DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-11, 13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Randall et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0072490).
As per claims 1, 9 and 17, Randall et al. discloses:
An electronic device (Paragraph [0013]) comprising:
at least one output device, including a display (Figure 1 and Paragraphs [0016-0017] – there are client computers that display content of the content management system, so there must be a display to display the content);
a memory having stored thereon a dynamic content adaptation (DCA) module (Paragraphs [0013] & [0016-0017]); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the display and the memory, the at least one processor executing program code of the DCA module (Paragraphs [0013] & [0016-0017]), and is configured to cause the electronic device to:
obtain source content from a source application (Paragraph [0017] – Content is accessed);
identify one or more items of convertible information within the source content (Paragraphs [0017-0022] – the content is checked);
determine, in part based on user profile data associated with a user of the electronic device, characteristics that can be correlated to device presentation preferences for one or more convertible information items outputted on the electronic device, wherein the one or more convertible information items are presented within the source content using a different presentation format than renderable presentation alternatives that match the device presentation preferences for at least one of the one or more convertible information items (Paragraphs [0017-0022] – the content is modified in accordance with applicable user preferences);
render a modified version of the source content with the at least one of the one or more items of convertible information converted to its renderable presentation alternative for presentation on the electronic device (Paragraphs [0017-0022] – the content is modified in accordance with applicable user preferences); and
present the modified version of the source content via the at least one output device (Paragraphs [0017-0022] – the modified content is displayed).
Claim 9 is directed to the method of using the device of claim 1, so is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 17 is directed to a computer readable medium containing instructions to cause a processor to act as the device of claim 1, so is rejected for similar reasons.
As per claims 2 and 10, Randall et al. discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 above. Randall et al. further discloses:
identify a measurement and unit of measurement in the source content; determine a default unit of measurement based on the user profile data; and in response to the default unit of measurement not matching the unit of measurement in the source content, convert the measurement to the default unit of measurement within the modified version of the source content (Paragraphs [0020-0022] – content is converted to the desired measurement unit).
As per claims 3, 11 and 18, Randall et al. discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17 above. Randall et al. further discloses:
identify a currency amount and currency type in the source content; determine a default currency type based on the user profile data; and in response to the default currency type not matching the currency type in the source content, convert the currency amount to the default currency type within the modified version of the source content (Paragraphs [0020-0022] – content is converted to the desired currency type).
As per claims 5, 13 and 19, Randall et al. discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17 above. Randall et al. further discloses:
identify an idiomatic expression in the source content; obtain a corresponding idiomatic expression based on the user profile data; and replace the idiomatic expression in the source content with the corresponding idiomatic expression within the modified version of the source content (Paragraphs [0020-0022] – content is converted to European spelling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0072490) in view of Hung (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0020651)
As per claims 4 and 12, Randall et al. teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 above. Randall et al. fails to explicitly disclose, but Hung in the same field of endeavor teaches:
identify a time and corresponding time zone in the source content; determine a default time zone based on the user profile data; and in response to the default time zone not matching the time zone in the source content, convert the time to the default time zone within the modified version of the source content (Abstract).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device, method and computer readable medium of Randall et al. with the timezone localization of Hung because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined elements by known methods to provide predictable result
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0072490) in view of non-patent literature “How to change number format in Windows 10” .
As per claims 6 and 14, Randall et al. teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 above. Randall et al. fails to explicitly disclose, but “How to change number format in Windows 10” in the same field of endeavor teaches:
identify a numeric value and a numeric delimiting scheme in the source content; determine a default numeric delimiting scheme based on the user profile data; and in response to the default numeric delimiting scheme not matching the numeric delimiting scheme in the source content, apply the default numeric delimiting scheme to the numeric value (The NPL teaches how to change the numeric delimiter in Windows 10).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device, method and computer readable medium of Randall et al. with the numeric formatting of Windows 10 because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined elements by known methods to provide predictable results.
Claims 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0072490) in view of Jethwa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0428014) .
As per claims 8, 16 and 20, Randall et al. teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17 above. Randall et al. fails to explicitly disclose, but Jethwa et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches:
identify convertible audio information comprising a voice audio clip for each of one or more convertible audio information; and generate modified voice audio data comprising a substitution of each of the one or more items of convertible audio information in the source content with a corresponding AI-generated voice audio clip for use within the modified version of the source content (Abstract and Paragraph [0049]).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device, method and computer readable medium of Randall et al. with the audio swapping of Jethwa et al. because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined elements by known methods to provide predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner Notes
The Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully considers the references in its entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant and require written authorization. Should the Applicant wish to communicate via e-mail, including the following paragraph in their response will allow the Examiner to do so:
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Should e-mail communication be desired, the Examiner can be reached at Edwin.Leland@USPTO.gov
Conclusion
/EDWIN S LELAND III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654