DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 07/17/2026. Currently claims 1-3, and 5-21 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Handing et al. (DE 10 2017 120 533 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Handing”, in view of Arai et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0192751 B1), hereafter, referred to as “Arai”.
Regarding claim 1, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]), comprising: providing a partial tray, made of a first material, having a cruciform shape and four recessed comers; providing four, rounded corner inserts, made of a second material; and attaching each respective one of the four, rounded corner inserts to each respective one of the four recessed corners of the partial tray, thereby making a hybrid tray with four, attached rounded comers; by teaching to form a battery carrier in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the first material is different than the second material, by teaching that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from fiber-reinforced plastic materials (para. [0021]).
Handing also teaches that the method comprise of attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to each respective one of the four recessed comers of the partial tray comprises: providing four overlapping first bond surfaces of each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts; providing four overlapping second bond surfaces at each respective one of the four recessed corners of the partial tray; aligning and overlapping each respective one of the four first overlapping bond surfaces with each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces; and then forming four overlapping bond joints by attaching each respective one of the four overlapping first bond surfaces to each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces; by teaching in Fig. 4, that a tight coupling between corner connectors and side walls or end walls can be realized by means of gluing, whereby an overlap is mandatory for this purpose (element 24) of corner connector 11 and sidewall 4 by a minimum width B of 3 mm, but preferably not more than 30 mm is necessary, which is shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4.
Handing teaches the use of a molding process, for example, as injection molding with simultaneous injection molding of the corner connectors, to form the hybrid tray. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of laser-ablating pre-treatment process during the bonding of the plastic material to the metal plate. However, Arai teaches a method of laser bonding, which is a highly reliable laser bonding method for a thermoplastic resin and a metal, wherein the adhesiveness at an interface between a thermoplastic resin and a metal is improved to prevent peeling due to heat stress at the time of bonding. Accordingly, the method includes a step of forming an oxide layer having a higher oxygen functional group content than a bulk thermoplastic resin by subjecting at least a thermoplastic resin on the side of a bonding interface to a surface modification treatment prior to bonding, and the thermoplastic resin and a metal are bonded to each other by applying pressure and irradiating a laser in a state where the surface energy of the metal on the bonding surface side is increased to be larger than that of the thermoplastic resin having the oxide layer formed thereon (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Arai, and use a known technique of using a step of laser-ablating pre-treating each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces of the partial tray before attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to the partial tray, because that would results in a strong and permanent bond between the plastics and metal component of the hybrid tray.
Regarding claim 2, Handing teaches a method, wherein the first material comprises a metal, a steel alloy, a magnesium alloy, a titanium alloy, or an aluminum alloy, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching to use metal component.
Regarding claim 3, Handing teaches a method, wherein the second material comprises a polymeric material, a polymer/fiber composite material, a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite material, or a thermoset polymer/fiber composite material, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching to use fiber-reinforced plastic materials (para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Handing teaches a method, further comprising fabricating one or more mechanical interlocking features at each respective one of the four overlapping bond joints, thereby improving bond strength; by teaching the end walls or side walls may have a profiling and/or recess in the region of their end side. This profiling ensures an injection molded corner connector made of plastic to an additional positive coupling (para. [0023]). Handling further teaches that sidewall (4) or end wall (5) preferably have a profiling, so that in addition a positive engagement behind the molded corner connecting element (11) is provided. The corner connectors (11) embrace the end pages (12) inside and out. Fig. 15 shows an embossment or groove (22), whereas Fig. 16 shows individual undercuts or recess (23) that further promotes strength.
Regarding claim 6, Handing teaches a method, wherein a tight coupling between corner connectors and side walls or end walls are realized by means of gluing (para. [0033]). Handling also teaches that the plastic material, in particular characterized in that the corner connector is designed as a sealing patch, wherein the sealing patch is a band-shaped and/or film-like patch, in particular self-adhesive. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of non-conductive interlayer (adhesive). However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that it would be preferred to have electrical isolation between metal housings and plastic components in the battery tray primarily to prevent electrical short circuits, provide thermal and fire isolation, and manage galvanic corrosion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that a non-conductive interlayer would be used in battery trays for the combining the plastic and metal part together. Therefore, it would be obvious that the method would further comprise of: (4) providing four non-conductive interlayers; (5) placing each respective one of the four non-conductive interlayers between: (a) each respective one of the four overlapping first bond surfaces of each respective one of the four rounded comer inserts, and (b) each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces at each respective one of the four recessed comers of the partial tray; and wherein each respective one of the four non-conductive interlayers is configured to reduce galvanic corrosion between overlapping first and second bond surfaces.
