DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites that some surfaces are “greater” than others. It’s not clear in what way a surface per se is greater than another, thus the scope is unclear. The claim has been examined assuming the intended scope is greater size.
Claim 14 recites “the optical signal.” There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Each of claims 15 and 16 recites “the region covered by the optical signal.” There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 9, and thus claim 10 by way of dependence, recites that the photoelectric detector units of the K subarrays and P subarrays are on respective, non-coplanar planes. However, parent claim 8 recites that they are both on the first plane. Thus, claim 9 attempting to replace, not further limit, the corresponding scope of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 12, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venugopalan Nair Jalakumari et al. (“Jalakumari”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0115364) in view of Ma et al. (“Ma”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0308429).
Note: the use of “M” and “N” in Jalakumari is coincidental, and does not correspond to the claimed variables M and N. Quotes will be used to cite Jalakumari’s use.
Regarding claim 1, Jalakumari discloses an apparatus, comprising: N photoelectric detector unit subarrays (fig. 5 elements 511n and paragraph 0059, fig. 7 and paragraphs 0066-0069, and fig. 12 and paragraphs 0122-0125); and M output ports connected to the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays (fig. 5 the output connections of elements 511n toward elements 513n), a quantity of photoelectric detector units included in at least one of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays is greater than or equal to 2 (fig. 5 each subarray has “M” x “N” photodiodes), N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (fig. 5 for N = 4), M is an integer less than or equal to N (fig. 5 for M = 4), a photoelectric detector unit in the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays is configured to obtain a first electrical signal by performing photoelectric conversion on an optical signal and the M output ports are configured to output the first electrical signal (paragraph 0059 in light of 0005). Jalakumari does not disclose that at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays are different. Ma discloses N photoelectric detector unit subarrays (fig. 4, the five regions of 406 and paragraphs 0027 and 0033-0035 and figs. 5-7 and paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays are different (fig. 4, the set of 414, the set of 416 and the set of 418), and discloses using additional subarrays as well (fig. 4 element 404 and figs. 5-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to structure the subarrays of Jalakumari like those of Ma, to provide the benefit of being able to have multi-directional receiving arrays based on the 3 dimensional shapes achievable using the Ma structures.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jalakumari and Ma discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays being different comprises at least one of: (i) shapes of the at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays being different, (ii) areas of the at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays being different, (iii) quantities of photoelectric detector units comprised in the at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays being different, (iv) areas of photosensitive surfaces of photoelectric detectors comprised in the at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays being different, or (v) spacings between photoelectric detector units comprised in the at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays being different (Ma: fig. 4, the set of 414, the set of 416 and the set of 418 and paragraphs 0027 and 0030-0035, as applicable for the combination).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jalakumari and Ma discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein photosensitive surfaces of an array formed by the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays are axisymmetrically distributed (Ma: fig. 4, the set of 414, the set of 416 and the set of 418 and paragraphs 0027 and 0030-0035, as applicable for the combination).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jalakumari and Ma discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays are located on a same plane (Ma: figs. 4, 5 and 7, where each subarrays is a plane, paragraph 0034, as applicable for the combination).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Jalakumari and Ma discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a processor connected to the M output ports, wherein the processor is configured to: receive the first electrical signal, and determine, based on the first electrical signal, data carried by the first electrical signal (Jalakumari: fig. 12 element 1213 and paragraph 0122).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Jalakumari and Ma discloses the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein a region covered by the optical signal comprises a target photoelectric detector unit subarray in the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays, and a function to control a quantity of photoelectric detector units in the target photoelectric detector unit subarray that perform photoelectric conversion on the optical signal to be a variable value (Jalakumari: fig. 7 and paragraphs 0066-0069). The combination as formulated above does not disclose that the processor performs the function. However, the processor is for data recovery (Jalakumari: fig. 12 element 1213). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the function in the logic of the processor, since the function is related to receiving data.
Regarding claim 17, Jalakumari discloses an apparatus, comprising: a plurality of arrays, wherein at least one of the plurality of arrays comprises N photoelectric detector unit subarrays (fig. 5 elements 511n and paragraph 0059, fig. 7 and paragraphs 0066-0069, and fig. 12 and paragraphs 0122-0125) and M output ports connected to the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays (fig. 5 the output connections of elements 511n toward elements 513n), a quantity of photoelectric detector units comprised in at least one of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays is greater than or equal to 2 (fig. 5 each subarray has “M” x “N” photodiodes), N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (fig. 5 for N = 4), M is an integer less than or equal to N (fig. 5 for M = 4), a photoelectric detector unit in the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays is configured to obtain a first electrical signal by performing photoelectric conversion on an optical signal, and the M output ports are configured to output the first electrical signal. (paragraph 0059 in light of 0005). Jalakumari does not disclose that at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays are different. Ma discloses N photoelectric detector unit subarrays (fig. 4, the five regions of 406 and paragraphs 0027 and 0033-0035 and figs. 5-7 and paragraphs 0017-0019), wherein at least two of the N photoelectric detector unit subarrays are different (fig. 4, the set of 414, the set of 416 and the set of 418), and discloses using additional subarrays as well (fig. 4 element 404 and figs. 5-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to structure the subarrays of Jalakumari like those of Ma, to provide the benefit of being able to have multi-directional receiving arrays based on the 3 dimensional shapes achievable using the Ma structures.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Jalakumari and Ma discloses the apparatus according to claim 17, further comprising: a light source (Jalakumari: fig. 9 element 917 and paragraph 0085).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Related photodetector arrays – US Patent Nos. 5581094, 7061598, 12487120; US Patent Application Publication Nos. 2023/0232138, 2019/0199438, 2018/0091230, 2015/0303231.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634