DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 4-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,050,118 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader and thus, fully met, by the claims of the Patent.
Regarding claim 4, the Patent recites a measuring apparatus for measuring parameters of a liquid, the measuring apparatus comprising (claim 4, preamble, c. 14, ll. 29-30): an electronic control unit operable (c. 14, l. 31) correlate a change in a multiphase parameter to measured pulse output of the measuring apparatus (c. 14, ll. 33-35), and to determine a gas volume fraction from an output of a first pressure sensor disposed upstream of the measuring apparatus (c. 14, ll. 35-37), a second pressure sensor disposed downstream of the measuring apparatus (c. 14, ll. 38-39), and a pulse sensor disposed in a flow conduit proximate to the measuring apparatus (c. 14, ll. 39-40).
Claims 5-10 are similarly met by claims 5-10 of the Patent.
Regarding claim 11, the Patent recites a multi-phase flow meter comprising (claim 11, preamble, c. 14, l. 54): a flow conduit (c. 14, l. 55); a rotor positioned in the flow conduit, the rotor comprising a plurality of blades (c. 14, ll. 56-57); a generator coupled to the rotor (claim 14); a first pressure sensor disposed upstream of the rotor (claim 11, c. 14, l. 58); a second pressure sensor disposed downstream of the rotor (c. 14, ll. 60-61); a pulse sensor disposed in the flow conduit proximate the plurality of blades (c. 14, ll. 64-65); and a control unit electrically coupled to the first pressure sensor, the second pressure sensor, and the pulse sensor (c. 15, ll. 1-3), wherein the control unit is configured to determine a gas volume fraction from an output of the first pressure sensor, the second pressure sensor, and the pulse sensor (c. 15, ll. 3-6).
Claims 12-20 are similarly met by claims 11-18.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because “operable correlate” (Claims filed 7/29/24, l. 3) is unclear and should be amended to read - - operable to correlate - -, or similar.
Claim 20 is objected to because the sentence should begin with a capitalized word.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 11 because it recites a limitation recited in claim 11 (Claims filed 7/29/24, page 23, ll. 20-21. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitami et al. (US 2005/0255367 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kitami et al. discloses a measuring apparatus (10; fig. 1) for measuring parameters of a liquid (¶ [0055]), the measuring apparatus (10) comprising: an electronic control unit operable correlate a change in a multiphase parameter to measured pulse output of the measuring apparatus (some electronic control means is required to determine the total gas-liquid flow and the gas volume rate, from the differential pressure from differential pressure measuring portion 12 and the rotation frequency of rotators 17; ¶ [0060]), and to determine a gas volume fraction from an output of a first pressure sensor (12) disposed upstream of the measuring apparatus (differential pressure measuring portion 12 measures pressure upstream of measuring chamber 16 of flowmeter 10; fig. 1 and ¶ [0056]), a second pressure sensor (12) disposed downstream of the measuring apparatus (differential pressure measuring portion 12 measures pressure downstream of measuring chamber 16 of flowmeter 10; fig. 1 and ¶ [0056]), and a pulse sensor (sensor that detects rotation frequency of rotators 17; ¶ [0059]) disposed in a flow conduit (16) proximate to the measuring apparatus (10).
Regarding claims 5-7, Kitami et al. discloses wherein the measuring apparatus (10) is a flow meter (¶ [0056); wherein the flow meter comprises a flow conditioner (gas-liquid mixing chamber 14 is a flow conditioner; ¶ [0058]); wherein the flow meter comprises a nozzle at an inlet of the flow meter (gas-liquid mixing chamber 14 may be a static mixer that evenly mixes the gas and liquid for feeding into measuring chamber 16 and therefore directs the flow of fluid and functions as a nozzle; ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Kitami et al. discloses wherein the measuring apparatus is a pump (rotators 17 comprise a positive-displacement flowmeter with driving and following of rotators 17 that moves liquid and gases through measuring chamber 16 and thus, functions as a pump; ¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 10, Kitami et al. discloses wherein the measuring apparatus is an inline turbine (flowmeter may be an inline turbine wheel 109; fig. 17(A)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitami et al. (US 2005/0255367 A1) in view of Holm et al. (US 2020/02235639 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kitami et al. discloses a method for measuring parameters of a liquid using a multi-phase flow meter (10; fig. 1), the method comprising: measuring pressure drops across the multi-phase flow meter (using differential pressure measuring portion 12), the multi-phase flow meter (10) comprising: a flow conduit (16); a rotor (17) positioned in the flow conduit (16), the rotor (17) comprising a plurality of blades (blades of rotators 17; fig. 1); a first pressure sensor (12) disposed upstream of the rotor (differential pressure measuring portion 12 measures pressure upstream of measuring chamber 16 of flowmeter 10; fig. 1 and ¶ [0056]); a second pressure sensor (12) disposed downstream of the rotor (differential pressure measuring portion 12 measures pressure downstream of measuring chamber 16 of flowmeter 10; fig. 1 and ¶ [0056]); a pulse sensor disposed in the flow conduit (16) proximate the plurality of blades (sensor that detects rotation frequency of rotators 17; ¶ [0059]); and a control unit configured to determine a gas volume fraction from an output of the first pressure sensor (12), the second pressure sensor (12), and the pulse sensor (some electronic control means is required to determine the total gas-liquid flow and the gas volume rate from the differential pressure from differential pressure measuring portion 12 and the rotation frequency of rotators 17; ¶ [0060]): measuring pressure upstream of the multi-phase flow meter (with differential pressure measuring portion 12); and identifying at least one fluid parameter based, at least in part, on a correlation of a change in a multiphase flow parameter to pulse output (a total gas-liquid flow and a gas volume rate are identified based, at least in part, on a correlation of change of differential pressure and the rotation frequency of rotators 17; figs. 2, 3 and ¶ [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Kitami et al. discloses wherein the at least one fluid parameter is flow rate (a flow rate of each of the gas and the liquid is determined from the correlation; ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Kitami et al. discloses wherein the at least one fluid parameter is gas volume fraction (a total gas-liquid flow and the gas volume rate is determined; ¶ [0060]).
