DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,770 B2 to Allwood. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of Allwood teach each and every element of the claims discussed below.
Regarding claim 1, Allwood teaches a method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure (Claim 1), comprising the steps of:
providing a sheet metal workpiece having first and second surfaces opposed to each other and at least one edge (Claim 1);
providing one or more bending tools to perform bending the workpiece to form at least a first sidewall portion defined between the edge and a basal region (Claim 1; limitation beginning “providing one or more bending tools to perform bending…” recites bending the workpiece to form at least a first sidewall portion defined between the edge and a basal region), the bending of the workpiece also forming a curved fold region in the sheet metal workpiece adjacent the first sidewall portion (Claim 1);
providing a first anvil tool with a tool surface for contact with and constraint of the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece (Claim 1);
providing a first forming tool with a tool surface for contact with and constraint of the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece (Claim 1);
contacting the sheet metal workpiece with the anvil tool and the forming tool, and progressively sliding the forming tool and the anvil tool along the curved fold region, respectively along the second surface and along the first surface, to cause shear material transfer in the curved fold region to further deform the curved fold region (Claim 1; the limitation starting “contacting the sheet metal workpiece” is interpreted as teaching this feature because the claim recites “the forming tool and/or the anvil tool,” i.e., this includes the forming tool and the anvil tool, and claim 1 also recites that the anvil tool contacts the first surface and the forming tool contacts the second surface, thus the progressive sliding of these tools is on the first and second surfaces, respectively).
Regarding claim 2, Allwood teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one edge comprises first and second edge regions (Claim 2), and wherein the method further comprises:
bending the workpiece to form a second sidewall portion respectively defined between the first and second edge regions and the basal region, and to define the curved fold region being located intermediate the first and second sidewall portions (Claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Allwood teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising iteratively repeating (Claim 3) steps of:
bending the workpiece to form first and second sidewall portions respectively defined between the first and second edge regions and the basal region, and the bending of the workpiece also forming to define a curved fold region intermediate the first and second sidewall portions (Claim 3);
providing a further anvil tool for contact with and constraint of the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece at the curved fold region (Claim 3);
providing a further forming tool for contact with and constraint of the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece at the curved fold region (Claim 3); and
contacting the sheet metal workpiece with further the anvil tool and the further forming tool, and progressively sliding the further forming tool and/or the further anvil tool along the curved fold region to cause shear material transfer in the curved fold region to further deform the curved fold region (Claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, Allwood teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first anvil tool and first forming tool have respective rounded tool surfaces (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Allwood teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first forming tool and/or the first anvil tool are progressively slid along the curved fold region in a direction away from the basal region during at least a portion of the sliding step (Claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Allwood teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first forming tool and/or the first anvil tool are progressively slid along the curved fold region laterally to the basal region during at least a portion of the sliding step (Claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, Allwood teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1, wherein the shear material transfer occurs as: (i) material transfer from the curved fold region to at least one sidewall portion; or (ii) material transfer to the curved fold region from at least one sidewall portion (Claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Allwood teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1 wherein the first and second sidewall portion respectively extend from the basal region to the edge of the workpiece (Claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, Allwood teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1, wherein in a cross section though the thickness of the workpiece, the curved fold region is ‘S’-shaped (Claim 9).
Regarding claim 10, Allwood teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1, further comprising the step of providing one or more bending tools to perform the step of bending the workpiece to form the sidewall portion(s) (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Allwood teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 10 wherein the bending tool(s) comprise one or more rods, one or more rollers, or one or more gripping members (Claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, Allwood teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 10, wherein the bending tool(s) constrain the sidewall portion(s) as the forming tool progressively slides over the curved fold region (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, Allwood teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1, wherein the anvil tool and/or the forming tool are multi-part tools (Claim 11).
Regarding claim 15, Allwood teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1 including the step of providing an additional tool set to hold the edge of the workpiece at the curved fold region during deformation of the curved fold region (Claim 12).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first anvil tool with a tool surface for contact with and constraint of the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece” in claims 1 and 17; “a first forming tool with a tool surface for contact with and constraint of the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece” in claims 1 and 17; “a further anvil tool for contact with and constraint of the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece” in claim 3; “a further forming tool for contact with and constraint of the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece” in claim 3; and “bending tools to perform the step of bending the workpiece to form the sidewall portions” in claim 10.
