CTNF 18/787,348 CTNF 99026 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2025 and 11/18/2024 have been considered by the Examiner. Preliminary Amendment The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on July 29, 2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on August 23, 2024. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (US 20230094062 A1) hereinafter KIM . Regarding claim 1, KIM discloses a method for determining a route selection policy, the method comprising: obtaining, by a first policy control network element, first information used to determine a first user equipment route selection policy, wherein the first policy control network element belongs to a visited network of first user equipment, ([0219] “5. The V-PCF may receive a Nudr_DM_Notify notification of data change from the V-UDR . According to the subscription in step 0c, when updates, changes, etc. in EAS information occur, the V-UDR may notify the V-PCF about it. These notifications may include updated EAS information”), [0221] “7. The H-PCF may determine the URSP rules based on the data including EAS information ” (updated EAS information is obtained from the V-PCF and such EAS information is used to determine user equipment route selection policies (URSP) ); sending, by the first policy control network element, the first information to a second policy control network element, wherein the second policy control network element belongs to a home network of the first user equipment; ([0220] “6. The V-PCF may send the notification of data change from the V-UDR to the H-PCF by invoking Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify. […] updates, changes, etc. in EAS information occur, the V-PCF may notify it to the H-PCF . These notifications may include updated EAS information. Therefore, the H-PCF may recognize the EAS information updated by the notification”, (the V-PCF sends to the H-PCF the obtained information and the second PCF belongs to the home network (H-PCF)); receiving, by the first policy control network element, the first user equipment route selection policy from the second policy control network element; ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request ”, (the V-PCF sends to the H-PCF the obtained information and the second PCF belongs to the home network (H-PCF)); and sending, by the first policy control network element, the first user equipment route selection policy to the first user equipment. ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request ”, (the V-PCF sends to the H-PCF the obtained information and the second PCF belongs to the home network (H-PCF)). Regarding claim 2, KIM discloses wherein the first information comprises one or more of: identification information of the first user equipment, identification information of a user equipment group to which the first user equipment belongs, application description information, a route selection parameter , data network name information , single network slice selection assistance information, or network slice selection information, ([0191] “1. To provide EAS information, the AF may create a new request. The content of the AF request may include the following information. [0192] 1) Service Description [0193] For identifying the service, the service description in the AF request may be represented by the combination of DNN and S-NSSAI, an AF-Service-Identifier or an application identifier. [0194] In addition to the above, various information may be used to identify or indicate a service (e.g., service identifier, application identifier, FQDN information related to service/application/Domain/EAS). [0195] 2) Service Parameters [0196] A list of EAS information may be included as Service Parameters in order to support the service identified by the Service Description. Each EAS information may include the following parameters: [0197] EAS address information: IP address of EAS or FQDN of Edge service (this may be interpreted as FQDN of EAS)”, (it is noted that the route selection parameter according to paragraph 210 of the present description may be the DNN, S-NSSAI ...)). Regarding claim 3, KIM discloses wherein the first information is from an application function network element, ([0209]- [0210], [0194], [0191] “1. To provide EAS information, the AF may create a new request. The content of the AF request may include the following information. [0192] 1) Service Description [0193] For identifying the service, the service description in the AF request may be represented by the combination of DNN and S-NSSAI, an AF-Service-Identifier or an application identifier”). Regarding claim 4, KIM discloses further comprising: receiving, by the first policy control network element, deletion indication information; and deleting, by the first policy control network element, the first user equipment route selection policy based on the deletion indication information, ([0225] “Determining the URSP rules by the H-PCF may be interpreted as setting URSP rules or configuring URSP rules or creating/updating/ deleting URSP rules ”, [0233] “The AF may update service specific parameters in the UDR via the NEF or delete service specific parameters from the UDR via the NEF. When EAS(s) are added or removed, the PCF may modify the URSP based on the EAS information updated or deleted by the AF and provide the modified URSP to the targeted UE . The UE may apply the modified URSP”). Regarding claim 5, KIM discloses further comprising: sending, by the first policy control network element, identification information of the visited network to the first user equipment, ([0220] “6. The V-PCF may send the notification of data change from the V-UDR to the H-PCF by invoking Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify. […] updates, changes, etc. in EAS information occur, the V-PCF may notify it to the H-PCF . These