Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on April 29, 2025 and July 16, 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on December 27, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0192986 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Display Device with Trenches to Prevent Leakage.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Katayama et al. (WO 2023089447 A1 and US 20250017050 A1), hereinafter referred to as Katayama.
Regarding Claim 1, Katayama discloses a display device ([0078] “a display device 100”; FIG. 1, 9, 10, 14, 30: 100, 139, 700) comprising a plurality of light emitting areas corresponding to a plurality of subpixels ([0193] “a plurality of pixels 110”; FIG. 9, 10, 12, 13: 110a-c), the display device comprising:
a substrate ([0200] “a substrate 101”; FIG. 10, 14: 101);
a circuit element layer on the substrate ([0200] “a layer including a transistor is provided over the substrate 101”);
a first passivation layer covering the circuit element layer ([0200] “insulating layers 255a”; FIG. 10, 14: 255a);
a first overcoat layer on the first passivation layer ([0200] “insulating layers … 255b”; FIG. 10, 14: 255b);
a second passivation layer on the first overcoat layer ([0200] “insulating layers … 104”; FIG. 10, 14: 104), the second passivation layer having a first trench through the second passivation layer at a portion between two neighboring light emitting areas among the plurality of light emitting areas ([0249] “a depressed portion is formed in the insulating layer 104”; FIG. 10, 14: 104), wherein the second passivation layer includes a first sloped surface exposed by the first trench (FIG. 14A: It is noted that insulating layer 104 has a curved side on the edges of the trenches.);
a second overcoat layer on the second passivation layer ([0200] “insulating layers … 105”; FIG. 10, 14: 105), the second overcoat layer having a second trench ([0249] “the opening portion in the insulating layer 105”; FIG. 10, 14: 105) defined by a second sloped surface of the second overcoat layer adjacent to the first trench, the second trench exposing the first trench (FIG. 10, 14: there is an edge to the trench of layer 105, in addition to exposing the lower trench of 104);
a first electrode on the second overcoat layer ([0192] “the lower electrode 111”; FIG. 10, 14: 111a-c), and exposing the first and second trenches (FIG. 14A: It is noted that the lower electrode 111 is only formed on top of the layer 105 and not in the trenches.);
an organic layer on the first electrode, the first sloped surface, and the second sloped surface ([0257] “the organic compound film is spontaneously divided into the stacks 114a, 114b, and 114c. In addition, the stack 114x is formed in the depressed portion of the insulating layer 104 by the division.”; FIG. 10, 14: 114a-c, 114x); and
a second electrode on the organic layer ([0260] “the first upper electrodes 113a1, 113b1, and 113c1 and the upper electrode 113x are formed.”; FIG. 10, 14: 113a1, 113b1, 113c1, 113x).
Regarding Claim 2, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 1, and further discloses the first and second sloped surfaces having different slope angles (FIG. 30: It is noted that the first sloped surface of layer 104 has a sloped surface of approximately 90° in the top corner, and the second sloped surface of layer 105 has an angled portion in the bottom corner, which is smaller than 90°).
Regarding Claim 3, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 1, and further discloses the first sloped surface having a larger slope angle than the second sloped surface (FIG. 30: It is noted that the first sloped surface of layer 104 has a sloped surface of approximately 90° in the top corner, and the second sloped surface of layer 105 has an angled portion in the bottom corner, which is smaller than 90°).
Regarding Claim 4, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 1, and further discloses the organic layer includes a plurality of layers ([0080] “further includes a first light-emitting unit 112a1 positioned on the lower electrode 111 side and a second light-emitting unit 112a2 positioned on the upper electrode 113 side with the charge-generation layer 115a therebetween.”; FIG. 1: 112a1, 112a2, 115a) and
wherein at least one among the plurality of layers is separated between the two neighboring light emitting areas (FIG. 1, 10, 14: It is noted that all the layers are separated).