Kitami et al. is silent on a generator.
Holm et al. teaches a generator (200; fig. 1A) coupled to a rotor (202; ¶ [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kitami et al. with the generator of Holm et al. to provide a flow meter that is self-powered.
Regarding claim 9, Kitami et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 4.
Kitami et al. is silent on a generator.
Holm et al. teaches a turbine (202) operable to generate power for an electronic control via fluid flow through a measuring apparatus a generator (turbine 202 and generator 200 are generate power for an electronic device that measures flow velocity, water quality, etc. for a water system; ¶¶ [0003, 0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kitami et al. with the generator of Holm et al. to provide a flow meter that is self-powered.
Regarding claim 11, Kitami et al. discloses a multi-phase flow meter (10; fig. 1) comprising: a flow conduit (16); a rotor (17) positioned in the flow conduit (16), the rotor (17) comprising a plurality of blades (blades of rotators 17; fig. 1); a first pressure sensor (12) disposed upstream of the rotor (differential pressure measuring portion 12 measures pressure upstream of measuring chamber 16 of flowmeter 10; fig. 1 and ¶ [0056]); a second pressure sensor (12) disposed downstream of the rotor (differential pressure measuring portion 12 measures pressure downstream of measuring chamber 16 of flowmeter 10; fig. 1 and ¶ [0056]); a pulse sensor disposed in the flow conduit (16) proximate the plurality of blades (sensor that detects rotation frequency of rotators 17; ¶ [0059]); and a control unit electrically coupled to the first pressure sensor (12), the second pressure sensor (12), and the pulse sensor (sensor that detects rotation frequency of rotators 17), wherein the control unit is configured to determine a gas volume fraction from an output of the first pressure sensor (12), the second pressure sensor (12), and the pulse sensor (some electronic control means is required to determine the total gas-liquid flow and the gas volume rate from the differential pressure from differential pressure measuring portion 12 and the rotation frequency of rotators 17; ¶ [0060]).
Regarding claim 12, Kitami et al. discloses wherein the first pressure sensor (12) and the second pressure sensor (12) measure a pressure drop across the rotor (differential pressure measuring portion 12 measures a pressure drop across rotators 17; ¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Kitami et al. discloses wherein the pulse sensor measures a fluid pulse induced by the plurality of blades (a fluid pulse induced by the blades of rotators 17 is measured by measuring a rotation frequency of rotators 17; ¶ [0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Kitami et al. discloses wherein the rotor is a pump (rotators 17 comprise a positive-displacement flowmeter with driving and following of rotators 17 that moves liquid and gases through measuring chamber 16 and thus, functions as a pump; ¶ [0082]).
Kitami et al. is silent on a generator.
Holm et al. teaches a generator (200; fig. 1A) coupled to a rotor (202; ¶ [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kitami et al. with the generator of Holm et al. to provide a flow meter that is self-powered.
Regarding claims 14-17, Kitami et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 11, and further discloses wherein the control unit is electrically coupled to the first pressure sensor (12), the second pressure sensor (12), and the pulse sensor (some electronic control means is required to determine the total gas-liquid flow and the gas volume rate from the differential pressure from differential pressure measuring portion 12 and the rotation frequency of rotators 17; ¶ [0060]); wherein the control unit determines a gas volume fraction from an output of the first pressure sensor (12), the second pressure sensor (12), and the pulse sensor (some electronic control means is required to determine the total gas-liquid flow and the gas volume rate from the differential pressure from differential pressure measuring portion 12 and the rotation frequency of rotators 17; ¶ [0060]); wherein phase flow rates are calculated from the gas volume fraction (flow rates of each of the gas and the liquid are acquired from the total gas-liquid flow and the gas void fraction; ¶ [0065]).
Kitami et al. is silent on a generator.
Holm et al. teaches a generator (200; fig. 1A) coupled to a rotor (202; ¶ [0018]); wherein the generator (200) produces electrical power that is supplied to an electric load (generator 200 produces electrical power supplied to devices that measure flow velocity, water quality, etc. in water systems; ¶ [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kitami et al. with the generator of Holm et al. to provide a flow meter that is self-powered.
Regarding claim 19, Kitami is silent on a stator.
Holm et al. teaches a stator (300) positioned upstream of a rotor (at least portions of stator segments 301 of stator 300 are positioned upstream of portions of blades 201 of rotor 202; fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kitami et al. with the generator with stator of Holm et al. to provide a flow meter that is self-powered.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitami et al. (US 2005/0255367 A1) in view of Holm et al. (US 2020/02235639 A1), and further in view of Morgenthale et al. (US 5,831,176).
Regarding claim 20, Kitami et al. in view of Holm et al. disclose the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 11 and Kitami et al. further discloses a temperature sensor (13; fig. 1) disposed downstream of the rotor (17).
Kitami et al. in view of Holm et al. are silent on an upstream temperature sensor.
Morgenthale et al. teaches a flow meter (10; figs. 1 and 2) with a rotor (22), a first temperature sensor (18) disposed upstream of the rotor (temperature probe 18 is disposed upstream of turbine 22; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kitami et al. in view of Holm et al. with the additional temperature sensor disposed upstream of the rotor as taught in Morgenthale et al. to provide reliable flowmeter results by using redundant temperature measurements (Morgenthale et al., c. 4, ll. 22-25).
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852