DETAILED ACTION
This Office action for U.S. Patent Application is responsive to communications filed 8 July 2026, in response to the Non-Final Rejection of 8 April 2026 and the Interview of 5 June 2026.
Claims 1, 3–9, and 11–16 are pending, of which claim 16 is new.
In the Non-Final Rejection, claims 9 and 14 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0019277 A1 (“Teraoka”). Claims 1–3, 5–8, 10, 11, 13, and 15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over Teraoka in view of CN 109558033 A (“Dai”). Claims 4 and 12 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over Teraoka in view of Dai and in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0314501 A1 (“Chen”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, in the Dai ¶ 0052 software embodiment discussed in the interview, the RGB low transmission grating that only captures visible light “in a small amount” since “visible light is difficult to penetrate it”, but has a “small effect” on capturing infrared light, discloses the claimed filter. Also, under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation standard, a Dai “exposure time” is sufficient to disclose the claimed exposure value.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5–9, 11, and 13–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0019277 A1 (“Teraoka”) in view of CN 109558033 A (“Dai”).
Teraoka in combination with Dai teaches with respect to claim 1 an electronic apparatus comprising:
a projector (Teraoka ¶ 0042, Fig. 3, image projecting illumination section 1);
a camera (id., imaging section 5) comprising a filter configured to transmit visible light and infrared light therethrough, wherein an amount of the infrared light transmitted through the filter is greater than an amount of the visible light transmitted through the filter by at least a predetermined amount (Dai ¶ 0052, grating with low RGB transmission but only a small effect on infrared light);
a memory storing at least one instruction (¶ 0039, memory 12 in main control module 1); and
one or more processors operatively connected to the projector, the camera, and the memory (id., controller 11),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the at least one instruction (¶¶ 0051–52, software) to:
control the projector to output an original image as a picture of the original image on a projection surface (Teraoka ¶ 0046, modulating image projection illumination light to generate and project image light);
acquire a first image by controlling the camera to set at least one of a gain value and an exposure value of the camera to a first predetermined value (¶ 0055, exposure control; Dai ¶ 0052, long exposure mode for capturing RGB light) while the original image is output as the picture on the projection surface (Teraoka ¶ 0059, imaging scattered light and infrared from finger while the image light is being projected) and
capture the first image of the picture on the projection surface with the at least one of the gain value and the exposure value set to the first predetermined value (id.);
acquire a second image by controlling the camera to set at least one value of the gain value and the exposure value of the camera to a second predetermined value while the original image is output as the picture on the projection surface (¶¶ 0070–71, Fig. 8, different exposure timings for different light quantities to vary brightness of captured image; Dai ¶ 0052, short exposure mode for infrared light) and
capture the second image of the picture on the projection surface with the at least one of the gain value and the exposure value set to the second predetermined value (Teraoka ¶¶ 0083–84, modulating light continuously to maintain optimal light quantity during exposure period); and
identify a location of a touch of a user on the picture on the projection surface based on the first image and the second image (¶ 0059, identifying finger position), and
wherein the camera is configured to sense a greater amount of light when the at least one of the gain value and the exposure value of the camera is set to the first predetermined value than when the at least one of the gain value and the exposure value of the camera is set to the second predetermined value (¶ 0071, exposure period and image brightness are proportional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective invention to implement various components of Teraoka such as detection image processing section 6 or illumination control section 7 (¶ 0042) as software, such as software that controls exposure time for RGB or infrared exposure, due to the well-known and predictable advantages such as use of off-the-shelf components. M.P.E.P. § 2143(I)(D) (obvious to apply known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 3, Teraoka in view of Dai teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
acquire the first image by controlling the camera to sense light including the visible light and the infrared light transmitted through the filter of the camera in a state in which the exposure value of the camera is set to a first exposure value (Teraoka ¶¶ 0070–71, Fig. 7; exposure period with high light value); and
acquire the second image by controlling the camera to sense light including the visible light and the infrared light transmitted through the filter of the camera in a state in which the exposure value of the camera is set to a second exposure value (¶¶ 0070–71, Fig. 8; exposure period with low light value), and
wherein an amount of the visible light sensed through the camera in acquiring the second image is less than a threshold value (¶¶ 0066–67, average light quantity; some frames are expected to have light quantity below this value but above a global minimum quantity).
Regarding claim 5, Teraoka in view of Dai teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to control the camera to set the at least one of the gain value and the exposure value of the camera so that a predetermined number of points of reflected light of the infrared light are identified on the acquired second image (Teraoka at, e.g., ¶ 0059, expected scattered light from finger).
Regarding claim 6, Teraoka in view of Dai teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify at least one coordinate corresponding to the location of the touch among a plurality of predetermined coordinates included in the picture on the projection surface based on the second image (Teraoka ¶¶ 0049, 0059, coordinate data of detected object position);
identify a location corresponding to the at least one coordinate identified in the first image (¶¶ 0083–84, modulating light continuously to maintain optimal light quantity during exposure period); and
identify the location of the touch on the picture on the projection surface based on the identified location corresponding to the at least one coordinate (¶¶ 0049, 0059, again finding coordinate data further in modulated process).
