DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the “ Cross Reference to Related Applications” should be updated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7-8 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 11, and 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,732,420. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims overlaps, and the other difference between the claims is that the current application recites that the plurality of wet-formed Knuckles are discrete, yet the scope of the US Patent encompasses such scope since it is broader in that sense. Moreover, making the web with discrete or continuous are within the levels of ordinary skill in the art since there are obvious design choices, i.e., the plurality of knuckles can be either continuous, discrete or a combination of those, which can be then be considered discrete, e.g., the semi-continuous.
Claims 1, 8, 11 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-9, 16 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,408,129. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims overlaps. Note for example that the claims of the US patent can be used to reject the claims of the current application.
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 11 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,071,729. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims overlaps, and the other difference between the claims is that the current application recites that the plurality of wet-formed Knuckles are discrete, yet the scope of the US Patent encompasses such scope since it is broader in that sense. Moreover, making the web with discrete or continuous are within the levels of ordinary skill in the art since there are obvious design choices, i.e., the plurality of knuckles can be either continuous, discrete or a combination of those, which can be then be considered discrete, e.g., the semi-continuous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maladen et al., (hereafter Maladen), WO 2016/022618 A1.
With regard to claims 1, 7-11 and 16-20, Maladen disclose a fibrous structure comprising a plurality of wet formed knuckles extending from a pillow surface of the fibrous structure, wherein the plurality of discrete knuckles are arranged in a pattern of repeat units having substantially the same shape and same size. At least some of the discrete knuckles are arranged in a plurality of rows of adjacent knuckles wherein all the rows are oriented along either a Y-axis or an X-axis. The rows are not taken to be strictly straight rows but the rows may be curved such as in a sinusoidal pattern; see abstract, page 13, lines 1-5 and figures 6 and 10 (which shows sinusoidal pattern); page 4, line 17 through page 5, line 3 and paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6. While Maladen does not explicitly teach the wavelength and amplitude as claimed, optimizing the distance and frequency of the patterns is within the levels of ordinary skill in the art and considered obvious absent a showing of unexpected results. Note also that it has been held that “[C]hanges of size, shape, without functional significance are not patentable.” Research Corp. V. Nasco Industries, Inc., 501 F2d 358: 182 USPQ 449 (CA 7) cert. Denied 184 USPQ 193; 43 USLW 3359 (1974). While Maladen does not measure all the claimed properties, Maladen shows SST that falls within the claimed range; see Table 1 and claim 10 for example and teaches sheet density between 0.02 g/cm3 and 0.10 g/cm3, which correspond to sheet bulk between 50 cm3/g to 10 cm3/g (bulk= 1/density), since the process seems to be the same, using similar if not the same molding/structuring belt/fabric, then it must be assumed that the other properties also falls within the claimed range. It has been held that “Where the claimed and prior art apparatus or product is identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F. 2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In other words, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
Regarding to claims 2 and 12, see page 13, lines 1-5 and figures 6 and 10 shows sinusoidal pattern.
With regard to claims 3-5 and 13-15, while Maladen teaches sinusoidal pattern, see page 13, lines 1-5 and figures 6 and 10 for example, the reference is silent with regard to the amplitude and wavelength of the pattern; however as indicated above the optimization of the frequency and period, i.e., wavelength and amplitude of the wave, sinusoidal pattern is within the levels of ordinary skill in the art and considered obvious absent a showing of unexpected results. Note also that it has been held that “[C]hanges of size, shape, without functional significance are not patentable.” Research Corp. V. Nasco Industries, Inc., 501 F2d 358: 182 USPQ 449 (CA 7) cert. Denied 184 USPQ 193; 43 USLW 3359 (1974).
With regard to claim 6, Maladen teaches that the cells have uniform size and shape; see abstract and page 13, lines 1-5 and table 1 on page 11, shows that knuckles can be constant in size or can be varying in size.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Fibrous Structures.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF