DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Shiozawa et al. (US 20100114449 A1). Shiozawa discloses “The present invention relates to device or apparatus and method for estimating a friction state in a contact surface between a vehicle wheel and a ground, or a road surface gripping state of a vehicle wheel, or a margin with respect to a friction limit. Furthermore, the present invention relates to apparatus and method for estimating vehicle state quantity, and apparatus and method for controlling vehicle behavior.” (¶0001)
Regarding Claim 1, Shiozawa discloses: A method (Fig. 17) of operating a vehicle (Fig. 9), comprising:
obtaining a first stream of data related to road wheel angle (Fig. 17, S103, ¶0136; “Tire slip angle calculation section 18 calculates front and rear wheel slip angles .beta.f and .beta.r, in accordance with the steering angle (tire steer angle .delta.) sensed by steering angle sensor 1, yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2, vehicle body speed V calculated by vehicle body speed calculation section 16, and vehicle sideslip angle (vehicle slip angle) .beta. calculated by vehicle body slip angle estimating section 17”; see also ¶0153)) for the vehicle;
obtaining a second stream of data related to lateral acceleration (Fig. 17, S104; “Tire lateral force calculating section 19 calculates front and rear wheel lateral forces Fyf and Fyr, in accordance with yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2 and lateral acceleration Gy sensed by lateral acceleration sensor 3”; ¶0138; see also ¶0153)for the vehicle;
determining a reduced tire model (Fig. 17, S105, lateral force characteristic indexes; ¶0141-0143; “The lateral force characteristic index can be referred to as a (tire) grip characteristic parameter. Lateral force characteristic index calculating section 20 modifies or adjust the lateral force characteristic index maps in accordance with the wheel load change calculated by wheel load change calculating section 24”; see also ¶0154)) for the vehicle using the first stream of data and the second stream of data;
obtaining a measurement of a current road wheel angle (Fig. 17, S103, ¶0136; “Tire slip angle calculation section 18 calculates front and rear wheel slip angles .beta.f and .beta.r, in accordance with the steering angle (tire steer angle .delta.) sensed by steering angle sensor 1, yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2, vehicle body speed V calculated by vehicle body speed calculation section 16, and vehicle sideslip angle (vehicle slip angle) .beta. calculated by vehicle body slip angle estimating section 17”; see also ¶0153))and a measurement of a current lateral acceleration (Fig. 17, S104; “Tire lateral force calculating section 19 calculates front and rear wheel lateral forces Fyf and Fyr, in accordance with yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2 and lateral acceleration Gy sensed by lateral acceleration sensor 3”; ¶0138; see also ¶0153);
determining a current slope (Fig. 17, S106 static margin; ¶0146 and ¶0155 current vehicle behavior) from the current road wheel angle (Fig. 10, ‘steer angle’ input) and the current lateral acceleration (Fig. 10, lateral-G input);
comparing the current slope to the reduced tire model to predict a level of saturation of a tire of the vehicle (Fig. 17, S107);
and controlling a steering actuator (Fig. 9, EPS Motor 7) of the vehicle to steer the vehicle based on the level of saturation of the tire (Fig. 17, S108; “The system is arranged to estimate the lateral force saturation condition of the front and rear wheels in accordance with the front and rear wheel lateral force characteristic indexes Kf, Kr, and to control the vehicle behavior in accordance with the estimated saturation condition. Therefore, the system can detect the tire grip condition in the lateral direction dynamically by estimating the dynamic lateral force characteristic index during vehicle motion, and thereby restrain the vehicle unstable behavior adequately.”; ¶0177).