Regarding claim 8, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches the use of a molding process, for example, as injection molding with simultaneous injection molding of the corner connectors, to form the hybrid tray. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of laser-ablating and/or plasma-treatment process during the bonding of the plastic material to the metal plate. However, Arai teaches a method of laser bonding, which is a highly reliable laser bonding method for a thermoplastic resin and a metal, wherein the adhesiveness at an interface between a thermoplastic resin and a metal is improved to prevent peeling due to heat stress at the time of bonding. Accordingly, the method includes a step of forming an oxide layer having a higher oxygen functional group content than a bulk thermoplastic resin by subjecting at least a thermoplastic resin on the side of a bonding interface to a surface modification treatment prior to bonding, and the thermoplastic resin and a metal are bonded to each other by applying pressure and irradiating a laser in a state where the surface energy of the metal on the bonding surface side is increased to be larger than that of the thermoplastic resin having the oxide layer formed thereon (abstract). Arai also teaches that the laser bonding method comprises of surface modification treatment, which is a dry treatment selected from a UV ozone treatment, a plasma treatment, a corona treatment, and a short-pulse laser treatment (claim 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Arai, and use a known technique of using a step of laser-ablating and/or plasma-treating each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces of the partial tray before attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to the partial tray, because that would results in a strong and permanent bond between the plastics and metal component of the hybrid tray.
Regarding claim 12, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]), comprising: providing a partial tray, made of a metal, having a cruciform-shape and four recessed corners; providing four rounded corner inserts, made of a polymer/fiber composite material; then attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to each respective one of the four recessed corners of the partial tray, thereby making a hybrid tray with four attached rounded corners;; by teaching to form a battery carrier in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the first material is different than the second material, by teaching that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from fiber-reinforced plastic materials (para. [0021]). Handing also teaches that the hybrid metal/composite tray is configured to be attached to a vehicle; and wherein the hybrid metal/composite tray is configured to hold one or more batteries; by teaching that the method relates to a battery carrier for an electric motor vehicle (abstract).
Handing also teaches that the method comprise of attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to each respective one of the four recessed comers of the partial tray comprises: providing four overlapping first bond surfaces of each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts; providing four overlapping second bond surfaces at each respective one of the four recessed corners of the partial tray; aligning and overlapping each respective one of the four first overlapping bond surfaces with each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces; and then forming four overlapping bond joints by attaching each respective one of the four overlapping first bond surfaces to each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces; by teaching in Fig. 4, that a tight coupling between corner connectors and side walls or end walls can be realized by means of gluing, whereby an overlap is mandatory for this purpose (element 24) of corner connector 11 and sidewall 4 by a minimum width B of 3 mm, but preferably not more than 30 mm is necessary, which is shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4.
Handing teaches the use of a molding process, for example, as injection molding with simultaneous injection molding of the corner connectors, to form the hybrid tray. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of laser-ablating pre-treatment process during the bonding of the plastic material to the metal plate. However, Arai teaches a method of laser bonding, which is a highly reliable laser bonding method for a thermoplastic resin and a metal, wherein the adhesiveness at an interface between a thermoplastic resin and a metal is improved to prevent peeling due to heat stress at the time of bonding. Accordingly, the method includes a step of forming an oxide layer having a higher oxygen functional group content than a bulk thermoplastic resin by subjecting at least a thermoplastic resin on the side of a bonding interface to a surface modification treatment prior to bonding, and the thermoplastic resin and a metal are bonded to each other by applying pressure and irradiating a laser in a state where the surface energy of the metal on the bonding surface side is increased to be larger than that of the thermoplastic resin having the oxide layer formed thereon (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Arai, and use a known technique of using a step of laser-ablating pre-treating each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces of the partial tray before attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to the partial tray, because that would results in a strong and permanent bond between the plastics and metal component of the hybrid tray. Additionally, the use of the method to form a hybrid metal/composite tray to be attached to a vehicle to hold none or more batteries is a matter of intended application.
