DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The newly added limitations of the different shapes of the knuckles and/or pillows are not supported by the specification, since there is nothing in the specification that teaches such feature(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maladen et al., (hereafter Maladen), WO 2016/022618 A1.
With regard to claims 1, 8-11 and 16-20, Maladen discloses a fibrous structure comprising a plurality of wet formed knuckles extending from a pillow surface of the fibrous structure, wherein the plurality of discrete knuckles are arranged in a pattern of repeat units having substantially the same shape and same size. At least some of the discrete knuckles are arranged in a plurality of rows of adjacent knuckles wherein all the rows are oriented along either a Y-axis or an X-axis. The rows are not taken to be strictly straight rows but the rows may be curved such as in a sinusoidal pattern; see abstract, page 13, lines 1-5 and figures 6 and 10 (which shows sinusoidal pattern); page 4, line 17 through page 5, line 3 and paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6. While Maladen does not explicitly teach the wavelength and amplitude as claimed, optimizing the distance and frequency of the patterns is within the levels of ordinary skill in the art and considered obvious absent a showing of unexpected results. While the reference does not teach the different shapes of the knuckles and/or pillows1 as now claimed on claim 1, it has been held that “[C]hanges of size, shape, without functional significance are not patentable.” Research Corp. V. Nasco Industries, Inc., 501 F2d 358: 182 USPQ 449 (CA 7) cert. Denied 184 USPQ 193; 43 USLW 3359 (1974). While Maladen does not measure all the claimed properties, Maladen shows SST that falls within the claimed range; see Table 1 and claim 10 for example and teaches sheet density between 0.02 g/cm3 and 0.10 g/cm3, which correspond to sheet bulk between 50 cm3/g to 10 cm3/g (bulk= 1/density), also shows SST between 1.91 and 2.1 ( also shown on page 15 lines 1-5 and page 16, lines 4-9 which reads on claims 1 and last paragraph of page 16, discloses roll bulk greater than 4 cm3/g and compressibility of less than about 10% (reading on claim 11), since the process seems to be the similar if not the same molding/structuring belt/fabric, then it must be assumed that the other properties also falls within the claimed range. It has been held that “Where the claimed and prior art apparatus or product is identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F. 2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In other words, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
Regarding to claims 2 and 12, see page 13, lines 1-5 and figures 6 and 10 shows sinusoidal pattern.
With regard to claims 3-5 and 13-15, while Maladen teaches sinusoidal pattern, see page 13, lines 1-5 and figures 6 and 10 for example, the reference is silent with regard to the amplitude and wavelength of the pattern; however as indicated above the optimization of the frequency and period, i.e., wavelength and amplitude of the wave, sinusoidal pattern is within the levels of ordinary skill in the art and considered obvious absent a showing of unexpected results. Note also that it has been held that “[C]hanges of size, shape, without functional significance are not patentable.” Research Corp. V. Nasco Industries, Inc., 501 F2d 358: 182 USPQ 449 (CA 7) cert. Denied 184 USPQ 193; 43 USLW 3359 (1974).
With regard to claim 6, Maladen teaches that the cells have uniform size and shape; see abstract and page 13, lines 1-5 and table 1 on page 11, shows that knuckles can be constant in size or can vary in size.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 24, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments are deemed not convincing, because as discussed above, of size, shape, without functional significance are not patentable, i.e., do not add patentable way to the claim(s) and applicants have not provided any evidence that such changes change the properties of the product, tissue, and only affects the aesthetic of the product. Note that the limitation was added to only claim 1 and does not affect independent claim 11 and therefore, even if applicants provides evidence that the limitation(s) affect the properties of the product, it will be only valid for claim 1 and its dependent claims and not for claim 11 and its dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Fibrous Structures.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF