CTNF 18/787,213 CTNF 93366 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office action is in response to the application filed on 07/29/2024. Currently claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-5, 12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 as being anticipated over Handing et al. (DE 10 2017 120 533 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Handing”. Regarding claim 1, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]), comprising: (1) providing a partial tray, made of a first material, having a cruciform shape and four recessed comers; (2) providing four, rounded corner inserts, made of a second material; and (3) attaching each respective one of the four, rounded corner inserts to each respective one of the four recessed corners of the partial tray, thereby making a hybrid tray with four, attached rounded comers; by teaching to form a battery carrier in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the first material is different than the second material, by teaching that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from fiber-reinforced plastic materials (para. [0021]). Regarding claim 2, Handing teaches a method, wherein the first material comprises a metal, a steel alloy, a magnesium alloy, a titanium alloy, or an aluminum alloy, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching to use metal component. Regarding claim 3, Handing teaches a method, wherein the second material comprises a polymeric material, a polymer/fiber composite material, a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite material, or a thermoset polymer/fiber composite material, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching to use fiber-reinforced plastic materials (para. [0021]). Regarding claim 4, Handing teaches a method, wherein attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to each respective one of the four recessed comers of the partial tray comprises: (4) providing four overlapping first bond surfaces of each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts; (5) providing four overlapping second bond surfaces at each respective one of the four recessed corners of the partial tray; (6) aligning and overlapping each respective one of the four first overlapping bond surfaces with each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces; and then (7) forming four overlapping bond joints by attaching each respective one of the four overlapping first bond surfaces to each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces; by teaching in Fig. 4, that a tight coupling between corner connectors and side walls or end walls can be realized by means of gluing, whereby an overlap is mandatory for this purpose (element 24) of corner connector 11 and sidewall 4 by a minimum width B of 3 mm, but preferably not more than 30 mm is necessary, which is shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4. Regarding claim 5, Handing teaches a method, further comprising fabricating one or more mechanical interlocking features at each respective one of the four overlapping bond joints, thereby improving bond strength; by teaching the end walls or side walls may have a profiling and/or recess in the region of their end side. This profiling ensures an injection molded corner connector made of plastic to an additional positive coupling (para. [0023]). Handling further teaches that sidewall (4) or end wall (5) preferably have a profiling, so that in addition a positive engagement behind the molded corner connecting element (11) is provided. The corner connectors (11) embrace the end pages (12) inside and out. Fig. 15 shows an embossment or groove (22), whereas Fig. 16 shows individual undercuts or recess (23) that further promotes strength. Regarding claim 12, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]), comprising: (1) providing a partial tray, made of a metal, having a cruciform-shape and four recessed corners; (2) providing four rounded corner inserts, made of a polymer/fiber composite material; then (3) attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to each respective one of the four recessed corners of the partial tray, thereby making a hybrid tray with four attached rounded corners;; by teaching to form a battery carrier in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the first material is different than the second material, by teaching that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from fiber-reinforced plastic materials (para. [0021]). Handing also teaches that the hybrid metal/composite tray is configured to be attached to a vehicle; and wherein the hybrid metal/composite tray is configured to hold one or more batteries; by teaching that the method relates to a battery carrier for an electric motor vehicle (abstract). Additionally, the use of the method to form a hybrid metal/composite tray to be attached to a vehicle to hold none or more batteries is a matter of intended application. Regarding claim 16, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray), wherein the second material further comprises glass fibers, carbon fibers, graphite fibers, metal fibers, ceramic fibers, polymer fibers, or natural fibers, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching to use GMT (Glass Mat Reinforced Thermoplastics) (para. [0021}, which is a high-performance, lightweight composite material made of a thermoplastic resin matrix (like polypropylene or polyamide) reinforced with continuous or long glass fiber mats. Regarding claim 17, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray), wherein the first material comprises a metal, a steel alloy, a magnesium alloy, a titanium alloy, or an aluminum alloy, and/or combinations thereof; and wherein the second material comprises a polymeric material, a polymer/fiber composite material, a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite material, or a thermoset polymer/fiber composite material, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from fiber-reinforced plastic materials (para. [0021]). Regarding claim 18, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray), wherein the second material further comprises glass fibers, carbon fibers, graphite fibers, metal fibers, ceramic fibers, polymer fibers, or natural fibers, and/or combinations thereof; by teaching to use GMT (Glass Mat Reinforced Thermoplastics) (para. [0021}. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 103 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 6, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious Handing et al. (DE 10 2017 120 533 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Handing”. Regarding claim 6, Handing teaches a method, wherein a tight coupling between corner connectors and side walls or end walls are realized by means of gluing (para. [0033]). Handling also teaches that the plastic material, in particular characterized in that the corner connector is designed as a sealing patch, wherein the sealing patch is a band-shaped and/or film-like patch, in particular self-adhesive. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of non-conductive interlayer (adhesive). However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that it would be preferred to have electrical isolation between metal housings and plastic components in the battery tray primarily to prevent electrical short circuits, provide thermal and fire isolation, and manage galvanic corrosion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that a non-conductive interlayer would be used in battery trays for the combining the plastic and metal part together. Therefore, it would be obvious that the method would further comprise of: (4) providing four non-conductive interlayers; (5) placing each respective one of the four non-conductive interlayers between: (a) each respective one of the four overlapping first bond surfaces of each respective one of the four rounded comer inserts, and (b) each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces at each respective one of the four recessed comers of the partial tray; and wherein each respective one of the four non-conductive interlayers is configured to reduce galvanic corrosion between overlapping first and second bond surfaces. Regarding claim 13, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are compression molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a method comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout comers from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) cutting out four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts from one or more sheets of a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg material; (c) providing a press and a molding tool with four rounded corners; (d) placing each respective one of the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (e) press-fanning the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts on the four rounded corners of the molding tool to make four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; (f) placing the cruciform-shaped sheet onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the cruciform-shaped sheet and the four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; then (g) compressing the assembly using the press to make a compressed assembly; and then (h) curing the compressed assembly at an elevated temperature to form a structure, in light of Handing’s teaching to form a hybrid tray structure for use as a battery carrier. Regarding claim 14, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are compression molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a method comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout comers from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) providing a press and a molding tool having four rounded corners; (c) press-forming the cruciform-shaped sheet into a preformed partial tray using the molding tool; (d) cutting out four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts from one or more sheets of a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg material; (e) placing each respective one of the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts on each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (f) placing the preformed partial tray onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the preformed partial tray and the four, thermoplastic polymer/ fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; then (g) compressing the assembly using the press to make a compressed assembly; and then (h) curing the compressed assembly at an elevated temperature to form an hybrid tray structure, in light of Handing’s teaching to form a hybrid tray for use as a battery carrier. Regarding claim 15, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are compression molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a method comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout corners from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) providing a press and a molding tool having four rounded corners; (c) press-forming the cruciform-shaped sheet into a preformed partial tray using the molding tool; (d) cutting out four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts from one or more sheets of a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg material; (e) placing each respective one of the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (f) press-forming the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts on the molding tool, thereby making four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; then (g) placing the preformed partial tray onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts and the preformed partial tray; then (h) compressing the assembly using the press to make a compressed assembly; and then (i) curing the compressed assembly at an elevated temperature to form an hybrid tray structure, in light of Handing’s teaching to form a hybrid tray for use as a battery carrier. Regarding claim 19, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are compression molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a method of manufacturing a hybrid metal/composite tray, comprising: (1) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped metal sheet, and then removing four cutout corners from the rectangular metal sheet to make a cruciform-shaped metal sheet with four recessed corners; (2) cutting out four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts from one or more sheets of a thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg material; (3) providing a press and a molding tool with four rounded corners; (4) placing each respective one of the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (5) press-forming the four, thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts on the molding tool to make four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg comer inserts; (6) placing the cruciform-shaped metal sheet onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the cruciform-shaped metal sheet and the four, rounded thermoplastic polymer/fiber composite prepreg corner inserts; then (7) compressing the assembly using the press to make a compressed assembly; and then (8) curing the compressed assembly at an elevated temperature, thereby making a hybrid metal/composite tray to form an hybrid tray structure, in light of Handing’s teaching to form a hybrid tray for use as a battery carrier. Regarding claim 20, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray), wherein the hybrid metal/composite tray is configured to be attached to a vehicle; wherein the hybrid metal/composite tray is configured to hold one or more batteries; and wherein the cruciform-shaped metal sheet comprises a steel alloy or an aluminum alloy; by teaching that the method relates to a battery carrier for an electric motor vehicle (abstract), and teaching the use of steel material or a light metal alloy for the tray material (para. [0019], and [0021]). Claims 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Handing et al. (DE 10 2017 120 533 A1), in view of Cano et al. (US Patent Number 7,595,112 B1), hereafter, referred to as “Cano”. Regarding claim 7, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches the use of injection molding process, for example, as injection molding with simultaneous injection molding of the corner connectors, to form the hybrid tray. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of resin transfer molding (RTM) process to form the hybrid tray. However, Cano teaches a resin transfer molding process for fabricating a metal/composite hybrid laminate comprising the steps of: providing a solid base; stacking at least one layered arrangement on said solid base; introducing a resin in its liquid state along a portion of said layered structure wherein said differential pressure causes said resin to permeate said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement and curing said resin after said resin permeates said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement (claim 7). The resin transfer molding process do not require complex tooling as required for injection molding process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Cano, and use a resin transfer molding (RTM) process, substituting an injection molding process to form the metal-plastic hybrid composite to obtain predictable results, because the process would not require complex tooling (KSR Rationale B, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with forming metal-plastic composite article, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the substitution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the process would be comprising of: (4) providing an upper molding tool and a lower molding tool; (5) placing a removable gasket in-between the upper molding tool and the lower molding tool to ensure sealing of the tool; and (6) controlling and reducing flow of injected liquid resin with the removable gasket when attaching each respective one of the four rounded comer inserts to the partial tray with a Resin Transfer Molding (RTM) process. Regarding claim 9, Handing teaches Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method would be comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout comers from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) cutting out four, fibrous preform corner inserts from one or more sheets of a fibrous material; (c) providing a press and a molding tool with four rounded corners; (d) draping each respective one of the four, fibrous preform corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (e) press-forming the four, fibrous preform comer inserts on the four rounded corners of the molding tool to make four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts; (f) placing the cruciform-shaped sheet onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the cruciform-shaped sheet and the four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts to form the structure. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of resin transfer molding (RTM) process to form the hybrid tray. However, Cano teaches a resin transfer molding process for fabricating a metal/composite hybrid laminate comprising the steps of: providing a solid base; stacking at least one layered arrangement on said solid base; introducing a resin in its liquid state along a portion of said layered structure wherein said differential pressure causes said resin to permeate said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement and curing said resin after said resin permeates said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement (claim 7). The resin transfer molding process do not require complex tooling as required for injection molding process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Cano, and combine the steps of (g) using a Resin Transfer Molding (RTM) process to inject thermoset resin around each respective one of the four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts and the cruciform-shaped sheet; and then (h) compressing and curing the assembly in the press; to form the metal-plastic hybrid composite to obtain predictable results, because the process would not require complex tooling (KSR Rationale B, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with forming metal-plastic composite article, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the substitution. Regarding claim 10, Handing teaches Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method would be comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout corners from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) providing a press and a molding tool having four rounded corners; (c) press-forming the cruciform-shaped sheet into a preformed partial tray using the molding tool; (d) cutting out four, fibrous preform corner inserts from one or more sheets of a fibrous material; (e) draping each respective one of the four, fibrous preform comer inserts on each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (f) placing the preformed partial tray onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the preformed partial tray and the four, fibrous preform corner inserts to form the structure. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of resin transfer molding (RTM) process to form the hybrid tray. However, Cano teaches a resin transfer molding process for fabricating a metal/composite hybrid laminate comprising the steps of: providing a solid base; stacking at least one layered arrangement on said solid base; introducing a resin in its liquid state along a portion of said layered structure wherein said differential pressure causes said resin to permeate said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement and curing said resin after said resin permeates said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement (claim 7). The resin transfer molding process do not require complex tooling as required for injection molding process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Cano, and combine the steps of (g) using a Resin Transfer Molding (RIM) process to inject thermoset resin around each respective one of the four, fibrous preform comer inserts and the preformed partial tray; and then (h) compressing and curing the assembly in the press; to form the metal-plastic hybrid composite to obtain predictable results, because the process would not require complex tooling (KSR Rationale B, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with forming metal-plastic composite article, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the substitution. Regarding claim 11, Handing teaches Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray) (para. [0027]). Handing teaches in Fig. 1, wherein a partial tray (1) which is designed as a