DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29July2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an
abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claim(s) 1 is a process and machine, and 15 is a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2a Prong 1
Regarding claim(s) 1 and 15, the claim recites, in part, limitations that constitute a “mental process”. The limitations of selecting, determining, and generating, when read in light of the specification, are mental processes capable of being performed in the human mind, which have been identified as being abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Claims 2-14 depend from claim 1, do not remedy any of the deficiencies of claim 1, and therefore are rejected on the same grounds as claim 1 above.
Step 2a Prong 2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a generic computing component(s) or automations to perform both the generic computing functions in the claim(s). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2b
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitations of using generic computer components and automations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components and automations cannot provide an inventive concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, and 14-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the external system". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. An external system is introduced in claim 7
Claim(s) 1-4, 15 contains the limitation "the unique identifiers" which is indefinite. Only one unique identifier was introduced.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-5, 8-9, 14-15 contains the limitation "the autonomous mobile unit" which is indefinite. It is unclear if the autonomous mobile unit is one of the at least one autonomous mobile unit introduced.
Claim(s) 6-7, and 10-13 is/are rejected due to being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suvitie US 20210114622.
Suvitie discloses,
Claim(s) 1 and 15; A control system comprising: a setting unit for setting a departure point and an arrival point(Control apparatus 10; A data processor can be interpreted as either processors 11 or 12; [0009] A data processor may be configured to determine a start and target locations) for at least one autonomous mobile unit([0003] Discloses a vehicle or other movable device may operate autonomously or semi-autonomously); a route generation unit([0047] a control station such as a GCS can use specific path finding algorithms to create a safe and allowed path for a drone mission over an area) for generating route information regarding the autonomous mobile unit from the departure point and the arrival point([0047] A GCS can use a path finding algorithm to generate optimal route for a drone from location A to location B); a unique identifier conversion unit([0008] discloses the data processor means may be configured to use grid cells and/or real-world coordinates in determining whether a line bypassing at least one of the turn points intersects the obstacle. Conversion between the grid and real world coordinate systems may be provided) for converting location information defined by a coordinate system capable of specifying a location in a space([0008] discloses that the data processor can convert between the grid and real world coordinate systems) into unique identifier information in a format that identifies, using a unique identifier, state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in the space defined by the coordinate system([0038] Control instructions provide instructions of NFZ which can be considered an object; the state is that the NFZ exists and the time is that the NFZ exists at the time of flight, [0044] the data processor can read the control instructions, [0009] The data processor means may be configured to determine at least one local grid covering at least one obstacle, the grid is being interpreted as the unique identifier); and a communication unit for communicating with the autonomous mobile unit([0040] The control apparatus can comprise data communications circuitry, denoted by reference 14, for receiving and transmitting data, the remote control station 10 is capable of sending messages to an on-board data processing apparatus of the unmanned vehicle 20), wherein the unique identifier conversion unit converts location information regarding each point included in the route information into the unique identifier to express the route information using the unique identifiers([0082] rough paths 70 and 71 are determined through local grids 65 and 66).
Claim 2; wherein the communication unit transmits the route information expressed by the unique identifiers to the autonomous mobile unit([0039] In the case of UAVs, control of operation may be provided, for example, by a ground control station (GCS) configured to provide control instruction for and communicate with at least one unmanned aerial vehicle), and the autonomous mobile unit moves autonomously using the route information expressed by the unique identifiers([0098] Elsewhere it can be assumed that the drone or another autonomous vehicle has the freedom to follow a direct or otherwise desired path through the tiles).
Claim 3; wherein the unique identifier conversion unit has the unique identifier information regarding a predetermined region and state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in a space identified by the unique identifier([0007] there is provided an apparatus comprising data processor means configured to: determine an initial path past an obstacle between a first point and a second point, Fig. 6D shows that grids 65 and 66 which are the unique objects are generated around a region of the object, [0077] Drones as flying objects need power(state) efficiency(time), and less computation is better enhancing flying time), and the control system further comprising: an acquisition unit(25) for acquiring, from the unique identifier conversion unit, state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in a space identified by a unique identifier, in a vicinity of the route information, among the unique identifiers([0043] The apparatus further comprises communications interface 25. The interface provides appropriate circuitry to enable receiving and transmitting of data by the control apparatus).
Claim 7; wherein the unique identifier conversion unit has the unique identifier information regarding a predetermined region and state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in a space identified by the unique identifier([0044] The memory 28 can provide a data buffering function for control instruction data 29. The at least one data processor can read the control instructions from the buffer and cause performance of operations relating to the task to be performed accordingly, [0038] The examples relate to control instructions for paths of travel, in particular instructions to avoid prohibited zones such as no-fly zones which is the object), the unique identifier conversion unit is communicatively connected to an external system([0040] The control apparatus can comprise data communications circuitry, denoted by reference 14, for receiving and transmitting data, the data could be transmitted via 24 to 21), and the state-related information and time-related information regarding the object present in the space identified by the unique identifier is shared with the external system([0038] Control instructions provide instructions of NFZ which can be considered an object; the state is that the NFZ exists and the time is that the NFZ exists at the time of flight, the data can be transmitted via 24 to 21).
Claim 8; wherein the communication unit transmits, to the autonomous mobile unit([0040] The control apparatus can comprise data communications circuitry, denoted by reference 14, for receiving and transmitting data, the remote control station 10 is capable of sending messages to an on-board data processing apparatus of the unmanned vehicle 20), the route information expressed by the unique identifiers and state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in a space in the vicinity of the route information, and the autonomous mobile unit moves autonomously using the route information expressed by the unique identifiers and the state-related information and time-related information regarding the object present in the space in the vicinity of the route information([0038] Control instructions provide instructions of NFZ which can be considered an object; the state is that the NFZ exists and the time is that the NFZ exists at the time of flight, [0044] the data processor can read the control instructions, [0009] The data processor means may be configured to determine at least one local grid covering at least one obstacle, the grid is being interpreted as the unique identifier).
Claim 9; wherein in a case where state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in a space in the vicinity of the route information are created for each section among sections obtained by segmenting the route information at fixed intervals(Fig. 6D shows that segmented route information is created around an object present in the vicinity at fixed intervals), the state-related information and time-related information regarding the object present in the space in the vicinity of the route information for each section are transmitted to the autonomous mobile unit in accordance with a current location of the autonomous mobile unit([0045] The control station 10 may receive telemetry information from unmanned vehicles under its control. For example, an unmanned vehicle may be configured to transmit mission progress information (e.g. information about the current waypoint and remaining distance, about near-by objects, fleet, other moving vehicles, other moving vehicles in a swarm of vehicles, sensor data from the device, and/or other devices and so on) to the ground control station).
Claim 14; wherein in a case where there is a change in at least one of state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in a space identified by the unique identifier, the communication unit is used to notify the autonomous mobile unit([0099] Update may be needed only if there is a need to apply changes in movement obstacles in the controlled area. For example, a new high structure erected within the area may necessitate update of NFZ data in a GCS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suvitie US 20210114622 in view of Terada US 20210180987.
Regarding claim(s) 4-5, and 11-12, Suvitie discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim(s) 1 and 7.
Suvitie further discloses,
Claim 4; further comprising: a storage unit(28) that stores the route information expressed by the unique identifiers([0044] The memory 28 can provide a data buffering function for control instruction data 29. The at least one data processor can read the control instructions from the buffer and cause performance of operations relating to the task to be performed accordingly).
However, Suvitie fails to disclose:
Claim 4; wherein the storage unit stops storing information associated with the unique identifier information of a point through which the autonomous mobile unit has passed.
Claim 5; wherein the autonomous mobile unit includes a self-position estimation unit, an object detection unit, and a route generation unit.
Claim 11; wherein the external system includes a detection unit for detecting state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in a space, and the state-related information and time-related information regarding the object present in the space identified by the unique identifier include information abstracted from detection information detected by the detection unit.
Claim 12; wherein the state-related information and time-related information regarding the object present in the space identified by the unique identifier are updated by the external system.
Terada teaches a similar device in the same field of mapping technology for autonomous units.
Terada teaches,
Claim 4; wherein the storage unit stops storing information associated with the unique identifier information of a point through which the autonomous mobile unit has passed([0102] under a predetermined condition, the main processor 40 may have an operation mode for stopping the upload of the probe data).
Claim 5; wherein the autonomous mobile unit includes a self-position estimation unit([0048] The sensor 30 which is located in the vehicle contains a positioning sensor (for example, a GPS receiver)), an object detection unit([0047] the vehicle contains Lidar and various object detection devices such as a sonar can be adopted as the periphery monitoring sensor), and a route generation unit([0280] Step S922 discloses there is a step of calculating the main route which means there is a route generation unit).
Claim 11; wherein the external system includes a detection unit for detecting state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in a space([0042] The information on the environment around the vehicle captured by the camera 10 is stored in the memory 80 in the form of a still image or a moving image), and the state-related information and time-related information regarding the object present in the space identified by the unique identifier include information abstracted from detection information detected by the detection unit([0043] The image processor 20 analyzes the image captured by the camera 10. The image processor 20 detects a predetermined feature, for example, by analyzing an image. The feature as a detection target is, for example, a structure required for vehicle control).
Claim 12; wherein the state-related information and time-related information regarding the object present in the space identified by the unique identifier are updated by the external system([0041] the information obtained by the camera 10 and the sensor 30 mounted on the vehicle is uploaded to the server 3).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the storage unit stops storing information associated with the unique identifier information of a point through which the autonomous mobile unit has passed as taught by Terada, for the purpose of narrowing down the type of information to be uploaded(Page 14 Paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the autonomous mobile unit includes a self-position estimation unit, an object detection unit, and a route generation unit. as taught by Terada, for the purpose of allowing the vehicle to operate autonomously.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the external system includes a detection unit for detecting state-related information and time-related information regarding an object present in a space, and the state-related information and time-related information regarding the object present in the space identified by the unique identifier include information abstracted from detection information detected by the detection unit, and wherein the state-related information and time-related information regarding the object present in the space identified by the unique identifier are updated by the external system. as taught by Terada, for the purpose of having real time updated information to perform calculations and compensate for changing conditions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6, 10, and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, and under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/John C Merino/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669