Regarding claim 13, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]).
Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are compression molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a method comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout comers from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) cutting out four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts from one or more sheets of a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg material; (c) providing a press and a molding tool with four rounded corners; (d) placing each respective one of the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (e) press-fanning the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts on the four rounded corners of the molding tool to make four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; (f) placing the cruciform-shaped sheet onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the cruciform-shaped sheet and the four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; then (g) compressing the assembly using the press to make a compressed assembly; and then (h) curing the compressed assembly at an elevated temperature to form a structure, in light of Handing’s teaching to form a hybrid tray structure for use as a battery carrier.
Regarding claim 14, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]).
Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are compression molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a method comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout comers from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) providing a press and a molding tool having four rounded corners; (c) press-forming the cruciform-shaped sheet into a preformed partial tray using the molding tool; (d) cutting out four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts from one or more sheets of a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg material; (e) placing each respective one of the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts on each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (f) placing the preformed partial tray onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the preformed partial tray and the four, thermoplastic polymer/ fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; then (g) compressing the assembly using the press to make a compressed assembly; and then (h) curing the compressed assembly at an elevated temperature to form an hybrid tray structure, in light of Handing’s teaching to form a hybrid tray for use as a battery carrier.
Regarding claim 15, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]).
Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are compression molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a method comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout corners from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) providing a press and a molding tool having four rounded corners; (c) press-forming the cruciform-shaped sheet into a preformed partial tray using the molding tool; (d) cutting out four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts from one or more sheets of a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg material; (e) placing each respective one of the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (f) press-forming the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts on the molding tool, thereby making four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; then (g) placing the preformed partial tray onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts and the preformed partial tray; then (h) compressing the assembly using the press to make a compressed assembly; and then (i) curing the compressed assembly at an elevated temperature to form an hybrid tray structure, in light of Handing’s teaching to form a hybrid tray for use as a battery carrier.
Regarding claim 16, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray), wherein the second material further comprises glass fibers, carbon fibers, graphite fibers, metal fibers, ceramic fibers, polymer fibers, or natural fibers, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching to use GMT (Glass Mat Reinforced Thermoplastics) (para. [0021}, which is a high-performance, lightweight composite material made of a thermoplastic resin matrix (like polypropylene or polyamide) reinforced with continuous or long glass fiber mats.
Regarding claim 17, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray), wherein the first material comprises a metal, a steel alloy, a magnesium alloy, a titanium alloy, or an aluminum alloy, and/or combinations thereof; and wherein the second material comprises a polymeric material, a polymer/fiber composite material, a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite material, or a thermoset polymer/fiber composite material, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from fiber-reinforced plastic materials (para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 18, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray), wherein the second material further comprises glass fibers, carbon fibers, graphite fibers, metal fibers, ceramic fibers, polymer fibers, or natural fibers, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching to use GMT (Glass Mat Reinforced Thermoplastics) (para. [0021}.
Regarding claim 19, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]).
Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are compression molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a method of manufacturing a hybrid metal/composite tray, comprising: cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped metal sheet, and then removing four cutout corners from the rectangular metal sheet to make a cruciform-shaped metal sheet with four recessed corners; cutting out four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts from one or more sheets of a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg material; providing a press and a molding tool with four rounded corners; placing each respective one of the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; press-forming the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts on the molding tool to make four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts; placing the cruciform-shaped metal sheet onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the cruciform-shaped metal sheet and the four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; then compressing the assembly using the press to make a compressed assembly; and then curing the compressed assembly at an elevated temperature, thereby making a hybrid metal/composite tray to form an hybrid tray structure, in light of Handing’s teaching to form a hybrid tray for use as a battery carrier.