Regarding Claim 5, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 1, and further discloses the organic layer including a first light emitting unit, a charge generation layer on the first light emitting unit, and a second light emitting unit on the charge generation layer ([0080] “further includes a first light-emitting unit 112a1 positioned on the lower electrode 111 side and a second light-emitting unit 112a2 positioned on the upper electrode 113 side with the charge-generation layer 115a therebetween.”; FIG. 1: 112a1, 112a2, 115a) and
wherein the charge generation layer is separated at an area including a boundary between the first sloped surface and the second sloped surface (FIG. 1, 10, 14: It is noted that all the layers are separated).
Regarding Claim 6, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 1, and further discloses the second trench being self-aligned with the first electrode (FIG. 1, 10, 14: 105, 111).
Regarding Claim 7, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 1, and further discloses the first trench being self-aligned with the second trench (FIG. 1, 10, 14: 104, 105).
Regarding Claim 8, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 1, and further discloses an undercut structure in which an edge of the first trench is covered with the second overcoat layer (FIG. 1, 10, 14: 104, 105, It is noted that the lip of layer 105 covers over the depression formed in layer 104).
Regarding Claim 9, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 1, and further discloses a color filter layer on the first passivation layer ([0081] “color filters 148a, 148b, and 148c are provided at positions overlapping with the light-emitting devices 102 for full-color display”; FIG. 1, 10: 148a-c), wherein the first overcoat layer is on the color filter layer.
Regarding Claim 10, Katayama discloses a display device ([0078] “a display device 100”; FIG. 1, 9, 10, 14, 30: 100, 139, 700) comprising a plurality of light emitting areas corresponding to a plurality of subpixels ([0193] “a plurality of pixels 110”; FIG. 9, 10, 12, 13: 110a-c), the display device comprising:
a substrate ([0200] “a substrate 101”; FIG. 10, 14: 101);
a circuit element layer on the substrate ([0200] “a layer including a transistor is provided over the substrate 101”);
a first passivation layer covering the circuit element layer ([0200] “insulating layers 255a”; FIG. 10, 14: 255a);
a first overcoat layer on the first passivation layer ([0200] “insulating layers … 255b”; FIG. 10, 14: 255b);
a second overcoat layer on the first overcoat layer ([0200] “insulating layers … 104”; FIG. 10, 14: 104), the second overcoat layer having a first trench through the second overcoat layer at a portion between two neighboring light emitting areas among the plurality of light emitting areas ([0249] “a depressed portion is formed in the insulating layer 104”; FIG. 10, 14: 104), wherein the second overcoat layer includes a first sloped surface exposed by the first trench (FIG. 14A: It is noted that insulating layer 104 has a curved side on the edges of the trenches.);
a second passivation layer on the second overcoat layer ([0200] “insulating layers … 105”; FIG. 10, 14: 105), the second passivation layer having a second trench ([0249] “the opening portion in the insulating layer 105”; FIG. 10, 14: 105) defined by a second sloped surface of the second passivation layer adjacent to the first trench, the second trench exposing the first trench (FIG. 10, 14: there is an edge to the trench of layer 105, in addition to exposing the lower trench of 104);
a first electrode on the second passivation layer ([0192] “the lower electrode 111”; FIG. 10, 14: 111a-c), and exposing the first and second trenches (FIG. 14A: It is noted that the lower electrode 111 is only formed on top of the layer 105 and not in the trenches.);
an organic layer on the first electrode, the first sloped surface, and the second sloped surface ([0257] “the organic compound film is spontaneously divided into the stacks 114a, 114b, and 114c. In addition, the stack 114x is formed in the depressed portion of the insulating layer 104 by the division.”; FIG. 10, 14: 114a-c, 114x); and
a second electrode on the organic layer ([0260] “the first upper electrodes 113a1, 113b1, and 113c1 and the upper electrode 113x are formed.”; FIG. 10, 14: 113a1, 113b1, 113c1, 113x).
Regarding Claim 11, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 10, and further discloses an undercut structure in which an edge of the first trench is covered with the second passivation layer (FIG. 1, 10, 14: 104, 105, It is noted that the lip of layer 105 covers over the depression formed in layer 104).
Regarding Claim 12, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 10, and further discloses the organic layer includes a plurality of layers ([0080] “further includes a first light-emitting unit 112a1 positioned on the lower electrode 111 side and a second light-emitting unit 112a2 positioned on the upper electrode 113 side with the charge-generation layer 115a therebetween.”; FIG. 1: 112a1, 112a2, 115a) and
wherein at least one among the plurality of layers is separated between the two neighboring light emitting areas (FIG. 1, 10, 14: It is noted that all the layers are separated).
Regarding Claim 13, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 10, and further discloses the organic including a charge generation layer ([0080] “further includes a first light-emitting unit 112a1 positioned on the lower electrode 111 side and a second light-emitting unit 112a2 positioned on the upper electrode 113 side with the charge-generation layer 115a therebetween.”; FIG. 1: 115a) that is is separated at an area including a boundary between the first sloped surface and the second sloped surface (FIG. 1, 10, 14: It is noted that all the layers are separated).
Regarding Claim 14, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 10, and further discloses the first and second sloped surfaces having different slope angles (FIG. 30: It is noted that the first sloped surface of layer 104 has a sloped surface of approximately 90° in the top corner, and the second sloped surface of layer 105 has an angled portion in the bottom corner, which is smaller than 90°).
Regarding Claim 15, Katayama discloses the display device of claim 10, and further discloses the second sloped surface having a larger slope angle than the first sloped surface (FIG. 30: It is noted that the first sloped surface of layer 104 has a sloped surface of approximately 45° in the bottom corner, and the second sloped surface of layer 105 has a right angled portion in the top corner, which is smaller than 90°).
Claims 16-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20170110522 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses a display device ([0049] “an organic light emitting display device 100”; FIG. 1-3: 100) comprising a plurality of light emitting areas corresponding to a plurality of subpixels (FIG. 2), the display device comprising:
a substrate ([0078] “a substrate 201”; FIG. 3B: 201);
a circuit element layer on the substrate ([0078] “the data lines DL(4n−3) and DL(4n−2) are disposed on a substrate 201”; FIG. 3B: DL);
a first passivation layer on the circuit element layer ([0078] “an interlayer insulating film 224”; FIG. 3B: 224);
a color filter layer on the first passivation layer ([0078] “a red color filter 230 is disposed in the red (R) sub-pixel area”; FIG. 3B: 230);
a second passivation layer covering the color filter layer ([0078] “a protective film 206 is formed”; FIG. 3B: 206);
an overcoat layer on the second passivation layer ([0079] “A flat film 208 is disposed on a front face of the substrate 201 on which the red color filter 230 is formed. The flat film 208 also has a function of suppressing outgassing”; FIG. 3B: 208), the overcoat layer having first trench with a sloped surface of the overcoat layer at a portion between two neighboring light emitting areas among the plurality of light emitting areas (FIG. 3B: It is noted that there is a trench between the Red and White sub-pixels);
a first electrode on the overcoat layer and exposing the first trench ([0082] “a first electrode 211”; FIG. 3B: 211, It is noted that 211 is broken in two with the trench);
an organic layer on the first electrode and the first sloped surface ([0082] “an organic light emitting layer 212”; FIG. 3B: 212);
a second electrode on the organic layer ([0082] “and a second electrode 213”; FIG. 3B: 213).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses the display device of claim 16, and further discloses the first trench being self-aligned with the first electrode (FIG. 3B: 211, It is noted that 211 is split with the first trench).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee discloses the display device of claim 16, and further discloses a second trench being defined in the second passivation layer under the first trench (FIG. 3B: 206, It is noted there is a trench within 206 in the figure).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses the display device of claim 18, and further discloses the second trench being self-aligned with the first trench (FIG. 3B: 206, The first trench aligns with the second trench).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee discloses the display device of claim 18, and further discloses a second sloped surface of the second passivation layer exposed through the second trench has a different slope angle from the first sloped surface (FIG. 3B: 206, 208, It is noted the angle of the top corner of 208 is different from the angle of 206 in the trench).
