DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in EP on 7/31/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
No certified copy of EP23188811.6 has be received.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (Claims 1-9 and 17-19) in the reply filed on 9/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 19:
The claim refers to “the biofilter”. There is insuffient antececnt basis for this limitation within the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale (USPN 7,368,503).
Regarding Claim 1:
Hale teaches the extruded (see col. 2 lines 24-29) biodegradable material for aquaculture comprising (aquaculture is the intended use of the material and only adds attenable weight to the extent that the prior art device must be capable of use in aquaculture):
80 to 99% (w/w) (5% to 95% polymer A and 95% to 5% polymer B) (see col. 2 lines 30-36) of at least one biodegradable polymer having an average molecular mass from 5000 to 250000 g/mol (molecular weight of PLA is 50,000-110,000) (see col. 13 lines 9-35); at least one functional additive (reactive filler) (see col. 25 line 46); wherein the at least one functional additive is selected from a list consisting of crude algae extracts, humic substances, dry biomasses of algae, dry biomass of cinnamon bark, inanimate microbial biomasses, and functional organic substances (fibers including cotton and organic fillers) (see col. 27 lines 24-26, 66-66), bacteriophages, or combinations thereof; and wherein the material is a mesh or a sheet (see col. 28 lines 65-67).
Hale does not explicitly teach 80 to 99% biodegradable polymer and 1 to 20% (w/w) of the functional additive. Given that the prior art range of 10% to 99.75% biodegradable polymer fully encompasses the claimed range of 80% to 99% a prima facie case of obviousness exists and one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to use 80 to 99% biodegradable polymer (see MPEP 2144.05). Given the prior art range of 0 to 89.75% filler (there is a minimum of 10% polymer and 0.25% compatibilizer) (see col. 2 lines 30-39) fully encompasses the claimed range of 1 to 20% functional additive a prima facie case of obviousness exists and one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to use 1 to 20% filler (functional additive) (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 3:
Hale teaches the extruded biodegradable material for aquaculture of claim 1, wherein the biodegradable polymer is selected from a list consisting of polycaprolactone (polymer A) (see col. 4 lines 34-35, lines 57-60), polylactic acid (polymer B) (see col, 13 lines 1-15), polyhydroxyalkanoates, poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid), or combinations thereof.
Regarding Claim 4:
Hale teaches the extruded biodegradable material for aquaculture of claim 1, wherein the average molecular mass of the at least one biodegradable polymer ranges from 7500 to 225000 g/mol (see col. 13 lines 14-16).
Regarding Claim 5:
Hale teaches the extruded biodegradable material for aquaculture of claim 1, wherein the at least one functional additive is encapsulated (remains as a discrete particle within the thermoplastic, therefore it is encapsulated) (see col. 27 lines 56-63) within a microparticle (particles can be microparticles) (see col. 26 lines 30-32).
Regarding Claim 7:
Hale teaches the extruded biodegradable material for aquaculture of claim 1, wherein the biodegradable polymer is a mixture of polycaprolactone (polymer A) (see col. 4 lines 34-35, lines 57-60) and polylactic acid (polymer B) (see col, 13 lines 1-15), wherein the biodegradable polymer has a mass ratio of polycaprolactone (15% to 50% polymer A) (see col. 4 lines 57-63) to polylactic acid (50% to 85% polymer B) (see col. 12 lines 54-61) in the range from about 1:1 to 1:5.6. Given that the prior art range of about 1:1 to 1:5.6 overlaps the claimed range of 2:1 to 1:2 a prima facie case of obviousness exists and one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to use a ratio within the claimed range (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 9:
Hale teaches the extruded biodegradable material for aquaculture of claim 1, wherein the material has a largest side that is at least 0.5 m; or the material has a thickness that is in the range of 3 mm and 1 cm, or the material has a largest side that is at least 0.5 m and the material has a thickness that is in the range of 3 mm and 1 cm. Hale does not explicitly teach the size of the article, however the size of an article is not a matter of invention (see In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237(CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04)). Therefore, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the size to at least 0.5 m.
Regarding Claim 17:
Hale teaches the article comprising the extruded biodegradable material for aquaculture of claim 1 (Hale teaches a sheet, therefore Hale teaches an article) (see col, 28 lines 58-60).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale (USPN 7,368,503) as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Husarova et al, the article “Identification of important abiotic and biotic factors in the biodegradation of poly(L-lactic acid)”.
Regarding Claim 2:
Hale teaches the extruded biodegradable material for aquaculture of claim 1.
Hale does not teach wherein the material is porous, with an average pore size of from 6x10-4 mm3 to 2x10-3 mm3 and a distribution of 2 to 6 pores/mm3, as measured by X-ray microtomography. Hale is silent as to the pore size and pore distribution of the material.
Husarova teaches that the specific surface area of a biodegradable polymer is an important factor in accelerating biodegradation (see Abstract) and porous polylactic acid (PLA) (see pg. 156 section 2.2.1).
Hale and Husarova are analogous inventions in the art of biodegradable polymers. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to adjust the pore size and pore distribution of Hale, in order to control the specific surface area of the material, as disclosed by Husarova because it allows the degradation rate to be controlled and controlled degradation is desirable in Hale (see col. 1 lines 30-33). Further “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re
Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale (USPN 7,368,503) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iga (JP 2022149442, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 6:
Hale teaches the extruded biodegradable material for aquaculture of claim 1.