Handing also teaches that the method comprise of attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to each respective one of the four recessed comers of the partial tray comprises: providing four overlapping first bond surfaces of each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts; providing four overlapping second bond surfaces at each respective one of the four recessed corners of the partial tray; aligning and overlapping each respective one of the four first overlapping bond surfaces with each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces; and then forming four overlapping bond joints by attaching each respective one of the four overlapping first bond surfaces to each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces; by teaching in Fig. 4, that a tight coupling between corner connectors and side walls or end walls can be realized by means of gluing, whereby an overlap is mandatory for this purpose (element 24) of corner connector 11 and sidewall 4 by a minimum width B of 3 mm, but preferably not more than 30 mm is necessary, which is shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4.
Handing teaches the use of a molding process, for example, as injection molding with simultaneous injection molding of the corner connectors, to form the hybrid tray. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of laser-ablating pre-treatment process during the bonding of the plastic material to the metal plate. However, Arai teaches a method of laser bonding, which is a highly reliable laser bonding method for a thermoplastic resin and a metal, wherein the adhesiveness at an interface between a thermoplastic resin and a metal is improved to prevent peeling due to heat stress at the time of bonding. Accordingly, the method includes a step of forming an oxide layer having a higher oxygen functional group content than a bulk thermoplastic resin by subjecting at least a thermoplastic resin on the side of a bonding interface to a surface modification treatment prior to bonding, and the thermoplastic resin and a metal are bonded to each other by applying pressure and irradiating a laser in a state where the surface energy of the metal on the bonding surface side is increased to be larger than that of the thermoplastic resin having the oxide layer formed thereon (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Arai, and use a known technique of using a step of laser-ablating pre-treating each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces of the partial tray before attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to the partial tray, because that would results in a strong and permanent bond between the plastics and metal component of the hybrid tray.
Regarding claim 20, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray), wherein the hybrid metal/composite tray is configured to be attached to a vehicle; wherein the hybrid metal/composite tray is configured to hold one or more batteries; and wherein the cruciform-shaped metal sheet comprises a steel alloy or an aluminum alloy; by teaching that the method relates to a battery carrier for an electric motor vehicle (abstract), and teaching the use of steel material or a light metal alloy for the tray material (para. [0019], and [0021]).
Regarding claim 21, Arai teaches plasma-treating each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces of the partial tray before, or after, laser-treating each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces of the partial tray; by teaching that the laser bonding method comprises of surface modification treatment, which is a dry treatment selected from a UV ozone treatment, a plasma treatment, a corona treatment, and a short-pulse laser treatment (claim 2).
Claims 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Handing et al. (DE 10 2017 120 533 A1), in view of Arai et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0192751 B1), in view of Cano et al. (US Patent Number 7,595,112 B1), hereafter, referred to as “Cano”.
Regarding claim 7, Handing and Arai teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches the use of injection molding process, for example, as injection molding with simultaneous injection molding of the corner connectors, to form the hybrid tray. But the references fail to explicitly teach the use of resin transfer molding (RTM) process to form the hybrid tray. However, Cano teaches a resin transfer molding process for fabricating a metal/composite hybrid laminate comprising the steps of: providing a solid base; stacking at least one layered arrangement on said solid base; introducing a resin in its liquid state along a portion of said layered structure wherein said differential pressure causes said resin to permeate said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement and curing said resin after said resin permeates said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement (claim 7). The resin transfer molding process do not require complex tooling as required for injection molding process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Cano, and use a resin transfer molding (RTM) process, substituting an injection molding process to form the metal-plastic hybrid composite to obtain predictable results, because the process would not require complex tooling (KSR Rationale B, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with forming metal-plastic composite article, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the substitution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the process would be comprising of: (4) providing an upper molding tool and a lower molding tool; (5) placing a removable gasket in-between the upper molding tool and the lower molding tool to ensure sealing of the tool; and (6) controlling and reducing flow of injected liquid resin with the removable gasket when attaching each respective one of the four rounded comer inserts to the partial tray with a Resin Transfer Molding (RTM) process.
Regarding claim 9, Handing and Arai teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]).
Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method would be comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout comers from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) cutting out four, fibrous preform corner inserts from one or more sheets of a fibrous material; (c) providing a press and a molding tool with four rounded corners; (d) draping each respective one of the four, fibrous preform corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (e) press-forming the four, fibrous preform comer inserts on the four rounded corners of the molding tool to make four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts; (f) placing the cruciform-shaped sheet onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the cruciform-shaped sheet and the four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts to form the structure.