Regarding Claim 8, Shiozawa discloses: A system (Fig. 9, 10, and 17) for operating a vehicle (Fig. 9), comprising: a sensor for obtaining a first stream of data related to road wheel angle for the vehicle (Fig. 17, S103, ¶0136; “Tire slip angle calculation section 18 calculates front and rear wheel slip angles .beta.f and .beta.r, in accordance with the steering angle (tire steer angle .delta.) sensed by steering angle sensor 1, yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2, vehicle body speed V calculated by vehicle body speed calculation section 16, and vehicle sideslip angle (vehicle slip angle) .beta. calculated by vehicle body slip angle estimating section 17”; see also ¶0153)) and a second stream of data related to lateral acceleration for the vehicle (Fig. 17, S104; “Tire lateral force calculating section 19 calculates front and rear wheel lateral forces Fyf and Fyr, in accordance with yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2 and lateral acceleration Gy sensed by lateral acceleration sensor 3”; ¶0138; see also ¶0153); a processor (Fig. 9-10, Vehicle Running State Estimation Unit 8) configured to: determine a reduced tire model (Fig. 17, S105, lateral force characteristic indexes; ¶0141-0143; “The lateral force characteristic index can be referred to as a (tire) grip characteristic parameter. Lateral force characteristic index calculating section 20 modifies or adjust the lateral force characteristic index maps in accordance with the wheel load change calculated by wheel load change calculating section 24”; see also ¶0154)) for the vehicle using the first stream of data and the second stream of data; obtain a measurement of a current road wheel angle(Fig. 17, S103, ¶0136; “Tire slip angle calculation section 18 calculates front and rear wheel slip angles .beta.f and .beta.r, in accordance with the steering angle (tire steer angle .delta.) sensed by steering angle sensor 1, yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2, vehicle body speed V calculated by vehicle body speed calculation section 16, and vehicle sideslip angle (vehicle slip angle) .beta. calculated by vehicle body slip angle estimating section 17”; see also ¶0153)) and a measurement of a current lateral acceleration (Fig. 17, S104; “Tire lateral force calculating section 19 calculates front and rear wheel lateral forces Fyf and Fyr, in accordance with yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2 and lateral acceleration Gy sensed by lateral acceleration sensor 3”; ¶0138; see also ¶0153); determine a current slope(Fig. 17, S106 static margin ¶0146 and ¶0155 current vehicle behavior) from the current road wheel angle (Fig. 10, ‘steer angle’ input) and the current lateral acceleration(Fig. 10, lateral-G input);; compare the current slope to the reduced tire model to predict a level of saturation of a tire of the vehicle(Fig. 17, S107); and control a steering actuator (Fig. 9, EPS Motor 7) of the vehicle to steer the vehicle based on the level of saturation of the tire (Fig. 17, S108; “The system is arranged to estimate the lateral force saturation condition of the front and rear wheels in accordance with the front and rear wheel lateral force characteristic indexes Kf, Kr, and to control the vehicle behavior in accordance with the estimated saturation condition. Therefore, the system can detect the tire grip condition in the lateral direction dynamically by estimating the dynamic lateral force characteristic index during vehicle motion, and thereby restrain the vehicle unstable behavior adequately.”; ¶0177).
