DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the roller guide must be shown in Fig. 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 include the phrase “regular hexagon”. Examiner notes 1.) that this term is known in the art to mean an equiangular and equilateral hexagon, but 2.) applicant has clearly redefined the claim term to mean “a polygon having at least six sides and corners” wherein the corner don’t have to be sharp, but can have “roundings, chamfers or similar transitions” (spec., Pg. 4, Lines 14-17).
Examiner also notes that that a 60° rotation between adjacent sides implies that there are only 6 sides as more than 6 sides would lead to a smaller angle of rotation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes the phrase “when viewed along the rolling axis”. This claim is indefinite because how an object is viewed doesn’t impact the structural limitation of how many sides the object has.
Claim 1 includes the phrase “at least in an imaginary extension”. This phrase is indefinite because it is unclear what the imaginary extension is.
Claim 3 includes the limitation “comprising two pairs of coupling clamping regions”. This limitation is indefinite because it is unclear if these two pairs of coupling clamping regions is inclusive of the pair of coupling clamping regions introduced in claim 2.
Claim 4 includes the limitation “comprising three pairs of coupling clamping regions”. This limitation is indefinite because it is unclear if these three pairs of coupling clamping regions is inclusive of the pair of coupling clamping regions introduced in claim 2.
All claims dependent on rejected claims are likewise rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ralf (DE102020206535) in view of Cattaneo et al. (US 5,765,423), hereinafter referred to as Cattaneo.
Re Claim 1, Ralf discloses a stand (rolling stand 1) for rolling metal rods, wires, or pipes, along a rolling axis, comprising:
three rollers (three rolls 3) located on a respective roller shaft (“The torque is transmitted to the roller 3 via a coupling half 6, which is mounted non-rotatably on a roller shaft 7” [0048]) and the three rollers surrounding the rolling axis in a star-shaped manner collectively forming a caliber (“three rolls 3 are arranged in a star shape, enclosing a rolling axis 4 and defining a caliber by their mutual distance or the distance from the central rolling axis 4” [0048]);
a stand housing (stand housing 2) having an outside comprising at least six side surfaces (see Fig. 1, first illustration below), and two end faces that are opposite one another (see Fig. 1, first illustration below); and
Fig. 1 of Ralf, first illustration
a roller guide (adjusting device 17) attached to one of the end faces of the stand housing (adjusting device 17 is attached to the end face of the stand housing via the side surface of the stand housing), the roller guide comprising a universal shaft (shaft 18), wherein the universal shaft comprises a roller adjustment connector (bevel gear 14) configured to enable a central adjustment of the roller guide (“A key for turning the shaft 18, the bevel gear 19 and thus also the associated eccentric bushing 14 via the toothed segment 20 can be attached to a coupling piece 21 which is non-rotatably connected to the shaft 18. Since this - like all eccentric bushings 14 - is connected to the associated eccentric bushing 15 in a rotationally fixed and space-holding manner via a connecting bracket 22 encompassing the roller 3, and the tooth segments 16 transmit the rotary movement to the eccentric bushings 14 , 15 of all roller shafts 7, all eccentric bushings 14 , 15 and thus the rollers 3 are adjusted synchronously in the radial direction and the caliber is changed.” [0051]).
Ralf fails to disclose a stand housing having an outside comprising at least six side surfaces when viewed along the rolling axis that are arranged so as to be offset about the rolling axis by a 60° rotation between adjacent side surfaces, wherein the side surfaces form a regular hexagon, at least in an imaginary extension and wherein the roller adjustment connector is attached to the stand housing in a corner of the hexagon.
Cattaneo teaches a stand housing (enclosing roll carrier 10) having an outside comprising at least six side surfaces (see Fig. 3, illustrated below) when viewed along the rolling axis that are arranged so as to be offset about the rolling axis by a 60° rotation between adjacent side surfaces (see Fig. 3, illustrated below), wherein the side surfaces form a regular hexagon, at least in an imaginary extension (see Fig. 3, illustrated below).
Fig. 3, of Cattaneo
Ralf and Cattaneo include each element claimed although not necessarily in a single reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the Ralf and Cattaneo by using a hexagonal stand housing in Ralf as done in Cattaneo and, that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Examiner notes that once the combination is made the roller adjustment connector will be attached to the stand housing in a corner of the hexagon if the alignment between the adjusting device and rollers of Ralf is maintained. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re Claim 2, Ralf, in view of Cattaneo, discloses the stand according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and further discloses that the stand housing comprises at least one pair of coupling clamping regions (See Fig. 1 of Ralf, second illustration below. third coupling clamping region) arranged in one corner of the hexagon and on which the roller adjustment connector is attached (See Fig. 1 of Ralf, second illustration below), wherein a first coupling clamping region of the pair is arranged on one of the end faces (Third Coupling Clamping region has one region arranged on one end face and one region arranged opposing on the opposite end face) and a second coupling clamping region of the pair is arranged on the other of the end faces (Third Coupling Clamping region has one region arranged on one end face and one region arranged opposing on the opposite end face).
