.DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment received on 05/19/2026. Claims 5,14 have been cancelled. Claims 19-22 newly added. Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-13, 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe 2015/0116389 in view of Arai 2011/0249035.
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a method of operating a liquid crystal display (LCD 16) panel of a consumer appliance, the method comprising [FIG 1]: directing illumination of a static image region (via backlight control signal generator unit 28) of the LCD panel at an operational brightness level [abstract] [012-14] [049]; detecting a low-power condition (brightness needs to be adjusted) [064]; and directing deviated illumination of the static image region at a reduced brightness level (backlight local dimming function, BLD, 44] for a low-power state based on the detected low-power condition [64-67] [74-80].
However, Watanabe fails to disclose directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises directing a gradual brightness reduction at a predetermined rate from the operational brightness level to the reduced brightness level.
Arai discloses detecting a low-power condition (detection signal Sb) [034]; directing deviated illumination of the static image region at a reduced brightness level for a low-power state based on the detected low-power condition [033] [036], and directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises directing a gradual brightness reduction at a predetermined rate from the operational brightness level to the reduced brightness level [031-39]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Watanabe in view of Arai as Arai discloses, “Therefore, power saving of the backlight unit in a whole area of the liquid crystal panel is easily achieved only by the detection that the image on the liquid crystal panel is the black display image. In such a case, the luminescence brightness is lowered in a gradual manner, and therefore, uncomfortable feeling is less likely to be brought to audience when the backlight unit is turned off.” [008].
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Watanabe further discloses directing illumination of the static image region of the LCD panel at the operational brightness level comprises directing uniform illumination across the LCD panel [049].
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Watanabe further discloses directing illumination of the static image region of the LCD panel at the operational brightness level comprises directing illumination of each light source of the LCD panel [047].
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Watanabe further discloses the LCD panel comprises a total panel set of a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) [047], wherein directing illumination of the static image region of the LCD panel at the operational brightness level comprises directing activation of an operational number of LEDs of the total panel set [047] [050], and wherein directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises directing activation of a reduced number of LEDs of the total panel set, the reduced number of LEDs being less than the operational number such that fewer LEDs of the LCD panel set are active at the reduced brightness level than the operational brightness level [74-80, particularly par 75].
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Watanabe further discloses the LCD panel comprises a total panel set of a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs), wherein directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises varying activation of two or more LEDs of the panel set according to a variable low-power scheme during the low-power state [072-80].
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Watanabe further discloses the variable low-power scheme comprises a variation trigger (different illumination determination 46), and wherein the method comprises detecting a variation-trigger event to prompt varying activation of the two or more LEDs [072-76].
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe discloses An appliance user interface panel of a consumer appliance comprising: a liquid crystal display (LCD) panel (LCD 16) mounted on a body panel of the consumer appliance, the LCD panel comprising a panel set of light sources (LEDS) [abstract][19-20]; and a controller (LCD control unit 24)operably coupled to the panel set, the controller being configured to initiate a display operation [FIG 1][44-52], the display operation comprising directing illumination of a static image region of the LCD panel at an operational brightness level, detecting a low-power condition (brightness of room) [44], and directing deviated illumination of the static image region at a reduced brightness level for a low-power state based on the detected low-power condition [064-67] [74-80]. However, Watanabe fails to disclose directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises directing a gradual brightness reduction at a predetermined rate from the operational brightness level to the reduced brightness level.
Arai discloses detecting a low-power condition (detection signal Sb) [034]; directing deviated illumination of the static image region at a reduced brightness level for a low-power state based on the detected low-power condition [033] [036], and directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises directing a gradual brightness reduction at a predetermined rate from the operational brightness level to the reduced brightness level [031-39]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Watanabe in view of Arai as Arai discloses, “Therefore, power saving of the backlight unit in a whole area of the liquid crystal panel is easily achieved only by the detection that the image on the liquid crystal panel is the black display image. In such a case, the luminescence brightness is lowered in a gradual manner, and therefore, uncomfortable feeling is less likely to be brought to audience when the backlight unit is turned off.” [008].
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 10. Watanabe further discloses directing illumination of the static image region of the LCD panel at the operational brightness level comprises directing uniform illumination across the LCD panel [049].
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 10. Watanabe further discloses directing illumination of the static image region of the LCD panel at the operational brightness level comprises directing illumination of each light source of the LCD panel [047].
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 10. Watanabe further discloses the LCD panel comprises a total panel set of a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) [047], wherein directing illumination of the static image region of the LCD panel at the operational brightness level comprises directing activation of an operational number of LEDs of the total panel set [047] [050], and wherein directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises directing activation of a reduced number of LEDs of the total panel set, the reduced number of LEDs being less than the operational number such that fewer LEDs of the LCD panel set are active at the reduced brightness level than the operational brightness level [74-80, particularly par 75].
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe in view Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 10. Watanabe further discloses the LCD panel comprises a total panel set of a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs), wherein directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises varying activation of two or more LEDs of the panel set according to a variable low-power scheme during the low-power state [072-80].
Regarding claim 18, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 10. Watanabe further discloses the variable low-power scheme comprises a variation trigger (different illumination determination 46), and wherein the method comprises detecting a variation-trigger event to prompt varying activation of the two or more LEDs [072-76].
Regarding claim 19, Watanabe discloses a method of operating a liquid crystal display (LCD 16) panel of a consumer appliance, the method comprising [FIG 1]: directing illumination of a static image region (via backlight control signal generator unit 28) of the LCD panel at an operational brightness level [abstract] [012-14] [049]; detecting a low-power condition (brightness needs to be adjusted) [064]; and directing deviated illumination of the static image region at a reduced brightness level (backlight local dimming function, BLD, 44] for a low-power state based on the detected low-power condition [64-67] [74-80].