Regarding Claim 21, Lee discloses the display device of claim 20, and further discloses the second sloped surface having a larger slope angle than the first sloped surface (FIG. 3B: 206, 208, It is noted the angle of the top corner of 208 is different from the angle of 206 in the trench).
Regarding Claim 24, Lee discloses a display device ([0049] “an organic light emitting display device 100”; FIG. 1-3: 100) comprising a plurality of light emitting areas corresponding to a plurality of subpixels (FIG. 2), and a non-active area surrounding the active area ([0049] “a data driver 120 which drives the plurality of data lines (DL #1 through DL #4M); a gate driver 130 which drives the plurality of gate lines (GL #1 through GL #N); and a timing controller T-CON 140 which controls the data driver 120 and the gate driver 130.”; FIG. 1: 120, 130, It is noted the data and gate driver can commonly be considered part of the non-active area), the display device comprising:
a substrate ([0078] “a substrate 201”; FIG. 3B: 201);
a circuit element layer on the substrate ([0078] “the data lines DL(4n−3) and DL(4n−2) are disposed on a substrate 201”; FIG. 3B: DL);
a first passivation layer on the circuit element layer ([0078] “an interlayer insulating film 224”; FIG. 3B: 224);
a color filter layer on the first passivation layer ([0078] “a red color filter 230 is disposed in the red (R) sub-pixel area”; FIG. 3B: 230);
a second passivation layer covering the color filter layer ([0078] “a protective film 206 is formed”; FIG. 3B: 206);
an overcoat layer on the second passivation layer ([0079] “A flat film 208 is disposed on a front face of the substrate 201 on which the red color filter 230 is formed. The flat film 208 also has a function of suppressing outgassing”; FIG. 3B: 208), the overcoat layer having first trench with a sloped surface of the overcoat layer at a portion between two neighboring light emitting areas among the plurality of light emitting areas (FIG. 3B: It is noted that there is a trench between the Red and White sub-pixels);
a first electrode on the overcoat layer and exposing the first trench ([0082] “a first electrode 211”; FIG. 3B: 211, It is noted that 211 is broken in two with the trench);
an organic layer on the first electrode and the first sloped surface ([0082] “an organic light emitting layer 212”; FIG. 3B: 212);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Katayama.
Regarding Claim 22, Lee teaches the display device of claim 20.
Lee does not teach an undercut structure in which an edge of the second trench is covered with the overcoat layer.
Katayama teaches an undercut structure in which an edge of the second trench is covered with the overcoat layer (FIG. 1, 10, 14: 104, 105, It is noted that the lip of layer 105 covers over the depression formed in layer 104).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Lee with the undercut structure of Katayama. The overall structure of the insulating layers and OLEDs are very similar between Lee and Katayama, and Katayama is already referenced with regards to claims 1-15, which is a very similar invention with slight embodiment changes. Adding the undercut structure from Katayama can easily be applied to this claimed invention just like in the previous claims.
Regarding Claim 23, Lee teaches the display device of claim 20.
Lee does not teach the organic layer including a charge generation layer which is separated at an area including a boundary between the first sloped surface and the second sloped surface.
Katayama teaches the organic including a charge generation layer ([0080] “further includes a first light-emitting unit 112a1 positioned on the lower electrode 111 side and a second light-emitting unit 112a2 positioned on the upper electrode 113 side with the charge-generation layer 115a therebetween.”; FIG. 1: 115a) that is is separated at an area including a boundary between the first sloped surface and the second sloped surface (FIG. 1, 10, 14: It is noted that all the layers are separated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Lee with the charge generation layer of Katayama because of the reasoning in Claim 22.