Regarding Claim 15, Shiozawa discloses A vehicle (Fig. 9), comprising:
a sensor for obtaining a first stream of data related to road wheel angle for the vehicle (Fig. 17, S103, ¶0136; “Tire slip angle calculation section 18 calculates front and rear wheel slip angles .beta.f and .beta.r, in accordance with the steering angle (tire steer angle .delta.) sensed by steering angle sensor 1, yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2, vehicle body speed V calculated by vehicle body speed calculation section 16, and vehicle sideslip angle (vehicle slip angle) .beta. calculated by vehicle body slip angle estimating section 17”; see also ¶0153)) and a second stream of data related to lateral acceleration for the vehicle (Fig. 17, S104; “Tire lateral force calculating section 19 calculates front and rear wheel lateral forces Fyf and Fyr, in accordance with yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2 and lateral acceleration Gy sensed by lateral acceleration sensor 3”; ¶0138; see also ¶0153);
a steering actuator for steering the vehicle (Fig. 9, EPS Motor 7);
a processor (Fig. 9-10, Vehicle Running State Estimation Unit 8) configured to: determine a reduced tire model (Fig. 17, S105, lateral force characteristic indexes; ¶0141-0143; “The lateral force characteristic index can be referred to as a (tire) grip characteristic parameter. Lateral force characteristic index calculating section 20 modifies or adjust the lateral force characteristic index maps in accordance with the wheel load change calculated by wheel load change calculating section 24”; see also ¶0154)) for the vehicle using the first stream of data and the second stream of data;
obtain a measurement of a current road wheel angle Fig. 17, S103, ¶0136; “Tire slip angle calculation section 18 calculates front and rear wheel slip angles .beta.f and .beta.r, in accordance with the steering angle (tire steer angle .delta.) sensed by steering angle sensor 1, yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2, vehicle body speed V calculated by vehicle body speed calculation section 16, and vehicle sideslip angle (vehicle slip angle) .beta. calculated by vehicle body slip angle estimating section 17”; see also ¶0153)) and a measurement of a current lateral acceleration Fig. 17, S104; “Tire lateral force calculating section 19 calculates front and rear wheel lateral forces Fyf and Fyr, in accordance with yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2 and lateral acceleration Gy sensed by lateral acceleration sensor 3”; ¶0138; see also ¶0153and a measurement of a current lateral acceleration(Fig. 17, S104; “Tire lateral force calculating section 19 calculates front and rear wheel lateral forces Fyf and Fyr, in accordance with yaw rate y sensed by yaw rate sensor 2 and lateral acceleration Gy sensed by lateral acceleration sensor 3”; ¶0138; see also ¶0153);
determine a current slope(Fig. 17, S106 static margin ¶0146 and ¶0155 current vehicle behavior) from the current road wheel angle(Fig. 10, ‘steer angle’ input) and the current lateral acceleration(Fig. 10, lateral-G input);
compare the current slope(Fig. 17, S106 static margin ¶0146 and ¶0155 current vehicle behavior) to the reduced tire model to predict a level of saturation of a tire (Fig. 17, S107); of the vehicle;
and control the steering actuator (Fig. 9, EPS Motor 7) to steer the vehicle based on the level of saturation of the tire (Fig. 17, S108; “The system is arranged to estimate the lateral force saturation condition of the front and rear wheels in accordance with the front and rear wheel lateral force characteristic indexes Kf, Kr, and to control the vehicle behavior in accordance with the estimated saturation condition. Therefore, the system can detect the tire grip condition in the lateral direction dynamically by estimating the dynamic lateral force characteristic index during vehicle motion, and thereby restrain the vehicle unstable behavior adequately.”; ¶0177).
Regarding Claims 2, 9, and 16, Shiozawa further discloses shift(ing) the first stream of data in time to generate a third stream of data including time-shifted road wheel angle data, the third stream of data aligned with the second stream of data and determining the reduced tire model using the third stream of data and the second stream of data (Fig. 6b; first stream of data based on tire steer angle plotted over time on the abscissa and second stream of data based on lateral acceleration plotted over time on the ordinate comprise the reduced tire model)
Regarding Claim 3, 10, and 17, Shiozawa further discloses wherein the reduced tire model includes a normal slope (Fig. 6b, Xid1)and a traction limit slope (Fig. 6b, Xid4, Xid5), further comprising comparing the current slope to the normal slope and the traction limit slope to predict the level of saturation (¶0112; “The position on the tire characteristic curve represents the frictional state and the ability of a tire at a road surface .mu. at which the tire characteristic curve is valid. Accordingly, it is possible to know the tire frictional state and the ability (such as the ability of gripping) of the tire by determining a position on the tire characteristic curve as shown in FIG. 6(b)(6B) at the road surface mu of the tire characteristic curve. When, for example, the tangent slope of the tire characteristic curve is negative or close to zero (Id4 or Id5, for example), it is possible to judge, from the position (Xid4 or Xid5) determined from the tangent slope, that the lateral force of the tire is in a limit region (critical region).”)
Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 18, Shiozawa further discloses learning a yaw relation model for the vehicle and adjusting a model parameter of an adaptive vehicle model based on a comparison of a current yaw slope to a normal yaw slope of the yaw relation model and a yaw limit slope of the yaw relation model (¶0019; “Yaw rate sensor 2 senses the yaw rate of the vehicle, and delivers the sensing result to vehicle travel state estimating device 8”; and Fig. 17, S103; ¶0153; front and rear wheel slip angles based on yaw rate.)
Regarding Claims 5, 12, Shiozawa further discloses wherein the model parameter includes at least one of: (i) a front axle tire capacity; and (ii) a rear axle tire capacity (Fig. 17, ¶0154; “At a step S105 (corresponding to the operation of lateral force characteristic index calculating section 20), the vehicle travel state estimating device 8 calculates the front and rear wheel lateral force characteristic indexes Kf and Kr, from the front and rear wheel slip angles .beta.f and .beta.r calculated at S103, and the front and rear wheel tire lateral forces Fyf, and Fyr calculated at S104, by using the front wheel total lateral force characteristic index map for the two front wheels and the rear wheel total lateral force characteristic index map for the two rear wheels. “)
Regarding Claims 6, 13, and 19 Shiozawa further discloses sending a signal to a display when one of: (i) a predicted tire capacity is near a traction limit; and (ii) the predicted tire capacity is near the traction limit and a yaw rate has deviated from a desired yaw rate (¶0404; “provide information to the driver by using the output representing the grip characteristic parameter. As a means or device for supplying information to the driver, for example, there are: a means, such as a buzzer, for providing audible stimulus; a means, such as a warning light or a display for displaying a warning mark on a navigation screen, for providing visual stimulus; and a means for providing tactual stimulus by changing a reaction of a brake or accelerator pedal, or changing a steering reaction of a steering wheel. Furthermore, it is optional to vary the magnitude of the audible, visual or tactile stimulus or the frequency of repetition of audible, visual or tactile stimuli, in accordance with the magnitude of the grip characteristic parameter.”)
Regarding Claims 7, 14, and 20, Shiozawa further discloses: adding a safety margin in excess of a maximum lateral deviation allowed by the reduced tire model to obtain a target trajectory for the vehicle when a lateral deviation of a reference trajectory exceeds the maximum lateral deviation (Fig. 17, ¶0145; S106; “Static margin SM is a quantity indicative of the ease of occurrence of drift-out. That is, stability factor calculating section 21 detects a saturated state of the lateral force in accordance with the front and rear wheel lateral force characteristic index Kf and Kr. When the grip condition of front wheels 11FL and/or 11FR reaches a limit (the tire lateral force becomes saturated), and the lateral force characteristic index Kf becomes zero or negative, the static margin calculated by stability factor calculating section 21 becomes smaller. That is, stability factor calculating section 21 decreases the static margin SM when the possibility of drift-out increases in the state (saturated state of the lateral force) in which the lateral force is not increased irrespective of an increase of the slip angle. Stability factor calculating section 21 outputs the result of the calculation (static margin SM) to vehicle behavior estimating section 22.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mori (U.S. 2006/0041365A1) discloses “Referring to FIG. 12, reference symbol b designates an example of the running data as the combination of steering angle and lateral acceleration. This running data designated by the symbol b shows that the approximate friction coefficient .mu. has varied from .beta.1 in the region A1 to .mu.2 in the region A2 (.mu.1<.mu.2) and that the approximate friction coefficient .mu.2 remains for more than the predetermined time. At a point shown by reference symbol c, the elapse of more than the predetermined time in the region A2 is determined, and the approximate friction coefficient .mu. to be stored is decreased from .mu.1 to .mu.2. In step S8 shown in FIG. 9, the following approximate friction coefficient .mu. increase control is performed.” (¶0133; showing linear normal slope portion and a traction limit slope portion of tire grip characteristic)
/BRIAN R KIRBY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747