DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 11, 15-24, 26-29 is/are pending of which Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are presented in independent form.
All references relied up on and not cited in the current Form 892 may be found in previous 892's or IDS'.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 6, 11, 15-24, 26-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Saatchi is relied on now as a secondary teaching for providing a “balloon”; however, the arguments set forth herein are related to claims covered under the new primary reference of Kruk below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 21 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 1 recites “a circumferential wrap, or band” should be -a circumferential wrap or band- (remove comma)
Claim 1 line 2 recites “semi- rigid” should be “semi-rigid” (remove space after hyphen)
Claim 1 and 21 (and related dependents) recite “audible and/or tactile feedback” should be instead -first audible and/or tactile feedback- (as claims provide a “second audible and/or tactile feedback” such claim term should be better distinguished)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 15-17, 20, 26-29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “wherein the device is configured for use with a circumferential wrap” wherein claim 1 already recites “A device for use with a circumferential wrap, or band” thus already being recited. As written, there is confusion if this is meant to be clarification of structure between the “wrap, or band” or is a new “wrap”. Examiner will interpret this as “wherein the device is configured for use with the circumferential wrap”.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the device is configured for use with a band” wherein claim 1 already recites “A device for use with a circumferential wrap, or band” thus already being recited. As written, there is confusion if this is meant to be clarification of structure between the “wrap, or band” or is a new “band”. Examiner will interpret this as “wherein the device is configured for use with the band”.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the device comprises a wrap or band attachment mechanism” wherein claim 1 already recites “a wrap or band attachment mechanism” thus already being recited. As written, there is confusion if this is a new “a wrap or band attachment mechanism” or meant to be referring to the claim 1 structure. Examiner will interpret this as “wherein the device comprises the wrap or band attachment mechanism”.
Claim 20 recites “wherein the device provides an audible feedback” wherein claim 1 already recites “wherein the device provide is configured to provide an audible and/or tactile feedback” thus already being recited. As written, there is confusion if this is a new “audible feedback” or meant to be referring to the claim 1 structure. Examiner will interpret this as “wherein the device provides the audible feedback”.
Claim 26 recites “wherein the device is configured for use with a circumferential wrap” wherein claim 21 already recites “A device for use with a circumferential wrap or band” thus already being recited. As written, there is confusion if this is meant to be clarification of structure between the “wrap or band” or is a new “wrap”. Examiner will interpret this as “wherein the device is configured for use with the circumferential wrap”.
Claim 27 recites “wherein the device is configured for use with a band” wherein claim 21 already recites “A device for use with a circumferential wrap or band” thus already being recited. As written, there is confusion if this is meant to be clarification of structure between the “wrap or band” or is a new “band”. Examiner will interpret this as “wherein the device is configured for use with the band”.
Claim 28 recites “wherein the device comprises a wrap or band attachment mechanism” wherein claim 21 already recites “a wrap or band attachment mechanism” thus already being recited. As written, there is confusion if this is a new “a wrap or band attachment mechanism” or meant to be referring to the claim 21 structure. Examiner will interpret this as ““wherein the device comprises the wrap or band attachment mechanism”.
Claim 29 recites “wherein the device provides an audible feedback” wherein claim 21 already recites “wherein the device provide is configured to provide an audible and/or tactile feedback” thus already being recited. As written, there is confusion if this is a new “audible feedback” or meant to be referring to the claim 21 structure. Examiner will interpret this as “wherein the device provides the audible feedback”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruk (WO 2020169573 A1) in view of Benz (US 20180028195 A1) and Du (US 20180193031 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kruk discloses a device 1 (Fig. 1-7) for use with a circumferential wrap or band (Fig. 1-7, strap 4 which is a wrap/band that is circumferentially placed around a wrist in use, see Page 8) for applying compression over a bleeding wound (See Abstract), wherein the device 1 is rigid or semi- rigid (page 13, hollow body 2 of the device 1 comprises plastic material thus being rigid or semi-rigid) and has a bottom portion comprising a patient contact area (Fig. 1-7, bottom portion 24 is a patient contact area, see page 17 “compression area 24” and page 9), and
a top portion 30 comprising a wrap or band contact surface or a wrap or band attachment mechanism 304 (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 11, wherein the top portion being the tightener 30 comprises a strap guide 304 for forming a wrap/band contact surface that also then retains/attaches to the wrap/band/strap 4 at the top of the device 1),
wherein the device 1 is configured to provide an audible and/or tactile feedback when the circumferential wrap or band 4 compresses the top portion 30 of the device and indicates an applied compression force at the patient contact area 24 (Page 6 lines 15-30 and Page 14 lines 1-20, wherein there is a built-in clicking mechanism providing audible feedback as a “clicking sound”, the clicking audible feedback herein is a result of the knob 31 being turned such that the strap 4 which corresponds to the strap/band/wrap 4 being tightened and increasing its compression at the top portion 30 of the device being an indicator of the applied compression at the patient contact area 4).