notifications may include updated EAS information . Therefore, the H-PCF may recognize the EAS information updated by the notification”, [0194] “various information may be used to identify or indicate a service (e.g., service identifier, application identifier, FQDN information related to service/application/Domain/ EAS )” (the V-PCF sends to the H-PCF the obtained information and the second PCF belongs to the home network (H-PCF)). Regarding claim 6, KIM discloses a method for determining a user equipment route selection policy, the method comprising: receiving, by a second policy control network element, first information from a first policy control network element, wherein the first information is used to determine a first user equipment route selection policy, the first policy control network element belongs to a visited network of first user equipment, and the second policy control network element belongs to a home network of the first user equipment, ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request”) , determining, by the second policy control network element, the first user equipment route selection policy, ([0219] , [0221] “7. The H-PCF may determine the URSP rules based on the data including EAS information ” (updated EAS information is obtained from the V-PCF and such EAS information is used to determine user equipment route selection policies (URSP) ); and sending, by the second policy control network element, the first user equipment route selection policy to the first policy control network element, ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE via the V- PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request”). Regarding claim 7, KIM discloses wherein the first information comprises one or more of identification information of the first user equipment, identification information of a user equipment group to which the first user equipment belongs, application description information, a route selection parameter , data network name information, single network slice selection assistance information, or network slice selection information, ([0191] “1. To provide EAS information, the AF may create a new request. The content of the AF request may include the following information. [0192] 1) Service Description [0193] For identifying the service, the service description in the AF request may be represented by the combination of DNN and S-NSSAI, an AF-Service-Identifier or an application identifier. [0194] In addition to the above, various information may be used to identify or indicate a service (e.g., service identifier, application identifier, FQDN information related to service/application/Domain/EAS). [0195] 2) Service Parameters [0196] A list of EAS information may be included as Service Parameters in order to support the service identified by the Service Description. Each EAS information may include the following parameters: [0197] EAS address information: IP address of EAS or FQDN of Edge service (this may be interpreted as FQDN of EAS)”, (it is noted that the route selection parameter according to paragraph 210 of the present description may be the DNN, S-NSSAI ...)). Regarding claim 8, KIM discloses wherein the first information is from an application function network element, ([0209]- [0210], [0194], [0191] “1. To provide EAS information, the AF may create a new request. The content of the AF request may include the following information. [0192] 1) Service Description [0193] For identifying the service, the service description in the AF request may be represented by the combination of DNN and S-NSSAI, an AF-Service-Identifier or an application identifier”). Regarding claim 9, KIM discloses a method for determining a user equipment route selection policy, comprising: receiving, by first user equipment, a first user equipment route selection policy from a first policy control network element, wherein the first policy control network element belongs to a visited network of the first user equipment, ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request”), and establishing, by the first user equipment, a protocol data unit session based on the first user equipment route selection policy, ([0228] “10. If there is no PDU Session that matches all components in the selected RSD within the URSP rule, the UE may establish a PDU Session ”). Regarding claim 11, KIM discloses further comprising: deleting, by the first user equipment, an invalid user equipment route selection policy, ([0225] “Determining the URSP rules by the H-PCF may be interpreted as setting URSP rules or configuring URSP rules or creating/updating/ deleting URSP rules”, [0233] “The AF may update service specific parameters in the UDR via the NEF or delete service specific parameters from the UDR via the NEF. When EAS(s) are added or removed, the PCF may modify the URSP based on the EAS information updated or deleted by the AF and provide the modified URSP to the targeted UE. The UE may apply the modified URSP ”). Regarding claim 12, KIM discloses wherein the first information is from a data management network element that belongs to the visited network of the first user equipment, ([0220] , [0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules (equivalent to “first information”) to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request”). Regarding claim 13, KIM discloses wherein the first information is from a network exposure network element that belongs to the visited network of the first user equipment, ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules (equivalent to “first information”) to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure (equivalent to a function of a “network exposure”) for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request”). Regarding claim 14, KIM discloses wherein the first information is from a data management