Hale does not teach wherein the at least one functional additive is selected from a list consisting of crude extract of humic substances, humic acids, fulvic acids, crude extract of Ecklonia cava, crude extract of Eisenia bicyclis, crude extract of grape seeds, dry biomass of cinnamon bark, dry biomass of Ecklonia cava algae, dry biomass of Eisenia bicyclis algae, dry biomass of Curcuma longa, inanimate microbial biomass of Vibrio harveyi, inanimate microbial biomass of Aeromonas salmonicida, inanimate microbial biomass of Streptococcus iniae, inanimate microbial biomass of Yersinia ruckeri, inanimate microbial biomass of Flavobacterium psychrophilum, inanimate microbial biomass of Renibacterium salmoninarum, inanimate microbial biomass of Francisella asiatica, inanimate microbial biomass of Tenacibaculum maritimum, inanimate microbial biomass of Tenacibaculum discolor, inanimate microbial biomass of Tenacibaculum soleae, inanimate microbial biomass of Photobacterium damselae, inanimate microbial biomass of Flexibacter columnaris, inanimate microbial biomass of Piscirickettsia salmonis, inanimate microbial biomass of Vibrio anguillarum, inanimate microbial biomass of Vibrio splendidus, inanimate microbial biomass of Flexibacter maritimus, inanimate microbial biomass of Edwardsiella tarda, DL-alpha-tocopherol acetate functional organic substance, astaxanthin functional organic substance and taurine functional organic substance, or combinations thereof. Hale further teaches that the functional additive in order to impart the desired properties (see col. 25 lines 25-30).
Iga teaches a biodegradable polymer containing humic acids as a functional additive (see pg. 4, last paragraph)
Hale and Iga are analogous inventions in the art of biodegradable materials. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the organic filler of Hale with the humic acid of Iga because it is the simple substitution of one known organic material with another known organic material, obviously resulting in a biodegradable material that can release humic acid, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). Further it would have been obvious to use the biodegradable material of Hale to release nutrients into aquaculture because, through routine experimentation, one skilled in the art would have found appropriate uses for a known material and it is known that biodegradable materials are useful for releasing nutrients into aquaculture systems (see Iga, Abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v.
Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143,
F.).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale (USPN 7,368,503) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Martini et al (IT 202100020990, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 8:
Hale teaches the extruded biodegradable material for aquaculture of claim 1.
Hale does not teach wherein the material is a mesh obtainable by centrifugal extrusion. Hale further teaches that the material can be formed into extruded products (see col. 2 lines 14-20).
Martini teaches a biodegradable net (mesh) (see Abstract). Centrifugal extrusion is a product by product limitation. The prior art only needs to teach the same product, the process only adds patentable weight to the extent that the structure of the product is different. In the instant case as the prior art teaches a mesh (a net is considered to be equivalent to a mesh) the same product is disclosed by the prior art.
Hale and Martini are analogous inventions in the art of biodegradable materials. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention top form the biodegradable material of Hale into a mesh, as disclosed by Martini because through routine experimentation it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to from a known material into a known product. The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale (USPN 7,368,503) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Iga (JP 2022149442, English machine translation provided) and Lazarraga Munoz (CA 3224609).
Regarding Claim 18:
Hale teaches the article of claim 17.
Hale does not teach article of claim 17 wherein the article is a fluidized bed biofilter, fixed bed biofilter, percolator, filter medium, or aquaculture tank.
Iga teaches that it is desirable to use biodegradable media to release additives into aquaculture (see Iga pg. 3, 4th paragraph, Abstract).
Lazarraga Munoz teaches an aquaculture system comprising a fixed bed biofilter and filter medium (see pg. 1: Field of invention), and further teaches that it is desirable to release additives into the biofilter (see pg. 6, 2nd paragraph from bottom). Lazarraga Munoz further teaches that the biofilter can be made of plastic (see Lazarraga Munoz 2nd paragraph from bottom).
Hale and Iga are analogous inventions in the art of biodegradable media. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the material of Hale to release additives into aquaculture, as disclosed by Iga because, through routine experimentation, one skilled in the art would have found appropriate uses for a known material and it is known that biodegradable materials are useful for releasing nutrients into aquaculture systems (see Iga, Abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, F.).
Hale, as modified by Iga, and Lazarraga Munoz are analogous inventions in the art of providing additives to aquaculture systems. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to place the material of Hale, as modified by Iga, into a biofilter, as disclosed by Lazarraga Munoz because it allows the additives to be available to the bacteria in the biofilter (see Lazarraga Munoz pg. 6, last 2 paragraphs). Further one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to place the material of Hale into a biofilter or filter medium, as disclosed by Lazarraga Munoz because, through routine experimentation, one skilled in the art would have found appropriate uses for a known material and it is known that biodegradable materials are useful for releasing nutrients into aquaculture systems (see Iga, Abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, F.).
Regarding Claim 19:
Hale teaches the article of claim 17.
Hale does not teach wherein the biofilter comprises 10 to 99% (w/w) of the extruded biodegradable material. It would have been obvious in view of Iga and Lazarraga Munoz to use the material of Hale in a biofilter for the same reasons as outlined in the rejection of claim 18 above. The combination is silent as to the percentage of biodegradable material in the biofilter. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to adjust the amount of biodegradable material to between 10 and 99% in order to find a workable range. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 10/19/2026