Kruk does not disclose the patient contact area being 0.5 to 10 square inches
However, Benz teaches an analogous compression device for hemostasis of a wound (see [0018]) with analogous patient contact area ([0063] footprint), wherein a contact area of 1.5 to 2.5 square inches is provided for sufficient size when targeting a puncture site (see [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the patient contact area of Kruk to be in the range of 1.5 to 2.5 square inches as taught by Benz in order to provide sufficient coverage for a puncture site (Benz [0063]), thus the range of 0.5 to 10 square inches has been found obvious since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Kruk as combined does not disclose the applied compression force being in the range of 50 to 300mmHg.
However, Du teaches an analogous hemostatic compression device (Abstract) provides that a pressure of 100 mmHg should be provided as enough pressure to stop bleeding while not being too high of a pressure for injuries (see [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided one of the selectable compressions of the dial of Kruk, thus an applied compression force, to be 100 mmHg as taught by Du in order to provide a pressure that stops bleeding while being not too high to cause injuries (Du [0058]), finding the range of 50 to 300 mmHg obvious since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 1.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device 1 comprises a mechanical clicker mechanism 32 (Page 6 lines 15-30 and Page 14 lines 1-20 and Fig. 6, the device comprises a mechanical clicker mechanism 32 (ring spring 32), see further Pages 14-15).
Regarding claim 6, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 1.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device 1 is configured to provide a second audible and/or tactile feedback when the circumferential wrap or band 4 decompresses the top portion 30 of the device 1 and indicates a lower compression force (Page 6 lines 15-30 and Page 14-15, the audible feedback created by the ring spring 32 may provide both a first audible noise when performing a tightening of the strap 4, and also a corresponding second audible noise when untightening of the strap 4 relating to decompressing the top portion 30 of the device 1 and thus a lower compression force).
Regarding claim 15, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 1.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device 1 is configured for use with the circumferential wrap 4 (Fig. 1-7, strap 4 is a wrap).
Regarding claim 16, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 1.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device 1 is configured for use with the band 4 (Fig. 1-7, strap 4 is a band).
Regarding claim 17, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 1.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device comprises the wrap or band attachment mechanism 304 (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 11, wherein the top portion being the tightener 30 comprises a strap guide 304 for forming a wrap/band contact surface that also then retains/attaches to the wrap/band/strap 4 at the top of the device 1 thus being a wrap/band attachment mechanism).
Regarding claim 18, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 2.
Kruk further discloses wherein the mechanical clicker mechanism 32 (ring spring 32) comprises a depressible lever 320 (Fig. 6 and Page 14 line 20 – Page 15 line 35, the ring spring 32 comprises protrusions 320 being levers, Merriam Webster (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/lever) provides a lever to be “a projecting piece by which a mechanism is operated or adjusted”, the protrusion 320 being a projecting piece from the ring spring 32, wherein as discussed the protrusion 320 as spring material when the knob turns gets depressed when being forced from one cog recess 310 to the next).
Regarding claim 19, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 2.
Kruk further discloses wherein the mechanical clicker mechanism (ring spring 32) clicks when a portion 320 is bent or depressed (Fig. 6 and Page 14 line 20 – Page 15 line 35, the ring spring 32 comprises protrusions 320 being a portion 320, wherein as discussed the protrusion 320 as spring material when the knob turns gets depressed/bent when being forced from one cog recess 310 to the next to make the clicking noise).
Regarding claim 20, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 1.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device provides the audible feedback (Page 6 lines 15-30 and Page 14 lines 1-20, wherein there is a built-in clicking mechanism providing audible feedback as a “clicking sound”).
Claim(s) 11, 21-24 and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruk (WO 2020169573 A1) in view of Benz (US 20180028195 A1) and Du (US 20180193031 A1), in further view of Saatchi (US 20150119926 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 1.
Kruk in view of Benz and Du does not disclose wherein the device comprises a balloon, and wherein inflation of the balloon causes the circumferential wrap or band to compress the top portion of the device to provide the audible and/or tactile feedback.
However, Kruk does disclose wherein the tightener 30 is built such that the turning of the knob 31 makes the tightener 30 move up or down relative to the body to alter the compression of the strap/wrap/band 4 (Fig. 1-7 and Page 15 lines 25-35) which is related to providing the circumferential wrap or band to compress the top portion of the device to provide the audible and/or tactile feedback (Page 14-15, the knob 31 corresponds with the clicking noise which corresponds with the wrap/band compressing the top portion 30 of the device).