sheet-metal component, characterized in that the tray (1) as a bending component having at least two opposite side walls (4), which are made in one piece and material from a sheet metal blank with the bottom (3) is formed (claim 1), and having the end walls (5) are formed integrally and with the same material with the bottom (3) (claim 3), and corner connecting elements (11) connecting the side wall, end wall (5), and the bottom(3) (claims 1-3). Handling also teaches that the end walls themselves may also be made in one piece by the bending and material uniform connected to the ground (para. [0016]). Handing further teaches that the partial tray (1) is made from sheet-metal (claim 1), and the inserted corners (11) are made from plastic materials. The corner connecting elements are made of a plastic material, in particular of a fiber-reinforced plastic material (para. [0021]). Subsequently, the corner connecting elements are molded in the respective corner areas. The plastic then cures and connects the respective end sides of side walls and end walls tightly and firmly together (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method would be comprising of: (a) cutting a rectangular metal sheet into a cruciform-shaped sheet, and then removing four cutout corners from the rectangular metal sheet; (b) providing a press and a molding tool having four rounded corners; (c) press-forming the cruciform-shaped sheet into a preformed partial tray using the molding tool; (d) cutting out four, fibrous preform corner inserts from one or more sheets of a fibrous material; (e) draping each respective one of the four, fibrous preform corner inserts onto each respective one of the four rounded corners of the molding tool; (f) press-forming the four, fibrous preform comer inserts on the molding tool, thereby making four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts; then (g) placing the preformed partial tray onto the molding tool, thereby making an assembly comprising the four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts and the preformed partial tray to form the structure. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of resin transfer molding (RTM) process to form the hybrid tray. However, Cano teaches a resin transfer molding process for fabricating a metal/composite hybrid laminate comprising the steps of: providing a solid base; stacking at least one layered arrangement on said solid base; introducing a resin in its liquid state along a portion of said layered structure wherein said differential pressure causes said resin to permeate said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement and curing said resin after said resin permeates said fibrous material of each said layered arrangement (claim 7). The resin transfer molding process do not require complex tooling as required for injection molding process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Cano, and combine the steps of (h) using a Resin Transfer Molding (RIM) process to inject thermoset resin around each respective one of the four, rounded fibrous preform corner inserts and the preformed partial tray; and then (i) compressing and curing the assembly in the press; to form the metal-plastic hybrid composite to obtain predictable results, because the process would not require complex tooling (KSR Rationale B, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with forming metal-plastic composite article, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the substitution. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Handing et al. (DE 10 2017 120 533 A1), in view of Hicks et al. (US Patent Number 8,632,651 B1), hereafter, referred to as “Hicks”. Regarding claim 8, Handing teaches a method of manufacturing a battery carrier (equivalent to hybrid tray). Handing teaches the use of a molding process, for example, as injection molding with simultaneous injection molding of the corner connectors, to form the hybrid tray. But Handing fails to explicitly teach the use of laser-ablating and/or plasma-treatment process during the bonding of the plastic material to the metal plate. However, Hicks teaches a method of bonding a composite, including the steps of exposing a surface of a composite work piece to a reactive gas beam from an atmospheric pressure plasma delivery device, applying adhesive to at least portion of the surface after exposure to the reactive gas beam, and joining the composite work piece to a second work piece with the applied adhesive. The atmospheric pressure plasma delivery device projects the reactive gas beam exterior to the atmospheric pressure plasma delivery device from a head. The projected reactive gas beam may comprise a reactive oxygen species (column 3, lines 50-60). Hicks also teaches that the second work piece may be a second material selected from the group consisting of a composite, a metal, and a ceramic (column 4, lines 36-39). Hicks further teaches that the process results in strong and permanent bond (column 3, lines 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Hicks, and use a known technique of using a step of laser-ablating and/or plasma-treating each respective one of the four overlapping second bond surfaces of the partial tray before attaching each respective one of the four rounded corner inserts to the partial tray, because that would results in a strong and permanent bond between the plastics and metal component of the hybrid tray. Conclusion 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMAD M AMEEN whose telephone number is (469) 295 9214 . The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm (Central Time). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.usp to. gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christina Johnson can be reached on (571) 272-1176 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000 . /MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 2 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 3 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 4 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 5 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 6 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 7 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 8 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 9 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 10 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 11 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 12 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 13 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 14 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 15 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 16 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 17 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 18 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 19 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 18/787,213 Page 20 Art Unit: 1742