DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 7/29/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 202311287150.0, filed on 09/28/2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CHINA on 05/11/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CHINA 202410585626.7 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. It is noted that ADS of 7/29/2024 did not provide access code for CN 202410585626.7.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because it appears reference character “11a” in figure 22 has been used to designate both “first welding groove” and “second lower surface”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The line density of figures is very poor, better drawings (with reproducible quality) is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 17 recite “wherein one end of the first grounding elastic arm is fixed…”. It is unclear where the one end of the first grounding elastic arm is fixed to since claims 7 and 17 do not recite the place or structure in which the grounding elastic arm is fixed to. For examination purposes the examiner will interpret this portion both claims 7 and 17 as requiring the one end of the grounding elastic arm to be fixed to the conductive housing via the mounting holes 4241, as this is the interpretation that is best understood in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 – 8, 11, 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Letourneau (US 6464537).
Regarding claim 1, Letourneau teaches (figures 1 – 11, annotation) an electrical connector, comprising:
a conductive housing (36; column 2, lines 41 – 48), the conductive housing defining a receiving slot (70) configured to at least partially receive a mating module (28) along a first direction (see figure 1, see arrow pointing down from the bottom of the mating module 28);
a first terminal module (40), the first terminal module comprising a first conductive terminal (62); the first conductive terminal (62) comprising a first contact arm (see figure 6); the first contact arm (see figure 6) comprising a first contact portion (72) protruding into the receiving slot (70); the first conductive terminal (62) being not in contact with the conductive housing (36); and
a first ground sheet (78), the first ground sheet comprising a first grounding elastic arm (88); the first grounding elastic arm (88) comprising a first intermediate portion (see annotation), a first elastic arm portion (see annotation) and a second elastic arm portion (see annotation); at least one of the first intermediate portion (see annotation), the first elastic arm portion and the second elastic arm portion is configured to be in electrical contact with the mating module (annotated intermediate portion of the elastic arm is in electrical contact with the mating module 28; see figure 10).
~ Please see annotation of figure 9 in the Letourneau reference, where the first intermediate portion, the first elastic arm portion, and the second elastic arm portion can be seen.
Regarding claim 6, Letourneau teaches (figures 1 – 11, annotation) the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the first elastic arm portion (see annotation) and the second elastic arm portion (see annotation) are configured not to be in electrical contact with the mating module (i.e. see figure 10, only the intermediate portion 88 contacts the mating module 28).
Regarding claim 7, Letourneau teaches (figures 1 – 11, annotation) the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein one end of the first grounding elastic arm (88) is fixed (see figure 9 showing one end fixed to the second mounting plate 108), and another end of the first grounding elastic arm (88) is movable (see free end of 88 in figure 9) along the first direction after the mating module (28) is inserted into the receiving slot (70).
Regarding claim 8, Letourneau teaches (figures 1 – 11, annotation) the electrical connector according to claim 1, wherein the first ground sheet (78) comprises a first mounting plate (110), a second mounting plate (108) opposite to the first mounting plate (110), a first connecting plate (112) connecting one side of the first mounting plate (110) and one side of the second mounting plate (108), and a first extension plate (114) extending from another side of the second mounting plate (108); the first grounding elastic arm (88) is provided on the second mounting plate (108).
Regarding claim 11, Letourneau teaches (figures 1 – 11, annotation) an electrical connector, comprising:
a conductive housing (36; column 2, lines 41 – 48), the conductive housing defining a receiving slot (70) configured to at least partially receive a mating module (28) along a first direction (see figure 1, see arrow pointing down from the bottom of the mating module 28);
a first terminal module (40), the first terminal module comprising a plurality of first conductive terminals (62; see figure 5, there are multiple passages 56 in which the terminals 62 are housed); each first conductive terminal (62) comprising a first contact arm (see figure 6); the first contact arm comprising a first contact portion (72) protruding into the receiving slot (70) to be electrically connected with the mating module (28); the plurality of first conductive terminals (62) being not in contact with the conductive housing (36); and
a first ground sheet (78), the first ground sheet comprising a first grounding elastic arm (88); the first grounding elastic arm (88) comprising a first intermediate portion (see annotation), a first elastic arm portion (see annotation) and a second elastic arm portion (see annotation); the first elastic arm portion and the second elastic arm portion being located on two sides of the first intermediate portion (see annotation), respectively; at least one of the first intermediate portion (see annotation), the first elastic arm portion and the second elastic arm portion is configured to be in electrical contact with the mating module (annotated intermediate portion of the elastic arm is in electrical contact with the mating module 28; see figure 10).
Regarding claim 16, Letourneau teaches (figures 1 – 11, annotation) the electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein the first elastic arm portion (see annotation) and the second elastic arm portion (see annotation) are configured not to be in electrical contact with the mating module (i.e. see figure 10, only the intermediate portion 88 contacts the mating module 28).
Regarding claim 17, Letourneau teaches (figures 1 – 11, annotation) the electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein one end of the first grounding elastic arm (88) is fixed (see figure 9 showing one end fixed to the second mounting plate 108), and another end of the first grounding elastic arm (88) is movable (see free end of 88 in figure 9) along the first direction after the mating module (28) is inserted into the receiving slot (70).
Regarding claim 18, Letourneau teaches (figures 1 – 11, annotation) the electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein the first ground sheet (78) comprises a first mounting plate (110), a second mounting plate (108) opposite to the first mounting plate (110), a first connecting plate (112) connecting one side of the first mounting plate (110) and one side of the second mounting plate (108), and a first extension plate (114) extending from another side of the second mounting plate (108); the first grounding elastic arm (88) is provided on the second mounting plate (108).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 5, 9 – 10, 12 – 15, 19 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach wherein the first elastic arm portion comprises a first contact elastic arm extending toward the first intermediate portion; the second elastic arm portion comprises a second contact elastic arm extending toward the first intermediate portion; the first intermediate portion, the first contact elastic arm and the second contact elastic arm are all configured to be in electrical contact with the mating module in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Claims 3 – 5 depend on claim 2, which contains allowable subject matter, therefore they are also allowable.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach wherein the first protruding portion comprises a second lower surface exposed to the receiving slot, a second upper surface opposite to the second lower surface, and a first positioning post protruding beyond the second upper surface; the first mounting plate at least partially covers the second upper surface; the first mounting plate defines a first mounting positioning hole to fix the first positioning post in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Claim 10 depends on claim 9, which contains allowable subject matter, therefore it is also allowable.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record fails to teach wherein the first elastic arm portion comprises a first contact elastic arm extending toward the first intermediate portion; the second elastic arm portion comprises a second contact elastic arm extending toward the first intermediate portion; the first intermediate portion, the first contact elastic arm and the second contact elastic arm are all configured to be in electrical contact with the mating module in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Claims 13 – 15 depend on claim 12, which contains allowable subject matter, therefore they are also allowable.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record fails to teach the first protruding portion comprises a second lower surface exposed to the receiving slot, a second upper surface opposite to the second lower surface, and a first positioning post protruding beyond the second upper surface; the first mounting plate at least partially covers the second upper surface; the first mounting plate defines a first mounting positioning hole to fix the first positioning post in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Claim 20 depends on claim 19, which contains allowable subject matter, therefore it is also allowable.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834