Furthermore, Saatchi teaches an analogous device (10) (Figures 1-8) for use with a circumferential wrap or band 30 (strap 30, Fig. 1-8) for applying compression over a bleeding wound (See [0076], wherein device 10 applies pressure over a puncture access site for hemostasis, thus applying compression over a bleeding wound), providing analogous audible/tactile feedback upon applying compression to the user ([0080, 0117] and Figures 1-8, dial 60 is used to adjust the pressure delivered to the patient, wherein an audible click noise may be provided when selecting a designated pressure level, thus an audible feedback being provided at the applied pressure, further more applied pressure itself is tactile feedback, so as the applied pressure occurs there is a tactile feeling of the pressure to the user therein from the bladder 40), wherein in order to apply compression the device of Saatchi analogously moves the device upwards in order to analogous increase a tension of the a strap and overall applied compression (see [0076]), wherein such movement is instead performed by a balloon 40 (bladder 40) (see [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the mechanical moving of tightener 30 of Kruk to be instead performed by a bladder/balloon 40 as taught by Saatchi and thus provide for wherein the device comprises a balloon 40, and wherein inflation of the balloon 40 causes the circumferential wrap or band 4 of Kruk to compress the top portion 30 of the device 1 to provide the audible and/or tactile feedback in order to provide an improved alternate device as the bladder/balloon may be further indicia of how much compression is being applied (Saatchi [0076] and Abstract).
Regarding claim 21, Kruk discloses a device 1 (Fig. 1-7) for use with a circumferential wrap or band (Fig. 1-7, strap 4 which is a wrap/band that is circumferentially placed around a wrist in use, see Page 8) for applying compression over a bleeding wound (See Abstract), wherein the device 1 is rigid or semi- rigid (page 13, hollow body 2 of the device 1 comprises plastic material thus being rigid or semi-rigid) and has a bottom portion comprising a patient contact area (Fig. 1-7, bottom portion 24 is a patient contact area, see page 17 “compression area 24” and page 9), and
a top portion 30 comprising a wrap or band contact surface or a wrap or band attachment mechanism 304 (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 11, wherein the top portion being the tightener 30 comprises a strap guide 304 for forming a wrap/band contact surface that also then retains/attaches to the wrap/band/strap 4 at the top of the device 1),
wherein the device 1 is configured to provide an audible and/or tactile feedback when the circumferential wrap or band 4 compresses the top portion 30 of the device and indicates an applied compression force at the patient contact area 24 (Page 6 lines 15-30 and Page 14 lines 1-20, wherein there is a built-in clicking mechanism providing audible feedback as a “clicking sound”, the clicking audible feedback herein is a result of the knob 31 being turned such that the strap 4 which corresponds to the strap/band/wrap 4 being tightened and increasing its compression at the top portion 30 of the device being an indicator of the applied compression at the patient contact area 4),
wherein the device 1 is configured to provide a second audible and/or tactile feedback when the circumferential wrap or band 4 decompresses the top portion 30 of the device 1 and indicates a lower compression force (Page 6 lines 15-30 and Page 14-15, the audible feedback created by the ring spring 32 may provide both a first audible noise when performing a tightening of the strap 4, and also a corresponding second audible noise when untightening of the strap 4 relating to decompressing the top portion 30 of the device 1 and thus a lower compression force).
Kruk does not disclose the patient contact area being 0.5 to 10 square inches
However, Benz teaches an analogous compression device for hemostasis of a wound (see [0018]) with analogous patient contact area ([0063] footprint), wherein a contact area of 1.5 to 2.5 square inches is provided for sufficient size when targeting a puncture site (see [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the patient contact area of Kruk to be in the range of 1.5 to 2.5 square inches as taught by Benz in order to provide sufficient coverage for a puncture site (Benz [0063]), thus the range of 0.5 to 10 square inches has been found obvious since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Kruk as combined does not disclose the applied compression force being in the range of 50 to 300mmHg.
However, Du teaches an analogous hemostatic compression device (Abstract) provides that a pressure of 100 mmHg should be provided as enough pressure to stop bleeding while not being too high of a pressure for injuries (see [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided one of the selectable compressions of the dial of Kruk, thus an applied compression force, to be 100 mmHg as taught by Du in order to provide a pressure that stops bleeding while being not too high to cause injuries (Du [0058]), finding the range of 50 to 300 mmHg obvious since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Kruk as combined does not disclose wherein the wrap or band comprises a balloon, and wherein the device is configured to provide an audible and/or tactile feedback upon inflation of the balloon causing the wrap or band to compress the top portion of the device.