Regarding “a first anvil tool,” this phrase recites a generic placeholder (“anvil tool”) and a function (“for contact with and constraint of the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece”) without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as anvil tool 15 (Fig. 4; Pages 13-14 of the spec) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding “forming tool,” this phrase recites a generic placeholder (“forming tool”) and a function (“for contact with and constraint of the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece”) without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as forming tool 17 (Fig. 4; Pages 13-14 of the spec) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding “further anvil tool,” this phrase recites a generic placeholder (“further anvil tool”) and a function (“for contact with and constraint of the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece”) without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as anvil tool 115 (Fig. 5; Pages 16-17 of the spec) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding “further forming tool,” this phrase recites a generic placeholder (“further forming tool”) and a function (“for contact with and constraint of the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece”) without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as forming tool 117 (Fig. 5; Pages 16-17 of the spec) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding “bending tool,” this phrase recites a generic placeholder (“bending tool”) and a function (“to perform the step of bending the workpiece to form the sidewall portions”) without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as bending tool 23 (Figs. 4-5; Pages 13-14 of the spec) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 depends from claim 17, which is interpreted as being an apparatus capable of performing the method recited therein, which includes the apparatus having a first anvil tool and a first forming tool that are “operable to progressively slide…along the curved fold region.” Claim 18 recites “one or more further anvil tools and one or more further forming tools” and it is unclear how the further anvil and forming tools interact with the first anvil and forming tools of claim 17, i.e., is the apparatus also operable to progressively slide the further forming and anvil tools with the first forming and anvil tools or are the further forming and anvil tools used in place of the first forming and anvil tools. For the purposes of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as further forming and anvil tools are provided, but they are not required to interact with any other part of the apparatus, i.e., they do not have to be configured to contact or progressively slide with respect to the workpiece.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP H09 57381 A to Ochiai.
Regarding claim 17, Ochiai teaches a sheet metal working apparatus configured to perform a method for manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure (Figs. 3-8), the method comprising:
providing a sheet metal workpiece having first and second surfaces opposed to each other and at least one edge (Figs. 1, 3 and 5; the metal sheet has first and second surfaces and at least one edge);
providing one or more bending tools to perform bending of the workpiece to form at least a first sidewall portion defined between the edge and a basal region, the bending of the workpiece also forming a curved fold region in the sheet metal workpiece adjacent the first sidewall portion (Figs. 4-5; Para. [0020]; the workpiece is bent to form the sidewalls 13 and curved fold region, as shown in Fig. 5),
the apparatus comprising:
a first anvil tool 16 with a tool surface for contact with and constraint of the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece (Figs. 6-8; Paras. [0022]-[0024]);
a first forming tool 18 with a tool surface for contact with and constraint of the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece (Figs. 6-8; Paras. [0022]-[0024]),
the apparatus being operable to bring the sheet metal workpiece into contact with the anvil tool and the forming tool, and the apparatus further being operable to progressively slide the forming tool and the anvil tool along the curved fold region, respectively along the second surface and along the first surface, to cause shear material transfer in the curved fold region to further deform the curved fold region (Figs. 6-8 show the apparatus being operated in such a way that the workpiece is in contact with the anvil tool and the forming tool, and the forming tool is progressively slid along the second surface to deform the curved fold region and the anvil tool is capable of being progressively slid relative to the first surface), and
wherein the first anvil tool and first forming tool are configured to be moveable so as to maintain (i) a fixed distance between the forming tool and the anvil tool, or (ii) a fixed force on a sheet metal workpiece disposed between the forming tool and the anvil tool (Figs. 6-8; the tools are configured to movable while maintain a fixed distance between them, i.e., the distance corresponding to the thickness of the sheet each tool is contacting).