Fig. 1 of Ralf, Second Illustration
Re Claim 3, Ralf, in view of Cattaneo, discloses the stand according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), comprising two pairs of coupling clamping regions, a first pair of coupling clamping regions arranged in one corner of the hexagon (third coupling clamp region. See Fig. 1 of Ralf, second illustration above) and a second pair of coupling clamping regions arranged in a corner of the hexagon offset about the rolling axis by a 120° rotation from the corner of the first pair of coupling clamping regions (first coupling clamp region. See Fig. 1 of Ralf, second illustration above), wherein the roller adjustment connector is attached to one of said pairs (adjusting device 17 is attached to third coupling clamp region).
Re Claim 4, Ralf, in view of Cattaneo, discloses the stand according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), comprising three pairs of coupling clamping regions, a first pair of the pairs of coupling clamping regions arranged in one corner of the hexagon (second coupling clamp region. See Fig. 1 of Ralf, second illustration above) and the other two pairs of coupling clamping regions arranged in corners adjacent to the corner of the first pair (first and third coupling clamp region. See Fig. 1 of Ralf, second illustration above), wherein the roller adjustment connector is attached to one of said pairs (adjusting device 17 is attached to third coupling clamp region).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ralf, in view of Cattaneo, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cernuschi et al. (WO2017/068533), hereinafter referred to as Cernuschi.
Re Claim 5, Ralf, in view of Cattaneo, discloses the stand according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose that the stand housing comprises at least one operating material connection on at least one of the end faces, and wherein the roller guide comprises an operating material line connected to the operating material connection on the stand housing.
Cernushi teaches that the stand housing (stand 25) comprises at least one operating material connection (end nozzles 177) on at least one of the end faces (Fig. 9), and wherein the roller guide comprises an operating material line (cooling circuit 170) connected to the operating material connection on the stand housing (Fig. 9).
Ralf, in view of Cattaneo, disclose a stand upon which the claimed invention improves by adding a operating material line and connection. Cernushi teaches an operating material line and connection by its cooling system comprising of an intake, cooling circuit, and nozzles to eject coolant close to the rollers (Pg. 14, Lines 19-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied, in the same way, the known cooling system of Cernushi to the base stand of Ralf, in view of Cattaneo and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results as predictable.
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ralf, in view of Cattaneo, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inslee (US 2,094,920).
Re Claim 6, Ralf, in view of Cattaneo, discloses the stand according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose comprising an adjustment connector for introducing an adjustment torque, the adjustment connector configured to adjust a radial position of the roller shafts such that the caliber is set.
Inslee teaches an adjustment connector (member 40, link 41, screw 43, and wrench head 45) for introducing an adjustment torque, the adjustment connector configured to adjust a radial position of the roller shafts such that the caliber is set (“Each of the roll carriers is held against pivotal movement by means of a screw operated member 40 and a link 41 which serve also as adjusting means to give desired movement to the carrier for adjusting its roll toward and away from the pass line” Col. 3, Line 72 – Col. 4, Line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ralf, in view of Cattaneo, to incorporate the adjustment connector as taught by Inslee to adjust the roller towards and away from the material to be rolled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Re Claim 7, Ralf, in view of Cattaneo and Inslee, disclose the stand according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), and further discloses that the adjustment connector is arranged on the outside of the stand housing (Inslee, Fig. 1 shows the wrench head 45 is arranged on the outside of peripheral walls 18) in one of the corners of the regular hexagon (After modification, the adjustment connector will be arranged in one of the corners of the hexagon to keep the same angle between the adjustment connector of Inslee and roller shaft of Ralf that the adjustment connector of Inslee had with the spindle 31 of Inslee).
Re Claim 8, Ralf, in view of Cattaneo and Inslee, disclose the stand according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the adjustment connector is manually actuatable (“The screw 43 has at its outer end a suitable wrench head 45 or is otherwise formed so that It may be turned from outside the casing to move the member 40 inward or outward and thereby to give the desired turning movement to the roll carrier about Its pivotal axis”. Col 4, Lines 13-19. A wrench is a form of manual actuation).
Re Claim 9, Ralf, in view of Cattaneo and Inslee, disclose the stand according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the adjustment connector is a remote adjustment connector (“The screw 43 has at its outer end a suitable wrench head 45 or is otherwise formed so that It may be turned from outside the casing to move the member 40 inward or outward and thereby to give the desired turning movement to the roll carrier about Its pivotal axis”. Col 4, Lines 13-19. A wrench is a remote adjustment connector).
Re Claim 10, Ralf, in view of Cattaneo and Inslee, disclose the stand according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above), wherein the adjustment connector is manually actuatable (“The screw 43 has at its outer end a suitable wrench head 45 or is otherwise formed so that It may be turned from outside the casing to move the member 40 inward or outward and thereby to give the desired turning movement to the roll carrier about Its pivotal axis”. Col 4, Lines 13-19. A wrench is a form of manual actuation) or wherein the remote adjustment connector is automatically actuatable by a motor
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kusakabe et al. (JP2000271618) teaches a hexagon stand housing.
Pacher et al. (US 11,565,291) discloses an adjustment connector automatically actuatable by a motor
/W.D.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725 /Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725