However, Kruk does disclose wherein the tightener 30 is built such that the turning of the knob 31 makes the tightener 30 move up or down relative to the body to alter the compression of the strap/wrap/band 4 (Fig. 1-7 and Page 15 lines 25-35) which is related to providing the circumferential wrap or band to compress the top portion of the device to provide the audible and/or tactile feedback (Page 14-15, the knob 31 corresponds with the clicking noise which corresponds with the wrap/band compressing the top portion 30 of the device).
Furthermore, Saatchi teaches an analogous device (10) (Figures 1-8) for use with a circumferential wrap or band 30 (strap 30, Fig. 1-8) for applying compression over a bleeding wound (See [0076], wherein device 10 applies pressure over a puncture access site for hemostasis, thus applying compression over a bleeding wound), providing analogous audible/tactile feedback upon applying compression to the user ([0080, 0117] and Figures 1-8, dial 60 is used to adjust the pressure delivered to the patient, wherein an audible click noise may be provided when selecting a designated pressure level, thus an audible feedback being provided at the applied pressure, further more applied pressure itself is tactile feedback, so as the applied pressure occurs there is a tactile feeling of the pressure to the user therein from the bladder 40), wherein in order to apply compression the device of Saatchi analogously moves the device upwards in order to analogous increase a tension of the a strap and overall applied compression (see [0076]), wherein such movement is instead performed by a balloon 40 (bladder 40) (see [0076]), wherein the analogous wrap or band 30 comprises a balloon (40) (Fig. 1-8 and see [0076] inflation of the bladder 40 creates the pressure/compression, wherein a bladder is a synonym for a balloon; wherein as seen in Fig. 1-8 and [0073] the top portion 20 and the band 30 are attached with each other, thus as the bladder 40 is in the top portion which is connected to the wrap/band 30, the wrap/band 30 comprises a balloon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the mechanical moving of tightener 30 of Kruk to be instead performed by a bladder/balloon 40 as taught by Saatchi and thus provide for wherein the wrap or band 4 comprises a balloon 40, and wherein the device 1 is configured to provide an audible and/or tactile feedback upon inflation of the balloon causing the wrap or band to compress the top portion of the device in order to provide an improved alternate device as the bladder/balloon may be further indicia of how much compression is being applied (Saatchi [0076] and Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Kruk in view of Benz and Du and Saatchi discloses the invention of claim 21.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device 1 comprises a mechanical clicker mechanism 32 (Page 6 lines 15-30 and Page 14 lines 1-20 and Fig. 6, the device comprises a mechanical clicker mechanism 32 (ring spring 32), see further Pages 14-15).
Regarding claim 23, Kruk in view of Benz and Du and Saatchi discloses the invention of claim 22.
Kruk further discloses wherein the mechanical clicker mechanism 32 (ring spring 32) comprises a depressible lever 320 (Fig. 6 and Page 14 line 20 – Page 15 line 35, the ring spring 32 comprises protrusions 320 being levers, Merriam Webster (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/lever) provides a lever to be “a projecting piece by which a mechanism is operated or adjusted”, the protrusion 320 being a projecting piece from the ring spring 32, wherein as discussed the protrusion 320 as spring material when the knob turns gets depressed when being forced from one cog recess 310 to the next).
Regarding claim 24, Kruk in view of Benz and Du and Saatchi discloses the invention of claim 22.
Kruk further discloses wherein the mechanical clicker mechanism (ring spring 32) clicks when a portion 320 is bent or depressed (Fig. 6 and Page 14 line 20 – Page 15 line 35, the ring spring 32 comprises protrusions 320 being a portion 320, wherein as discussed the protrusion 320 as spring material when the knob turns gets depressed/bent when being forced from one cog recess 310 to the next to make the clicking noise).
Regarding claim 26, Kruk in view of Benz and Du and Saatchi discloses the invention of claim 21.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device 1 is configured for use with the circumferential wrap 4 (Fig. 1-7, strap 4 is a wrap).
Regarding claim 27, Kruk in view of Benz and Du and Saatchi discloses the invention of claim 21.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device 1 is configured for use with the band 4 (Fig. 1-7, strap 4 is a band).
Regarding claim 28, Kruk in view of Benz and Du and Saatchi discloses the invention of claim 21.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device comprises the wrap or band attachment mechanism 304 (Fig. 1 and 4 and Page 11, wherein the top portion being the tightener 30 comprises a strap guide 304 for forming a wrap/band contact surface that also then retains/attaches to the wrap/band/strap 4 at the top of the device 1 thus being a wrap/band attachment mechanism).
Regarding claim 29, Kruk in view of Benz and Du discloses the invention of claim 21.
Kruk further discloses wherein the device provides the audible feedback (Page 6 lines 15-30 and Page 14 lines 1-20, wherein there is a built-in clicking mechanism providing audible feedback as a “clicking sound”).
Conclusion
/KEVIN S ALBERS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/KERI J NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786