DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Fig. 2) in the reply filed on 2026 February 17 is acknowledged.
Applicant indicates that claims 1-12 and 14 are drawn to the elected embodiment. However, the Examiner finds that claim 11 is drawn to non-elected Species B.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0300743 A1 (herein “Persson”).
Regarding claim 1.
Persson discloses a plate heat exchanger (Figs. 6a to 8) wherein:
a plurality of heat transfer plates (10);
a first fluid channel (channel formed between 1 and 7) and a second fluid channel (channel formed between 2 and 6) formed between adjacent heat transfer plates and fluidly isolated from each other, wherein the first fluid channel comprises a fluid channel upstream portion (at 12U) and a fluid channel downstream portion (at 12D) that are separated from each other (shown in Figs. 1 and 8);
an upstream outlet port (3) formed in each of the heat transfer plates and communicated to the fluid channel upstream portion of the first fluid channel , and a downstream inlet port (5) formed in each of the heat transfer plates and communicated to the fluid channel downstream portion of the first fluid channel; and
a fluid communication device (15), through which the upstream outlet port and the downstream inlet port are fluidly communicated with each other.
Regarding claim 2.
Persson discloses the plate heat exchanger according to claim 1, wherein:
an end plate (13, 16) disposed on an outer side of an outermost heat transfer plate and having an end plate outer recess that is recessed in a direction away from the outermost heat transfer plate (shown in Figs. 7 and 8; at 15/16), wherein the end plate outer recess is configured to form a chamber as the fluid communication device with a portion of the outermost heat transfer plate corresponding to the end plate outer recess (shown in Fig. 8 by flow arrows).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson in view of US 5,511,612 A (herein “Tajima”).
Regarding claim 3.
Persson discloses the plate heat exchanger according to claim 2, wherein the end plate has first and second openings corresponding to the first and second openings of the heat transfer plates, which allow fluid to flow into and out of the recess at 15, with annular protrusions surrounding the openings (shown in Fig. 2);
but not – a sealing plate comprising first and second openings; wherein the sealing plate is disposed between the end plate and the outermost heat transfer plate.
Tajima discloses a plate heat exchanger (Fig. 3) comprising a plurality of heat transfer plates (35, 37); an end plate (55) disposed on an outer side of an outermost heat transfer plate to form a recess; and a sealing plate (47) comprising multiple openings to allow fluid to flow into and out of the recess; and states that the object of the invention is to provide an oil cooler with an improved mounting strength (abstract).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Tajima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat exchanger of Persson and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6.
Persson discloses the plate heat exchanger according to claim 2, wherein the end plate has openings corresponding to the openings of the heat transfer plates, which allow fluid to flow into and out of the recess at 15, with annular protrusions surrounding the openings (shown in Fig. 2);
but not – a sealing plate comprising an opening; wherein the sealing plate is disposed between the end plate and the outermost heat transfer plate.
Tajima discloses a plate heat exchanger (Fig. 3) comprising a plurality of heat transfer plates (35, 37); an end plate (55) disposed on an outer side of an outermost heat transfer plate to form a recess; and a sealing plate (47) comprising multiple openings to allow fluid to flow into and out of the recess; and states that the object of the invention is to provide an oil cooler with an improved mounting strength (abstract).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Tajima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat exchanger of Persson and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7.
The combined teachings of Persson and Tajima disclose the plate heat exchanger according to claim 6, wherein an annular edge surface portion of the sealing plate on a side of the sealing plate facing the end plate is in contact with an annular surface portion of the end plate surrounding the end plate outer recess so as to form a seal between the annular edge surface portion of the sealing plate and the annular surface portion of the end plate (Tajima: Fig. 3; at the left and right sides of 47), and the annular protrusion of the sealing plate is in contact with the annular surface portion around the upstream outlet port and downstream inlet port of the outermost heat transfer plate so as to form a seal between the annular protrusion of the sealing plate and the annular surface portion of the outermost heat transfer plate (Tajima: Fig. 3; annular portion of the openings in plate 47 contacted the annular portions of the outermost heat transfer plate.
Regarding claim 9.
The combined teachings of Persson and Tajima disclose the plate heat exchanger according to claim 3, wherein the end plate is configured to further have a step portion surrounding the end plate outer recess and recessed in a direction away from the outermost heat transfer plate, and the annular surface portion of the end plate surrounding the end plate outer recess is disposed on the step portion (Tajima: Fig. 3; step portion surrounding the left and right sides of 47).
Regarding claim 10.
The combined teachings of Persson and Tajima disclose the plate heat exchanger according to claim 3, wherein the sealing plate is formed of metal (Tajima: aluminum) and connected to the end plate and the outermost heat transfer plate through brazing respectively (Tajima: col. 4, ln. 34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763