DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brazel et al. [US 20140262436 A1] in view of Wakimoto [US 4782244 A].
Regarding Claim 1, Brazel discloses a loadbreak connector safety sheath (clip 100, Fig 1) adapted for partially housing a loadbreak connector for a lateral access contact of a power distribution system and further enabling attachment of lockout safety and warning tags, the safety sheath (100), comprising:
- an outer sheath member (body 100) adapted to partially covering loadbreak connector (not shown, see [0049]);
- a safety sheath pull ring (103) for attaching and detaching the safety sheath (100) from the loadbreak connector using a hot-stick [0044]; and
- a retaining member (shaped flanges 101, see Fig 2) for retaining said outer sheath member (100) on the loadbreak connector.
Brazel does not explicitly disclose the outer sheath member (100) adapted for covering a pull ring of the loadbreak connector otherwise accessible for pulling the loadbreak connector off of an energized lateral access contact in accordance with safety protocols.
However, Wakimoto discloses an loadbreak connector assembly provided with a safety sheath (7, Fig 1), detachably mounted over a quick-disconnect loadbreak connector (5), the outer sheath member (7) adapted for covering a pull ring (5a) of the loadbreak connector (5) otherwise accessible for pulling the laodbreak connector (5) off of an energized lateral access contact in accordance with safety protocols.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brazel as suggested by Wakimoto to provide the outer sheath member (100) adapted for covering a pull ring of the loadbreak connector otherwise accessible for pulling the loadbreak connector off of an energized lateral access contact in accordance with safety protocols. Doing so would prevent unauthorized, accidental, or inadvertent access to and pulling of the pull ring while the lateral access contact is energized, thereby ensuring strict compliance with safety protocols as recognized by Wakimoto.
Regarding Claim 2, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Brazel further discloses the retaining member (101) for retaining said outer sheath member (100) on the loadbreak connector comprises a narrowed channel (see annotated Figure 2) integrated internally of said outer sheath member (100) and adapted for flexibly conforming to a contour portion of the loadbreak connector to securely hold said outer sheath member (100) on the loadbreak connector.
Regarding Claim 3, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 2, Brazel further discloses the narrowed channel (see annotated Figure 2) forms a clip for holding the outer sheath member (100) on the loadbreak connector firmly so that inadvertent removal of the outer sheath member (100) from the loadbreak connector is prevented. Brazel does not explicitly disclose at least four pounds of pulling pressure is required to remove said outer sheath member from the loadbreak connector.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brazel and Wakimoto to provide at least four pounds of pulling pressure required to remove said outer sheath member from the loadbreak connector. Modifying the dimensions, wall thickness, or material elasticity of the claim flanges (101) of Brazel to achieve a specific retention force threshold, such as requiring at least four pounds of removal force, is a matter of routine design choices and optimization of result-effective variables to balance firm attachment against ease of hotstick removal. A person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to prevent accidental disconnection/removal of Brazel’s safety sheath during field operations would routinely select the flange geometry and plastic properties to achieve a target retention force such as four pounds.
Regarding Claim 4, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Brazel further discloses comprising an attachment member (lanyard ring 104) adapted for receiving a lockout warning tag.
Regarding Claim 5, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 4, Brazel further discloses the attachment member (104) comprises an integral ring on a posterior portion of said outer sheath member (100).
Regarding Claim 6, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Brazel further discloses the outer sheath member (100) are constructed from a plastic polymer material that facilitates easy breakage and removal when necessary. Brazel does not explicitly disclose PVC, PET, and ABS plastic.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brazen and Wakimoto to provide PVC, PET, or ABS plastic as the material for the outer sheath member. Selecting a specific standard non-conductive thermoplastics is a routine choice of material well within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 7, Brazel discloses a method of preventing accidental reconnection of a loadbreak connector while following safety protocols to perform maintenance on power lines, comprising the steps of:
a. Safely removing a loadbreak connector from an energized lateral connection contact of a power distribution system by pulling a pull ring of the loadbreak connector with an insulated hot-stick (shotgun stick), or otherwise de-energizing a power line to be worked on;
b. Safely and securely attaching a loadbreak connector safety sheath (100) to the loadbreak connector
c. Securely installing a lockout tag (compliance-required identification tabs, line information devices to the lanyard ring 104; see [0045-0046]) on the safety sheath (100) identifying safety information for the power line to identify the only person, or persons, certified to re-connect the loadbreak connector to an energized contact on the lateral of the power distribution system, or to otherwise restore the power line. Brazel does not explicitly disclose the safety sheath preventing access to the pull ring of the loadbreak
connector with an insulated hot-stick to discourage reattachment of the loadbreak connector, or to otherwise prevent re-energizing of a power line that was being worked upon, by an unauthorized person while maintenance is in progress.
However, Wakimoto discloses a safety sheath (7) preventing access to the pull ring (5a) of a loadbreak connector (5) to discourage accidental connection/disconnection.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brazel as suggested by Wakimoto to provide the safety sheath preventing access to the pull ring of the loadbreak connector with an insulated hot-stick to discourage reattachment of the loadbreak connector, or to otherwise prevent re-energizing of a power line that was being worked upon, by an unauthorized person while maintenance is in progress. Doing so would prevent unauthorized, accidental, or inadvertent access to and pulling of the pull ring while the lateral access contact is energized, thereby ensuring strict compliance with safety protocols as recognized by Wakimoto.
Regarding Claim 8, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 7, Brazel further discloses the step of attaching the loadbreak connector to a non-powered parking location of the lateral, followed by the steps of safely and securely installing the safety sheath (100) and securely installing the lockout tag (compliance-required identification tabs, line information devices to the lanyard ring 104; see [0045-0046]) on the safety sheath (100).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brazel and Wakimoto to provide the step of attaching a disconnected loadbreak connector to a parking bushing/standoff location as it is standard utility practice in order to mechanically support the disconnected connectors away from live contacts during line work.
Regarding Claim 9, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 7, Brazel further discloses:
a. An authorized person-in-charge verifying clearance of workers from the line;
b. Safely removing the safety sheath (100) and lockout tag (compliance-required identification tabs, line information devices to the lanyard ring 104; see [0045-0046]) from the loadbreak connector; and
C. Reattaching the loadbreak connector to an energized lateral connection contact using an insulated hot-stick (shotgun stick), or otherwise re-energizing the power
line.
Regarding Claim 10, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 7, Brazel further discloses:
a. An authorized person-in-charge verifying clearance of workers from the line;
b. Safely, as by using a hot-stick (shotgun stick), removing the safety sheath (100) and lockout tag from the loadbreak connector; and
c. Removing the loadbreak connector, using an insulated hot-stick (shotgun stick), from the non-powered parking location of the lateral and replacing it onto the energized lateral connection contact of the lateral, or otherwise re-energizing
the power line.
Regarding Claim 11, Brazel discloses a loadbreak connector safety sheath (100) adapted for partially housing a loadbreak connector for a lateral access contact of a power distribution system, the safety sheath, comprising:
- an outer sheath member (body 100) adapted for partially covering loadbreak connector (not shown; see [0049];
- a safety sheath pull ring (103) for attaching and detaching the safety sheath (100) from the loadbreak connector using a hot-stick (shotgun stick; [0044]);
- a retaining member (shaped flanges 101, see Fig 2) for retaining said outer sheath member (100) on the loadbreak connector; and
- an attachment member (lanyard ring 104) on said outer sheath (body 100) and adapted for receiving a lockout warning tag. Brazel does not explicitly disclose the outer sheath member adapted for covering a pull ring of the loadbreak connector otherwise accessible for pulling the loadbreak connector off of an energized lateral access contact in accordance with safety protocols.
However, Wakimoto discloses an loadbreak connector assembly provided with a safety sheath (7, Fig 1), detachably mounted over a quick-disconnect loadbreak connector (5), the outer sheath member (7) adapted for covering a pull ring (5a) of the loadbreak connector (5) otherwise accessible for pulling the loadbreak connector (5) off of an energized lateral access contact in accordance with safety protocols.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brazel as suggested by Wakimoto to provide the outer sheath member (100) adapted for covering a pull ring of the loadbreak connector otherwise accessible for pulling the loadbreak connector off of an energized lateral access contact in accordance with safety protocols. Doing so would prevent unauthorized, accidental, or inadvertent access to and pulling of the pull ring while the lateral access contact is energized, thereby ensuring strict compliance with safety protocols as recognized by Wakimoto.
Regarding Claim 12, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 11, Brazel further discloses the attachment member (104) is attached on a posterior portion of said outer sheath member (100).
Regarding Claim 13, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 12, Brazel further discloses the attachment member (104) comprises an integral ring on a posterior portion of said outer sheath member (100).
Regarding Claim 14, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 13, Brazel further discloses the retaining member (101) for retaining said outer sheath member (100) on the loadbreak connector comprises a narrowed channel (see annotated Figure 2) integrated internally of said outer sheath member (100) and adapted for flexibly conforming to a contour portion of the loadbreak connector to securely hold said outer sheath member (100) on the loadbreak connector.
Regarding Claim 15, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 14, Brazel further discloses the narrowed channel (see annotated Figure 2) forms a clip for holding the outer sheath member (100) on the loadbreak connector firmly so that inadvertent removal of the outer sheath member (100) from the loadbreak connector is prevented. Brazel does not explicitly disclose at least four pounds of pulling pressure is required to remove said outer sheath member from the loadbreak connector.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brazel and Wakimoto to provide at least four pounds of pulling pressure required to remove said outer sheath member from the loadbreak connector. Modifying the dimensions, wall thickness, or material elasticity of the claim flanges (101) of Brazel to achieve a specific retention force threshold, such as requiring at least four pounds of removal force, is a matter of routine design choices and optimization of result-effective variables to balance firm attachment against ease of hotstick removal. A person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to prevent accidental disconnection/removal of Brazel’s safety sheath during field operations would routinely select the flange geometry and plastic properties to achieve a target retention force such as four pounds.
Regarding Claim 16, Brazel and Wakimoto disclose all the limitations of claim 13, Brazel further discloses the outer sheath member (100) are constructed from a plastic polymer material that facilitates easy breakage and removal when necessary. Brazel does not explicitly disclose PVC, PET, and ABS plastic.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brazen and Wakimoto to provide PVC, PET, or ABS plastic as the material for the outer sheath member. Selecting a specific standard non-conductive thermoplastic is a routine choice of material well within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834