Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed on 7/27/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US 2019/0243123) in view of Nakago JP-S625201A.
In regard to claim 1, note Bohn discloses a lens module (optical system 102 , see Figs 2B and 3B), comprising: a first lens (left side surface of outer lens 200A); a second lens (glass 214 bonding with waveguide lens 202); a third lens (right side surface of lens 200B); a first fluid-filled chamber (the chamber of 200A) interposed between the first lens and the second lens, wherein the first fluid-filled chamber comprises a first fluid with a first refractive index; and a second fluid-filled chamber (the chamber of 200B) interposed between the second lens element and the third lens element, wherein the second fluid-filled chamber comprises a second fluid with a second refractive index different than the first refractive index (The structure/shape of chamber of 200B is different than the structure/shape of chamber of 200A, See [0047] – [0049]).
However, Bohn fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first fluid is a first type of fluid and wherein the second fluid is a second type of fluid different than the first type of fluid.
In analogous art, Nakago discloses a lens module, comprising multiple chambers wherein the first fluid is a first type of fluid and wherein the second fluid is a second type of fluid different than the first type of fluid (Nakago describes multiple chambers separated by membranes, allowing for distinct fluid properties in each. The reference explicitly discusses using different fluid concentrations to achieve different refractive indices in different chambers see detailed copy of English translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference Bohn such that wherein the first fluid is a first type of fluid and wherein the second fluid is a second type of fluid different than the first type of fluid, in order to improve lens resolution, lens strength, and reduce lens thickness.
In regard to claim 3, note Bohn and Nakago disclose the lens module of claim 1, wherein the first fluid-filled chamber comprises a first amount of the first fluid, wherein the second fluid-filled chamber comprises a second amount of the second fluid, and wherein the first and second amounts are independently controllable (the fluid is controlled by actuator, See [0009]-[0010] separate supporting electronics for each lens).
In regard to claim 4, note Bohn and Nakago disclose the lens module of claim 3, further comprising: a first inlet in the first fluid-filled chamber; a first fluid reservoir, wherein the first inlet is interposed between the first fluid-filled chamber and the first fluid reservoir; a first fluid controlling component configured to apply a force to the first fluid in the first fluid reservoir to force the first fluid through the first inlet; and control circuitry configured to use the fluid controlling component to change the first amount of the first fluid in the first fluid-filled chamber (See Figs 2B, 3B , [0009]-[0010] and [0036]).
In regard to claim 5, note Bohn and Nakago disclose the lens module of claim 1, wherein the first lens (220A) comprises a first membrane (216A-B), wherein the second lens comprises a rigid divider (202), wherein the third lens comprises a second membrane (216C-D), wherein the first membrane and the rigid divider at least partially define the first fluid-filled chamber, and wherein the second membrane and the rigid divider at least partially define the second fluid-filled chamber (See Figs 2B).
In regard to claim 6, note Bohn and Nakago disclose the lens module of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first membrane or the second membrane has a varying stiffness profile as shown in Figs 2B.
In regard to claim 7, note Bohn and Nakago disclose the lens module of claim 1, wherein the first lens comprises a rigid lens (202), wherein the second lens comprises a first membrane (216A-B), wherein the third lens comprises a second membrane (216C-D), wherein the rigid lens and the first membrane at least partially define the first fluid-filled chamber (200A), and wherein the first membrane and the second membrane at least partially define the second fluid-filled chamber as shown in Figs 2B.
In regard to claim 8, note Bohn and Nakago disclose the lens module of claim 7, wherein the second membrane has the second refractive index as shown in Figs 2B.
In regard to claim 17, note See examiner’s comments in claim 1 (both Bohn and Nakago disclose the lens module), also Bohn discloses a system (Figs 1), comprising: a head-mounted support structure (100); a display(114) that emits light (104) as shown in Figs 2B; and a lens module (106) supported by the head-mounted support structure that receives the light from the display.
In regard to claim 18, note Bohn and Nakago disclose the system of claim 17, wherein the first type of fluid has a property with a first value and wherein the second type of fluid has the property with a second value different than the first value (different type of fluid as shown in Nakago reference).
In regard to claim 19, note Bohn and Nakago disclose the system of claim 17, wherein the first type of fluid has a first refractive index and wherein the second type of fluid has a second refractive index different than the first refractive index (See examiner’s comment in claim 1).
In regard to claim 20, note Bohn and Nakago disclose the system of claim 17, further comprising: a first flexible membrane that at least partially defines the first fluid-filled chamber; a second flexible membrane that at least partially defines the second fluid-filled chamber; and control circuitry configured to change a first amount of the first fluid
in the first fluid-filled chamber and a second amount of the second fluid in the second fluid-filled chamber to adjust the curvature of the first flexible membrane and the curvature the second flexible membrane (See examiner’s comment in claims 1 and 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-16 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638