However, Watanabe fails to disclose directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises directing a gradual brightness reduction at a predetermined rate from the operational brightness level to the reduced brightness level.
Arai discloses detecting a low-power condition (detection signal Sb) [034]; directing deviated illumination of the static image region at a reduced brightness level for a low-power state based on the detected low-power condition [033] [036], and directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises directing a gradual brightness reduction at a predetermined rate from the operational brightness level to the reduced brightness level [031-39]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Watanabe in view of Arai as Arai discloses, “Therefore, power saving of the backlight unit in a whole area of the liquid crystal panel is easily achieved only by the detection that the image on the liquid crystal panel is the black display image. In such a case, the luminescence brightness is lowered in a gradual manner, and therefore, uncomfortable feeling is less likely to be brought to audience when the backlight unit is turned off.” [008].
Regarding claim 20, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 19. Arai further discloses directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises transmitting a plurality of sequentially-decreasing brightness-level signals to a panel set of light sources of the predetermined portion of the static image region [31-39].
Regarding claim 21, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 19. Arai further discloses directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises reducing voltage at a panel set of light sources of the predetermined portion of the static image region of the LCD panel [035].
Regarding claim 22, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 19. Watanabe further discloses the LCD panel comprises a total panel set of a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs), wherein directing deviated illumination of the static image region at the reduced brightness level comprises varying activation of two or more LEDs of the total panel set at the predetermined portion of the static image region according to a variable low-power scheme during the low-power state, wherein the variable low-power scheme comprises a variation trigger, and wherein the method comprises detecting a variation-trigger event to prompt varying activation of the two or more LEDs at the predetermined portion of the static image region [072-76].
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe 2015/0116389 in view of Arai 2011/0249035, as applied to claims1-4, 8-13, 17-22 above, and in further view of f Hong et al. 10,191,655.
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Watanabe and Arai fail to disclose directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises transmitting a plurality of sequentially-decreasing brightness-level signals to a panel set of light sources of the LCD panel. Hong discloses directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises transmitting a plurality of sequentially-decreasing brightness-level signals to a panel set of light sources of the LCD panel [ claim 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as Hong discloses, “Due to the functional support and improvement of mobile terminals and the enhancement of multimedia functions, the size of the display unit has increased and the image quality has also increased to have high-resolution, thereby requiring a lot of power consumption to drive the display unit of the mobile terminal.
In general, when the display unit is activated, the entire screen thereof may be activated to consume substantially constant power all the time. Accordingly, there is a drawback of increasing the power consumption of a battery as increasing the active period of time.
Furthermore, the brightness of the display unit may be adjusted as a whole, thereby resulting in unnecessary power consumption.” [ col 1. L. 45-58].
Regarding claim 15, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. However, Watanabe and Arai fail to disclose directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises transmitting a plurality of sequentially-decreasing brightness-level signals to a panel set of light sources of the LCD panel. Hong discloses directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises transmitting a plurality of sequentially-decreasing brightness-level signals to a panel set of light sources of the LCD panel [ claim 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as Hong discloses, “Due to the functional support and improvement of mobile terminals and the enhancement of multimedia functions, the size of the display unit has increased and the image quality has also increased to have high-resolution, thereby requiring a lot of power consumption to drive the display unit of the mobile terminal.
In general, when the display unit is activated, the entire screen thereof may be activated to consume substantially constant power all the time. Accordingly, there is a drawback of increasing the power consumption of a battery as increasing the active period of time.
Furthermore, the brightness of the display unit may be adjusted as a whole, thereby resulting in unnecessary power consumption.” [ col 1. L. 45-58].
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe 2015/0116389 in view of Arai 2011/0249035, as applied to claims1-4, 8-13, 17-22 above, and in further view of Sugiyama 2023/0041166.
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Watanabe and Arai fail to disclose directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises reducing voltage at a panel set of light sources of the LCD panel.
Sugiyama discloses directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises reducing voltage at a panel set of light sources of the LCD panel [019-20]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as Sugiyama discloses, benefits of power consumption by proper voltage monitoring , “To prevent the above problems, the liquid crystal display device maybe stopped safely when the power supply voltage becomes lower than a predefined threshold. However, when the voltage drops according to the current supplied to the LEDs and the power supply voltage becomes lower than the predefined threshold, the backlight is temporally turned off and the power supply voltage recovers its original value. Accordingly, the power supply voltage becomes greater than the threshold and the backlight is turned on again and the power supply voltage drops again. This turns off the backlight again. This procedure is repeatedly performed and the backlight is turned on and off repeatedly in a periodical manner” [006].
Regarding claim 16, Watanabe in view of Arai discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. However, Watanabe and Arai fail to disclose directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises reducing voltage at a panel set of light sources of the LCD panel.
Sugiyama discloses directing the gradual brightness reduction comprises reducing voltage at a panel set of light sources of the LCD panel [019-20]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as Sugiyama discloses, benefits of power consumption by proper voltage monitoring , “To prevent the above problems, the liquid crystal display device maybe stopped safely when the power supply voltage becomes lower than a predefined threshold. However, when the voltage drops according to the current supplied to the LEDs and the power supply voltage becomes lower than the predefined threshold, the backlight is temporally turned off and the power supply voltage recovers its original value. Accordingly, the power supply voltage becomes greater than the threshold and the backlight is turned on again and the power supply voltage drops again. This turns off the backlight again. This procedure is repeatedly performed and the backlight is turned on and off repeatedly in a periodical manner” [006].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7/8 filed 05/19/2026, with respect to claims 1-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §102 rejection of claims 1-5, 8-14, 17-18 has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, the Examiner has provided a new 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection in view of Arai, please see above for citations. Thus, all pending claims are rejected.
Conclusion
/ASIFA HABIB/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876