DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“operating substance connection configured to supply” in claim 2 [no corresponding structure is provided; see pg. 12 paragraphs 4-5];
“clamping mechanism for temporarily fixing” in claim 5 [no corresponding structure is provided]; and
“limitation element configured to protect” in claim 8 [corresponding structure is a stop; see paragraph spanning pgs. 7 and 8].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6-9, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 2, the claim limitation “operating substance connection configured to supply” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. While paragraphs 4 and 5 on page 12 recite that the operating substance connection can be a water connection or an air connection, the specification is absent of any structure of what is encompassed within the connection. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
With regards to claim 5, the claim limitation “clamping mechanism for temporarily fixing” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is absent to any disclosure that sets forth what structure is encompassed within the claimed clamping mechanism and the figures fail to illustrate the clamping mechanism . Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
With regards to claim 6, the claim states “each of the receiving modules is mounted at a bottom of the respective receiving module in a base of the receiving module”, this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear how the receiving module is mounted at a bottom of itself to a base of itself. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 11, the claim states “two different receiving modules” it is unclear if the two different receiving modules are further defining the two or more receiving modules of claim 1 or if the two different receiving modules are in addition to the two or more receiving modules of claim 1. It is further noted that it is unclear what distinguishes the “different receiving modules” from the receiving modules since there is no structure recited to distinguish a difference. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 12, the claim states “a stand” it is unclear if this stand is a stand from the two or more stands set forth in claim 1 or if the stand is in addition to the two or more stands of claim 1. Clarification and/or correction is required.
The claim states “wherein a stand is received in each of the receiving modules”, this renders the claim indefinite since the wherein clause appears to be further reciting an element, i.e. a stand, that has not been positively recited within the claim. Specifically, claim 1 sets forth two or more stands within an intended use recitation which is not required structure of the claimed stand base, therefore the stand is not positively recited within the claim are a structural element of the stand base.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of co-pending Application No. 18/786940 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of claim 1 are to be found in claim 2 of the co-pending application (as it encompasses claim 1). The difference between claim 1 of the application and claim 2 of the co-pending application lies in the fact that the co-pending application includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 2 of the co-pending application is in effect a species of the generic invention of claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species [see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993)]. Since claim 1 of the application is anticipated by claim 2 of the co-pending application, it is not patentably distinct from claim 2 of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (CN 111744941A).
In reference to claim 1, Yang et al discloses a stand base (1) for two or more stands (28) of a rolling mill, the two or more stands arranged one behind the other in a rolling direction of a material to be rolled, the stand base comprising
two or more receiving modules (4, 401-404) arranged one behind the other and fastened to a common lower base frame (101) and a common upper cover frame (7) [see last paragraph on pg. 5; figure 1].
In reference to claim 3, each of the receiving modules (4) comprises a retainer (circular opening in side surface of module 4) for an electrical or hydraulic remove adjustment means of the stand [see figure 7; it is noted that the structure within the “for” limitation is not required structure but rather an intended use recitation].
In reference to claim 4, each of the receiving modules comprises a retainer (circular opening is side surface of module 4) for an electrical or hydraulic adjustment means of a roller guide attached to the stand [see figure 7; it is noted that the structure within the “for” limitation is not required structure but rather an intended use recitation].
In reference to claim 5, as best understood, each of the receiving modules (4) is provided with a clamping mechanism (20) for temporarily fixing a stand in the receiving module [see last paragraph on pg. 4].
In reference to claim 10, each receiving module (4) comprises a longitudinal drive (motor and rod) having a gripper device such that the stand can be pushed into the receiving module and out of the receiving module through the lateral opening [see 2nd paragraph on pg. 7].
In reference to claim 11, as best understood, two different receiving modules for receiving the stands (28) in two different arrangements are arranged alternately behind one another, as seen in figure 17.
In reference to claim 12, Yang further discloses a stand (28) is received in each of the receiving modules.
In reference to claim 13, each of the receiving modules (4) is mounted at the bottom on the base frame (1, 101), as seen in figure 1.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725