It is noted that, as discussed in MPEP 2114, "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). As such, Ochiai teaches the structural limitations of the claimed invention even if what it does is different than the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, Ochiai teaches the sheet metal working apparatus according to claim 17 (Figs. 3-8) and further comprising one or more further anvil tools 16S2-4 and one or more further forming tools 18, 19 (Figs. 6-8; Paras. [0021]-[0024]), the one or more further anvil tools and the one or more further forming tools configured to contact the sheet metal workpiece and progressively slide along the curved fold region (Figs. 6-8; Paras. [0021]-[0024]; claim 18 is an apparatus claim, and the one or more further anvil tools and forming tools of Ochiai are capable of being progressively slid along the curved fold region).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai in view of US 2016/0158821 A1 to Fujii.
Regarding claim 1, Ochiai teaches a method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure (Abstract), comprising the steps of:
providing a sheet metal workpiece having first and second surfaces opposed to each other and at least one edge (Figs. 3 and 5; Para. [0005]; the sheet is a metal sheet);
providing one or more bending tools to perform bending of the workpiece to form at least a first sidewall portion 13 defined between the edge and a basal region 12, the bending of the workpiece also forming a curved fold region 15 in the sheet metal workpiece adjacent the first sidewall portion (Figs. 3-5; Paras. [0005]-[0006] and [0020]; a bending process is performed to produce a workpiece having at least a first sidewall defined between the edge and basal region and a curved fold region, as shown in Fig. 3);
providing a first anvil tool 16 with a tool surface for contact with and constraint of the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece (Fig. 6; Paras. [0021]-[0023]);
providing a first forming tool 18 with a tool surface for contact with and constraint of the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece (Fig. 6; Paras. [0021]-[0023]);
contacting the sheet metal workpiece with the anvil tool 16 and the forming tool 18, and progressively sliding the forming tool 18 along the curved fold region, along the second surface, to cause shear material transfer in the curved fold region to further deform the curved fold region (Fig. 6; Paras. [0021]-[0023]).
Ochiai fails to explicitly teach progressively sliding the forming tool and the anvil tool along the curved fold region, respectively along the second surface and along the first surface.
Fujii teaches a method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure including a first anvil tool 37 for contact with the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece and a first forming tool 33 for contact with the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece (Fig. 9; Paras. [0101]-[0102]), and
progressively sliding the forming tool 33 and the anvil tool 37 along the curved fold region, respectively along the second surface and along the first surface, to cause shear material transfer in the curved fold region to further deform the curved fold region (Fig. 9; Paras. [0101]-[0102]; as shown in Fig. 9A, the dies 33 and 37 slide along the first and second surfaces while the curved region is being formed, as best seen by the position of the end of the sheet in the dashed line position after the sliding has been performed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Ochiai to include a movable anvil tool and the steps of contacting and progressively sliding the anvil and forming tools on the curved fold region as taught by Fujii so that any material can be formed into a product with sidewalls and curved fold region, thus allowing for products with decreases in weight and increases in strength (Fujii, Para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ochiai teaches the method according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-6), wherein the at least one edge comprises first and second edge regions (Figs. 3 and 5), and wherein the method further comprises:
bending the workpiece to form a second sidewall portion 13 respectively defined between the first and second edge regions and the basal region 12, the curved fold region 15 being located intermediate the first and second sidewall portions (Figs. 3 and 5 show the sheet including first and second sidewalls with the curved fold region between the sidewalls).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ochiai teaches the method according to claim 2 (Figs. 3-6), further comprising iteratively repeating steps of:
bending the workpiece to form first and second sidewall portions respectively defined between the first and second edge regions and the basal region, and the bending of the workpiece also forming a curved fold region intermediate the first and second sidewall portions (Fig. 4, Para. [0020]; the dies 41, 42 are used to bend the workpiece to form bend angles A, B, C, and D to create each of sidewalls, i.e., the bending is done iteratively to form each bend angle A, B, C, and D);
providing a further anvil tool 16S2-4 for contact with and constraint of the first surface of the sheet metal workpiece at the curved fold region (Figs. 7-9; Paras. [0023]-[0025]; the further anvil tools 16S2-4 are best seen in Fig. 8b);
providing a further forming tool 19 for contact with and constraint of the second surface of the sheet metal workpiece at the curved fold region (Figs. 7-9; Paras. [0023]-[0025]);