network element that belongs to the visited network of the first user equipment, ([0220] , [0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules (equivalent to “first information”) to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request”). Regarding claim 15, KIM discloses wherein the first information is from a network exposure network element that belongs to the visited network of the first user equipment, ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules (equivalent to “first information”) t o the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure (equivalent to a function of a “network exposure”) for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request”). Regarding claim 16, KIM discloses an apparatus, comprising: a processor ((FIG. 2: 102 Processor), [0077]); and a memory ((FIG. 2: 104 Memory), [0077]); having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: obtain first information used to determine a first user equipment route selection policy, wherein the first policy control network element belongs to a visited network of first user equipment, ([0219] “5. The V-PCF may receive a Nudr_DM_Notify notification of data change from the V-UDR . According to the subscription in step 0c, when updates, changes, etc. in EAS information occur, the V-UDR may notify the V-PCF about it. These notifications may include updated EAS information”), [0221] “7. The H-PCF may determine the URSP rules based on the data including EAS information ” (updated EAS information is obtained from the V-PCF and such EAS information is used to determine user equipment route selection policies (URSP) ); send the first information to a second policy control network element, wherein the second policy control network element belongs to a home network of the first user equipment, ([0220] “6. The V-PCF may send the notification of data change from the V-UDR to the H-PCF by invoking Npcf_UDR_DM_Notify. […] updates, changes, etc. in EAS information occur, the V-PCF may notify it to the H-PCF . These notifications may include updated EAS information. Therefore, the H-PCF may recognize the EAS information updated by the notification”, (the V-PCF sends to the H-PCF the obtained information and the second PCF belongs to the home network (H-PCF)); receive the first user equipment route selection policy from the second policy control network element, ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request ”, (the V-PCF sends to the H-PCF the obtained information and the second PCF belongs to the home network (H-PCF)), and send the first user equipment route selection policy to the first user equipment, ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request ”, (the V-PCF sends to the H-PCF the obtained information and the second PCF belongs to the home network (H-PCF)). Regarding claim 17, KIM discloses wherein the first information comprises one or more of identification information of the first user equipment, identification information of a user equipment group to which the first user equipment belongs, application description information, a route selection parameter , data network name information , single network slice selection assistance information, or network slice selection information, ([0191] “1. To provide EAS information, the AF may create a new request. The content of the AF request may include the following information. [0192] 1) Service Description [0193] For identifying the service, the service description in the AF request may be represented by the combination of DNN and S-NSSAI, an AF-Service-Identifier or an application identifier. [0194] In addition to the above, various information may be used to identify or indicate a service (e.g., service identifier, application identifier, FQDN information related to service/application/Domain/EAS). [0195] 2) Service Parameters [0196] A list of EAS information may be included as Service Parameters in order to support the service identified by the Service Description. Each EAS information may include the following parameters: [0197] EAS address information: IP address of EAS or FQDN of Edge service (this may be interpreted as FQDN of EAS)”, (it is noted that the route selection parameter according to paragraph 210 of the present description may be the DNN , S-NSSAI ...)). Regarding claim 18, KIM discloses wherein the first information is from an application function network element, ([0209]- [0210], [0194], [0191] “1. To provide EAS information, the AF may create a new request. The content of the AF request may include the following information. [0192] 1) Service Description [0193] For identifying the service, the service description in the AF request may be represented by the combination of DNN and S-NSSAI, an AF-Service-Identifier or an application identifier”). Regarding claim 19, KIM discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor ((FIG. 2: 102 Processor), [0077]) ; and a memory ((FIG. 2: 104 Memory), [0077]) having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to: receive a first user equipment route selection policy from a first policy control network element, wherein the first policy control network element belongs to a visited network of the first user equipment, ([0226] “8. The H-PCF may provision the URSP rules to the UE via the V-PCF by using the UE Configuration Update procedure for transparent UE Policy delivery. The H-PCF may provide the URSP rules to the V-PCF by invoking Npcf_UEPolicyControl UpdateNotify Request”) , and establish a protocol data unit session based on the first user equipment route selection policy, ([0228] “10. If there is no PDU Session that matches all components in the selected RSD within the URSP rule, the UE may establish a PDU Session ”) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20230094062 A1) hereinafter KIM , in view of Xu et al. (US 11632669 B2) hereinafter Xu . Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, KIM does not disclose further comprising: receiving, by the first user equipment, identification information of the visited network from the first policy control network e lement, wherein the establishing, by the first user equipment, the protocol data unit session, is further based on the identification information of the visited network. In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses further comprising: receiving, by the first user equipment, identification information of the visited network from the first policy control network e lement, wherein the establishing, by the first user equipment, the protocol data unit session, is further based on the identification information of the visited network, ([column 17, line 37] to [column 18, line 12]) “1. An information processing method, which is applied to a terminal device, the method comprising: reporting at least one Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) identifier and respective UE policy information corresponding to each of the at least one PLMN identifier to a network side policy control function (PCF), […] wherein the first network is a network currently accessed by the terminal device or a network the terminal device currently requests to access; […] Wherein the first network is a home network , and the second network is a visited network ,[…] wherein the at least one PLMN identifier and respective UE policy information corresponding to each of the at least one PLMN identifier are reported to the network side PCF during a process of establishing a connection with the first network , and the establishing the connection with the first network comprises at least one of: the terminal device initiating a service request flow, the terminal device initiating a UE policy request flow, and the terminal device initiating a PDU session establishment flow ”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the URSP rules, disclosed by KIM ([0226], [0228]) to incorporate the reported PLMN identifier , disclosed by Xu . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the terminal device may establish a PDU session with the network, Xu ([column 17, line 37] to [column 18, line 12]). Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 19 above, KIM does not disclose wherein the communication apparatus is further caused to: receive identification information of the visited network from the first policy control network element, wherein the establishing of the protocol data unit session is further based on the identification information of the visited network. In the same field of endeavor, Xu discloses wherein the communication apparatus is further caused to: receive identification information of the visited network from the first policy control network element, wherein the establishing of the protocol data unit session is further based on the identification information of the visited network, ([column 17, line 37] to [column 18, line 12]) “1. An information processing method, which is applied to a terminal device, the method comprising: reporting at least one Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) identifier and respective UE policy information corresponding to each of the at least one PLMN identifier to a network side policy control function (PCF), […] wherein the first network is a network currently accessed by the terminal device or a network the terminal device currently requests to access; […] Wherein the first network is a home network , and the second network is a visited network ,[…] wherein the at least one PLMN identifier and respective UE policy information corresponding to each of the at least one PLMN identifier are reported to the network side PCF during a process of establishing a connection with the first network , and the establishing the connection with the first network comprises at least one of: the terminal device initiating a service request flow, the terminal device initiating a UE policy request flow, and the terminal device initiating a PDU session establishment flow ”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the URSP rules, disclosed by KIM ([0226], [0228]) to incorporate the reported PLMN identifier , disclosed by Xu . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the terminal device may establish a PDU session with the network, Xu ([column 17, line 37] to [column 18, line 12]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GILBERT GRANT whose telephone number is (703)756-1136. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 am - 7:00 pm, Monday - Thursday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 571-272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GILBERT M. GRANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2642 /Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 2 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 3 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 4 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 5 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 6 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 7 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 8 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 9 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 10 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 11 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 12 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 13 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 14 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 15 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 16 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 17 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 18 Art Unit: 2642 Application/Control Number: 18/787,348 Page 19 Art Unit: 2642