Regarding claim 7, Teraoka in view of Dai teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
identify a correction value for correcting the picture on the projection surface based on the first image and the original image (Dai ¶ 0045, obtaining projection error for correction);
acquire a corrected first image and a corrected second image based on the correction value (¶ 0047, correcting subsequent images); and
identify the location of the touch on the picture on the projection surface based on the corrected first image and the corrected second image (Teraoka ¶ 0059, detecting finger position).
Regarding claim 8, Teraoka in view of Dai teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
acquire spatial information corresponding to the projection surface based on the first image (Dai ¶ 0045, error based on difference between structure actually captured by the image capture module and expected result from projection module); and
correct the location of the touch on the picture on the projection surface based on a location of the touch identified in the second image and the spatial information corresponding to the projection surface (¶ 0047, correction).
Regarding claim 9, Teraoka in view of Dai teaches with respect to claim 9 a method for controlling an electronic apparatus, the method comprising:
controlling a projector to output an original image as a picture on a projection surface (Teraoka ¶ 0046, modulating image projection illumination light to generate and project image light);
acquiring a first image by setting at least one of a gain value and an exposure value of a camera to a first predetermined value (¶ 0055, exposure control) while the original image is output as the picture on the projection surface (¶ 0059, image scattered light and infrared from finger while the image light is being projected) and
capturing the first image of the picture on the projection surface (id.) through a filter included in the camera and with the camera having the at least one of the gain value and the exposure value set to the first predetermined value (Dai ¶ 0052, grating with low RGB transmission but only a small effect on infrared light);
acquiring a second image by setting at least one of the gain value and the exposure value of the camera to a second predetermined value while the original image is output as the picture on the projection surface (Teraoka ¶¶ 0070–71, Fig. 8, different exposure timings for different light quantities to vary brightness of captured image; Dai ¶ 0052, variable exposure time) and
capturing the second image of the picture on the projection surface with the camera having the at least one of the gain value and the exposure value set to the second predetermined value (Teraoka ¶¶ 0083–84, modulating light continuously to maintain optimal light quantity during exposure period; Dai ¶ 0052, variable exposure time); and
identifying a location of a touch of a user on the picture on the projection surface based on the first image and the second image (Teraoka ¶ 0059, identifying finger position),
wherein the camera is configured to sense a greater amount of light when the at least one value of the gain value and the exposure value of the camera is set to the first predetermined value than when the at least one of the gain value and the exposure value of the camera is set to the second predetermined value (¶ 0071, exposure period and image brightness are proportional);
wherein the filter is configured to transmit visible light and infrared light therethrough (Dai ¶ 0052, grating has low RGB transmission but only a small effect on infrared light), and
wherein an amount of the infrared light transmitted through the filter is greater than an amount of the visible light transmitted through the filter by at least a predetermined amount (id.).
Regarding claim 11, Teraoka in view of Dai teaches the method as claimed in claim 9,
wherein the acquiring the first image comprises sensing light including the visible light and the infrared light transmitted through the filter of the camera in a state in which the exposure value of the camera is set to a first exposure value (Teraoka ¶¶ 0070–71, Fig. 7; exposure period with high light value),
wherein the acquiring the second image comprises sensing light including the visible light and the infrared light transmitted through the filter of the camera in a state in which the exposure value of the camera is set to a second exposure value (¶¶ 0070–71, Fig. 8; exposure period with low light value), and
wherein an amount of the visible light sensed through the camera in the acquiring the second image is less than a threshold value (¶ 0066–67, average light quantity; some frames are expected to have light quantity below this value but above a global minimum quantity).
Regarding claim 13, Teraoka in view of Dai teaches the method as claimed in claim 9, further comprising setting at least one of the gain value and the exposure value of the camera so that a predetermined number of points of reflected light of the infrared light are identified on the acquired second image (Teraoka at, e.g., ¶ 0059, expected scattered light from finger).
Regarding claim 15, Teraoka in view of Dai teaches the method as claimed in claim 9, further comprising:
identifying a correction value based on a correction of the picture on the projection surface based on the first image and the original image (Dai ¶ 0045, obtaining projection error for correction);
acquiring a corrected first image and a corrected second image based on the correction value (¶ 0047, correcting subsequent images); and
identifying the location of the touch on the picture on the projection surface based on the corrected first image and the corrected second image (Teraoka ¶ 0059, detecting finger position).
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: claim 16 requires setting both the camera gain and exposure values to two predetermined values; closest prior art Teraoka and Dai only set exposure times. The European Search Report for application EP 24826238, dismissing the entire final claim 1 indentation as “common general knowledge”, does not meet American standards for obviousness analysis.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art was found using a so-called “Super Intelligence”1 assisted search using an internal tool that uses the classification of the application under the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) system, as well as from the specification, including the claims and abstract, of the application as contextual information. The documents are ranked from most to least relevant. Where possible, English-language equivalents are given, and redundant results within the same patent families are eliminated. See “New Artificial Intelligence Functionality in PE2E Search”, 1504 OG 359 (15 November 2022), “Automated Search Pilot Program”, 90 Fed. Reg. 48,161 (8 October 2025).
US 11614806 B1
US 2023/0400922 A1
US 2018/0329517 A1
US 6727887 B1
US 2011/0069037 A1
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
/David N Werner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487
1 Exec. Order No. 14434, 91 Fed. Reg. 63,129 (29 Sept. 2026).