Claims 25-26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim et al. (US 20220223664 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding Claim 25, Lee teaches the display device of claim 24.
Lee does not teach a third passivation layer covering the second electrode and an encapsulation layer.
Kim teaches a third passivation layer covering the second electrode ([0101] “A passivation layer PV1 may be disposed on the third conductive layer”; FIG 5-8, 10: PV1, CCL (which PV1 is part of)); and
an encapsulation layer on the active area and the non-active area, and covering the third passivation layer ([0085] “A first interlayer insulating layer IL1”; FIG. 5-8, 10: IL1),
wherein the encapsulation layer contacts the second passivation layer in an outer part of the display panel ([0190] “A part of the top surface of the first interlayer insulating layer IL1 may be exposed at the first valley VA1”; FIG. 10: IL1, VA1, PAS1, It is noted that PAS1 represents the second passivation layer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Lee with the embodiments of Kim regarding the non-display area. The limitations of the non-display area claimed are well-known to people of ordinary skill, and the insulating layer PAS1 of Kim serves a similar function to the second passivation layer of the claimed invention, that of insulating the material from external moisture (Kim [0190] “Since the inorganic insulating material such as the first insulating layer PAS1, the third insulating layer PAS3, and the first capping layer CPL1 may be arranged at the inner side of the first valley VA1, it may be possible to prevent external moisture from permeating the first interlayer insulating layer IL1 exposed by the first valley VA1.”). Adding the NDA region of Kim would result in the anticipable effect of completing the display device of Lee with the external structure that most modern displays have.
Regarding Claim 26, Lee in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 25.
Lee does not teach the first and second passivation layer extending beyond an end of the encapsulation layer to an edge of the display panel.
Kim teaches a first and second passivation layer extending beyond an end of the encapsulation layer to an edge of the display panel ([0234] “the first insulating layer PAS1 and the third insulating layer PAS3 may extend from the display area DPA to the non-display area NDA”; FIG. 11: It is noted that the IL1 layer has an ending on the furthest right trench, see below annotated FIG. 11.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Lee with the embodiments of Kim because of the reasoning in Claim 25.
Regarding Claim 29, Lee in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 25.
Lee does not teach the overcoat layer is absent in the outer part of the display panel.
Kim teaches an overcoat layer absent in the outer part of the display panel ([0105] “Further, insulating layers…PAS2”; FIG. 10: PAS2, It is noted that PAS2 does not extend beyond the display area DPA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Lee with the embodiments of Kim because of the reasoning in Claim 25.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20240081131 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim 131.
Regarding Claim 28, Lee in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 25.
Lee does not teach a driving circuit in the non-active area of the display panel and the encapsulation layer covering the driving circuit.
Kim 131 teaches a driving circuit in the non-active area of the panel ([0139] “A scan driving circuit unit SDC… may be disposed in the first non-display area NDA1.”; FIG. 6: SDC, NDA1), wherein the encapsulation layer covers the driving circuit ([0143] “The first and second dams DAM1 and DAM2 may be structures for preventing the encapsulation organic film TFE2 of the encapsulation layer ENC from spilling over the edge EG of the display panel 100.”; It is noted that the layer ENC is implied to reach the edge of the display panel EG, which in FIG. 6 is demonstrated to be past the driving circuit SDC).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display apparatus of Lee with the embodiments of Kim 131 regarding the non-display area. The limitations of the non-display area claimed are well-known to people of ordinary skill, and the driving circuit of Kim 131 is a common component in most modern displays.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shima et al. (US 20250008818 A1), Nakamura et al. (US 20240049560 A1), and Choi et al. (US 20230209945 A1) are cited to teach aspects of trenches built within to insulation layers and OLEDs.
/MATTHEW L SHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897