how the agent matches and validates the intent to schedule a meeting as a group intent and schedules a follow-up meeting via a calendar service of integration service stack).
Considering claim 5, Kumar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: determining, using the AI model and using at least a second portion of the transcript, that a third participant of the plurality of participants is interested in setting a reminder; and causing a calendar application to generate the reminder ( Paragraphs: 0019 and 0071: Kumar discusses how a domain-specific learning modules include a “scheduling” learning module, in which a virtual assistant recognize intents such as intents to schedule a follow-up meeting via a calendar service, identifying meeting conflicts, re-scheduling a meeting, etc., i.e. it would have been obvious that follow-up meeting via a calendar service generate a reminder).
Considering claim 6, Marshall discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the content comprises a collaborative document stored on a cloud storage platform (Paragraph: 0047: cloud storage, or any other medium that can be used to store the desired data and that can be accessed by a computing device); and causing the content to be accessible to the second participant outside of the virtual meeting UI further comprises: determining that the second participant does not have access rights to the collaborative document (Paragraph: 0041: Marshall discusses audio/video conversations, and/or other virtual spaces, have security (that can be defined by permissions) to limit access to a defined group of users), and automatically sharing the collaborative document with the second participant (Paragraphs: 0067-0069 and 0075).
Considering claim 7, Marshall discloses the method of claim 6, wherein automatically sharing the collaborative document with the second participant further comprises: requesting permission of the first participant to share the collaborative document with the second participant; and obtaining the permission of the first participant (Paragraphs: 0030, 0033 and 0065).
Considering claim 8, Kumar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein causing the content to be accessible to the second participant outside of the virtual meeting UI further comprises emailing a copy of a file comprising the content to the second participant (Paragraphs: 0061 and 0071-0072: sends out a summary email after the session ends).
Considering claim 10, Kumar discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: determining, using the AI model and using at least a second portion of the transcript as input to the AI model (Paragraph: 0031: Kumar discusses how a Natural language understanding (NLU) processor (i.e. an AI model) processes the transcript using natural language approaches to determine the user's intent based on the transcript made up of user statements), that a third participant of the plurality of participants is interested in sending an email; and causing an email application to generate the email (Paragraphs: 0061 and 0071: Kumar discusses how the agent identifies the group intent, adds the action item, schedules a follow-up meeting via a calendar service of integration service stack, and sends out a summary email after the session ends).
Considering claim 11, Kumar discloses the system of claim 10, wherein: the at least a second portion of the transcript identifies an invitee of the virtual meeting that is absent from the virtual meeting; and the email includes a recipient email address associated with the absent invitee (Paragraphs: 0061 and 0071-0072: sends out a summary email after the session ends, i.e. obvious to send out for a recipient email address associated with the absent invitee).
Considering claim 12, Kumar discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: determining, using the AI model and using at least a second portion of the transcript as input to the Al model, that a third participant of the plurality of participants is interested in generating one or more action items discussed during the virtual meeting (Paragraph: 0061: NLU processor determine user intent and context of each user statement to assign an action item); generating, using the AI model and using at least a third portion of the transcript as input to the AI model, the one or more actions items; and causing an email application to generate an email comprising the one or more action items (Paragraphs: 0061, 0077 and 0069: Each user statement is analyzed by NLU processor (i.e. Al model) to determine the individual user intent and sending a message such as email).
Considering claim 17, Marshall discloses the computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein causing the content to be accessible to the second participant comprises causing the virtual meeting UI to present, to the first participant, a link to an online resource that causes the content to be accessible to the second participant (Paragraphs: 0016-0017 and 0028: Marshall discusses how the links, documents, videos, content, and so forth that occurred or were shared within the communication channel may be indicated within the collaborative document as a way to provide context to the virtual meeting).
Considering claim 18, Marshall discloses the computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein causing the content to be accessible to the second participant comprises: requesting permission of the first participant to make the content accessible to the second participant; and obtaining the permission of the first participant (Paragraphs: 0030, 0033 and 0065: Marshall discusses access permissions, and/or other functionalities within the virtual meeting; and how the collaborative document be associated with permissions defining which users of the communication platform may share content within the collaborative document).
Conclusion
YOSEF K. LAEKEMARIAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2651
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691