But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of resin transfer molding (RTM) process to form the hybrid tray. However, Cano teaches a resin transfer molding process for fabricating a metal/composite hybrid laminate comprising the steps of: providing a solid base; stacking at least one layered arrangement on said solid base; introducing a resin in its liquid state along a portion of said layered structure wherein said differential pressure causes said resin to permeate said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement and curing said resin after said resin permeates said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement (claim 7). The resin transfer molding process do not require complex tooling as required for injection molding process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Cano, and combine the steps of (g) using a Resin Transfer Molding (RTM) process to inject thermoset resin around each respective one of the four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts and the cruciform-shaped sheet; and then (h) compressing and curing the assembly in the press; to form the metal-plastic hybrid composite to obtain predictable results, because the process would not require complex tooling (KSR Rationale B, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with forming metal-plastic composite article, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the substitution.
Regarding claim 10, Handing and Arai teaches Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]).
Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method would be comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout corners from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) providing a press and a molding tool having four rounded corners; (c) press-forming the cruciform-shaped sheet into a preformed partial tray using the molding tool; (d) cutting out four, fibrous preform corner inserts from one or more sheets of a fibrous material; (e) draping each respective one of the four, fibrous preform comer inserts on each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (f) placing the preformed partial tray onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the preformed partial tray and the four, fibrous preform corner inserts to form the structure.
But the references fail to explicitly teach the use of resin transfer molding (RTM) process to form the hybrid tray. However, Cano teaches a resin transfer molding process for fabricating a metal/composite hybrid laminate comprising the steps of: providing a solid base; stacking at least one layered arrangement on said solid base; introducing a resin in its liquid state along a portion of said layered structure wherein said differential pressure causes said resin to permeate said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement and curing said resin after said resin permeates said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement (claim 7). The resin transfer molding process do not require complex tooling as required for injection molding process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Cano, and combine the steps of (g) using a Resin Transfer Molding (RIM) process to inject thermoset resin around each respective one of the four, fibrous preform comer inserts and the preformed partial tray; and then (h) compressing and curing the assembly in the press; to form the metal-plastic hybrid composite to obtain predictable results, because the process would not require complex tooling (KSR Rationale B, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with forming metal-plastic composite article, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the substitution.
Regarding claim 11, Handing and Arai teaches Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]).
Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method would be comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout corners from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) providing a press and a molding tool having four rounded corners; (c) press-forming the cruciform-shaped sheet into a preformed partial tray using the molding tool; (d) cutting out four, fibrous preform corner inserts from one or more sheets of a fibrous material; (e) draping each respective one of the four, fibrous preform corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (f) press-forming the four, fibrous preform comer inserts on the molding tool, thereby making four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts; then (g) placing the preformed partial tray onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts and the preformed partial tray to form the structure.
But the references fail to explicitly teach the use of resin transfer molding (RTM) process to form the hybrid tray. However, Cano teaches a resin transfer molding process for fabricating a metal/composite hybrid laminate comprising the steps of: providing a solid base; stacking at least one layered arrangement on said solid base; introducing a resin in its liquid state along a portion of said layered structure wherein said differential pressure causes said resin to permeate said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement and curing said resin after said resin permeates said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement (claim 7). The resin transfer molding process do not require complex tooling as required for injection molding process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Cano, and combine the steps of (h) using a Resin Transfer Molding (RIM) process to inject thermoset resin around each respective one of the four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts and the preformed partial tray; and then (i) compressing and curing the assembly in the press; to form the metal-plastic hybrid composite to obtain predictable results, because the process would not require complex tooling (KSR Rationale B, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with forming metal-plastic composite article, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the substitution.
Responses to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on 07/17/2026 for the rejections has been fully considered, but they are moot, as the examiner uses a new ground of rejection to address the claim set (including the amended claims and new claim 21), and the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Because the rejections are being maintained on the amended independent claim, and since there is no substantive arguments on the rejections against the references applied against rest of the dependent claims, these rejections are being maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742