DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 7/29/2024:
Claims 1-5 are pending
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 19053633 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example:
Regarding claim 1, 19053633 teaches a battery electric vehicle (claim 13, a battery electric vehicle) comprising:
an electric motor serving as a driving source (claim 1, electric motor as a dynamic power device for traveling); and
one or more processors configured to generate an artificial sound that changes in response to an operating condition of the battery electric vehicle, and output the artificial sound from a speaker mounted on the battery electric vehicle (claim 13, the processing circuit is configured to execute generating an artificial sound…to output the artificial sound from the speaker), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
recognize a traveling condition of another vehicle traveling around the battery electric vehicle (claim 13, a sensor configured to detect information about a peripheral environment of the battery electric vehicle…recognizing a target vehicle based on the information detected by the sensor); and
perform, in response to the traveling condition of the other vehicle, at least either of a first process for changing a sound source of the artificial sound and a second process for generating a harmonic sound harmonized with the artificial sound and outputting the harmonic sound from the speaker by superimposing the harmonic sound on the artificial sound (claim 13, generating an artificial sound related to the target vehicle, to output the artificial sound from the speaker; and changing a characteristic of the artificial sound depending on a relative speed of the target vehicle with respect to the battery electric vehicle).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The remaining independent and/or dependent claims are similarly rejected using one or more claims of the copending application (whether alone or in combination).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loh (US20210343268) in further view of Ito et al (US20200189614, hereinafter “Ito”).
Regarding claim 1, Loh teaches a battery electric vehicle (¶3, electric vehicle) comprising:
an electric motor serving as a driving source (¶3, motor is an electric motor in EV); and
one or more processors (¶44, a plurality of processors such as a processor to generate artificial sound (¶2)) configured to generate an artificial sound that changes in response to an operating condition of the battery electric vehicle, and output the artificial sound from a speaker mounted on the battery electric vehicle (¶63, generating artificial sound in response to the vehicle driving parameters),
Loh fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
recognize a traveling condition of another vehicle traveling around the battery electric vehicle; and
perform, in response to the traveling condition of the other vehicle, at least either of a first process for changing a sound source of the artificial sound and a second process for generating a harmonic sound harmonized with the artificial sound and outputting the harmonic sound from the speaker by superimposing the harmonic sound on the artificial sound.
Ito teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
recognize a traveling condition of another vehicle traveling around the battery electric vehicle (Fig. 5, recognizing a traveling condition (e.g. W1 is cutting in front of host vehicle)); and
perform, in response to the traveling condition of the other vehicle, at least either of a first process for changing a sound source of the artificial sound (¶61, 96, upon recognition of a traffic change or other possible alert (e.g. pedestrian coming into traffic), the sound output in the vehicle can be adjusted to provide spatial audio notification in view of the traffic change or possible alert) and a second process for generating a harmonic sound harmonized with the artificial sound and outputting the harmonic sound from the speaker by superimposing the harmonic sound on the artificial sound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the artificial sound generator (as taught by Loh) with the notification alert system (as taught by Ito). The rationale to do so is to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of increasing driver/passenger attention level when necessary (Ito, ¶122).
Regarding claim 3, Loh in view of Ito teaches wherein:
the one or more processors are configured to perform the second process when the other vehicle includes one or more second target vehicles in a specific positional relationship with the battery electric vehicle (Ito, Fig. 3, W1 or W2 are position in front of the user’s vehicle); and
the harmonic sound includes one or more harmonic sounds associated with the one or more second target vehicles (Ito, ¶61, the generated alert is generated in response to the position of the other vehicle (see Fig. 5); Loh, ¶12, sound mixing is possible for output such that the output in the vehicle can be a mix of the user vehicle’s simulated sound + alert generated in response to W1 cutting off the user’s vehicle (Fig. 5 of Ito)).
Regarding claim 4, Loh in view of Ito teaches wherein the one or more second target vehicles are succeeding vehicles behind the battery electric vehicle (Ito, Fig. 3, ¶42, 61, notification output is in response to a potential alert that is around the host car (the term “around” means 360 degrees); while Fig. 3 shows vehicles W1 and W2 in front of the vehicle, there could be a third vehicle W3 that is behind; ¶61, the generated notification sounds are spatial in nature allowing the user to pinpoint the alert’s direction relative to the user’s/host car’s position).
Regarding claim 5, Loh in view of Ito teaches wherein the artificial sound is a simulated engine sound simulating an engine sound of an engine vehicle (Loh, ¶5, providing simulated engine sounds).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/QIN ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691