contacting the sheet metal workpiece with the further anvil tool and the further forming tool, and progressively sliding the further forming tool 19 and/or the further anvil tool 16S2-4 along the curved fold region to cause shear material transfer in the curved fold region to further deform the curved fold region (Figs. 7-9; Paras. [0023]-[0025]; as shown in Figs. 7-9, the tool 19 is slid along the surface of the sheet along the curved fold region to deform the region with further anvil tools 16S2-4 best shown in Fig. 8b).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ochiai teaches the method according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-7) wherein the first anvil tool(s) and first forming tool(s) have respective rounded tool surfaces (Fig. 6 shows the roller 18 has a rounded tool surface and the corner of die 16 has a rounded surface at the top corner where the bend is formed).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ochiai teaches the method according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-7) wherein the first forming tool and/or the first anvil tool are progressively slid along the curved fold region in a direction away from the basal region during at least a portion of the sliding step (Figs. 6-7; Figs. 7b-c shows that the forming tool 19 may be slid away from the basal region for the sliding step).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ochiai teaches the method according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-7) wherein the first forming tool and/or the first anvil tool are progressively slid along the curved fold region laterally to the basal region during at least a portion of the sliding step (Fig. 7b shows that the forming tool 19 may be slid laterally to the basal region during the sliding step).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ochiai teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-7) wherein the shear material transfer occurs as: (i) material transfer from the curved fold region to at least one sidewall portion; or (ii) material transfer to the curved fold region from at least one sidewall portion (Fig. 7b shows that the material transfer would take place from the curved fold region to the sidewall as the forming tool 19 is moved horizontally, e.g., T3 to T4 or T5 to T6).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ochiai teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-7) wherein the first and second sidewall portion respectively extend from the basal region to the edge of the workpiece (Fig. 5 shows that the sidewalls 13 each extend from the basal region to the edge of the workpiece).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ochiai teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-7) wherein in a cross section though the thickness of the workpiece, the curved fold region is ‘S’-shaped (Fig. 7c shows that the curved fold region has an S-shaped cross section for at least part of the forming process).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ochiai teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-7), further comprising the step of providing one or more bending tools 41, 42, 44 to perform the step of bending the workpiece to form the sidewall portion(s) (Fig. 4; Para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ochiai teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 10 wherein the bending tool(s) comprise one or more rods, one or more rollers, or one or more gripping members (Fig. 4; Para. [0020]; the bending tool includes one or more gripping members because the workpiece is gripped between tools 41, 42, 44).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ochiai teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 2 (Figs. 3-7) wherein after working, the first and second sidewall portion(s) and the curved fold region together define a continuous wall, upstanding from the basal region (Figs. 1 and 3 show that after working the first and second sidewall portions and the curved fold region define a continuous wall, i.e., no holes or gaps, and are upstanding from the basal region 12).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ochiai teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-8) wherein the anvil tool and/or the forming tool are multi-part tools (Fig. 8 shows that the forming tool has multiple parts, i.e., holder 17 and roller 19, and the anvil may also include multiple parts, e.g., subparts 16S2-4).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ochiai teaches the method of manufacturing a formed sheet metal structure according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-8) including the step of providing an additional tool set to hold the edge of the workpiece at the curved fold region during deformation of the curved fold region (Fig. 8 shows that an additional tool set 16S2 may be provided to hold the edge of the workpiece during deformation, i.e., the edge of the workpiece will be held against the tool 16S2 when the workpiece is pressed by tool 19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks dated February 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-18 under 35 USC 112 and claims 1-11 and 13-16 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. These rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new rejection is made of claims 1-15 in view of US 2016/0158821 A1 and claim 18 includes new indefiniteness issues, as discussed above.
Applicant's amendments and remarks regarding the rejections of claims 17-18 under 35 USC 102 and the double patenting rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 102 rejections of claims 17-18, as discussed in MPEP 2114, "apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Applicant has argued that the prior art fails to teach the apparatus of claim 17 because the claim has been amended to include the language of method claim 1. Remarks, P. 10. However, this argument is not persuasive because Ochiai teaches the structure of the apparatus claim while Applicant’s arguments are directed to what the device does.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, Applicant has indicated that a terminal disclaimer will be filed in the future.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725